DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/423,549 filed on 01/26/2024.
Claims 1 – 12 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation application of international Patent Application No. PCT/JP22/28941, filed on July 27, 2022, which designated the U.S., and claims the benefit of priority of Japanese Patent Application No. JP2021-125799, filed on July 30, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 01/26/2024 and 12/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting (ODP) as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of application no. 18/423,611 in view of Haghighat et al. (US 2023/0064231 A1), Nokia (R1-2105506, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e) and HUAWEI (R1-2104252, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, Huawei, HiSilicon, e-Meeting, May 10th - 27th, 2021). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed towards apparatus and method regarding Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) configuration resources and communication process. With respect to the independent claims of the instant application and the co-pending application, please see the direct claim comparison in the Table 1 below. This is a provisional double patenting rejection, since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Table 1: Claim comparison between the instant and the Co-pending applications.
Instant application No. 18/423,611
Co-pending application No. 18/423,611
1. A communication apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to:
receive, from a base station, system information block including information configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability, and wherein
the system information block further includes:
a parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource, the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, and
a parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource.
receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability, and
a controller configured to control reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field,
1. A communication apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to:
receive from a base station, system information including
(claim 3. wherein the system information includes information configuring the validity duration)
a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource
a parameter and a parameter list, the parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource, the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, the parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource, and
and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received
a controller configured to control reception of the TRS based on the parameter and the parameter list in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state.
As can be seen from the direct claim comparison of Table 1, claim 1 of instant application is very similar to claims 1+3 of the co-pending application except a few limitations. Dissimilar parts of the claims are underlined. Both the instant and the co-pending claims’ limitations are rearranged in a different sequence to show the similarity with each other. Similar claim comparison can be shown for instant claims 5, 9 vs. co-pending claims 4+6, 7+9, respectively.
The co-pending claims 1, 4 and 7 do not recite
system information block; and
receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, Haghighat teaches
system information block ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0130], WTRU receives a broadcasting signal such as an MIB or an SIB); and
receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) ([0101], WTRU receives and/or decodes a DCI in the PDCCH; [0189], A PDCCH comprising the DCI field).
The motivation for adding Haghighat to the co-pending claim would have been to provide an efficient reference signal transmission (Haghighat, [0169]).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field (Pg.2: section 2.1: presence indication: Agreement, availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) is informed to the idle/inactive UE based on explicit indication; Pg.3: 2nd para, presence/availability indication is part of the configuration of potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions. Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles. Here, the reception of a TRS based on configuration information and the positive availability indication. Therefore, it is obvious that the reception of a TRS is based on the information configuring the validity duration and the positive availability indication; i.e. a value set to the information field).
The combination of co-pending claim, Haghighat and Nokia teaches all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 5 and 9. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The claims of the instant application that are rejected under ODP are listed in table 2.
Table 2: instant claims vs. Co-pending claims.
Instant application no. 18/423,549
Co-pending application No. 18/423,611
1
1 +3
3
2
5
4+6
7
5
9
7+9
11
8
Accordingly, instant claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of co-pending application no. 18/423,611 in view of Haghighat and Nokia.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 have different limitations than that of the co-pending claim limitations. Claims 4, 8 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claims 1+3, 4+6 and 7+9 of the co-pending application in view of Haghighat and Nokia; and claims 2, 6 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claims 1+3, 4+6 and 7+9 of the co-pending application in view of Haghighat, Nokia and HUAWEI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7 – 9 and 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haghighat et al. (Haghighat hereinafter referred to Haghighat) (US 2023/0064231 A1) in view of Nokia (R1-2105506, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, Nokia Shanghai Bell, e-Meeting, May 10th - 27th, 2021) (cited in IDS) in view of LI et al. (LI hereinafter referred to LI) (US 2024/0244701 A1) and further in view of ZHANG et al. (ZHANG hereinafter referred to ZHANG) (US 2022/0303090 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haghighat teaches (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR MULTI-TRP TRANSMISSION IN HST SCENARIOS) a communication apparatus (Fig.1B and [0038], WTRU 102) comprising:
a receiver (Fig.1B and [0038], transceiver 120) configured to:
receive from a base station (Fig.1B and [0040], The transmit/receive element 122 is configured to receive signals from, a base station), system information block ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0130], WTRU receives a broadcasting signal such as an MIB or an SIB) including information ([0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including trs-Info is received from a base station); and
receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) ([0101], WTRU receives and/or decodes a DCI in the PDCCH; [0189], A PDCCH comprising the DCI field), and
a controller (Fig.1B and [0038], processor 118) configured to control reception of a TRS ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS; [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion), wherein
the system information block further includes:
a parameter ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including parameter trs-Info is received from a base station) indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource ([0181], TRS resource set; [0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS include power control offset; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the TRS resource set is considered as more than one TRS resource and one value of parameters is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), and
a parameter list ([0187], WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission. Here, the one or more parameters is a parameter list).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
system information block including information configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability, and
downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability, and
reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field, wherein
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, and
a parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles; Pg.4, Observation: Paging mechanism based availability indication with validity time is considered as a physical channel indication. Here, the validity time/ valid for a certain time is a validity duration and the positive availability indication is an indicating (TRS) availability; therefore, the validity duration is configured for an information of TRS availability indication), and
receive, downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability (Pg.2: section 2.1, Support at least L1 based signaling for the availability indication of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) to the idle/inactive UEs includes paging DCI. Pg.4: Proposal: Support paging DCI based and PEI based beam specific aperiodic availability indication with validity timer as an additional availability indication. Here, the DCI includes information of the TRS availability indication; therefore, it is obvious that DCI includes an information field indicating TRS availability), and
reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field (Pg.2: section 2.1: presence indication: Agreement, availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) is informed to the idle/inactive UE based on explicit indication; Pg.3: 2nd para, presence/availability indication is part of the configuration of potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions. As mentioned above, UE assumes the TRS availability is valid for a certain time, when it receives positive availability indication; therefore, it is obvious the reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and positive availability indication/ a value set to the information field), wherein
one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource (Pg.3: 2nd para, TRS occasion configuration in System Information (SI) message; Pg.6: section 3.1: Agreements, configuration of TRS occasions include at least power control offset. Here, the configuration of TRS occasions is considered as more than one TRS resource; therefore, the at least one power control offset is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource); and
a parameter list (Pg.10: Table 1. TRS configuration parameters) indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier (Pg.11: Table 1. 2nd last row, scramblingID_set), each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource (Pg.10: section 3.2, TRS configuration allows to have separate scrambling initialization for each symbol (scramblingID)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The combination of Haghighat and Nokia does not specifically teach
system information block including information configuring a validity duration.
However LI teaches (Title, USER EQUIPMENT, SCHEDULING NODE, METHOD FOR USER EQUIPMENT, AND METHOD FOR SCHEDULING NODE)
system information block including information configuring a validity duration ([0219], validity duration is configured by a System Information Block (SIB); [0224], validity duration is configured for different RS configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat and Nokia as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmission and reception of signals in a communication system, in which configuring the validity duration via SIB allows some flexibility to a network to tradeoff between signaling overhead to refresh RS status depending on how frequent the RS status changes (LI, [0001] and [0222]).
The combination of Haghighat, Nokia and LI does not specifically teach
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, Quasi Co-Located Framework For Beam Reception In A Single Frequency Network)
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal ([0043], transmission power offset between synchronization block (SSB) and TRS; The power offset between TRS and SSB is configured by the layer 1 (L1) parameter. Here, the power offset between TRS and SSB is a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat, Nokia and LI as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in which the UE is aware of transmission power offset between SSB and TRS to facilitate automatic gain control (AGC) (ZHANG, [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Haghighat teaches (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR MULTI-TRP TRANSMISSION IN HST SCENARIOS) a base station (Fig.1A and [0027], base station 114a) comprising:
a transmitter (Fig.1A and [0027], transceiver) configured to:
transmit to a communication apparatus (Fig.1A and [0027], multiple transceivers for each sector of the cell, to transmit and/or receive signals; [0028], The base stations 114a, 114b communicate with one or more of the WTRUs), system information block ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0130], WTRU receives a broadcasting signal such as an MIB or an SIB) including information ([0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including trs-Info is received from a base station); and
transmit on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to the communication apparatus, downlink control information (DCI) ([0101], WTRU receives and/or decodes a DCI in the PDCCH; [0189], A PDCCH comprising the DCI field), and
a controller configured to control transmission of the TRS ([0177], gNB uses a different TRS configuration; a gNB determines the required TRS configuration and indicates the preferred TRS mode by an SRI; a WTRU determines the new TRS configuration by the received SRI. Since, the Base station / gNB determines the required TRS configuration and indicates to the WTRU; therefore, it is obvious that the base station comprises a controller to perform the function. [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion), wherein
the system information block further includes:
a parameter ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including parameter trs-Info is received from a base station) indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource ([0181], TRS resource set; [0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS include power control offset; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the TRS resource set is considered as more than one TRS resource and one value of parameters is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), and
a parameter list ([0187], WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission. Here, the one or more parameters is a parameter list).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
system information block including information configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability, and
downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability, and
transmission of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field, wherein
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, and
a parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles; Pg.4, Observation: Paging mechanism based availability indication with validity time is considered as a physical channel indication. Here, the validity time/ valid for a certain time is a validity duration and the positive availability indication is an indicating (TRS) availability; therefore, the validity duration is configured for an information of TRS availability indication), and
transmit downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability (Pg.2: section 2.1, Support at least L1 based signaling for the availability indication of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) to the idle/inactive UEs includes paging DCI. Pg.4: Proposal: Support paging DCI based and PEI based beam specific aperiodic availability indication with validity timer as an additional availability indication. Here, the DCI includes information of the TRS availability indication; therefore, it is obvious that DCI includes an information field indicating TRS availability), and
transmission of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field (Pg.2: section 2.1: presence indication: Agreement, availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) is informed to the idle/inactive UE based on explicit indication; Pg.3: 2nd para, presence/availability indication is part of the configuration of potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions. As mentioned above, UE assumes the TRS availability is valid for a certain time, when it receives positive availability indication; therefore, it is obvious the reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and TRS availability indication/ a value set to the information field), wherein
one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource (Pg.3: 2nd para, TRS occasion configuration in System Information (SI) message; Pg.6: section 3.1: Agreements, configuration of TRS occasions include at least power control offset. Here, the configuration of TRS occasions is considered as more than one TRS resource; therefore, the at least one power control offset is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource); and
a parameter list (Pg.10: Table 1. TRS configuration parameters) indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier (Pg.11: Table 1. 2nd last row, scramblingID_set), each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource (Pg.10: section 3.2, TRS configuration allows to have separate scrambling initialization for each symbol (scramblingID)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The combination of Haghighat and Nokia does not specifically teach
system information block including information configuring a validity duration.
However LI teaches (Title, USER EQUIPMENT, SCHEDULING NODE, METHOD FOR USER EQUIPMENT, AND METHOD FOR SCHEDULING NODE)
system information block including information configuring a validity duration ([0219], validity duration is configured by a System Information Block (SIB); [0224], validity duration is configured for different RS configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat and Nokia as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmission and reception of signals in a communication system, in which configuring the validity duration via SIB allows some flexibility to a network to tradeoff between signaling overhead to refresh RS status depending on how frequent the RS status changes (LI, [0001] and [0222]).
The combination of Haghighat, Nokia and LI does not specifically teach
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, Quasi Co-Located Framework For Beam Reception In A Single Frequency Network)
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal ([0043], transmission power offset between synchronization block (SSB) and TRS; The power offset between TRS and SSB is configured by the layer 1 (L1) parameter. Here, the power offset between TRS and SSB is a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat, Nokia and LI as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in which the UE is aware of transmission power offset between SSB and TRS to facilitate automatic gain control (AGC) (ZHANG, [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, Haghighat teaches a communication method (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR MULTI-TRP TRANSMISSION IN HST SCENARIOS) executed by a communication apparatus (Fig.1B and [0038], WTRU 102), the communication method comprising:
receiving from a base station (Fig.1B and [0040], The transmit/receive element 122 is configured to receive signals from, a base station), system information block ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0130], WTRU receives a broadcasting signal such as an MIB or an SIB) including information ([0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including trs-Info is received from a base station); and
receiving on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) ([0101], WTRU receives and/or decodes a DCI in the PDCCH; [0189], A PDCCH comprising the DCI field), and
controlling reception of a TRS ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS; [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion), wherein
the system information block further includes:
a parameter ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including parameter trs-Info is received from a base station) indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource ([0181], TRS resource set; [0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS include power control offset; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the TRS resource set is considered as more than one TRS resource and one value of parameters is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), and
a parameter list ([0187], WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission. Here, the one or more parameters is a parameter list).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
system information block including information configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability, and
downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability, and
reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field, wherein
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, and
a parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles; Pg.4, Observation: Paging mechanism based availability indication with validity time is considered as a physical channel indication. Here, the validity time/ valid for a certain time is a validity duration and the positive availability indication is an indicating (TRS) availability; therefore, the validity duration is configured for an information of TRS availability indication), and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability (Pg.2: section 2.1, Support at least L1 based signaling for the availability indication of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) to the idle/inactive UEs includes paging DCI. Pg.4: Proposal: Support paging DCI based and PEI based beam specific aperiodic availability indication with validity timer as an additional availability indication. Here, the DCI includes information of the TRS availability indication; therefore, it is obvious that DCI includes an information field indicating TRS availability), and
reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field (Pg.2: section 2.1: presence indication: Agreement, availability of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) is informed to the idle/inactive UE based on explicit indication; Pg.3: 2nd para, presence/availability indication is part of the configuration of potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions. As mentioned above, UE assumes the TRS availability is valid for a certain time, when it receives positive availability indication; therefore, it is obvious the reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and TRS availability indication/ a value set to the information field), wherein
one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource (Pg.3: 2nd para, TRS occasion configuration in System Information (SI) message; Pg.6: section 3.1: Agreements, configuration of TRS occasions include at least power control offset. Here, the configuration of TRS occasions is considered as more than one TRS resource; therefore, the at least one power control offset is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource); and
a parameter list (Pg.10: Table 1. TRS configuration parameters) indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier (Pg.11: Table 1. 2nd last row, scramblingID_set), each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource (Pg.10: section 3.2, TRS configuration allows to have separate scrambling initialization for each symbol (scramblingID)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The combination of Haghighat and Nokia does not specifically teach
system information block including information configuring a validity duration.
However LI teaches (Title, USER EQUIPMENT, SCHEDULING NODE, METHOD FOR USER EQUIPMENT, AND METHOD FOR SCHEDULING NODE)
system information block including information configuring a validity duration ([0219], validity duration is configured by a System Information Block (SIB); [0224], validity duration is configured for different RS configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat and Nokia as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmission and reception of signals in a communication system, in which configuring the validity duration via SIB allows some flexibility to a network to tradeoff between signaling overhead to refresh RS status depending on how frequent the RS status changes (LI, [0001] and [0222]).
The combination of Haghighat, Nokia and LI does not specifically teach
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, Quasi Co-Located Framework For Beam Reception In A Single Frequency Network)
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal ([0043], transmission power offset between synchronization block (SSB) and TRS; The power offset between TRS and SSB is configured by the layer 1 (L1) parameter. Here, the power offset between TRS and SSB is a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat, Nokia and LI as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in which the UE is aware of transmission power offset between SSB and TRS to facilitate automatic gain control (AGC) (ZHANG, [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding claims 3, 7 and 11, combination of Haghighat, Nokia, LI and ZHANG teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 5 and 9, respectively as outlined above.
Haghighat further teaches
wherein the system information ([0204], The configuration/indication sent or received using one or more of following: an RRC message; a MAC CE; DCI (WTRU specific DCI and/or group DCI); or a system information block (SIB). Here, the SIB is the system information) further includes:
a parameter indicating one value of TRS periodicity-and-offset configured to the more than one TRS resource ([0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS includes one or more of: periodicity; offset; [0205], configured parameters of the TRS resource set (e.g., periodicity, density, burst, time offset, or frequency offset). Here, periodicity and offset are configured parameters of the TRS resource set; therefore, it is obvious that a parameter indicating one value of TRS periodicity-and-offset configured to the more than one TRS resource), and
a parameter indicating one value of Quasi Co-Location (QCL) configured to the more than one TRS resource ([0182], one or more of QCL type-A, QCL type-B, QCL type-C, QCL type-D, etc., of an aperiodic TRS comprises an associated periodic TRS resource set ID. Here, one QCL type is considered; therefore, one value of QCL is configured to the TRS resource set; i.e. more than one TRS resource),
the controller is configured to control reception/ transmission of the TRS based on the parameter indicating the one value of the power offset, the parameter indicating the one value of the TRS periodicity-and-offset, the parameter indicating the one value of the QCL ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS. As mentioned above, the TRS configuration parameter includes power offset, TRS periodicity-and-offset and QCL; therefore, it is obvious that reception/ transmission of the TRS is based on them) and the parameter list ([0187], WTRU receives a confirmation from gNB for the WTRU report. Based on the confirmation, the WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the reception of the TRS is based on the parameters/ parameter list).
Regarding claims 4, 8 and 12, combination of Haghighat, Nokia, LI and ZHANG teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 5 and 9, respectively as outlined above.
Haghighat further teaches
wherein the TRS includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for tracking ([0181], the term TRS resource set is interchangeably used with the terms TRS resource, CSI-RS resource set, CSI-RS resource, CSI-RS resource set with trs-lnfo, CSI-RS resource for tracking and/or CSI-RS for tracking. Here, considering the TRS resource set as CSI-RS resource for tracking; therefore, the term TRS is interchangeably used with the term CSI-RS for tracking; i.e. the TRS includes a CSI-RS for tracking).
Claims 2, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haghighat, Nokia, LI and ZHANG in view of HUAWEI (R1-2104252, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, Huawei, HiSilicon, e-Meeting, May 10th - 27th, 2021) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 2, 6 and 10, combination of Haghighat, Nokia, LI and ZHANG teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 5 and 9, respectively as outlined above.
Haghighat does not specifically teach
start the validity duration when the receiver receives the DCI including the information field indicating that the TRS is available,
the TRS is available during the validity duration.
However Nokia teaches
the TRS is available during the validity duration (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time).
The combination of Haghighat, Nokia, LI and ZHANG does not specifically teach
start the validity duration when the receiver receives the DCI including the information field indicating that the TRS is available.
However HUAWEI teaches (Title, Assistance RS Occasions for IDLE/inactive mode)
start the validity duration when the receiver receives the DCI including the information field indicating that the TRS is available (Pg. 10, Proposal 2: The validity time for paging DCI based availability indication is the time duration after the transmission of the paging DCI and before the next PO of the same UE. Here, the paging DCI based availability indication is the DCI including the information field indicating TRS availability. Since, the validity time is after the transmission of the paging DCI; i.e. the validity duration stats after receiving the DCI indicating that the TRS is available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat, Nokia and ZHANG as mentioned in claims 1, 5 and 9 and further incorporate the teaching of HUAWEI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide TRS for idle/inactive UE power saving enhancements (HUAWEI, Pg.1: Introduction).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0276408 A1) – “Power Saving For Paging Message Reception” discloses a wireless device that receives configuration parameters indicating monitoring occasions of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for receiving a first downlink control information (DCI). The first DCI comprises: a paging early indication (PEI) indicating whether to monitor paging occasions for receiving a second DCI scheduling a paging message; and a tracking reference signal (TRS) availability indication indicating whether a TRS is available. In response to skipping monitoring the monitoring occasions for receiving the first DCI, the wireless device determines that the TRS is unavailable, and monitor the paging occasions. The wireless device receives via the paging occasions and using a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the TRS being unavailable, the second DCI scheduling the paging message.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474