DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 2, 3, and 4 each contain multiple views that are not separately labelled. 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) says “Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter…”.
It is unclear what is meant by “(STATE OF THE ART)” in the numbering of Fig. 3. The phrase implies that Fig. 3 is admitted prior art, but the description of Fig. 3 in the specification says “Figs 3. and 4 are graphic representations … in accordance with the present invention.” 37 CFR 1.84(u)(2) says “Numbers and letters identifying the views must be simple and clear…”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “40” has been used to designate both the “warehouse” and the “load cell” in Fig. 1 and the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Both the warehouse 40 (Pg. 10, Line 4) and load cell 40 (Pg. 11, Line 22) have the same reference character. 37 CFR 1.71(a) says “The specification … is required to be in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms”. It is unclear if these are two separate components if they use the same reference character.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 3, 6, 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes the limitation “at exit from said roughing stand” means in claim 1 on pg. 1, lines 6-7. It is unclear what is “at exit from said roughing stand”.
Claim 3 includes the limitation “second thermal induction modules” on pg. 1, line 27. This is unclear terminology as no first thermal induction module has been mentioned in the claim.
Claim 6 includes the limitation “first thermal scanning means” on pg. 1, line 2. This is unclear terminology as there is no second thermal scanning means.
Claim 7 includes a preamble “A rolling method, for producing a final strip starting from a slab having a certain starting thickness, in a rolling plant comprising …, wherein the rolling method comprises” (emphasis added) on lines 5-14 of pg. 2. 37 CFR 1.71(a) says that the claims must be in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms” (emphasis added). The inclusion of a product claim within the preamble of a process claim is not concise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
“mechanical deformation detection means” in claim 1, 8. The load cell 40 is described as a corresponding structure (“in place of load cell 40, another mechanical deformation detection device can be used” Pg. 11, Lines 22-23, emphasis added) of mechanical deformation detection means. For the purposes of examination, “mechanical deformation detection means” will be interpreted as a load cell and equivalents
“thermal scanning means” in claim 5, 6. The thermal scanner 43 (“…. subjected to a thermal scan by means of a thermal scanner 43…” Pg. 15, Line 3) and thermal scanner 45 (“… subjected to another thermal scan by means of a thermal scanner 45…” Pg. 15, Line 13) are each described as performing a thermal scanning function. For the purposes of examination, corresponding structure is interpreted as the thermal scanner 43 and thermal scanner 45.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“rapid heating device” in claim 1. Rapid heating device is defined by the specification as either comprising an induction furnace (“rapid heating device 28 comprises, for example, an induction furnace consisting of thermal induction modules which are able to be selectively activated, even independently of each other” Pg. 12, Lines 8-10) or comprising two thermal induction modules (“rapid heating device 28 comprises two first thermal induction modules 41” Pg. 12, Lines 11-12).
“command and control unit” in claim 1. The specification and drawings do not provide corresponding structure for a “command and control unit”.
“thermal induction module” in claim 2, 3, 4, 9. The specification does not provide corresponding structure beyond identifying thermal induction modules with reference characters “41” and “42”. While structure is identified by reference characters 41 and 42 in the drawings, it is unclear what that structure is. For the purpose of examination, corresponding structure for “thermal induction module” will be interpreted as an induction furnace.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“detection step” in claim 7.
“heating step” in claim 7.
“command step” in claim 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 3 of pg. 1, “comprising at least one walking beam heating furnace” (emphasis added) makes the claim indefinite because it is unclear if there is one or more walking beam heating furnace or at least a walking beam heating furnace as well as other components, or if the more than one walking beam heating furnace are optional and do not further limit the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as though it read “comprising one or more walking beam heating furnace”.
The “at least” in claim 1, line 7-8 on pg. 1, line 12 on pg. 1, line 14 on pg. 1 and in claim 7, line 16 on pg. 2, line 19 on pg. 2, is likewise rejected and likewise interpreted.
The term “operatively disposed” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “operatively” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as though it read “a finishing rolling train disposed in line with at least one roughing stand”.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “finishing rolling train operatively disposed in line with at least one roughing stand” on pg. 1, lines 4-5. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if the finishing rolling train is being positively claim.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “to reduce the thickness of an intermediate rolled product, … until said final strip is obtained” (emphasis added) on pg. 1, line 6-7. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation means that the reduction of thickness by finishing rolling train is the final step for producing a strip and excludes any further processing structure. Examiner notes that Fig. 1 shows further processing structure indicated by reference characters 33 and 34. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as though it read “to reduce the thickness of an intermediate rolled product, …, until the thickness of said final strip is obtained”.
Likewise, “in order to obtain said final strip” of claim 1, lines 10-11 of pg. 1, is indefinite and is interpreted as “in order to obtain the thickness of said final strip”.
The term “directly associated at least with” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Neither the term “directly”, nor the word “associated”, nor the word “at least”, is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what it means for the mechanical deformation detection means to the associated with the pre-finishing stand, how “directly associated” differs from “associated”, and how “associated at least with” differs from “associated with”.
Likewise rejected, this indefiniteness repeats in claim 7, line 16 on pg. 2.
The term “last” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The word “last” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear in what way the pre-finishing stand would be last. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as though it read: “the last of said at least one pre-finishing stand” will be interpreted as though it read “the last pre-finishing stand along the production line among said one or more pre-finishing stand”.
Likewise rejected, this indefiniteness repeats in claim 7, line 16 on pg. 2.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “a rapid heating device, interposed between said at least one pre-finishing stand and said plurality of finishing stands” (emphasis added) on pg. 1, lines 14-15. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if the rapid heating device must be interposed with all of the pre-finishing stands on one side and all of the finishing stands on the other or the rapid heating device could be among the one or more pre-finishing stand such that at least one pre-finishing stand is one side and at least one pre-finishing stand and the plurality of finishing stands is on the other.
The term “selectively activate” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The word “selectively” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how a selectively activation differs from an activation.
Likewise rejected, claim 2, line 13 on pg. 1, and claim 7, line 23 on pg. 2, and claim 9, line 32 on pg. 2, is indefinite
Claim 2 includes the limitation “selectively activated and regulated by … as a function of the rolling force detected” (emphasis added) on line 23-24 of pg. 1. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if the selective activation is as a function of or if the regulation is as a function of or both are as a function of.
Claim 3 includes the limitation “temperature of said intermediate rolled product to be obtained at exit from said heating device” (emphasis added) on lines 28-29 of pg. 1. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the temperature is to be obtained as no temperature measuring device has been claimed.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said first thermal induction modules" and “said second thermal induction modules” in lines 30-31 of pg. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All claims dependent on rejected claims are likewise rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoi et al. (US 3,958,435), hereinafter referred to as “Inoi”.
Re Claim 1, Inoi discloses a rolling plant (Fig. 5), for producing a final strip starting from a slab having a certain starting thickness, comprising at least one walking beam heating furnace (heating furnace 11) configured to heat at least said slab to a certain temperature (“the temperature TF1 can be controlled constant by using a heater means” Col. 4, Lines 19-20 and “target inlet temperature TF1” Col. 4, Lines 16-17), and a finishing rolling train (see Fig. 5 illustrated below) operatively disposed in line with at least one roughing stand (see Fig. 5 illustrated below) and configured to reduce the thickness of an intermediate rolled product, at exit from said roughing stand, until said final strip is obtained (In Col. 3, Lines 7-9, the strip is described as going from 25.6mm thick to 2mm thick during a part of the finishing stage); said finishing rolling train comprising at least one pre-finishing stand (see Fig. 5, illustrated below) able to reduce the thickness of said intermediate rolled product in order to obtain a pre-finished rolled product (“adjustment of the workpiece thickness in the roughing stage” Col. 1, Lines 15-16), and a plurality of finishing stands able to reduce the thickness of said pre-finished rolled product, in order to obtain said final strip (In Col. 3, Lines 7-9, the strip is described as going from 25.6mm thick to 2mm thick during a part of the finishing stage), wherein the rolling plant comprises mechanical deformation detection means (load cell 17) directly associated at least with the last of said at least one pre-finishing stand and able to detect the rolling force applied on said pre-finished rolled product, a rapid heating device (intermediate heater 25), interposed between said at least one pre-finishing stand and said plurality of finishing stands, for heating said pre-finished rolled product, and a command and control unit (system computer 21) connected both to said mechanical deformation detection means and also to said rapid heating device (Fig. 5) and configured at least to selectively activate said rapid heating device , at least as a function of the rolling force detected by said mechanical deformation detection means (“The outputs of these components 14 through 19 are fed to a system computer 21. The output of the profile detector is fed to a data processing computer 22, whose output is fed to the system computer 21 and also to an alarm 23 and so on. Upon reception of the input signals, the system computer 21 sends a command S1 to the heating furnace 11 for rolling pitch adjustment and sampling temperature adjustment, a command S2 to a depressing position controller (APC) for depressing adjustment, commands S3 and S4 to an intermediate cooler 24 and an intermediate heater 25 for cooling water adjustment and heating oil adjustment,” Col. 6, Line 58 – Col. 7, Line 2), in order to thermally compensate for any cold zones and make the temperature of the bar uniform on its entire length.
See Fig. 5 of Inoi, illustrated
Re Claim 6, Inoi discloses the rolling plant as in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), comprising first thermal scanning means (thermometer 14) disposed upstream of said rapid heating device (Fig. 5) and configured to thermally scan said prefinished rolled product (thermometer 14).
Re Claim 7, Inoi discloses a rolling method, for producing a final strip starting from a slab having a certain starting thickness, in a rolling plant (Fig. 5) comprising at least one walking beam heating furnace (heating furnace 11) configured to heat at least said slab to a certain starting temperature, and a finishing rolling train (see Fig. 5 illustrated above) disposed operatively in line with at least one roughing stand (see Fig. 5 illustrated above) and configured to reduce the thickness of an intermediate rolled product, at exit from said roughing stand, until said final strip is obtained; said finishing rolling train comprising at least one pre-finishing stand (see Fig. 5 illustrated above) able to reduce the thickness of said intermediate rolled product in order to obtain a pre-finished rolled product, and a plurality of finishing stands (see Fig. 5 illustrated above) able to reduce the thickness of said pre-finished rolled product in order to obtain said final strip, wherein the rolling method comprises at least one detection step in which, by means of mechanical deformation detection means (load cell 16, 17) directly associated at least with the last of said at least one pre-finishing stand (see Fig. 5 illustrated above), the rolling force applied on said pre-finished rolled product is detected (load cell 16, 17 detects the rolling force), at least one heating step in which, by means of a rapid heating device (intermediate heater 25) interposed between said at least one pre-finishing stand and said plurality of finishing stands (Fig. 5), said pre-finished rolled product is heated (intermediate heater 25 heats the rolled product), and a command step in which, by means of a command and control unit (system computer 21) connected both to said mechanical deformation detection means and also to said rapid heating device (Fig. 5), said rapid heating device (intermediate heater 25) is selectively activated at least as a function of said rolling force detected by said mechanical detection means, in order to thermally compensate for any cold zones and make the temperature of the bar uniform on its entire length (“The outputs of these components 14 through 19 are fed to a system computer 21. The output of the profile detector is fed to a data processing computer 22, whose output is fed to the system computer 21 and also to an alarm 23 and so on. Upon reception of the input signals, the system computer 21 sends a command S1 to the heating furnace 11 for rolling pitch adjustment and sampling temperature adjustment, a command S2 to a depressing position controller (APC) for depressing adjustment, commands S3 and S4 to an intermediate cooler 24 and an intermediate heater 25 for cooling water adjustment and heating oil adjustment,” Col. 6, Line 58 – Col. 7, Line 2).
Re Claim 8, Inoi discloses the rolling method as in claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein in said detection step, said mechanical deformation detection means detect one or more impressions of said pre-finished rolled product to which there corresponds a greater resistance to deformation of the material which involves an increase in the rolling force exerted by said pre-finishing stand (The load cell 17 detects the increase in the rolling force).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoi (US 3,958,435), in further view of Rhode et. al. (US 5,611,232), hereinafter referred to as Rohde.
Re Claim 2, Inoi discloses the rolling plant as in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses that said rapid heating device (intermediate heater 25) is able to be selectively activated and regulated by said command and control unit, as a function of the rolling force detected by said mechanical deformation detection means (“The outputs of these components 14 through 19 are fed to a system computer 21. The output of the profile detector is fed to a data processing computer 22, whose output is fed to the system computer 21 and also to an alarm 23 and so on. Upon reception of the input signals, the system computer 21 sends a command S1 to the heating furnace 11 for rolling pitch adjustment and sampling temperature adjustment, a command S2 to a depressing position controller (APC) for depressing adjustment, commands S3 and S4 to an intermediate cooler 24 and an intermediate heater 25 for cooling water adjustment and heating oil adjustment,” Col. 6, Line 58 – Col. 7, Line 2).
Inoi fails to disclose that rapid heating device comprises first thermal induction modules
Rhode teaches that rapid heating device comprises first thermal induction modules (induction heating unit 8a) to heat rolled stock (Col. 2, Lines 23-25)
Ioni contains a rolling plant which differs from the claimed rolling plant by the substitution of thermal induction modules with a gas heater. Rhode teaches a thermal induction module for heating rolled stock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the intermediate heater of Inoi for the induction heating unit of Rhode and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the results of the substitution to be predictable.
Re Claim 3, Inoi discloses the rolling plant as in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses that said rapid heating device (intermediate heater 25) is able to be selectively activated and regulated by said command and control unit, as a function of a certain target temperature of said intermediate rolled product to be obtained at exit from said heating device (“controlling the workpiece temperature at the inlet position of the second finishing stage to said target temperature obtained” Col. 8, Lines 41-43)
Inoi fails to disclose that said rapid heating device comprises second thermal induction modules.
Rhode teaches that rapid heating device comprises first thermal induction modules (induction heating unit 8b) to heat rolled stock (Col. 2, Lines 23-25)
Ioni contains a rolling plant which differs from the claimed rolling plant by the substitution of thermal induction modules with a gas heater. Rhode teaches a thermal induction module for heating rolled stock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the intermediate heater of Inoi for the induction heating unit of Rhode and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the results of the substitution to be predictable.
Re Claim 4, Ioni discloses the rolling plant as in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose that first thermal induction modules and said second thermal induction modules are of the transverse flow type. Ioni discloses a intermediate heater.
Rhode teaches that first thermal induction modules (induction heating unit 8a) and said second thermal induction modules (induction heating unit 8b) are of the transverse flow type (Fig. 1) and are used to heat rolled stock (Col. 2, Lines 23-25)
Ioni contains a rolling plant which differs from the claimed rolling plant by the substitution of first and second thermal induction modules of transverse flow type with a gas heater. Rhode teaches a first and second thermal induction module of transverse flow type for heating rolled stock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the intermediate heater of Inoi for the induction heating units of Rhode and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the results of the substitution to be predictable.
Re Claim 9, Inoi discloses the rolling method as in claim 8, wherein in said rapid heating step, said rapid heating device (intermediate heater 25) is selectively activated by said command and control unit (system computer 21) to carry out a localized over-heating in correspondence with said impressions of said pre-finished rolled product, at least as a function of the greater resistance to deformation of the material which involves an increase in the rolling force (“The outputs of these components 14 through 19 are fed to a system computer 21. The output of the profile detector is fed to a data processing computer 22, whose output is fed to the system computer 21 and also to an alarm 23 and so on. Upon reception of the input signals, the system computer 21 sends a command S1 to the heating furnace 11 for rolling pitch adjustment and sampling temperature adjustment, a command S2 to a depressing position controller (APC) for depressing adjustment, commands S3 and S4 to an intermediate cooler 24 and an intermediate heater 25 for cooling water adjustment and heating oil adjustment,” Col. 6, Line 58 – Col. 7, Line 2), in order to increase the temperature of said impressions and make the temperature of said pre-finished rolled product uniform on its entire length.
Inoi fails to disclose first thermal induction modules of said rapid heating device.
Rhode teaches that rapid heating device comprises first thermal induction modules (induction heating unit 8a) to heat rolled stock (Col. 2, Lines 23-25)
Ioni contains a rolling plant which differs from the claimed rolling plant by the substitution of thermal induction modules with a gas heater. Rhode teaches a thermal induction module for heating rolled stock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the intermediate heater of Inoi for the induction heating unit of Rhode and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the results of the substitution to be predictable.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoi (US 3,958,435), in further view of Soderlund (US2011/0208345)
Re Claim 5, Inoi discloses the rolling plant as in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses a formula to determine the temperature at the exit from rapid heating device (“obtaining a workpiece targe[t] temperature at the inlet position of the second finishing stage from the mean workpiece temperature calculated out from the crown model formula” Col. 8, Lines 37-41).
Inoi fails to disclose thermal scanning means configured for the transverse thermal detection of said pre-finished rolled product
Soderlund teaches thermal scanning means (thermoscanner 8) and configured for the transverse thermal detection of said pre-finished rolled product (“The temperature determination device is advantageously a thermoscanner, which is installed movable transversally to the direction of the strip movement” [0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoi to incorporate the thermal scanning means of Soderlund at the exit from rapid heating device and configured for the transverse thermal detection of said pre-finished rolled product so the thermal scanning means can move in a transverse direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating the thermal scanning means of Soderlund.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM DOUGLAS DICKSTEIN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725