DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/423,611 filed on 01/26/2024.
Claims 1 – 9 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation application of international Patent Application No. PCT/JP2022/028948, filed on July 27, 2022, which designated the U.S., and claims the benefit of priority of Japanese Patent Application No. 2021-125815, filed on July 30, 2021, and Japanese Patent Application No. 2021-209118, filed on December 23, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
Claims1, 4 and 7 recite in last paragraph,
reception/ transmission of the TRS based on the parameter and the parameter list in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state, a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource, and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received/ transmitted.
The underline parts require some revision for the clarity of the claims. Examiner’s suggestion for the underline part as follows:
receive/ transmit/ receiving downlink control information including TRS availability indication, wherein a validity duration is configured for the TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource.
Applicant can also revise the claims in any other way.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting (ODP) as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 of application no. 18/423,549 in view of Haghighat et al. (US 2023/0064231 A1) and Nokia (R1-2105506, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed towards apparatus and method regarding Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) configuration resources and communication process. With respect to the independent claims of the instant application and the co-pending application, please see the direct claim comparison in the Table 1 below. This is a provisional double patenting rejection, since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Table 1: Claim comparison between the instant and the Co-pending applications.
Instant application no. 18/423,611
Co-pending application No. 18/423,549
1. A communication apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to:
receive from a base station, system information including
a parameter and a parameter list, the parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource, the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, the parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource, and
a controller configured to control reception of the TRS based on the parameter and the parameter list in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state, a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource, and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received.
1. A communication apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to:
receive, from a base station, system information block including
the system information block further includes:
a parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource, the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal, and
a parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource.
a controller configured to control reception of a TRS based on the information configuring the validity duration and a value set to the information field, wherein
information configuring a validity duration for an information field indicating Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) availability, and
receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including the information field indicating TRS availability, and
As can be seen from the direct claim comparison of Table 1, claim 1 of instant application is very similar to claim 1 of the co-pending application except some limitations. Dissimilar parts of the claims are underlined. The co-pending claim limitations are rearranged in a different sequence to show the similarity with the instant claim. Similar claim comparison can be shown for instant claims 4, 7 vs. co-pending claims 5, 9, respectively.
The co-pending claims 1, 5 and 9 do not recite
“reception of the TRS based on the parameter and the parameter list in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state”.
However, Haghighat teaches
reception of the TRS ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS; [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion) based on the parameter and the parameter list ([0187], WTRU receives a confirmation from gNB for the WTRU report. Based on the confirmation, the WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the reception of the TRS is based on the parameter and the parameter list).
The motivation for adding Haghighat to the co-pending claim would have been to provide an efficient reference signal transmission (Haghighat, [0169]).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
reception of the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
reception of the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state (Pg.6: section 3: agreements, SIB signaling provides the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for idle/inactive UE(s); Pg.6: section 3.1: TRS configuration for IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs).
The combination of co-pending claim, Haghighat and Nokia teaches all the limitations of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The claims of the instant application that are rejected under ODP are listed in table 2.
Table 2: instant claims vs. Co-pending claims.
Instant application no. 18/423,611
Co-pending application No. 18/423,549
1
1
2
3
3
1
4
5
5
7
6
5
7
9
8
11
9
9
Accordingly, instant claims 1 – 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of ODP as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 of co-pending application no. 18/423,549 in view of Haghighat and Nokia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5 and 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haghighat et al. (Haghighat hereinafter referred to Haghighat) (US 2023/0064231 A1) in view of Nokia et al. (Nokia hereinafter referred to Nokia) (R1-2105506, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, Nokia Shanghai Bell, e-Meeting, May 10th - 27th, 2021) (cited in IDS) and further in view of ZHANG et al. (ZHANG hereinafter referred to ZHANG) (US 2022/0303090 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haghighat teaches (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR MULTI-TRP TRANSMISSION IN HST SCENARIOS) a communication apparatus (Fig.1B and [0038], WTRU 102) comprising:
a receiver (Fig.1B and [0038], transceiver 120) configured to:
receive from a base station (Fig.1B and [0040], The transmit/receive element 122 is configured to receive signals from, a base station), system information including a parameter ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including parameter trs-Info is received from a base station) and a parameter list ([0187], WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission. Here, the one or more parameters is a parameter list), the parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource ([0181], TRS resource set; [0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS include power control offset; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the TRS resource set is considered as more than one TRS resource and one value of parameters is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), and
a controller (Fig.1B and [0038], processor 118) configured to control reception of the TRS ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS; [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion) based on the parameter and the parameter list ([0187], WTRU receives a confirmation from gNB for the WTRU report. Based on the confirmation, the WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the reception of the TRS is based on the parameter and the parameter list).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
the parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource, and
the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state, a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource, and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
system information including one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource (Pg.3: 2nd para, TRS occasion configuration in System Information (SI) message; Pg.6: section 3.1: Agreements, configuration of TRS occasions include at least power control offset. Here, the configuration of TRS occasions is considered as more than one TRS resource; therefore, the at least one power control offset is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), the parameter list (Pg.10: Table 1. TRS configuration parameters) indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier (Pg.11: Table 1. 2nd last row, scramblingID_set), each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource (Pg.10: section 3.2, TRS configuration allows to have separate scrambling initialization for each symbol (scramblingID)), and
reception of the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state (Pg.6: section 3: agreements, SIB signalling provides the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for idle/inactive UE(s); Pg.6: section 3.1: TRS configuration for IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs), a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles; Pg.4, Observation: Paging mechanism based availability indication with validity time is considered as a physical channel indication. Here, the validity time/ valid for a certain time is a validity duration; therefore, the validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication), and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received (Pg.2: section 2.1, Support at least L1 based signaling for the availability indication of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) to the idle/inactive UEs includes paging DCI. Pg.4: Proposal: Support paging DCI based and PEI based beam specific aperiodic availability indication with validity timer as an additional availability indication. Here, the DCI including the TRS availability indication is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The combination of Haghighat and Nokia Haghighat does not specifically teach
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, Quasi Co-Located Framework For Beam Reception In A Single Frequency Network)
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal ([0043], transmission power offset between synchronization block (SSB) and TRS; The power offset between TRS and SSB is configured by the layer 1 (L1) parameter. Here, the power offset between TRS and SSB is a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat and Nokia as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in which the UE is aware of transmission power offset between SSB and TRS to facilitate automatic gain control (AGC) (ZHANG, [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 4, Haghighat teaches (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR MULTI-TRP TRANSMISSION IN HST SCENARIOS) a base station (Fig.1A and [0027], base station 114a) comprising:
a transmitter (Fig.1A and [0027], transceiver) configured to:
transmit to a communication apparatus (Fig.1A and [0027], multiple transceivers for each sector of the cell, to transmit and/or receive signals; [0028], The base stations 114a, 114b communicate with one or more of the WTRUs), system information including a parameter ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including parameter trs-Info is received from a base station) and a parameter list ([0187], WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission. Here, the one or more parameters is a parameter list), the parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource ([0181], TRS resource set; [0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS include power control offset; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the TRS resource set is considered as more than one TRS resource and one value of parameters is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), and
a controller configured to control transmission of the TRS ([0177], gNB uses a different TRS configuration; a gNB determines the required TRS configuration and indicates the preferred TRS mode by an SRI; a WTRU determines the new TRS configuration by the received SRI. Since, the Base station / gNB determines the required TRS configuration and indicates to the WTRU; therefore, it is obvious that the base station comprises a controller to perform the function. [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion) based on the parameter and the parameter list ([0187], WTRU receives a confirmation from gNB for the WTRU report. Based on the confirmation, the WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the reception of the TRS is based on the parameter and the parameter list).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
the parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource, and
the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state, a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource, and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
system information including one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource (Pg.3: 2nd para, TRS occasion configuration in System Information (SI) message; Pg.6: section 3.1: Agreements, configuration of TRS occasions include at least power control offset. Here, the configuration of TRS occasions is considered as more than one TRS resource; therefore, the at least one power control offset is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), the parameter list (Pg.10: Table 1. TRS configuration parameters) indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier (Pg.11: Table 1. 2nd last row, scramblingID_set), each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource (Pg.10: section 3.2, TRS configuration allows to have separate scrambling initialization for each symbol (scramblingID)), and
the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state (Pg.6: section 3: agreements, SIB signalling provides the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for idle/inactive UE(s); Pg.6: section 3.1: TRS configuration for IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs), a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles; Pg.4, Observation: Paging mechanism based availability indication with validity time is considered as a physical channel indication. Here, the validity time/ valid for a certain time is a validity duration; therefore, the validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication), and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received (Pg.2: section 2.1, Support at least L1 based signaling for the availability indication of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) to the idle/inactive UEs includes paging DCI. Pg.4: Proposal: Support paging DCI based and PEI based beam specific aperiodic availability indication with validity timer as an additional availability indication. Here, the DCI including the TRS availability indication is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The combination of Haghighat and Nokia Haghighat does not specifically teach
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, Quasi Co-Located Framework For Beam Reception In A Single Frequency Network)
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal ([0043], transmission power offset between synchronization block (SSB) and TRS; The power offset between TRS and SSB is configured by the layer 1 (L1) parameter. Here, the power offset between TRS and SSB is a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat and Nokia as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in which the UE is aware of transmission power offset between SSB and TRS to facilitate automatic gain control (AGC) (ZHANG, [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Haghighat teaches a communication method (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR MULTI-TRP TRANSMISSION IN HST SCENARIOS) executed by a communication apparatus (Fig.1B and [0038], WTRU 102), the communication method comprising:
receiving from a base station (Fig.1B and [0040], The transmit/receive element 122 is configured to receive signals from, a base station), system information including a parameter ([0090], higher layer signaling e.g. system information block (SIB); [0169], higher layer parameter trs-Info. Here, the SIB, i.e. system information including parameter trs-Info is received from a base station) and a parameter list ([0187], WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission. Here, the one or more parameters is a parameter list), the parameter indicating one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource ([0181], TRS resource set; [0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS include power control offset; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the TRS resource set is considered as more than one TRS resource and one value of parameters is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), and
controlling reception of the TRS ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS; [0174], A WTRU expects to start receiving TRS at a higher density based on a measurement or criterion) based on the parameter and the parameter list ([0187], WTRU receives a confirmation from gNB for the WTRU report. Based on the confirmation, the WTRU applies the one or more parameters for aperiodic TRS transmission; [0202], WTRU measures one or more values of parameters based on a TRS resource set. Here, the reception of the TRS is based on the parameter and the parameter list).
Haghighat does not specifically teach
the parameter list indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier, each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource, and
the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state, a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource, and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received.
However, Nokia teaches (Title, On RS information to IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs)
system information including one value of power offset configured to more than one Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) resource (Pg.3: 2nd para, TRS occasion configuration in System Information (SI) message; Pg.6: section 3.1: Agreements, configuration of TRS occasions include at least power control offset. Here, the configuration of TRS occasions is considered as more than one TRS resource; therefore, the at least one power control offset is one value of power offset configured to more than one TRS resource), the parameter list (Pg.10: Table 1. TRS configuration parameters) indicating more than one value of scrambling identifier (Pg.11: Table 1. 2nd last row, scramblingID_set), each value of the more than one value of scrambling identifier being configured to each TRS resource of the more than one TRS resource (Pg.10: section 3.2, TRS configuration allows to have separate scrambling initialization for each symbol (scramblingID)), and
reception of the TRS in a case where the communication apparatus is in a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state (Pg.6: section 3: agreements, SIB signalling provides the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for idle/inactive UE(s); Pg.6: section 3.1: TRS configuration for IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs), a validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication for the more than one TRS resource (Pg.4: 1st para, once UE receives a positive availability indication UE assumes the TRS availability in the cell is valid for a certain time, such as few paging cycles; Pg.4, Observation: Paging mechanism based availability indication with validity time is considered as a physical channel indication. Here, the validity time/ valid for a certain time is a validity duration; therefore, the validity duration is configured for TRS availability indication), and downlink control information including the TRS availability indication is received (Pg.2: section 2.1, Support at least L1 based signaling for the availability indication of TRS/CSI-RS at the configured occasion(s) to the idle/inactive UEs includes paging DCI. Pg.4: Proposal: Support paging DCI based and PEI based beam specific aperiodic availability indication with validity timer as an additional availability indication. Here, the DCI including the TRS availability indication is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Haghighat as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Nokia. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide enhancements for idle/inactive-mode UE power saving, paging enhancement(s) to reduce unnecessary UE paging receptions and potential TRS/CSI-RS occasions available in connected mode to idle/inactive-mode UEs, minimizing system overhead impact (Nokia, Pg.1: section 1: Introduction).
The combination of Haghighat and Nokia Haghighat does not specifically teach
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal.
However ZHANG teaches (Title, Quasi Co-Located Framework For Beam Reception In A Single Frequency Network)
the power offset being a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal ([0043], transmission power offset between synchronization block (SSB) and TRS; The power offset between TRS and SSB is configured by the layer 1 (L1) parameter. Here, the power offset between TRS and SSB is a power offset of the TRS with respect to a synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat and Nokia as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in which the UE is aware of transmission power offset between SSB and TRS to facilitate automatic gain control (AGC) (ZHANG, [0002] and [0043]).
Regarding claims 2, 5 and 8, combination of Haghighat, Nokia and ZHANG teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 4 and 7, respectively as outlined above.
Haghighat further teaches
wherein the system information ([0204], The configuration/indication sent or received using one or more of following: an RRC message; a MAC CE; DCI (WTRU specific DCI and/or group DCI); or a system information block (SIB). Here, the SIB is the system information) further includes:
a parameter indicating one value of TRS periodicity-and-offset configured to the more than one TRS resource ([0188], Parameters for aperiodic TRS includes one or more of: periodicity; offset; [0205], configured parameters of the TRS resource set (e.g., periodicity, density, burst, time offset, or frequency offset). Here, periodicity and offset are configured parameters of the TRS resource set; therefore, it is obvious that a parameter indicating one value of TRS periodicity-and-offset configured to the more than one TRS resource), and
a parameter indicating one value of Quasi Co-Location (QCL) configured to the more than one TRS resource ([0182], one or more of QCL type-A, QCL type-B, QCL type-C, QCL type-D, etc., of an aperiodic TRS comprises an associated periodic TRS resource set ID. Here, one QCL type is considered; therefore, one value of QCL is configured to the TRS resource set; i.e. more than one TRS resource),
the controller is configured to control reception/ transmission of the TRS based on the parameter indicating the one value of the power offset, the parameter indicating the one value of the TRS periodicity-and-offset, the parameter indicating the one value of the QCL ([0169], WTRU is configured to receive and process TRS. As mentioned above, the TRS configuration parameter includes power offset, TRS periodicity-and-offset and QCL; therefore, it is obvious that reception/ transmission of the TRS is based on them) and the parameter list (Same as mentioned in claims 1, 4, and 7).
Claims 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haghighat, Nokia and ZHANG in view of LI et al. (LI hereinafter referred to LI) (US 2024/0244701 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 6 and 9, combination of Haghighat, Nokia and ZHANG teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 4 and 7, respectively as outlined above.
Haghighat does not specifically teach
wherein the system information includes information configuring the validity duration.
However LI teaches (Title, USER EQUIPMENT, SCHEDULING NODE, METHOD FOR USER EQUIPMENT, AND METHOD FOR SCHEDULING NODE)
wherein the system information includes information configuring the validity duration ([0219], validity duration is configured by a System Information Block (SIB); [0224], validity duration is configured for different RS configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Haghighat, Nokia and ZHANG as mentioned in claims 1, 4 and 7 and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmission and reception of signals in a communication system, in which configuring the validity duration via SIB allows some flexibility to a network to tradeoff between signaling overhead to refresh RS status depending on how frequent the RS status changes (LI, [0001] and [0222]).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0276408 A1) – “Power Saving For Paging Message Reception” discloses a wireless device that receives configuration parameters indicating monitoring occasions of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for receiving a first downlink control information (DCI). The first DCI comprises: a paging early indication (PEI) indicating whether to monitor paging occasions for receiving a second DCI scheduling a paging message; and a tracking reference signal (TRS) availability indication indicating whether a TRS is available. In response to skipping monitoring the monitoring occasions for receiving the first DCI, the wireless device determines that the TRS is unavailable, and monitor the paging occasions. The wireless device receives via the paging occasions and using a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the TRS being unavailable, the second DCI scheduling the paging message.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474