DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21-34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21, 28 recites the limitation "the first network node y" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. There is a first network node, but there is no a first network node y.
Claims 22-27, 29-34 are rejected for being dependent on claims 21, 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 28, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico et al. (US20210314889) in view of Zhang et al. (US20250380242).
Regarding claim 21-22, 24-27, 28,-29, 35-36, Rico teaches An apparatus configured to operate in a non-terrestrial network ([0004] “a UE and a serving node of the UE, such as when a gateway or base station and the UE are a part of a non-terrestrial network (NTN)”), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0006] “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, and memory coupled to the processor”), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, ([0006] “may be configured to receive, from a base station, an indication of a scheduling offset between a DL radio frame timing structure and an UL radio frame timing structure, and transmit an UL message to the base station based on a TA, the TA based on the received indication of the scheduling offset”, [0061] “base stations (e.g., next-generation NodeBs or giga-NodeBs (which may be referred to as a gNB, and also referred to as access stations or access gateways, (Examiner’s Note: base station == next generation Node B(Gnb)), [0063] “As described herein, a scheduling offset (Koffset) between a UE's UL and DL radio frame timing structure may be based on a worst case RTT within the NTN (Koffset=RTTWorstcase) or a difference between the worst case RTT and the best case RTT within the NTN (Koffset=RTTWorstCase−RTTBestCase)”));
determine, ([0012] “means, or instructions for determining a network offset between a network DL radio frame timing structure and a network UL radio frame timing structure, where the TA may be determined based on the network offset… determining a range of TA values based on the network offset, where the TA may be determined based on the range”);
determine a time difference corresponding to the TA value ([0134] “For instance, in some cases a network 525 may implement a K2 offset for UL (e.g., PUSCH) communications scheduled by a downlink (e.g., PDCCH) grant. In some cases, K2=3 slots, and a satellite scheduling an UL transmission via a DL slot0 may expect to receive a corresponding UL message (e.g., PUSCH, HARQ-ACK, etc.) in an UL s1ot3. In such cases, UEs may determine an UL radio frame timing structure (e.g., UE UL 515 timing) based on a scheduling offset (Koffset=N), slot offset (K2=3)”, (Timing structure == TA value),
Rico does not teach via radio resource control (RRC) or medium access control (MAC) signaling, at a time of receiving a downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) from the first network node, and, when the TA value exceeds a single subframe,
an additional integer offset in subframes between a first uplink subframe that is closest in time to the downlink PRS and a second uplink subframe corresponding to the downlink PRS;
compute a time domain value by subtracting the scheduling offset value K_offset from the determined time difference;
and report the computed time domain value, as corrected by the scheduling offset value K_offset,
to a second network entity comprising a location management function (LMF) for use in determining a round trip time (RTT) of a communication link between the apparatus and the first network node y.
Zhang teaches via radio resource control (RRC) or medium access control (MAC) signaling ([0170] “a value of Koffset is configured by a network side. For example, Koffset=Kcell,offset−KUE,offset, where Kcell,offset is provided by CellSpecifickoffset signaling, and KUE,offset may be provided by a Differential Koffset MAC CE command”, (Examiner’s Note: MAC CE command ==MAC signaling),
at a time of receiving a downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) from the first network node ([0128] “As shown in FIG. 3 , a base station determines that a time difference between sending a PRS and receiving an SRS is T4−T1=gNB(Tx-Rx), and the UE determines that a time difference between receiving a PRS and sending an SRS is T3−T2=UE(Rx-Tx) time difference”),
and, when the TA value exceeds a single subframe ([0132] “a timing advance of UE exceeds a length of one subframe, that is, receive-transmit time differences of the UE and a gNB in a satellite communication scenario may be large”),
an additional integer offset in subframes between a first uplink subframe that is closest in time to the downlink PRS and a second uplink subframe corresponding to the downlink PRS ([0131] “ a gNB sends a downlink DL subframe i to UE, and the DL subframe i may carry a PRS … If the TA of the UE has a deviation, the gNB may need to determine an actual TA of the UE based on a receive-transmit time difference of the UE and a receive-transmit time difference of the gNB. The receive-transmit time difference UE(Rx-Tx) of the UE may be a time difference between a moment at which the UE receives the DL subframe i and a moment at which the UE sends a UL subframe j, where the subframe j is closest to the received DL subframe i in terms of time. The receive-transmit time difference gNB(Rx-Tx) of the gNB may be a time difference between a moment at which the gNB receives a UL subframe x and a moment at which the gNB sends a DL subframe y, where the DL subframe y is closest to the received UL subframe x in terms of time, and the UL subframe x may carry a sounding reference signal (SRS) … The actual TA of the UE may be a difference between the TA of the UE and |gNB(Rx-Tx)|, where the TA of the UE is a difference between a length of one subframe and UE(Rx-Tx), or is UE(Rx-Tx)., (Examiner’s Note: additional integer offset == TA of the UE has deviation == difference between length of one subframe and UE(Rx-Tx), PRS==downlink PRS, UL subframe x == a first uplink subframe, UL subframe x … carry SRS == a second uplink subframe;
compute a time domain value by subtracting the scheduling offset value K_offset from the determined time difference ([0171] “For example, that the terminal device determines the time difference #1 based on Koffset and the time difference #2 may be that Koffset is subtracted from the time difference #2, to obtain the time difference #1”);
and report the computed time domain value, as corrected by the scheduling offset value K_offset ([0187] “the terminal device may report the time difference #1 in the existing manner of reporting UE(Rx-Tx)”, (Examiner’s Note: time difference #1 is determined based off of Koffset in [0171]”),
to a second network entity comprising a location management function (LMF) for use in determining a round trip time (RTT) of a communication link between the apparatus and the first network node y ([0128] “Therefore, the RTT between the UE and the TRP is approximately equal to gNB(Tx-Rx)-UE(Rx-Tx). Measurement is performed a plurality of times, and a measurement result is sent to a positioning server, so that the positioning server can determine a position of the UE based on the RTT”, (Examiner’s Note: positioning server == LMF).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 22, Rico teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to receive an indication from the first network node ([0135] “, UEs may receive an indication of a scheduling offset, Koffset=N, from a gNB (e.g., a base station or satellite). UEs may then determine an RTT for communications with the gNB and determine a TA based on Koffset=N and the determined RTT”) to perform a modulo operation for the computed time domain value before reporting, when the computed time domain value exceeds a predetermined threshold associated with a satellite position ([0140] “a satellite may schedule the UE to transmit an UL transmission in satellite DL slot0 of sat DL 610 timing. In some cases, sat DL 610 timing may be aligned with sat UL 605 timing (e.g., satellite UL slot 0). Based on a scheduling offset (Koffset=D) and a TA (e.g., TA=NX−(N−D)), UEs may determine an UL radio frame timing structure (e.g., UE UL 615-a timing) such that UE UL may be transmitted according to a TA for satellite reception of the UL message in the frame where the satellite expects to receive the UL message (e.g., such that the UL transmission from the UE arrives at the satellite aligned with a frame boundary expected for DL scheduling in satellite DL slot0 of sat DL 610). For instance, in some cases a network 625 may implement a K2 offset for UL (e.g., PUSCH) communications scheduled by a DL (e.g., PDCCH) grant”).
Regarding claim 24, Rico does not teach wherein the downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) is detected at a first path within a downlink subframe, and wherein the uplink message transmitted in response comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) measured at the gNB and reported to the location management function (LMF).
Zhang teaches wherein the downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) is detected at a first path within a downlink subframe, and wherein the uplink message transmitted in response comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) measured at the gNB ([0131] “ a gNB sends a downlink DL subframe i to UE, and the DL subframe i may carry a PRS … and the UL subframe x may carry a sounding reference signal (SRS)) and reported to the location management function (LMF) ([0128] “Therefore, the RTT between the UE and the TRP is approximately equal to gNB(Tx-Rx)-UE(Rx-Tx). Measurement is performed a plurality of times, and a measurement result is sent to a positioning server, so that the positioning server can determine a position of the UE based on the RTT”, (Examiner’s Note: positioning server == LMF).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 25, Rico does not teach wherein the apparatus is further configured to determine the additional integer offset in subframes as a second time period, and wherein the computed time domain value corresponds to a sum of the timing advance value and the second time period minus the scheduling offset value Koffset.
Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to determine the additional integer offset in subframes as a second time period, and wherein the computed time domain value corresponds to a sum of the timing advance value and the second time period minus the scheduling offset value Koffset ([0171] “that the terminal device determines the time difference #1 based on Koffset and the time difference #2 may be that Koffset is subtracted from the time difference #2, to obtain the time difference #1. In other words, the duration #1 may be duration corresponding to Koffset”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 26, Rico teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to report, in addition to the computed time domain value, quality information or a timestamp associated with the determined time difference, the quality information being ([0034] “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining a range of TA values based on the common offset, where the TA may be determined based on the range. In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the RTT for communications with the base station may be determined based on one or more of a position of the UE, a position of the base station, a distance between the UE and the base station, a timestamp corresponding to a UL message received from the base station, and a local timestamp”).
Rico does not teach useable by the location management function (LMF) in estimating the round trip time (RTT).
Zhang teaches wherein useable by the location management function (LMF) in estimating the round trip time (RTT) ([0128] “Therefore, the RTT between the UE and the TRP is approximately equal to gNB(Tx-Rx)-UE(Rx-Tx). Measurement is performed a plurality of times, and a measurement result is sent to a positioning server, so that the positioning server can determine a position of the UE based on the RTT”, (Examiner’s Note: positioning server == LMF).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 27, Rico does not teach wherein the scheduling offset value Koffset is configured as a cell-specific value provided via system information (SI) or as a user equipment (UE)-specific value provided via medium access control (MAC) control element signaling.
Zhang teaches wherein the scheduling offset value Koffset is configured as a cell-specific value provided via system information (SI) or as a user equipment (UE)-specific value provided via medium access control (MAC) control element signaling ([0170] “In the satellite communication scenario, a value of Koffset is configured by a network side. For example, Koffset=Kcell,offset−KUE,offset, where Kcell,offset is provided by CellSpecifickoffset signaling, and KUE,offset may be provided by a Differential Koffset MAC CE command”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claims 29, 36, Rico teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to receive an indication ([0135] “, UEs may receive an indication of a scheduling offset, Koffset=N, from a gNB (e.g., a base station or satellite). UEs may then determine an RTT for communications with the gNB and determine a TA based on Koffset=N and the determined RTT”) from the first network node to perform a modulo operation for the computed time domain value before reporting, when the computed time domain value exceeds a predetermined threshold associated with a satellite position ([0140] “a satellite may schedule the UE to transmit an UL transmission in satellite DL slot0 of sat DL 610 timing. In some cases, sat DL 610 timing may be aligned with sat UL 605 timing (e.g., satellite UL slot 0). Based on a scheduling offset (Koffset=D) and a TA (e.g., TA=NX−(N−D)), UEs may determine an UL radio frame timing structure (e.g., UE UL 615-a timing) such that UE UL may be transmitted according to a TA for satellite reception of the UL message in the frame where the satellite expects to receive the UL message (e.g., such that the UL transmission from the UE arrives at the satellite aligned with a frame boundary expected for DL scheduling in satellite DL slot0 of sat DL 610). For instance, in some cases a network 625 may implement a K2 offset for UL (e.g., PUSCH) communications scheduled by a DL (e.g., PDCCH) grant”).
Claim(s) 23, 30-34, 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico, in view of Zhang further in view of Park et al. (US20240163825).
Regarding claim 23, Rico, Zhang does not teach wherein the apparatus is further configured to represent the computed time domain value using a limited number of bits, and wherein the limited number of bits correspond to a configured uplink reporting range of 0-7 slot offsets on top of the scheduling offset value Koffset.
Park teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to represent the computed time domain value using a limited number of bits, and wherein the limited number of bits correspond to a configured uplink reporting range of 0-7 slot offsets on top of the scheduling offset value Koffset (([0227] “In this regard, the present disclosure includes examples of applying an additional modification/offset to K1 and this additional offset is referred to as K1_offset. This K1_offset is a new timing-related parameter distinguished from the above-described Koffset (or K_offset)”, [0228] “The bit width may be 3 bits when one of entries up to 8 is indicated”)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rico, Zhang, to incorporate Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for /applying a time offset to uplink transmission (or reception) based on downlink reception (or transmission) in a wireless communication system including a non-terrestrial network (NTN).
Regarding claims 30, 37, Rico, Zhang does not teach wherein the apparatus is further configured to represent the computed time domain value using a limited number of bits, and wherein the limited number of bits correspond to a configured uplink reporting range of 0-7 slot offsets on top of the scheduling offset value Koffset ([0227] “In this regard, the present disclosure includes examples of applying an additional modification/offset to K1 and this additional offset is referred to as K1_offset. This K1_offset is a new timing-related parameter distinguished from the above-described Koffset (or K_offset)”, [0228] “The bit width may be 3 bits when one of entries up to 8 is indicated”)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rico, Zhang, to incorporate Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for /applying a time offset to uplink transmission (or reception) based on downlink reception (or transmission) in a wireless communication system including a non-terrestrial network (NTN).
.
Park teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to represent the computed time domain value using a limited number of bits, and wherein the limited number of bits correspond to a configured uplink reporting range of 0-7 slot offsets on top of the scheduling offset value Koffset ([0227] “In this regard, the present disclosure includes examples of applying an additional modification/offset to K1 and this additional offset is referred to as K1_offset. This K1_offset is a new timing-related parameter distinguished from the above-described Koffset (or K_offset)”, [0228] “The bit width may be 3 bits when one of entries up to 8 is indicated”)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rico, Zhang, to incorporate Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for /applying a time offset to uplink transmission (or reception) based on downlink reception (or transmission) in a wireless communication system including a non-terrestrial network (NTN).
Regarding claim 31, 38, Rico does not teach wherein the downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) is detected at a first path within a downlink subframe, and wherein the uplink message transmitted in response comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) measured at the gNB and reported to the location management function (LMF).
Zhang teaches wherein the downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) is detected at a first path within a downlink subframe, and wherein the uplink message transmitted in response comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) measured at the gNB ([0131] “ a gNB sends a downlink DL subframe i to UE, and the DL subframe i may carry a PRS … and the UL subframe x may carry a sounding reference signal (SRS)) and reported to the location management function (LMF) ([0128] “Therefore, the RTT between the UE and the TRP is approximately equal to gNB(Tx-Rx)-UE(Rx-Tx). Measurement is performed a plurality of times, and a measurement result is sent to a positioning server, so that the positioning server can determine a position of the UE based on the RTT”, (Examiner’s Note: positioning server == LMF).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 32, 39, Rico does not teach wherein the apparatus is further configured to determine the additional integer offset in subframes as a second time period, and wherein the computed time domain value corresponds to a sum of the timing advance value and the second time period minus the scheduling offset value Koffset.
Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to determine the additional integer offset in subframes as a second time period, and wherein the computed time domain value corresponds to a sum of the timing advance value and the second time period minus the scheduling offset value Koffset ([0171] “that the terminal device determines the time difference #1 based on Koffset and the time difference #2 may be that Koffset is subtracted from the time difference #2, to obtain the time difference #1. In other words, the duration #1 may be duration corresponding to Koffset”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 33,40, Rico teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to report, in addition to the computed time domain value, quality information or a timestamp associated with the determined time difference, the quality information being ([0034] “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining a range of TA values based on the common offset, where the TA may be determined based on the range. In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the RTT for communications with the base station may be determined based on one or more of a position of the UE, a position of the base station, a distance between the UE and the base station, a timestamp corresponding to a UL message received from the base station, and a local timestamp”)
Zhang teaches useable by the location management function (LMF) in estimating the round trip time (RTT) ([0128] “Therefore, the RTT between the UE and the TRP is approximately equal to gNB(Tx-Rx)-UE(Rx-Tx). Measurement is performed a plurality of times, and a measurement result is sent to a positioning server, so that the positioning server can determine a position of the UE based on the RTT”, (Examiner’s Note: positioning server == LMF).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Regarding claim 34, Rico does not teach wherein the scheduling offset value Koffset is configured as a cell-specific value provided via system information (SI) or as a user equipment (UE)-specific value provided via medium access control (MAC) control element signaling.
Zhang teaches wherein the scheduling offset value Koffset is configured as a cell-specific value provided via system information (SI) or as a user equipment (UE)-specific value provided via medium access control (MAC) control element signaling ([0170] “In the satellite communication scenario, a value of Koffset is configured by a network side. For example, Koffset=Kcell,offset−KUE,offset, where Kcell,offset is provided by CellSpecifickoffset signaling, and KUE,offset may be provided by a Differential Koffset MAC CE command”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rico, to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for improvement for positioning of UE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Charbit et al. (US20240195489) RTT with TA, Duan et al. (US20230291519) Secure position signaling with LMF.
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411