.Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-13, 15-16 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironov et al. (WO2015101479) in view of Buchberger et al. (CA 3063305).
Regarding claim 1, Mironov discloses a capsule for an aerosol-generating device, comprising:
a base of a thermally-conductive material, the base defining a first cavity (space by reference sign 202, fig. 2) therein, the base including a first surface (by reference sign 108, fig. 2), the first surface defining an opening to a second cavity (by reference sign 110, fig. 2), the second cavity being annular and the first cavity surrounding the second cavity (see fig. 2), the second cavity is configured to receive a heating system configured to heat at the base (see figs. 3-4 by reference sign 308);
a cover (200, fig. 2) coupled to the base and on the base,
the base further includes:
a first wall; and
a second wall, the first surface connecting the first wall and the second wall, the first surface, the first wall and the second wall defining the first cavity (space by reference sign 202, fig. 2).
Mironov does not expressly disclose the base including a plurality of dividers. Buchberger discloses structures such as baffles, walls, fins or other configurations can be added to provide additional airflow direction to keep the flow closer along the desired path(s) and/or separate the vapor chamber to limit lateral air movement (page 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a plurality of dividers to the base of Mironov to control the airflow as taught by Buchberger.
Regarding claim 3, Mironov discloses wherein a width of the first cavity increases (see fig. 2) as the first wall and the second wall extend from the first surface (108, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Mironov discloses wherein the width continuously increases from a bottom portion to a top portion (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Mironov discloses the radius of the base of the capsule is preferably between about 3mm and about 6mm and the radius of the recess is between about 1.5mm and about 3mm overlapping with the claimed wherein the width has a maximum of about 2 mm. In case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, Mironov discloses wherein the first wall, the second wall and the first surface are integral (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Mironov discloses the cover includes an overhang coupled to the base (by reference sign 200, fig. 2) .
Regarding claim 12, Mironov discloses wherein a width of the first cavity increases along a first direction and a width of the second cavity decreases along the first direction (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Mironov discloses wherein the first direction is a longitudinal direction of the capsule (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Mironov discloses an aerosol-forming substrate in the first cavity (by reference sign 202, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Mironov discloses the aerosol-forming substrate includes tobacco (page 2, line 20).
Regarding claim 23, since Buchberger discloses structures such as baffles, walls, fins or other configurations can be added to provide additional airflow direction to keep the flow closer along the desired path(s) and/or separate the vapor chamber to limit lateral air movement (page 17); it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to orientate the dividers in a longitudinal direction of the first cavity, the dividers having a divider length in the longitudinal direction less than a maximum length of the first cavity in the longitudinal direction.
Claim(s) 7-10, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironov et al. (WO2015101479) in view of Buchberger et al. (CA 3063305) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Armoush et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170251718).
Regarding claim 7, Mironov does not expressly disclose a plurality of apertures are in a circular pattern through the first surface. Armoush discloses a first plurality of apertures through the first surface, wherein the first plurality of apertures are in a circular pattern (by reference sign 304, fig. 3) to promote even airflow [0084]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the capsule of Mironov with a first plurality of apertures through the first surface wherein the first plurality of apertures being around the opening to the second cavity and the first plurality of apertures are in a circular pattern.
Regarding claim 8, when taken Mironov and Armoush together as a whole, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the first plurality of apertures are in a single circular line.
Regarding claim 9, Armoush discloses the cover includes a second plurality of apertures in a middle portion of the cover, the first plurality of apertures and the second plurality of apertures defining an air flow path through the base and the cover [0030] [0065]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the second plurality of apertures being in the third surface wherein the third surface and the second surface being at different heights.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the third surface is elevated with respect to the second surface for airflow.
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to have been obvious to have the second plurality of apertures over an interior wall of the base, the interior wall defining an end of the second cavity for airflow (see [0084] of Armoush). Also duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts are obvious design choice unless new and unexpected results is produced (see (In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) and In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 17, Armoush discloses the second plurality of apertures are in a circular pattern including at least two circles (see fig. 3).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11882872 in view of Buchberger et al. (CA 3063305). The Patent does not have a divider, however Buchberger discloses using baffles/dividers to control the airflow. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a plurality of dividers to the base of Mironov to control the airflow as taught by Buchberger.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection, Applicants request the Examiner to hold the rejections in abeyance because the claims of the present application are currently being prosecuted.
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Applicant essentially argues that the reference of Mironov and Silvestrini do not teach the dividers as recited in the Amendment. However, as explained above the newly added reference of Buchberger discloses the claimed features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747