DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recite the limitation "the phase" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHANG et al PG PUB 2018/0146404.
Re Claims 1, 16 and 18, ZHANG et al teaches in figure 1, a UE 400 (a first node) includes a Transceiver 402 (a first receiver); figure 2 teaches the UE 200 (the first node) receiving a SI (a first message) from LTE eNB (a first cell; a second node includes a second transmitter) [0045] wherein at a transmission time of the SI includes a scheduling information for other SIBs (a first sub-information) [0016] wherein the SI (the first message), at the time the SI includes the scheduling information for the other SIBs (when the first message comprises the first sub-information), is transmitting with a periodicity (at least once per first time length) [0013].
Re Claims 2, 17 and 19, ZHANG et al teaches the SI can be SIB 1 transmitted by the LTE eNB (the first cell; the second node) wherein the transmission time of the SI (the first message) depends on the scheduling of the SIB 1 of the LTE eNB (the first cell) [0045].
Re Claims 3, 20, ZHANG et al teaches information blocks (the first-sub information) depends on a SIB type [0014-0020] of the SI (the first message).
Re Claims 4, 5, ZHANG et al teaches whether the SI (the first message) comprises the system information blocks [0014-0020] depends on a SIB type.
Re Claims 6, 7, ZHANG et al teaches the SI (the first message) can be SIB1, SIB2 (a first SIB type set) wherein SIB associated with a first set of information block and SIB2 associated with a second set of information blocks [0014-0017] wherein the first and second set of information blocks are different (does not comprise the first sub-information).
Re Claims 11-15, ZHANG et al teaches the transceiver (the receiver) of UE receiving the SIB1 includes access related information of the LTE eNB (a first cell) wherein the SIB1 includes a field (a first field) indicating a PLMN identity list [0016] wherein the list indicates cell identity of the first and second cells and any other cells included in the list.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al PG PUB 2018/0146404 in view of Ng et al PG PUB 2015/0181575.
Re Claims 8, 9, 10, ZHANG et al teaches the UE receiving RRC signaling (a first signaling) but fails to explicitly teach indicating “at least one time window…whether the first message is transmitted at least once in a first time length depends on the at least one time window.”.
However, Ng et al teaches the SI window can be configurable and depends on the SIB type carried by the SI [0130] wherein transport block size of the SIB type depends on the configured length of the SI window. When the SI window (at least one time window) cannot accommodate SI (the first message), the SI would have not comprised the “first sub-information”.
By combining the teachings, RRC in ZHANG et al can be modified to configure the SI with sufficient SI window to ensure reliable reception. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have supported different size SIBs for transport reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475