DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claims 15-16) and Group III (claims 17-19) are withdrawn from consideration. Since the applicant did not point out errors of restriction; therefore, the restriction will be treated as without traverse. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 and 03/20/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In this case, the present title filed on 01/26/2024, is too long. See MPEP 606.01. The following tittle is suggested:
--Method and device for powder injection monitoring--.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1: the terms “A)”, “B), “C”, “D)”, “E)”, and “F)” should be removed.
In claim 2: the term “and/or” as cited in line 2, should be changed to --or--.
In claim 13: the term “G)” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Regulin et al. (US 20200038954 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Regulin discloses
A method for powder injection monitoring during laser beam buildup welding (method for additive manufacturing, tittle and apparatus 100, fig.1), the method comprising the following simultaneously occurring steps:
irradiating a workpiece (workpiece 10, fig.1) using a work laser beam (laser beam 112, fig.1) [Par.0017 cited: “…laser beam 112 and the supply material are used to deposit material on the workpiece 10…”];
conveying powder through at least one powder nozzle (nozzle 132, fig.1) to generate a powder jet [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”];
illuminating the powder jet transversely to a jet direction of the powder jet [CCD camera 2150 can illuminating the nozzle 132, during the powder jet transversely to a jet direction]; and
taking at least one picture of the powder jet by using a camera (CCD camera 2150, fig.12), wherein a viewing direction of the camera (CCD camera 2150) extends coaxially to the jet direction of the powder jet;
the method further comprising the following steps:
performing an actual assessment of the at least one picture by an algorithm [Par.0110 cited: “…CCD camera 2150 is connected to an evaluation device 2155 of the manufacturing device 1035. By way of an algorithm, the evaluation device 2155 evaluates the image of the melt pool 2140, captured by means of the CCD camera 2150, and determines a mean diameter of the melt pool 2140…”]; and
outputting a message upon determining that a predefined deviation of the actual assessment from a target assessment is exceeded [Par.0118 cited: “…measurement task can be a topography measurement in the trailing region for determining the geometry of the deposited welding bead, for example for fault detection1…”].
Regarding claim 2, Regulin discloses
the message is output as a warning message or as an error message [Par.0118 cited: “…measurement task can be a topography measurement in the trailing region for determining the geometry of the deposited welding bead, for example for fault detection…”].
Regarding claim 3, Regulin discloses
the powder is conveyed through multiple powder nozzles (nozzle 132, fig.1) [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”].
Regarding claim 4, Regulin discloses
the illumination of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) is performed by using at least one of a line laser, a spotlight, or a ring light [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”].
Regarding claim 5, Regulin discloses
the illumination of the powder jet is performed by using at least one light-emitting diode [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”].
Regarding claim 6, Regulin discloses
the illumination of the powder jet is reflected antiparallel [Par.0081 cited: “…FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”; and Par.0084 cited: “…interferometer 140 comprises one or more optical elements such as lenses, mirrors or wedge plates that deflect the optical measurement beam in order to direct the latter onto the workpiece 10…”].
Regarding claim 7, Regulin discloses
the antiparallel reflection of the illumination of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) is performed by using at least one of a deflection prism, a deflection mirror, or a retroreflector [Par.0084 cited: “…interferometer 140 comprises one or more optical elements such as lenses, mirrors or wedge plates that deflect the optical measurement beam in order to direct the latter onto the workpiece 10…”].
Regarding claim 8, Regulin discloses
the illumination of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) takes place in a focus of the powder jet [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle…”].
Regarding claim 9, Regulin discloses
the illumination of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) takes place directly below at least one powder nozzle (nozzle 132, fig.1) [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”].
Regarding claim 10, Regulin discloses
the illumination of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) takes place in multiple illumination planes [Par.0081 cited: “…off-axis powder nozzle 132 is a light, simple and robust system that is distinguished, in particular, by good accessibility even in the case of poorly reachable welding position…”].
Regarding claim 11, Regulin discloses
the taking of the at least one picture comprises taking multiple chronologically successive pictures [Par.0110 cited: “…CCD camera 2150 is connected to an evaluation device 2155 of the manufacturing device 1035. By way of an algorithm, the evaluation device 2155 evaluates the image of the melt pool 2140, captured by means of the CCD camera 2150, and determines a mean diameter of the melt pool 2140…”].
Regarding claim 12, Regulin discloses
the performance of the actual assessment of the at least one picture comprises performing the actual assessment of the multiple chronological successive pictures, to determine a characteristic value that indicates a change of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) [Par.0110 cited: “…CCD camera 2150 is connected to an evaluation device 2155 of the manufacturing device 1035. By way of an algorithm, the evaluation device 2155 evaluates the image of the melt pool 2140, captured by means of the CCD camera 2150, and determines a mean diameter of the melt pool 2140…”].
Regarding claim 13, Regulin discloses
performing an automated alignment of a focus of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) on a focus of the work laser beam (laser beam 112, fig.1) [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”].
Regarding claim 14, Regulin discloses
a beam direction of the work laser beam (laser beam 112, fig.1) extends coaxially to the jet direction of the powder jet (annular jet powder nozzle, Par.0081) [Par.0081 cited: “…at least one supply apparatus 130 is selected from a group consisting of an annular jet powder nozzle, a multi-jet powder nozzle and an off-axis powder nozzle. FIG. 1 illustrates an off-axis powder nozzle 132…”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shibazaki (US 20170304947 A1) is considered as the relevant prior art in field of powder injection method, as shown in fig.2, with irradiating a workpiece using a work laser beam, conveying powder by a powder nozzle, the powder jet transversely to a jet direction, and capturing a picture by a camera… but does not disclose outputting a message...
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
07/26/2026
1 “fault detection” may be alerted on monitor, screen or display.