DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cerny et al. (U.S. 2018/0283794), Applicant appears to argue Cerny fails to disclose the limitation of claim 1 - “wherein respective ones of the plurality of working-fluid pathways are defined within corresponding respective ones of the plurality of heat walls” because “Applicant respectfully submits that portion R are not disclosed by Cerny as being defined within corresponding portions S of tubes 110 but instead are disclosed by Cerny as being disposed between adjacent tubes” (see Remarks filed 5/19/26, Pages 4-5). The Examiner agrees that element R identified in Modified Fig. 9 of Cerny below are between adjacent tubes 110. However, the walls of tubes 110 (element S of Modified Fig. 9 below) also collectively define and bound the internal voids 124 (which element R are respective ones of) as is most clearly shown in Figs. 2-3. As elements R of Modified Fig. 9 below are bounded inside of a collective of walls of tubes 110 (element S of Modified Fig. 9 below), it can be said that element R is within element S. Put another way, element R of modified Fig. 9 below is space internal to collective element S as is shown in Modified Fig. 9 below. Therefore, Applicant’s argument regarding this limitation are not found persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding amended claim 1, Applicant argues that Cerny et al. (U.S. 2018/0283794) fails to disclose the limitation “the respective ones of the plurality of working-fluid pathways being in a thermally conductive relationship with at least a semiannular portion of respective ones of the plurality of heating fluid pathways within the respective ones of the plurality heating walls” (see Remarks filed 5/19/26, Page 5). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Cerny discloses a plurality of working fluid pathways (124) and that a heat exchange fluid flows therein (Para 54 - “…voids 124 through which another heat exchange fluid may flow…”). Cerny discloses a plurality of heating fluid pathways (Modified Fig. 9 below - C) and these are clearly shown as being circular in Modified Fig. 9 below, and thereby have semiannular portions. Element C of Modified Fig. 9 below correspond to space within elements 180 and 182, and element 110 comprises elements 180 and 182 per Para 74. Element 110 carries a flow of heat exchange fluid per Para 52. It is shown in Modified Fig. 9 below that respective ones (Modified Fig. 9 below - R) of the plurality of working-fluid pathways (124) are in a thermally conductive relationship with at least a semiannular portion (see Modified Fig. 9 below at element C (element C is shown circular and therefore has a semiannular portion)) of respective ones of the plurality of heating fluid pathways (Modified Fig. 9 below- C) within the respective ones of the plurality heating walls (110) because per Para 52 there is a flow of heat exchange fluid through element 110 and per Para 54 there is a flow of heat exchange fluid through element 124 and per Para 54 “…the heat exchange fluid flowing within tubes 110 is in thermal communication with the heat exchange fluid passing over tubes 110 and through interstitial voids 124 to allow for thermal energy transfer between the two fluids…”. Therefore, Applicant’s argument regarding this limitation is not found persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant has argued claims 3-6 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1 (Remarks filed 5/19/26, Page 5). The examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cerny et al. (U.S. 2018/0283794).
Re claim 1:
Cerny discloses a monolithic heat exchanger body (100, heat exchanger - Para 35 (see Figs. 5-9 and Para 37)) for inputting heat to a closed-cycle engine, the monolithic heat exchanger body (100) comprising:
a plurality of heating walls (110, tubes - Para 74 (see Figs. 5-6 and 9)) arranged relative to a longitudinal axis (C, centerline - Para 74) of an inlet plenum (154, inlet plenum - Para 71)(see Figs. 5-6 and 9), wherein adjacent portions (Modified Fig. 9 above - A, B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize adjacent portions at elements A and B; an element A and B exists for each of the depicted elements 180 and 182)) of the plurality of heating walls (110) respectively define a corresponding plurality of heating fluid pathways (Modified Fig. 9 - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a plurality of heating fluid pathways at element C; an element C exists for each of the depicted elements 180 and 182)) fluidly communicating with the inlet plenum (154)(see Figs. 5-6, 9 and Paras 52 and 77); and
a plurality of heat transfer regions (Modified Fig. 9 above - D, E, F, G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a plurality of heat transfer regions at elements D, E, F, G (see Figs. 5-6, 9, and Para 54 - “…heat exchange fluid flowing within tubes 110 is in thermal communication with the heat exchange fluid passing over tubes 110 and through interstitial voids 124 to allow for thermal energy transfer between the two fluids…”))), wherein respective ones of the plurality of heat transfer regions (Modified Fig. 9 above - D, E, F, G) have a heat transfer relationship with a corresponding portion (Para 58 - “…each tube defines an external surface area…”) of the plurality of heating fluid pathways (Modified Fig. 9 above - C)(see Modified Fig. 9 above, Figs. 5-6, 9, and Paras 54 and 58), wherein the respective ones of the plurality of heat transfer regions (Modified Fig. 9 above - D, E, F, G) comprise a plurality of working-fluid pathways (124, voids - Para 54) fluidly communicating between a heat input region (Modified Fig. 6 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of heat input region; element A corresponds to the upstream of the “flow of second heat exchange fluid” referenced in Para 77 and shown at element 196 prior to flow through element 100)) and a heat extraction region (Modified Fig. 6 above -B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of heat extraction region; element B corresponds to the downstream of the “flow of second heat exchange fluid” referenced in Para 77 and shown at element 196 after flow through element 100))(see Figs. 5-9; Paras 52 and 77),
wherein respective ones (Modified Fig. 9 above - R (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element R as respective ones of elements 124)) of the plurality of working-fluid pathways (124) are defined within corresponding respective ones (Modified Fig. 9 above - S (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element S as a type of respective ones of elements 110 corresponding to element R)) of the plurality of heat walls (110)(see Modified Fig. 9 above), the respective ones (Modified Fig. 9 above - R) of the plurality of working-fluid pathways (124) being in a thermally conductive relationship with at least a semiannular portion (see Modified Fig. 9 above at element C (element C within each element 182 and these are shown forming a semiannular portion around element 186)) of respective ones of the plurality of heating fluid pathways (Modified Fig. 9 above - C) within the respective ones of the plurality heating walls (110)(see Modified Fig. 9 above, Para 52 (“…A flow of heat exchange fluid may…pass through tubes 110…”), and Para 54 (“…voids 124 through which another heat exchange fluid may flow… the heat exchange fluid flowing within tubes 110 is in thermal communication with the heat exchange fluid passing over tubes 110 and through interstitial voids 124 to allow for thermal energy transfer between the two fluids.”)).
Re claim 3:
Cerny discloses the monolithic heat exchanger body (100) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the plurality of heating fluid pathways (124) pass adjacent to at least some of the plurality of heat transfer regions (Modified Fig. 9 above - D, E, F, G)(see Modified Fig. 9 above and Figs. 5-6).
Re claim 4:
Cerny discloses the monolithic heat exchanger body (100) of claim 3 (as described above), comprising:
a first heating fluid pathway (Modified Fig. 9 above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as a type of first heating fluid pathway)) passing adjacent to the at least some of the plurality of heat transfer regions (Modified Fig. 9 above - D, E, F, G) in a first circumferential series (see Modified Fig. 9 above at element P (a type of first circumferential series is shown at element P which corresponds to the flow of element 196 as it passes around an element 180 along the depicted path)), the first circumferential series comprising a first heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 1 as a type of first heat transfer region)) followed by a second heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 2 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 2 as a type of second heat transfer region)) followed by a third heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 3 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 3 as a type of third heat transfer region))(see Modified Fig. 9 above).
Re claim 5:
Cerny discloses the monolithic heat exchanger body (100) of claim 3 (as described above), comprising:
the first circumferential series (Modified Fig. 9 above at element P) comprising a fourth heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 4 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 4 as a type of fourth heat transfer region)) preceded by the third heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 3)(see Modified Fig. 9 above); and
a second heating fluid pathway (Modified Fig. 9 above - Q (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element Q as a type of second heating fluid pathway)) passing adjacent to at least some of the plurality of heat transfer regions (Modified Fig. 9 above - D, E, F, G) in a second circumferential series (see Modified Fig. 9 above at element Q (a type of second circumferential series is shown at element Q which corresponds to the flow of element 196 as it passes around an element 180 along the depicted path)), the second circumferential series comprising the second heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 2) followed by the third heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 3) followed by the fourth heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 4) followed by the first heat transfer region (Modified Fig. 9 above - 1)(see Modified Fig. 9 above).
Re claim 6:
Cerny discloses the monolithic heat exchanger body (100) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the monolithic heat exchanger body (100) comprises an additively manufactured monolithic body (Para 37) or an additively manufactured monolithic body-segment.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 7/17/26