DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 09 July 2026. Claims 21-30 and 32-40 are now pending in the present application and claims 1-20 and 31 are canceled. This office action is made Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
13 July 2026
is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-30 and 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan et al. (hereinafter Alfarhan) (US 2022/0400396 A1) in view of further support by Yi et al. (US 2020/0350972 A1; hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claims 21, 39, and 40, Alfarhan discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 102) { (see Fig. 1A) }, comprising:
a receiver (e.g., 120) configured to { (see Fig. 1B) }:
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message configuring a plurality of first Reference Signal (RS) resources, wherein the plurality of first RS resources are associated with a first Physical Cell Identity (PCI) { (see pg. 13, [0176]; Figs. 1-3), where the system provides resources that are associated with a PCI (see pg. 12, [0164]) }, and
receive a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) that activates (e.g., MAC entity configure TRP) a set of first RS resources of the plurality of first RS resources for determining beam failure { (see pg. 12, [0149-0150]; Figs. 1A-6), where the system provides resource and MAC-CE (see pg. 10, [0126]; pp. 12-13, [0170]; Figs. 1A-6), and the system provides a MAC CE the (see pg. 8, [0083, lines 1-3; 0092]), and the system provides a cell with a MAC entity (e.g., downlink/uplink transmission control) for multiple TRP (resources) that communicate with WTRU (see pg. 12, [0164, lines 6 et seq.; 0170, lines 1-4; 0156]; pg. 2, [0014]) },
wherein the UE (e.g., 102) is configured to, in response to receiving the MAC CE (e.g., MAC entity configure / command) { (see pg. 12, [0149-0150]; Figs. 1A-6), where the system provides resource and MAC-CE (see pg. 10, [0126]; pp. 12-13, [0170]; Figs. 1A-6), and the system provides a cell with a MAC entity (e.g., downlink/uplink transmission control) for multiple TRP (resources) that communicate (see pg. 12, [0164, lines 6 et seq.; 0170, lines 1-4]; pg. 2, [0014]), and the system provides the MAC entity that has established/hand-shake a configuration (or control) with the WTRU and the WTRU via the MAC CE can report beam failure (see pp. 1-2, [0013, lines 10-15; 0014, lines 9-13]; pg. 12, [0170, lines 1-4]) }:
set a beam failure instance indication counter to zero { (see pg. 2, [0014]; Figs. 1A-6), where the system provides a counter for beam failure that has a maximum number for exceeding in which a start from zero must be an initial number value of the counting }, and
evaluate a radio link quality of the set of first RS resources { (see pp. 3-4, [0037]; pp. 12-13, [0170]; Figs. 1A-6), where the system provides quality (QoS) }.
Alfarhan inexplicitly disclose having the feature(s) in response to receiving the MAC CE: set a beam failure instance indication counter to zero. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) in response to receiving the MAC CE: set a beam failure instance indication counter to zero was well known in the art, as taught by Yi.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Yi discloses the feature(s)
in response to receiving the MAC CE: set a beam failure instance indication counter to zero { (see pg. 4, [0194; lines 1-7]; pg. 11, [0246, lines 9-12]; pg. 19, [0323; 0313, lines 6-9]; Fig. 16), where the system provides a BFI counter to zero }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan as further alternatively supported by Yi to have the feature(s) in response to receiving the MAC CE: set a beam failure instance indication counter to zero, in order to provide beam failure recovery in multi-TRP scenarios, as taught by Yi (see title; abstract).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein: the RRC message configures a plurality of second RS resources that are associated with a second PCI that is different than the first PCI, wherein the UE is configured to evaluate a radio link quality of a set of second RS resources of the plurality of second RS resources { (see pg. 13, [0176]; Figs. 1-3), where the system provides resources that are associated with a PCI (see pg. 12, [0164]) }.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 22), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 22, wherein the RRC message indicates an index and a type of each second RS resource of the plurality of second RS resources { (see pg. 13, [0176]; Figs. 1-3), where the system provides resources that are associated with a PCI (see pg. 12, [0164]) }.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 22), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 22, wherein the RRC message include a RadioLinkMonitoringConfig information element (IE), and the RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE indicates the plurality of first RS resources, and wherein the RadioLinkMonitoringConfig IE includes a detectionResource field that indicates a type and an index of a second RS resource of the plurality of second RS resources { (see pg. 8, [0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 22), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 22, wherein all second RS resources of the plurality of second RS resources belong to a cell identified by the second PCI { (see pg. 8, [0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 22), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 22, wherein the plurality of first RS resources belong to a first cell identified by the first PCI, and the plurality of second RS resources belong to a second cell identified by the second PCI, the first cell is a serving cell of the UE that is a Primary Cell (PCell), a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) or a Secondary Cell (SCell) { (see pg. 8, [0081, 0083, 0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 22), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 22, wherein any first RS resource of the plurality of first RS resources is different from any second RS resource of the plurality of second RS resources { (see pg. 8, [0081, 0083, 0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein: on a condition that the radio link quality is worse than a first threshold, a physical layer of the UE is configured to report a beam failure instance indication to a higher layer of the UE { (see pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; pg. 8, [0092]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein: a higher layer of the UE is configured to receive a beam failure instance indication from a physical layer of the UE, and the UE is configured to increment the beam failure instance indication counter by in response to the beam failure instance indication { (see pg. 2, [0014]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein an RS resource for radio link monitoring is related to all RS resources in a target observation set, and the RS resource for the radio link monitoring is unrelated to any RS resource other than the target observation set, and the target observation set includes at least one of the set of first RS resources or the set of second RS resources { (see pg. 2, [0014]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein the MAC CE explicitly indicates an RS resource identifier of the set of first RS resources { (see pg. 12, [0149-0150]; Figs. 1A-6), where the system provides resource and MAC-CE (see pg. 10, [0126]; pp. 12-13, [0170]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein the RRC message is an RRCReconfiguration message that includes a RadioLinkMonitoringConfig information element (IE) that indicates the plurality of first RS resources { (see pg. 8, [0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein the beam failure instance indication counter is a BFI_COUNTER that counts beam failure instance indications { (see pg. 2, [0014]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein the radio link quality is evaluated for all RS resources of the set of first RS resources, and the radio link quality is not evaluated for remaining RS resources of the plurality of first RS resources { (see pg. 8, [0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein an RS resource of the set of first RS resources is an SSB resource or a CSI-RS resource { (see pg. 8, [0081, 0083, 0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein the set of first RS resources includes one or more RS resources { (see pg. 8, [0081, 0083, 0092]; pg. 13, [0176]; pg. 12, [0164]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Alfarhan and Yi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Alfarhan further discloses the UE according to claim 21, wherein link failure includes beam link failure, and radio link monitoring includes a link recovery procedure { (see pg. 2, [0014]; Figs. 1A-6) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 21-30 and 32-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2019/0373450 A1) discloses capability-bssed determination of a shared data channel TCI state.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
14 September 2026