DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 9/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventio, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 6-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Worm et al. (US 2013/0037041 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Worm disclose an apparatus (“article 10”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0049) arranged to heat smokable material (“inhalable substance medium 350”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0106) to volatize at least one component of said smokable material (“the inhalable substance on the heated section of the inhalable substance medium 350 has been released for inhalation by the consumer”, ¶ 0106), the apparatus comprising:
a housing for receive smokable material (“overwrap 380”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0055); and
at least one heater (combination of “projection 225”, “heating member 400”, and “cartridge body 305” which includes “flanges 302”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0055, 0066, and 0085) arranged within the housing for heating smokable material removably received within the housing in use (“the inhalable substance on the heated section of the inhalable substance medium 350 has been released for inhalation by the consumer”, ¶ 0106);
the heater having first and second ends (left flange 302 and right flange 302, respectively, shown in Fig. 8) and a hollow interior heating chamber (chamber within cartridge body 305 in Fig. 8) in which smokable material is received in use (see Fig. 8); and
wherein the hollow interior heating chamber of the heater comprises a region of reduced internal diameter towards the second end (as seen in Fig. 8, the flange of the second end has a region of reduced internal diameter compared to the central portion of the hollow interior heating chamber).
Regarding claim 2, Worm discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above. Worm further discloses wherein the region of reduced internal diameter is provided by a hollow tube (right flange 302, as shown in Fig. 8) located within the heating chamber towards the second end (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Worm discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, as discussed above. Worm further discloses wherein the hollow tube comprises an outwardly extending flange (“flanges 302”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 4, Worm discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above. Worm further discloses wherein the hollow tube comprises a plastic material (“the cartridge body 305 is formed of . . . . a heat resistant polymer”, ¶ 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worm et al. (US 2013/0037041 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Althorpe et al. (US 2017/0360092 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Worm discloses the apparatus according to claim 4, as discussed above. However, Worm does not explicitly disclose that the specific heat resistant polymer that forms the plastic material of the hollow tube is polyether ether ketone (PEEK). Althorpe, in the same field of endeavor, discloses that useful heat resistant polymers include polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (“A representative, non-limiting list of useful heat-resistant thermoplastic polymers include . . . Polyetheretherketone (PEEK)”, ¶ 0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the known composition of polyether ether ketone (PEEK) taught by Althorpe for the heat resistant polymer of Worm, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (see MPEP § 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G CULBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1747