DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues regarding the amended independent claims 1 and 10, that the combination of Wang (JP 2022-551896A) with machine translation IDS 07/03/2025 and Yoshida (WO 2011/027385 A1) with machine translation IDS 07/03/2025 is no longer applicable as prior art indicating an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Applicant argues that while Wang teaches a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet and at least one separator sheet, the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet are each compositely connected with a first separator and a second separator, respectively. Thereafter, these composite sheets are conveyed in their composite form to a winding station, as stated in claim 1 of Wang. Yoshida, used by the examiner to include the recited adhesion layer and combined with Wang for the previous obviousness rejection, does not cure the deficiencies of Wang.
New claims 15-19 are added which are dependent on previous claims. No new matter is added. (Applicant arguments/remarks 11/05/2025 pp. 7-8).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 as amended have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection and/or the arguments do not apply to the way the references are being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (JP 2022-551896A) with machine translation IDS 07/03/2025 in view of Murata (US 2003/0140482 A1) and further in view of Yoshida (WO2011/027385 A1) with machine translation IDS 07/03/2025.
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a method for manufacturing a wound electrode body (Figs.1, 3 paragraphs [0028] [0030] wound electrode assembly – 12), the wound electrode body being configured such that a strip-shaped positive electrode sheet and a strip-shaped negative electrode sheet (Fig. 2 paragraph [0029] positive electrode sheet – 121, negative electrode sheet – 123) are stacked with a strip-shaped separator sheet interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 paragraph [0029] separator is an insulator interposed between the positive and negative electrode sheets) and an obtained stacked body is wound the method comprising:
preparing the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the at least one separator sheet (Fig. 3 paragraphs [0030] [0043[-[0044] the steps of: manufacturing a positive electrode composite sheet body – 20 by compositely connecting a positive electrode sheet – 121 and a first separator – 122; and a negative electrode composite sheet body – 30 by compositely connecting a negative electrode sheet- 123 and a second separator – 124; with positive electrode sheet – 121 and first separator – 122 both transported to first composite device – 103 and negative electrode sheet – 123 and second separator – 124 both transported to second composite device – 106);
conveying each of the prepared sheets (Fig. 4 paragraph [0040] positive electrode composite sheet body – 20 or negative electrode composite sheet body – 30 can be conveyed from bottom to top); and
winding each of the conveyed sheets at a winding core (Fig. 4 paragraph [0045] winding device – 107 provided downstream of the first combined device – 103 and the second combined device – 106),
However, Wang discloses in its embodiment that the positive and negative electrode sheets are each compositely connected with the first and second separators, respectively and, therefore, not conveyed separately from each other to predetermined positions where a winding core is disposed (paragraph [0012] positive electrode composite sheet body with first separator and negative electrode composite sheet body with second separator).
Murata discloses a method for manufacturing a coiled electrode group with individual sources of positive, negative electrode sheets and a separator whereby the individual electrode sheets (plates) are positioned at predetermined relative positions on both sides of the separator to be transported to a group winding head unit (abs Figs. 1, 5. positive electrode plate – 8, negative electrode plate – 4, separator – 7, group winding head unit – 20).
Murata further discloses that the positive and negative electrode sheets with the separator sheet are prepared with predetermined lengths and are constituted in advance and are formed into positive and negative electrode plate cassettes with a separator cassette and are then supplied to a winding core to be wound in a spiral shape (Fig. 7 paragraph [0070] positive and negative electrode plates – 8 and 4, positive and negative electrode plate cassettes – 29 and 31 separator cassette – 27 are all supplied for the group winding head unit – 20).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Wang with the embodiment of Murata whereby a method of manufacturing a wound electrode body that are strip-shaped positive and negative electrode sheet are stacked and interposed with a strip-shaped separator sheet, as disclosed by Wang, would include that these sheets would be prepared and conveyed each separately from each other to predetermined positions where a winding core is disposed and wound each at the winding core.
However, neither Wang or Murata disclose that the adhesion layer on at least one surface has that surface include that the adhesion layer includes a region where the adhesion layer is arranged and a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged.
Yoshida discloses a tack labeler using a substrate pair (abs) with long strip-shaped label-forming base material (paragraph [0006]) and, whereby, there is an adhesion layer on the label forming base material that includes a region where the adhesion layer is arranged and a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged, and in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed to the winding core such that the region where the adhesion layer is not arranged contacts a roller (Figs.3, 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are arranged and installe3d at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer – PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer – AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material – LM). See Fig. 7 compared to Figs 2 and 4A instant invention below:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Wang/Murata with the teachings of Yoshida, whereby in the preparing of at least one sheet of the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet including the adhesion layer on at least one surface thereof, as disclosed by Wang/Murata, would also include that the surface including the adhesion layer includes a region where the adhesion layer is arranged and a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged and that in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed such that the region where the adhesion layer is not arranged contacts a roller, as taught by Yoshida.
The skilled artisan would be motivated in include this feature in the method of Wang/Murata, because now the adhesive forming the adhesive layer does not adhere to the roller, and the surfaces of the positive and negative electrode sheets and separator sheet of Wang can be smoothly fed out (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Yoshida further discloses that in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed such that the region where the adhesion layer is arranged substantially does not contact the roller (Fig. 7, paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer – PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer – AL).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Wang further discloses that in the preparing, the adhesion layer is formed on at least one surface of at least one sheet of the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet (paragraphs [0043] [0044] adhesive application mechanism where both positive and negative electrode sheets are connected together with first and second separators, respectively).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5 , the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 4, respectively, and Wang further discloses that the positive electrode sheet and the first separator and the negative electrode sheet and the second separator are connected together by adhesive bonding by a first and/or second composite device that includes an adhesive application mechanism (paragraph [0043]-[0044]] positive electrode sheet – 121, first separator – 122, negative electrode sheet – 123 second separator – 124 with first composite device – 103 and second composite device – 106), but does not explicitly disclose that the sheet including the adhesion layer is the separator sheet nor that the adhesion layer is arranged on both surfaces of the separator sheet
However, Wang teaches that the positive electrode sheet and the first separator and the negative electrode sheet and the second separator are connected together by adhesive bonding by an adhesive application mechanism (paragraphs [0043] [0044]) and it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill to apply the adhesion layer to the first and/or second separator sheet. It would have been “obvious to try” as this would be a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP § 2143 I (E)).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Wang further discloses wherein
the wound electrode body includes, as the separator sheet, a first separator sheet and a second separator sheet, and
in the winding, Wang discloses the option of claim 6 whereby the first separator sheet, the positive electrode sheet, the second separator sheet, and the negative electrode sheet are stacked in this order and wound (Fig. 2 paragraph [0031] positive electrode sheet – 121 and the first separator – 122 are stacked on top of each other in the thickness direction of the positive electrode sheet – 121 and the negative electrode sheet – 123 and the second separator – 124 are stacked on top of each other in the thickness direction of the negative electrode sheet – 123 – see Fig. 2 below:
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Yoshida further discloses wherein
a rotating surface of the roller is configured in a comb shape with a recessed portion and a raised portion alternately formed, and
in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed such that the raised portion contacts the region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in the sheet including the adhesion layer (Fig 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material LM as shown in FIG. 7. Therefore, the adhesive forming the adhesive layer AL does not adhere to the auxiliary roller – 49. See Fig. 7 above).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Yoshida further discloses wherein
on the sheet including the adhesion layer, the adhesion layer is intermittently arranged in a width direction of the sheet or a longitudinal direction orthogonal to the width direction, and
in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed such that the roller contacts the region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in the sheet on which the adhesion layer is intermittently arranged (Fig 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material LM as shown in FIG. 7. Therefore, the adhesive forming the adhesive layer AL does not adhere to the auxiliary roller – 49. See Fig. 7 above).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Wang further discloses manufacturing a storage device constructed using a wound electrode body obtained as in claim 1 (Fig. 1 paragraph [0028] secondary battery – 10 which includes a case – 11, an electrode assembly – 12 provided within the case – 11 where the electrode assembly – 12 is as disclosed by Wang – See Fig. 2 above).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 5 and Wang further discloses that the conveying comprises using a first roller facing a first surface of the separator sheet and a second roller facing a second surface of the separator sheet as the roller (Figs 4A-4C paragraph [0047] the belt-shape separator – 7 is led to between a pair of guide rollers (guide members – 79 and 80). See Fig. 4A below:
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 15 and Yoshida further discloses that the conveying comprises
conveying the separator sheet to the winding core while bringing a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged on the first surface into contact with the first roller; and
bringing a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged on the second surface into contact with the second roller (Figs.3, 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are arranged and installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer – PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer – AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material – LM).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the combination of Wang/Murata with the adhesion layer arranged on both surfaces of the separator sheet with the teaching of Yoshida whereby the separator sheet is conveyed between a first roller surface and a second roller surface as in Murata, but would also include that the conveying comprises bringing a region where the adhesion layer is arranged and a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged, and in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed to the winding core such that the region where the adhesion layer on the first surface and the second surface is not arranged contacts a first surface and a second surface of the first roller and the second roller, respectively.
The skilled artisan would be motivated in include this feature in the method of Wang/Murata, because now the adhesive forming the adhesive layer does not adhere to the roller, and the surfaces of the positive and negative electrode sheets and separator sheet of Wang can be smoothly fed out for either side of the surface of the separator sheet (paragraph [0031]).
Claim(s) 10-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (JP 2022-551896A) with machine translation IDS 07/03/2025 in view of Murata (US 2003/0140482 A1) and further in view of Yoshida (WO2011/027385 A1) with machine translation IDS 07/03/2025.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses a wound electrode body manufacturing device (Figs.1, 3 paragraphs [0028] [0030] wound electrode assembly – 12), the wound electrode body being configured such that a strip-shaped positive electrode sheet and a strip-shaped negative electrode sheet (Fig. 2 paragraph [0029] positive electrode sheet – 121, negative electrode sheet – 123) are stacked with a strip-shaped separator sheet interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 paragraph [0029] separator is an insulator interposed between the positive and negative electrode sheets) and an obtained stacked body is wound, the device comprising:
a conveying section that conveys the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet (Fig. 4 paragraph [0040] positive electrode composite sheet body – 20 or negative electrode composite sheet body – 30 can be conveyed from bottom to top); and
a winding core around which the sheets conveyed by the conveying section are wound (Fig. 4 paragraph [0045] winding device – 107 provided downstream of the first combined device – 103 and the second combined device – 106).
However, Wang discloses in its embodiment that the positive and negative electrode sheets are each compositely connected with the first and second separators, respectively and, therefore, not conveyed separately from each other to predetermined positions where a winding core is disposed (paragraph [0012] positive electrode composite sheet body with first separator and negative electrode composite sheet body with second separator).
Murata discloses a device for manufacturing a coiled electrode group with individual sources of positive, negative electrode sheets and a separator whereby the individual electrode sheets (plates) are positioned at predetermined relative positions on both sides of the separator to be transported to a group winding head unit (abs Figs. 1, 5. positive electrode plate – 8, negative electrode plate – 4, separator – 7, group winding head unit – 20).
Murata further discloses that the positive and negative electrode sheets with the separator sheet are prepared with predetermined lengths and are constituted in advance and are formed into positive and negative electrode plate cassettes with a separator cassette and are then supplied to a winding core to be wound in a spiral shape (Fig. 7 paragraph [0070] positive and negative electrode plates – 8 and 4, positive and negative electrode plate cassettes – 29 and 31 separator cassette – 27 are all supplied for the group winding head unit – 20).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Wang with the embodiment of Murata whereby a method of manufacturing a wound electrode body that are strip-shaped positive and negative electrode sheet are stacked and interposed with a strip-shaped separator sheet, as disclosed by Wang, would include that these sheets would be prepared and conveyed each separately from each other to predetermined positions where a winding core is disposed and wound each at the winding core.
However, neither Wang or Murata disclose a roller configured to contact a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in one sheet of the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet that includes the adhesion layer
Yoshida discloses a tack labeler using a substrate pair (abs) with long strip-shaped label-forming base material (paragraph [0006]) and, whereby,
there is a roller configured to contact a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in one sheet of the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet that includes the adhesion layer (Figs.3, 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are arranged and installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer – PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer – AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material – LM). See Fig. 7 compared to Figs 2 and 4A instant invention above:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Wang/Murata with the teachings of Yoshida, whereby a wound electrode body manufacturing device comprising a wound electrode body is configured such that the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet interposed therebetween including the adhesion layer on at least one surface thereof, as disclosed by Wang/Murata, would also provide that the surface including the adhesion layer includes a roller configured to contact a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in one sheet of the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet, as taught by Yoshida.
The skilled artisan would be motivated in include this feature in the device of Wang/Murata, because now the adhesive forming the adhesive layer does not adhere to the roller, and the surfaces of the positive and negative electrode sheets and separator sheet of Wang can be smoothly fed out (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Yoshida further discloses that the roller is configured substantially not to contact the region where the adhesion layer is arranged in the sheet including the adhesion layer (Fig. 7, paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer – PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer – AL).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Wang further discloses an adhesion layer application section used for arranging the adhesion layer on at least one surface of at least one sheet of the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, and the separator sheet (paragraphs [0043] [0044] adhesive application mechanism where both positive and negative electrode sheets are connected together with first and second separators, respectively)..
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Yoshida further discloses wherein
a rotating surface of the roller is configured in a comb shape with a recessed portion and a raised portion alternately formed, and
the raised portion contacts the region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in the sheet including the adhesion layer (Fig 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material LM as shown in FIG. 7. Therefore, the adhesive forming the adhesive layer AL does not adhere to the auxiliary roller – 49. See Fig. 7 above).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Yoshida further discloses wherein
on the sheet including the adhesion layer, the adhesion layer is intermittently arranged in a width direction of the sheet or a longitudinal direction orthogonal to the width direction, and
the roller contacts the region where the adhesion layer is not arranged in the sheet on which the adhesion layer is intermittently arranged (Fig 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material LM as shown in FIG. 7. Therefore, the adhesive forming the adhesive layer AL does not adhere to the auxiliary roller – 49. See Fig. 7 above).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Wang further discloses that the positive electrode sheet and the first separator and the negative electrode sheet and the second separator are connected together by adhesive bonding by a first and/or second composite device that includes an adhesive application mechanism (paragraph [0043]-[0044]] positive electrode sheet – 121, first separator – 122, negative electrode sheet – 123 second separator – 124 with first composite device – 103 and second composite device – 106), but does not explicitly disclose that the sheet including the adhesion layer is the separator sheet nor that the adhesion layer is arranged on both surfaces of the separator sheet
However, Wang teaches that the positive electrode sheet and the first separator and the negative electrode sheet and the second separator are connected together by adhesive bonding by an adhesive application mechanism (paragraphs [0043] [0044]) and it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill to apply the adhesion layer to the first and/or second separator sheet. It would have been “obvious to try” as this would be a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP § 2143 I (E)).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 17 and Wang further discloses that the conveying comprises using a first roller facing a first surface of the separator sheet and a second roller facing a second surface of the separator sheet as the roller (Figs 4A-4C paragraph [0047] the belt-shape separator – 7 is led to between a pair of guide rollers (guide members – 79 and 80). See Fig. 4A above.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Wang, Murata and Yoshida disclose all the limitations of claim 18 and Yoshida further discloses that the conveying comprises:
conveying the separator sheet to the winding core while bringing a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged on the first surface into contact with the first roller; and
bringing a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged on the second surface into contact with the second roller (Figs.3, 7 paragraph [0031] auxiliary rollers – 49 are arranged and installed at a height position corresponding to the non-adhesive layer – PL so as not to come into contact with the adhesive layer – AL on the adhesive surface of the label forming base material – LM).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the combination of Wang/Murata with the adhesion layer arranged on both surfaces of the separator sheet with the teaching of Yoshida whereby the separator sheet is conveyed between a first roller surface and a second roller surface as in Murata,
but would also include that the conveying comprises bringing a region where the adhesion layer is arranged and a region where the adhesion layer is not arranged, and in the conveying, the sheet including the adhesion layer is conveyed to the winding core such that the region where the adhesion layer on the first surface and the second surface is not arranged contacts a first surface and a second surface of the first roller and the second roller, respectively.
The skilled artisan would be motivated in include this feature in the method of Wang/Murata, because now the adhesive forming the adhesive layer does not adhere to the roller, and the surfaces of the positive and negative electrode sheets and separator sheet of Wang can be smoothly fed out for either side of the surface of the separator sheet (paragraph [0031]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748