DETAILED ACTION
The applicant filed preliminary amendment in 03/14/2024. Thus, claims 1-20 are pending in the application, including independent claims 1, 14 and 18.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Back et al. [hereinafter as Back], US 12,160,838 B2 in view of Freda et al. [hereinafter as Freda], US 11,758,439 B2. Regarding claim 1, Back discloses wherein a communication processing method (Fig.7 Col 13 lines 55-65, a data communication processing method and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-27, an SL signal/data signal communication processing method), comprising:
determining, by a first communication device, a first tone reservation pattern (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, a UE is determining a pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a first tone reservation pattern); and
communicating, by the first communication device, a data signal by using the first tone
reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 8-19, the UE is transmitting/communication an SL signal i.e., a data signal by using the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern and Fig.44 Col 48 lines 49-54, the SL signal includes the SL control signal and the SL data signal i.e., data signal), wherein
the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP) or a first beam (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined in consideration of an SL signal and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, a receiving UE may receive the SL signal in the specific BWP e.g., a UE may receive a configuration for the SL BWP from the BS/network, Noted: determining the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the SL signal in the specific BWP), and
the data signal, between the first communication device and a second communication device, is communicated using the first bandwidth part or the first beam (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, the SL signal i.e., data signal between the UE/first communication device and a BS/network, is communicated using the specific BWP i.e., first bandwidth part defined for the SL signal and Fig.7 Col 13 lines 55-65, data communication is conducted in an activated BWP, a carrier may include up to N e.g., 5 BWPs).
Even though Back discloses wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP) or a first beam, in the same field of endeavor, Freda teaches wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP) or a first beam (Fig.1A-D&2 Col 21 lines 24-34, a pattern of a periodic resource reservation i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern is determined based on information associated with BWPs i.e., a first bandwidth part and carriers and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 19 lines 52-63, an SCI for reservation of any of multiple or indefinite resources contains any of time, frequency or beam resources to be reserved and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 18 lines 12-28, a WTRU is determining a resource reservation procedure i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern based on a measured CBR for any of a resource pool, a carrier and a BWP i.e., a first bandwidth part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Back to incorporate the teaching of Freda in order to achieve the desired functionality. It would have been beneficial to use a pattern of a periodic resource reservation i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern which is determined based on information associated with BWPs i.e., a first bandwidth part and carriers and an SCI for reservation of any of multiple or indefinite resources that contains any of time, frequency or beam resources to be reserved as taught by Freda to have incorporated in the system of Back to provide for additional coverage and throughput for servicing the WTRUs. (Freda, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 11 lines 40-44, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 18 lines 12-28, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 19 lines 52-63 and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 21 lines 24-34)
Regarding claim 2, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses determining the first tone reservation pattern comprises: obtaining, by the first communication device, first configuration information indicating the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, receiving a first configuration information indicating the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19); and
determining, by the first communication device, the first tone reservation pattern based on the first configuration information (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, determining the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern related to the first configuration information and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53).
Regarding claim 3, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses determining the first tone reservation pattern comprises: determining, by the first communication device, the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined in consideration of an SL signal and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, the SL signal in the specific BWP e.g., a UE may receive a configuration for the SL BWP from the BS/network, for determining the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the SL signal in the specific BWP), wherein
the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of tone reservation patterns based on a first mapping relationship (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern is determined form a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones based on a first mapping relationship and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 15-18), and
the first mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 15-18, the first mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19).
Regarding claim 4, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses determining the first tone reservation pattern comprises: determining, by the first communication device, the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first beam pattern (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, a UE is determining a pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the beamforming/first beam pattern and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59), wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of tone reservation patterns based on a second mapping relationship (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones based on a second mapping relationship and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 35-38), and
the second mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a beam (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 35-38, the second mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a beam and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 5, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses determining the first tone reservation pattern comprises: determining, by the first communication device the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined in consideration of an SL signal and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, the SL signal in the specific BWP e.g., a UE may receive a configuration for the SL BWP from the BS/network, for determining the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the SL signal in the specific BWP), wherein
the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of tone reservation patterns based on a third mapping relationship (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones based on a third mapping relationship and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57), and
the third mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a plurality of bandwidth parts corresponding to each of a plurality of beams (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57, the third mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and BWPs corresponding to a beam and Fig.29 Col 37 lines 50-59, a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 6, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses a reference signal is communicated between the first communication device and the second communication device by using a first reference signal pattern (Fig.27 Col 34 lines 16-22, a reference signal is communicated between the UE/first communication device and the gNB second communication device by using a RSTD first reference signal pattern); and determining the first tone reservation pattern comprises: determining, by the first communication device, a tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first reference signal pattern (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined the RSTD first reference signal pattern and Fig.27 Col 34 lines 16-22), wherein
the tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first reference signal pattern is
determined from a plurality of tone reservation patterns based on a fourth mapping relationship and the first bandwidth part (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones based on a fourth mapping relationship and the BWP first bandwidth part and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57 and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53), and
the fourth mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a reference signal pattern and the fourth mapping relationship is used when the first communication device and the second communication device use each of a plurality of bandwidth parts (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57, the fourth mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and Fig.27 Col 34 lines 16-22 and Fig.29 Col 37 lines 50-59, using each of a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) between the UE first communication device and the gNB/ BS network second communication device).
Regarding claim 7, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses before the determining the first tone reservation pattern, the method further comprises: determining, by the first communication device, whether to communicate the data signal by using a tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, determining the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern whether to communicate the SL signal/data signal by using pattern of the reserved tones); and
in association with the first communication device determining to communicate the data signal by using the tone reservation pattern, performing determining the first tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, in association with the UE first communication device determining to communicate the SL signal/data signal by using the pattern of the reserved tones/one reservation pattern, performing determining the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern and Fig.44 Col 48 lines 49-54, the SL signal includes the SL control signal and the SL data signal i.e., data signal).
Regarding claim 8, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein Back further discloses determining whether to communicate the data signal by using the tone reservation pattern comprises: obtaining, by the first communication device, first indication information (Fig.12 Col 16 lines 38-42, receiving a first indication information of resource pool from the BS/network); and
determining, by the first communication device and based on the first indication information, whether to communicate the data signal by using the tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, determining the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the first indication information, whether to communicate the SL signal/data signal by using pattern of the reserved tones and Fig.12 Col 16 lines 38-42).
Regarding claim 9, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses in association with the first communication device and the second communication device switching from the first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part (Fig.29-30 Col 37 lines 41-59, in association with the UE first communication device and the gNB/BS second communication device shifting/changing switching from the BWP1/first bandwidth part to a BWP2/second bandwidth part of a plurality of BWPs), the method further comprises:
determining, by the first communication device, a second tone reservation pattern based on the second bandwidth part (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, a UE is determining a pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a second tone reservation pattern based on the BWP2/second bandwidth part of a plurality of bandwidth parts and Fig.29 Col 37 lines 50-59 and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19); and
communicating, by the first communication device, the data signal based on the second tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-29, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern is determined from a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones communicating the SL signal/data signal based on the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the second tone reservation pattern of a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones).
Regarding claim 10, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses in association with the first communication device and the second communication device switching from the first beam to a second beam, the method further comprises:
correspondingly determining, by the first communication device, a third tone reservation
pattern based on the second beam (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-29, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the third tone reservation pattern is correspondingly determined from a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones based on the second beam and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59); and
communicating, by the first communication device, the data signal based on the second tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-29, communicating the SL signal/data signal based on the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the second tone reservation pattern of a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones).
Regarding claim 11, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses the first beam corresponds to the first bandwidth part and a third bandwidth part (Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59, the beamforming/first beam pattern corresponds to the BWP1/first bandwidth part and a BWP3/third bandwidth part of a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53),
the first bandwidth part corresponds to the first tone reservation pattern, the third bandwidth part corresponds to a fourth tone reservation pattern (Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59, the BWP1/first bandwidth part corresponds to the first tone reservation pattern, the BWP3/third bandwidth part corresponds to a fourth tone reservation pattern and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19), and
in association with the first communication device and the second communication device switching, on the first beam, from the first bandwidth part to the third bandwidth part (Fig.29-30 Col 37 lines 41-59, in association with the UE first communication device and the gNB/BS second communication device shifting/changing switching from the BWP1/first bandwidth part to a BWP3/third bandwidth part of a plurality of BWPs),
the method further comprises:
determining, by the first communication device, the fourth tone reservation pattern based on the third bandwidth part (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, a UE is determining a pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a fourth tone reservation pattern based on the BWP3/third bandwidth part of a plurality of bandwidth parts and Fig.29 Col 37 lines 50-59 and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19); and
communicating, by the first communication device, the data signal based on the fourth tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-29, communicating the SL signal/data signal based on the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the fourth tone reservation pattern of a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones).
Regarding claim 12, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses when, on a same time domain resource, a reserved carrier in the first tone reservation pattern overlaps a carrier on the first communication device used for communicating the reference signal, communicating the data signal by using the first tone reservation pattern comprises (Fig.15-16 Col 22 lines 1-48, on a same time domain resource, a reserved carrier in the first tone reservation pattern overlaps a carrier on the UE first communication device used for communicating the reference signal and Fig.27 Col 34 lines 16-22 and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-29, communicating the SL signal/data signal by using the pattern of the reserved tones/first tone reservation pattern comprises):
obtaining a fifth tone reservation pattern by puncturing, by the first communication device, an overlapping reserved carrier in the first tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, obtaining the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones/fifth tone reservation pattern by rate matching i.e., puncturing and Fig.33 Col 40 lines 48-59 and Fig.15-16 Col 22 lines 36-48, an overlapping reserved carrier in the pattern of the reserved tones/first tone reservation pattern), wherein the overlapping reserved carrier is in the first tone reservation pattern and overlaps the carrier used for communicating the reference signal (Fig.15-16 Col 22 lines 36-48, an overlapping reserved carrier is in the pattern of the reserved tones/first tone reservation pattern and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19 and Fig.43-44 Col 19 lines 13-36, overlaps the resources carrier used for communicating the SL reference signal received power measurement of the specific resources); and
communicating, by the first communication device, the data signal based on the fifth tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-29, communicating the SL signal/data signal based on the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the fourth tone reservation pattern of a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones).
Regarding claim 13, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Back further discloses obtaining, by the first communication device, second configuration information (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 44-56, receiving a second configuration information), wherein
the second configuration information includes at least one of: the plurality of tone reservation patterns, indexes of the plurality of tone reservation patterns, the mapping relationship between a tone reservation pattern and a reference signal pattern when the first communication device uses each of the plurality of bandwidth parts (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the mapping relationship between the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a tone reservation pattern and a reference signal pattern when the UE first communication device uses each of the BWPs/plurality of bandwidth parts and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57 and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53),
the mapping relationship between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 15-18, the first mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19), the mapping relationship between a tone reservation pattern and a beam (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 35-38, the second mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a beam and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59), and the mapping relationship between a tone reservation pattern and a plurality of bandwidth parts corresponding to a beam (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57, the third mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and BWPs corresponding to a beam and Fig.29 Col 37 lines 50-59, a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 14, Back discloses wherein a communication processing method (Fig.7 Col 13 lines 55-65, a data communication processing method and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-27, an SL signal/data signal communication processing method),
comprising:
determining, by a second communication device, a first tone reservation pattern (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, a network equipment/second communication device is determining a pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a first tone reservation pattern and Fig.44 Col 49 lines 1-16); and
communicating, by the second communication device, a data signal by using the first tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 8-19, network equipment/second communication device is transmitting/communication an SL signal i.e., a data signal by using the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern and Fig.44 Col 48 lines 49-54, the SL signal includes the SL control signal and the SL data signal i.e., data signal), wherein
the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP), or a first beam (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined in consideration an SL signal and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, a transmitting UE may transmit the SL signal in the specific BWP e.g., the BS/network is transmitting a configuration for the SL BWP, Noted: determining the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the SL signal in the specific BWP), and
the data signal, between a first communication device and the second communication device, is communicated using the first bandwidth part or the first beam (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, the SL signal i.e., data signal between the UE/first communication device and a BS/network, is communicated using the specific BWP i.e., first bandwidth part defined for the SL signal and Fig.7 Col 13 lines 55-65, data communication is conducted in an activated BWP, a carrier may include up to N e.g., 5 BWPs).
Even though Back discloses wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP), or a first beam, in the same field of endeavor, Freda teaches wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP), or a first beam (Fig.1A-D&2 Col 21 lines 24-34, a pattern of a periodic resource reservation i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern is determined based on information associated with BWPs i.e., a first bandwidth part and carriers and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 19 lines 52-63, an SCI for reservation of any of multiple or indefinite resources contains any of time, frequency or beam resources to be reserved and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 18 lines 12-28, a WTRU is determining a resource reservation procedure i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern based on a measured CBR for any of a resource pool, a carrier and a BWP i.e., a first bandwidth part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Back to incorporate the teaching of Freda in order to achieve the desired functionality. It would have been beneficial to use a pattern of a periodic resource reservation i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern which is determined based on information associated with BWPs i.e., a first bandwidth part and carriers and an SCI for reservation of any of multiple or indefinite resources that contains any of time, frequency or beam resources to be reserved as taught by Freda to have incorporated in the system of Back to provide for additional coverage and throughput for servicing the WTRUs. (Freda, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 11 lines 40-44, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 18 lines 12-28, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 19 lines 52-63 and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 21 lines 24-34)
Regarding claim 15, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Back further discloses sending, by the second communication device, first configuration information to the first communication device, wherein the first configuration information indicates the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, transmitting a first configuration information indicating the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19).
Regarding claim 16, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Back further discloses sending, by the second communication device, first indication information to the first communication device (Fig.12 Col 16 lines 38-42, transmitting a first indication information of resource pool to the UE first communication device), wherein the first indication information indicates whether to communicate the data signal by using a tone reservation pattern (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the first indication information indicates, whether to communicate the SL signal/data signal by using pattern of the reserved tones and Fig.12 Col 16 lines 38-42).
Regarding claim 17, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Back further discloses sending, by the second communication device, second configuration information to the first communication device (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 44-56, transmitting a second configuration information to the UE first communication device), wherein
the second configuration information includes at least one of: a plurality of tone reservation patterns, indexes of the plurality of tone reservation patterns, a mapping relationship between the tone reservation pattern and a reference signal pattern when the first communication device and the second communication device use each
of a plurality of bandwidth parts (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the mapping relationship between the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a tone reservation pattern and a reference signal pattern when the UE first communication device uses each of the BWPs/plurality of bandwidth parts and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57 and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53), a mapping relationship between the tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 15-18, the first mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19), a mapping relationship between the tone reservation pattern and a beam (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 35-38, the second mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a beam and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59), and
a mapping relationship between the tone reservation pattern and a plurality of bandwidth parts corresponding to a beam (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 54-57, the third mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and BWPs corresponding to a beam and Fig.29 Col 37 lines 50-59, a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Fig.21 Col 27 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 18, Back discloses wherein a first communication device (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-27, a UE/first communication device and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 8-19),
comprising:
processing circuitry configured to determine a first tone reservation pattern (Fig.46 Col 53 lines 51-64, processors 102 and Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, processor/processing circuitry of the UE is determining a pattern of the reserved tones i.e., a first tone reservation pattern); and
a transceiver configured to communicate a data signal by using the first tone
reservation pattern (Fig.46 Col 53 lines 51-64, transceivers 106 and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 8-19, a transceiver of the UE is transmitting/communication an SL signal i.e., a data signal by using the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern and Fig.44 Col 48 lines 49-54, the SL signal includes the SL control signal and the SL data signal i.e., data signal), wherein
the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP) or a first beam (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined in consideration of an SL signal and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, a receiving UE may receive the SL signal in the specific BWP e.g., a UE may receive a configuration for the SL BWP from the BS/network, Noted: determining the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the SL signal in the specific BWP), and
the data signal, between the first communication device and a second communication device, is communicated using the first bandwidth part or the first beam (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, the SL signal i.e., data signal between the UE/first communication device and a BS/network, is communicated using the specific BWP i.e., first bandwidth part defined for the SL signal and Fig.7 Col 13 lines 55-65, data communication is conducted in an activated BWP, a carrier may include up to N e.g., 5 BWPs).
Even though Back discloses wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP), or a first beam, in the same field of endeavor, Freda teaches wherein the first tone reservation pattern is determined based on a first bandwidth part (BWP), or a first beam (Fig.1A-D&2 Col 21 lines 24-34, a pattern of a periodic resource reservation i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern is determined based on information associated with BWPs i.e., a first bandwidth part and carriers and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 19 lines 52-63, an SCI for reservation of any of multiple or indefinite resources contains any of time, frequency or beam resources to be reserved and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 18 lines 12-28, a WTRU is determining a resource reservation procedure i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern based on a measured CBR for any of a resource pool, a carrier and a BWP i.e., a first bandwidth part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Back to incorporate the teaching of Freda in order to achieve the desired functionality. It would have been beneficial to use a pattern of a periodic resource reservation i.e., tone or carrier reservation pattern which is determined based on information associated with BWPs i.e., a first bandwidth part and carriers and an SCI for reservation of any of multiple or indefinite resources that contains any of time, frequency or beam resources to be reserved as taught by Freda to have incorporated in the system of Back to provide for additional coverage and throughput for servicing the WTRUs. (Freda, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 11 lines 40-44, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 18 lines 12-28, Fig.1A-D&2 Col 19 lines 52-63 and Fig.1A-D&2 Col 21 lines 24-34)
Regarding claim 19, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 18 as stated above wherein Back further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to:
obtain first configuration information indicating the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part (Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, receiving a first configuration information indicating the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19); and
determine the first tone reservation pattern based on the first configuration information (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, determining the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern related to the first configuration information and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53).
Regarding claim 20, Back and Freda disclosed all the elements of claim 18 as stated above wherein Back further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part (Fig.43 Col 48 lines 1-9, the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern of the number of reserved tones is determined in consideration of an SL signal and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-19, a receiving UE may receive the SL signal in the specific BWP e.g., a UE may receive a configuration for the SL BWP from the BS/network, for determining the pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern based on the SL signal in the specific BWP), wherein
the first tone reservation pattern corresponding to the first bandwidth part is determined
from a plurality of tone reservation patterns based on a first mapping relationship (Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19, the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones i.e., the first tone reservation pattern is determined form a plurality of the pattern of the reserved tones based on a first mapping relationship and Fig.21 Col 25 lines 15-18 and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53), and
the first mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part (Fig.21 Col 25 lines 15-18, the first mapping relationship is between a tone reservation pattern and a bandwidth part and Fig.29-30 Col 38 lines 7-53, the BWP/ first bandwidth part and Fig.43-44 Col 48 lines 5-19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kazmi et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 8730924 B2) teaches Method and Arrangement in a Telecommunication System.
Oh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0365996 A1) teaches Method for Determining Reserved Tones and Transmitter for Performing PAPR Reduction using Tone Reservation.
Yun et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 9172572 B2) teaches Digital Video Broadcasting-Cable System and Method for Processing Reserved Tone.
Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0327785 A1) teaches Dynamic Downlink Monitoring Techniques for Communications Systems.
Sahraei et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0359890 A1) teaches Peak Reduction Tone Allocation Techniques.
Pezeshki et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0217021 A1) teaches Tone Placement for Reference Signal Optimization.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414