DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Louis (US 20200403456 A1).
Consider claim 18, Louis discloses an apparatus comprising a wireless power receiver (read as the wireless power receiving device 10, figure 1, par [0020]), the wireless power receiver being configured to:
establish a power transfer contract with a wireless power transmitter (read as the handshake phase to establish a power transfer contract, which governs subsequent power transfer behavior and enables coordinated transitions including suspension, figure 1, par [0018]-[0020]);
provide an indication to an application processor of the apparatus that corresponds to the establishment of the power transfer contract (read as wireless communication message can comprise data that can be read by control circuitry 42 or 20 of devices 10 or 12; and sending and receiving a “message” is to be interpreted as sending and receiving a wireless communication signal comprising the message, par [0014]), the application processor being configured to receive the indication that the wireless power receiver has established a power transfer contract with the wireless power transmitter and cause power to be supplied to the wireless power receiver from a battery based on the receipt of the indication (read as upon establishing a connection, connected transmitting and receiving devices 12 and 10 can proceed into a handshake or negotiation phase 202 based on coded instructions; during handshake phase 202, transmitting and receiving devices 12 and 10 communicate to establish a power transfer contract, governing one or more conditions of power transfer for the power transfer phase 203, and the control circuitry 42 of transmitting device 12 is configured to drive wireless power transmitting circuitry 34 to transmit wireless power to charge the battery of receiving device 10 in accordance with the power transfer contract established in phase 202, during the power transfer phase 203, figure 1, par [0018]-[0020]);
provide the power received from the battery to a memory subsystem of the wireless power receiver, the memory subsystem being configured to maintain power transfer state information corresponding to the power transfer contract (read as the receiving device 10 is in operation to power its circuitry including the control circuitry 20 which include storage (i.e. memory subsystem) that stores the software code for operations and processing circuitry; and the control circuitry 20, including microprocessors, power management units and application-specific integrated circuits are configured to execute instructions stored in storage for implementing desired control such as power management of battery, par [0013], [0029] and [0039]); and
execute a wireless power transfer between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver based on the power transfer contract and provide the transferred power to the battery (read as during power transfer phase 203, transmitting device 12 transfers wireless power to the receiving device 10 for supply to a load of the receiving device 10, such as battery 18, figure 1, par [0018]-[0020]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the wireless power receiver is configured to both supply power to the battery from the wireless power transfer and receive power from the battery for the memory subsystem (read as charging the battery 18 of receiving device 10, and the receiving device 10 is in operation to power its circuitry including the control circuitry 20 which include storage (i.e. memory subsystem) that stores the software code for operations and processing circuitry; and the control circuitry 20, including microprocessors, power management units and application-specific integrated circuits are configured to execute instructions stored in storage for implementing desired control such as power management of battery, par [0013], [0029] and [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis (US 20200403456 A1) in view of AbuKhalaf (US 20230378822 A1).
Consider claim 1, Louis discloses an apparatus (read as the wireless power receiving device 10, figure 1, par [0020]) comprising:
a battery (read as battery 18, figure 1, par [0020]); and
a wireless power receiver, the wireless power receiver comprising a controller and a memory subsystem (read as the wireless power receiving circuitry 46 and control circuitry 20, the control circuitry 20 may include storage and processing circuitry, figure 1, par [0013] and [0020]); the controller (read as control circuitry 20, figure 1, par [0013] and [0020]) being configured to:
perform a handshake with a wireless power transmitter, the handshake corresponding to a temporary suspension of a power transfer between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver (read as the handshake phase to establish a power transfer contract, which governs subsequent power transfer behavior and enables coordinated transitions including suspension, figure 1, par [0018]-[0020]);
transition the wireless power receiver from a power transfer mode, in which power is transferred wirelessly from the wireless transmitter to the wireless receiver, to a cloak mode, in which the power transfer is suspended, based on the handshake (read as the cloak mode, which the control circuitry 20 may be configured to temporarily disable power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0029]); and
obtain a supply of power from the battery to maintain power transfer state information (read as the receiving device 10 still in operation using power from its battery 18, and during the cloak state 400, the receiving device 10 sends an End Power Transfer message 402 (as defined in the table below) to the transmitter device 12, and the receiving device 10 initiating a hot start from cloaking, par [0029] and [0039])
obtain a supply of power based on the transition to the cloak mode (read as the receiving device 10 still in operation after entering the cloak mode/state, par [0029]), the power being configured for use by the controller to maintain power transfer state information (read as during cloak mode/state, the receiving device 10 is in operation to power its circuitry including the control circuitry 20 which include storage (i.e. memory subsystem) that stores the software code for operations and processing circuitry; and the control circuitry 20, including microprocessors, power management units and application-specific integrated circuits are configured to execute instructions stored in storage for implementing desired control such as power management of battery; and the receiving device 10 sends an End Power Transfer message 402 to the transmitter device 12, and the receiving device 10 initiating a hot start from cloaking, par [0013], [0029] and [0039]).
However, Louis discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose the battery as its default power source (figure 1 and par [0012]) but does not specifically obtain the power from battery based on or during the cloak mode.
Nonetheless, AbuKhalaf disclose a wireless power receiver with a cloak mode/state having temporary interruption of wireless power transfer and during the cloak mode/state, the wireless power receiver remains operational and battery-powered as the receiver operates based at least in part on state of charge of a battery in the wireless power receiver, par [0004]-[0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of AbuKhalaf into the teaching of Loui to design the receiving device 10 to draw power from its battery in cloak mode based on its charging state as it is a default power source to avoid the receiving device 10 from shutting down.
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein: the apparatus comprises an application processor that is configured to control power flow; and obtaining the supply of power from the battery comprises the application processor causing the power to the controller (read as the receiving device 10 is in operation to power its circuitry including the control circuitry 20 which include storage that stores the software code for operations and processing circuitry; the control circuitry 20, including microprocessors with power management units and application-specific integrated circuits, are configured to execute instructions stored in storage for implementing desired control such as power management of battery, par [0013], [0029] and [0039]).
However, Louis discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose the battery as its default power source (figure 1 and par [0012]) but does not specifically obtain the power from battery based on or during the cloak mode.
Nonetheless, AbuKhalaf disclose a wireless power receiver with a cloak mode/state having temporary interruption of wireless power transfer and during the cloak mode/state, the wireless power receiver remains operational and battery-powered as the receiver operates based at least in part on state of charge of a battery in the wireless power receiver, par [0004]-[0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of AbuKhalaf into the teaching of Loui to design the receiving device 10 to draw power from its battery in cloak mode based on its charging state as it is a default power source to avoid the receiving device 10 from shutting down.
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the controller is configured to request that the application processor provide power from a power source to the controller by submitting a data packet comprising a request for power to the application processor (read as a wireless communication message can comprise data that can be read by control circuitry 42 or 20 of devices 10 or 12; and sending and receiving a “message” is to be interpreted as sending and receiving a wireless communication signal comprising the message, par [0014]; and selecting instruction (i.e. corresponding to the data packet) based on the data message to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
However, Louis discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose the battery as its default power source (figure 1 and par [0012]) but does not specifically obtain the power from battery based on or during the cloak mode.
Nonetheless, AbuKhalaf disclose a wireless power receiver with a cloak mode/state having temporary interruption of wireless power transfer and during the cloak mode/state, the wireless power receiver remains operational and battery-powered, par [0004]-[0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of AbuKhalaf into the teaching of Loui to design the receiving device 10 to draw power from its battery in cloak mode based on its charging state as it is a default power source to avoid the receiving device 10 from shutting down.
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 2 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the controller is configured to request that the application processor provide power from the power source to the controller by setting a register to a value corresponding to one of the cloak mode and an invalid mode, and triggering an interrupt to the application processor that corresponds to the register, the application processor being configured to read the register and provide the power from the power to the controller based on the value of the register (read as selecting instruction (i.e. corresponding to the register value) to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
However, Louis discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose the battery as its default power source (figure 1 and par [0012]) but does not specifically obtain the power from battery based on or during the cloak mode.
Nonetheless, AbuKhalaf disclose a wireless power receiver with a cloak mode/state having temporary interruption of wireless power transfer and during the cloak mode/state, the wireless power receiver remains operational and battery-powered, par [0004]-[0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of AbuKhalaf into the teaching of Loui to design the receiving device 10 to draw power from its battery in cloak mode based on its charging state as it is a default power source to avoid the receiving device 10 from shutting down.
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 2 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the application processor is configured to cause the power source to supply power to the controller based on an initial handshake between the power transmitter and the power receiver, the initial handshake establishing a power contract between the power transmitter and the power receiver and initiating power transfer (read as the handshake phase to establish a power transfer contract between the wireless power transmitter and wireless power receiver, which governs subsequent power transfer behavior and enables coordinated transitions including suspension, figure 1, par [0018]-[0020]).
However, Louis discloses the claimed invention above and further disclose the battery as its default power source (figure 1 and par [0012]) but does not specifically obtain the power from battery based on or during the cloak mode.
Nonetheless, AbuKhalaf disclose a wireless power receiver with a cloak mode/state having temporary interruption of wireless power transfer and during the cloak mode/state, the wireless power receiver remains operational and battery-powered, par [0004]-[0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of AbuKhalaf into the teaching of Loui to design the receiving device 10 to draw power from its battery in cloak mode based on its charging state as it is a default power source to avoid the receiving device 10 from shutting down.
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 2 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the application processor is configured to terminate the supply of power by based on a change in a mode of the power receiver that corresponds to an invalid mode, wherein termination of the supply of power comprises disconnecting the controller from system power of the power receiver (read as the shutdown event, all circuitry including the microprocessors and application-specific integrated circuits would lose power, par [0033]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine that a predetermined amount of time since entering cloak mode has elapsed and to cause the application processor to terminate the supply of power based on the determination that the predetermined amount of time has elapsed (read as the duration of cloaking or cloak period is over (par [0032]), and the initiating a hot start from cloaking under control of the microprocessors and application-specific integrated circuits, which then charges wireless power receiver by the wireless power transmitter using its power during wireless power transfer, par [0013] and [0039]).
Consider claim 10, Louis discloses an apparatus (read as the wireless power receiving device 10, figure 1, par [0020]) comprising an application processor (read as the control circuitry 20, including microprocessors with power management units and application-specific integrated circuits, are configured to execute instructions stored in storage for implementing desired control such as power management of battery, par [0013], [0029] and [0039]) and a battery (read as battery 18, figure 1, par [0020]), the application processor being configured to: receive an indication of a change in state of a wireless power receiver; determine that the change in state corresponds to a temporary suspension of a power transfer; and cause power to be supplied to the wireless power receiver from the battery based on the determined change in state (read as selecting instruction to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the application processor is configured to determine that the change in state corresponds to the wireless power receiver transitioning to a cloak mode (read as selecting instruction to switch the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0029]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 10 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the indication comprises a data packet received from the wireless power receiver (read as selecting instruction (i.e. corresponding to the data packet) to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 10 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the indication comprises an interrupt triggered by the wireless power receiver (read as selecting instruction to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable (interrupt triggered) power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the application processor is configured to: read a register corresponding to the interrupt; and determine that the register corresponding to the interrupt contains a value corresponding to a wireless power receiver mode register (read as selecting instruction (i.e. corresponding to the register value) to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable (interrupt triggered) power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the application processor is configured to: read the wireless power receiver mode register to determine a mode of the wireless power receiver; determine that the mode is a cloak mode; and cause the power to be supplied to the wireless power receiver from the battery based on the determination that the mode is a cloak mode (read as selecting instruction (i.e. corresponding to the register value) to configure the wireless power receiving device 10 to the cloak mode by the control circuitry 20, which the control circuitry 20 would be configured to temporarily disable (interrupt triggered) power transfer in order to “cloak” the receiver and that during cloak state 400, the transmitter enters a non-transmitting state, figure 4, par [0013] and [0029]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses wherein the application processor is configured to: determine that a predetermined amount of time since entering cloak mode has elapsed; and terminate the power being supplied based on the determination that the predetermined amount of time has elapsed (read as the duration of cloaking or cloak period is over (par [0032]), and the initiating a hot start from cloaking under control of the microprocessors and application-specific integrated circuits, which then charges wireless power receiver by the wireless power transmitter using its power during wireless power transfer, par [0013] and [0039]).
Claims 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis (US 20200403456 A1) in view of AbuKhalaf (US 20230378822 A1), and in further view of Li (US 20190115773 A1).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a voltage output of the battery has dropped below a predetermined threshold value; and terminate the supply of power from the battery based on the determination that the voltage output of the battery has dropped below the predetermined threshold value.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a system comprising a power source 14 and a battery 12, which a protection circuit 16 disconnects the battery 12 when its measured voltage is lower than threshold voltage, figure 1, par [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teaching of Loui, as modified by AbuKhalaf, to design the wireless power receiver to disconnect its battery when it is below a threshold to protect the battery from over discharging.
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the application processor is configured to: read the wireless power receiver mode register to determine the mode of the wireless power receiver based on a receipt of a second interrupt; determine that the mode is another mode that is invalid for receiving power from the battery; and deactivate the power being supplied to the wireless power receiver from the battery based on the determination that the mode is invalid for receiving power from the battery.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a system comprising a power source 14 and a battery 12, which a protection circuit 16 provides instruction to disconnect the battery 12 when its measured voltage is lower than threshold voltage (corresponding to an invalid mode), figure 1, par [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teaching of Loui, as modified by AbuKhalaf, to design the wireless power receiver to disconnect its battery when it is below a threshold to protect the battery from over discharging.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis (US 20200403456 A1) in view of AbuKhalaf (US 20230378822 A1), and in further view of Li (US 20190115773 A1), and in further view of Lee (US 20180219986 A1).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf and Li, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the battery is an auxiliary battery specific to the power receiver, the apparatus further comprising a primary battery, the power receiver being configured to charge the primary battery when in the power transfer mode.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses an apparatus comprising auxiliary battery 220 attached to mobile device 100, which the mobile device further comprises a main battery 140 that is configured to be charged using wireless power, fig. 5A, par [0047]-[0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teaching of Loui, as modified by AbuKhalaf and Li, to provide an auxiliary battery for the wireless power receiver having its battery that would charged using wireless power as it would provide mobility and convenience for user on the go.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis (US 20200403456 A1) in view of Li (US 20190115773 A1).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 18 above, Louis, as modified by AbuKhalaf, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the wireless power receiver is configured to disable the power being received from the battery based on the execution of the wireless power transfer between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a system comprising a power source 14 and a battery 12, which a protection circuit 16 provides instruction to disconnect the battery 12 when its measured voltage is lower than threshold voltage (corresponding to an invalid mode), figure 1, par [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teaching of Loui to design the wireless power receiver to disconnect its battery when it is below a threshold to protect the battery from over discharging.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645