Authorization for Internet Communication
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication. Doing so would permit the USPTO to communicate using Internet e-mail to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet e-mail correspondence. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03. Authorizations in an Internet e-mail do not have the same effect as filing the form in the record.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is respectfully reminded of the duty under 37 C.F.R. 1.56 to disclose all pertinent information and material pertaining to the patentability of the instant invention, by submitting in a timely manner PTO-1449, Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), with the filing of an application or thereafter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the meaning of “how it is ingested is to process performance indicator data from the network element to generate performance indicator records” and “utilizing the compiler objects to modify ingestion behavior of the normalizer without redeploying the normalizer” is unclear. The claims have been interpreted to read on the prior art as explained in those grounds of rejection, infra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 and Specification and Drawing Objections
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contain(s) subject matter that was not described in the original specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. More specifically, the claims have been amended to recite “compiler objects specifying, for the network element . . . how it is ingested is to process performance indicator data from the network element to generate performance indicator records” and “utilizing the compiler objects to modify ingestion behavior of the normalizer without redeploying the normalizer.” The Examiner cannot find support for these limitations.
Similarly, the specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the aforementioned subject matter of claims 1-20. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Similarly, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the aforementioned limitations must be shown or canceled therefrom. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of US 11106442 (Hsiao), GB 2403829 (Wei), US 20230073670 (Wong), and WO-2025046609 (Murarka).
Regarding claim 11, Bhatnagar teaches or suggests a system (title), comprising:
one or more processors configured for executing instructions to perform operations (¶ 48) comprising:
identifying performance indicators to track for a communication network (¶ 109);
specifying, for the network, which performance indicator data is ingested by how a normalizer (¶¶ 109, 111);
a normalizer to generate performance indicator records (¶¶ 67, 109);
receiving, by the normalizer over a message bus from the network element, incoming performance indicator data according to ingestion logic (¶ 70).
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Gavan teaches or suggests generating, by a compiler, a package with compiler objects specifying how a normalizer is to process performance indicator data from the network to generate performance indicator records; and injecting the package into the normalizer for utilizing the compiler objects to modify ingestion behavior of the normalizer without redeploying the normalizer and ingest the performance indicator data (14:58-64, 18:26-31, 24:1-4, 26:30-52, 27:60-28:3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system and Gavan’s reconfiguration in order to adapt the normalizer to the requirements of an enterprise.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Hsiao teaches or suggests a package with compiler objects specifying, for the network element, how performance indicator data is ingested (89:57-62). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, and Hsiao’s package such that a user can customize where and how data gets ingested.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Wei teaches or suggests the injecting occurs during runtime of a normalizer, (description of Figs. 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, and Wei’s timing in order to avoid a system shut down.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Wong teaches or suggests a first compiler object of the compiler objects defines a first ingestion path for is mapped to the first topic over which a first type of performance indicator data is to be received and processed by the first compiler object, and a second compiler object of the compiler objects defines a second ingestion path, different than the first ingestion path, for is mapped to the second topic over which a second type of performance indicator data is to be received and processed by the second compiler object (¶ 90). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, and Wong’s paths in order to accommodate different sources and sinks of data.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Murarka teaches or suggests tracking a network element (¶ 84) and processing, utilizing the compiler objects, the incoming performance indicator data to create and persistently store the performance indicator records the performance indicator records (¶ 105).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing in order to prevent loss of the records.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the claimed limitations as explained regarding claim 11 supra, mutatis mutandis, as well as a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (¶ 149).
Regarding claim 2, Bhatnagar teaches or suggests utilizing a rule to combine a set of data items from the network element to create a single performance indicator (¶ 3).
Regarding claim 4, Bhatnagar teaches or suggests aggregating the performance indicator records over an aggregation window to create aggregated performance indicator sets; in response to receiving a request for analyzing the communication network, selecting an aggregated performance indicator set corresponding to a level of granularity related to the request; and providing the aggregated performance indicator set as a response to the request (¶ 88).
Regarding claim 7, Murarka teaches or suggests receiving a troubleshooting request for the communication network; selecting a level of granularity of performance indicator data to analyze for the troubleshooting request; selecting an aggregated performance indicator set corresponding to the level of granularity; analyzing the aggregated performance indicator set to generate a corrective action to perform for the troubleshooting request; and implementing the corrective action (¶ 128). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 11.
Regarding claim 10, Bhatnagar teaches or suggests transforming, by the normalizer, the incoming performance indicator data utilizing rules provided by the compiler to the normalizer (¶ 67).
Regarding claim 16, Murarka teaches or suggests aggregating performance indicator records over a second aggregation window to create a second aggregated performance indicator set; and utilizing the second aggregated performance indicator set to evaluate text messaging performance (¶ 108). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 11.
Claims 3, 6, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of US 11106442 (Hsiao), GB 2403829 (Wei), US 20230073670 (Wong), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and WO-2025009172 (Echigo).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Echigo teaches or suggests dynamically modifying the performance indicators to track by removing or adding a performance indicator during operation of the normalizer (two ¶¶s before Analysis). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Echigo’s modifying in order to provide flexibility.
Regarding claim 6, Bhatnagar teaches or suggests injecting the package into the normalizer to start tracking the performance indicator as aforementioned.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Echigo teaches or suggests in response to determining that a performance indicator is to be tracked, generating an updated package with updated compiler objects (two ¶¶s before Analysis). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and US-20230259443-A1 (Gusat).
Bhatnagar teaches or suggests injecting the package into the normalizer as aforementioned.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Gusat teaches or suggests in response to determining that a performance indicator is no longer to be tracked, generating an updated package with updated compiler objects (¶ 59). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Gusat’s generating in order to provide flexibility.
Claims 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and BR-112017016306 (Cortes).
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Cortes teaches or suggests dynamically configuring, by the compiler during operation of a platform that includes the compiler and the normalizer, the normalizer to track a set of performance indicators for a new network element (cl. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Cortes’ configuring in order to provide flexibility.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and CN-110751485 (Li).
Bhatnagar teaches or suggests aggregating the performance indicator records over an aggregation window to create an aggregated performance indicator set (¶ 88).
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Li teaches or suggests in response to receiving performance data within a threshold time after creation of the aggregated performance indicator set, adding the performance data into the aggregated performance indicator set (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Li’s adding in order to provide flexibility.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and US-20230209105 (Kozak).
Bhatnagar teaches or suggests and publish the incoming performance indicator data over the message bus (¶ 70).
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Kozak teaches or suggests performing a file pull operation to retrieve incoming performance indicator data from the network element (¶ 46).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Kozak’s file pull in order to obtain data.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and WO-2024110160 (Ali).
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Ali teaches or suggests processing the performance indicator records to track at least one of download speeds, upload speeds, voice connections, text messaging, user equipment performance, cell tower performance, or network equipment performance (abs.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Ali’s metric in order to learn relevant information.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and US-20180212819 (Zhang).
Murarka teaches or suggests aggregating performance indicator records over a first aggregation window to create a first aggregated performance indicator set (¶ 128). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 11.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Zhang teaches or suggests utilizing the second aggregated performance indicator set to evaluate voicemail access performance (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Zhang’s utilizing in order to in order to learn relevant information.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2025017649 (Bhatnagar) in view of US 9390418 (Gavan) further in view of GB 2403829 (Wei), US 12281900 (Schmitt), WO-2025046609 (Murarka), and FR-2997250 (Kovesi).
Murarka teaches or suggests aggregating performance indicator records over a first aggregation window to create a second aggregated performance indicator set (¶ 128). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 11.
Bhatnagar does not expressly disclose but Kovesi teaches or suggests utilizing the second aggregated performance indicator set to evaluate voicemail access performance (description following fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Bhatnagar’s system, Gavan’s reconfiguration, Hsiao’s package, Wei’s timing, Wong’s paths, Murarka’s processing, and Kovesi’s utilizing in order to in order to learn relevant information.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered. The applicant argues that “Gavan does not disclose generating, by a compiler, a package with compiler objects that specifies which performance indicator data is ingested by the normalizer and how it is ingested” (Resp. 13), and “Wei does not disclose injecting compiler-generated objects into a normalizer to modify ingestion behavior . . . .” (Resp. 14.) The Examiner relies on the combined teaching of Bhatnagar, Gavan, Hsiao, Wei, Wong, and Murark (in combination with the prior art as a whole) to reject the limitations at issue. Consequently, the individual attacks on Gavan and Wei cannot establish non-obviousness.
The applicant argues that “[n]or does Gavan disclose compiler objects that define ingestion behavior on a per-network-element basis” (Resp. 13), and “nor does Wei disclose that ingestion logic itself is altered during runtime.” (Resp. 14.) The arguments are not commensurate with the limitations of the claim; the limitations are not recited in the claims being argued.
The applicant argues that “Schmitt’s parallel processing of different portions of data does not teach or suggest defining different ingestion paths via compiler objects.” (Resp. 14.) Schmitt has been replaced.
Other Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the instant disclosure. For example, US-20190095241 executes multiple containerized instances of a software application (abs).
Conclusion
/LANCE LEONARD BARRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457