DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Storage Device with Excess Liquid Electrolyte to Prevent Lithium Deposition”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality: In paragraph [0011], it should read “batteries” not “butteries”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iguchi (US-10797355 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery with a stack-type electrode body having a first and second electrode (Figure 6, column 3, lines 32-36, lines 59-64), a liquid organic electrolyte (column 3, lines 24-25), and a case that accommodates both the electrode body and electrolyte (Figure 6, 101) with lithium metal ions that move to generate electrical flow (column 6, lines 49-56). It teaches a plurality of electrode tabs forming a group that protrude from both the ends (Figure 6, column 3, lines 59-64) and a case with two pairs of two opposing walls extending from the bottom (Figure 6, 102), and an opening opposite the bottom that is sealed with a sealing plate (Figure 6, 103). Iguchi also teaches an arrangement of the electrode tab groups at the sides of two second sidewalls and a liquid level of excess electrolyte present between case and electrode body that is located closer to the sealing plate than a portion of the first electrode tab group that is closest to the bottom wall (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Iguchi teaches all elements of claim 1 and teaches five electrolyte levels, all which shows the level reaches less than half the height of the exterior container or less (Figures 1-5, example 1, comparative examples 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Iguchi teaches all elements of claim 1 and provides description of a portion of the electrode tab being located closer to the bottom wall that half the height of the electrode (Figure 6). Regarding claim 6, Iguchi teaches all elements of claim 1 and teaches uncoated, raised tabs protruding from the electrode sheets that the current collectors grab on to (Figure 6.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Fujii (US-20140014419-A1) in view of Iguchi (US-10797355 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Fujii teaches a power storage device with an electrode body having a first and second electrode (Figure 2A, 2B, 2C 34, paragraph [0051]), a liquid electrolyte (paragraph [0051]), and a case that accommodates both the electrode body and electrolyte (Figure 5, paragraph [0010]) with metal ions that move to generate electrical flow (paragraph [0051]). It teaches a plurality of electrode tabs forming a group that protrude from both the ends (Figures 2C and 6, paragraph [0053]) and a case with two pairs of two opposing walls extending from the bottom (1a), and an opening opposite the bottom that is sealed with a sealing plate (1b). Fujii also teaches an arrangement of the electrode tab groups at the sides of the two second sidewalls and a liquid level of excess electrolyte present between case and electrode body that is located closer to the sealing plate than a portion of the first electrode tab group that is closest to the bottom wall (Figure 5, paragraph [0081-0082]). Fujii does not specifically teach the electrolyte is organic nor that the metal ion used is lithium.
Iguchi teaches a stack electrode lithium-ion battery with tabs and varying levels of aprotic organic electrolyte at varying states of charge.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have could have substituted one known element for another and modified the design of Fujii to substitute the generic electrolyte and metal ion for the teachings of Iguchi’s lithium ion and aprotic organic electrolyte to obtain the predictable result of a working battery. (MPEP2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 3, Fujii modified with Iguchi teaches all elements of claim 1 and states electrolyte level reaches roughly half the height of the exterior container or less (paragraph [0051], Figure 5).
Iguchi teaches a stack electrode battery with tabs and varying levels electrolyte at varying states of charge, including example 1, which shows no electrolyte touching the electrode tabs, only the separators at the lowest tested SOC of 10% and the highest SOC of 85% (Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the design of Fujii to incorporate the teachings of Iguchi to follow the design incentive of “improved in resistance against precipitation of Li by suppression of variation in resistance of an electrode and improved in high-rate performance by suppression of dry-up or change in concentration of salt of an electrolyte solution in an electrode array” for the purposed as stated by Iguchi (column 1, lines 56-61).
Regarding claim 5, Fujii modified with Iguchi teaches all elements of claim 1 and provides description of a portion of the electrode tab being located closer to the bottom wall that half the height of the electrode ([0051], Figure 5). Regarding claim 6, Fujii modified with Iguchi teaches all elements of claim 1 and teaches uncoated, raised tabs protruding from the electrode sheets that the current collectors grab on to (paragraph [0053], Figure 6.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (US-20140014419-A1) and further in view of Iguchi (US-10797355 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choo (WO-2018016773-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Fujii modified with Iguchi and teaches all the elements of claim 1, but fails to teach the explicit ratio of the length of electrode tab group to the length of the electrode being 0.1 to 0.5.
Choo teaches a wound electrode with an uncoated tab protruding from the electrode body and a tab width that is one-fourth or less the width of the electrode body (claim 6, Figure 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the teachings of Fujii to substitute in the tab size of Choo. Whether the tab is narrow, as taught by Choo, or wide, the tab would still be functional in transporting current no matter the change in size and is thus not patentable (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi (US-10797355 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Iguchi teaches a lower state of charge (SOC) ranging from 10% to 20% (Column 10, line 8 and column 4, lines 59-67-column 5, lines 1-4) where the electrolyte level is closer to the bottom of the case than a portion of the electrode tab group (Comparative Example 3, Figure 4). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the range in teachings of Iguchi to choose a SOC limit of 15% and that also has the electrolyte level closer to the bottom. (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamada (US-20220140453-A1) teaches a storage device assembly with restricted size of electrode tab and a similar construction to the presented invention.
/M.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 4 August 2026