DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on April 28, 2026. Claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 29, 30, 33, 34, and 37-40 are amended. Claims 23, 24, 27, 28, 31, 32, 35, and 36 have been canceled.
Claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 29, 30, 33, 34, and 37-40 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 21-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 29, 30, 33, 34, and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (US 2023/0163911 A1).
1. Regarding claims 21 and 29, a method, applied to a terminal device (Fig. 2 UE 120a), and comprising:
generating first indication information (Paragraph [0140])
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one piece of first information and at least one piece of first resource pair information, and one piece of the first information is associated with one piece of the first resource pair information (Paragraph [0140] indicator for the preferred CSI-RS resource pair);
wherein the first resource pair information indicates a number of resource pairs supported by the terminal device in one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64),and
wherein the first information indicates at least one of :
a number of first ports, wherein the number of the first ports indicates a maximum number of transmit ports in one resource within a resource pair, or
a total number of the first ports, wherein the total number of the first ports indicates a total number of ports in a resource pair that are supported by the terminal device in the one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64); and
sending the first indication information (Paragraph [0140] report an indicator).
2. Regarding claims 25 and 33, Hao teaches a method, applied to a network device (Fig.2 BS 110a) and comprising:
receiving first indication information from a terminal device (Paragraph [0140] report an indicator),
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one piece of first information and at least one piece of first resource pair information, and one piece of the first information is associated with one piece of the first resource pair information (Paragraph [0140] indicator for the preferred CSI-RS resource pair);
wherein the first resource pair information indicates a number of resource pairs supported by the terminal device in one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64),and
wherein the first information indicates at least one of :
a number of first ports, wherein the number of the first ports indicates a maximum number of transmit ports in one resource within a resource pair, or
a total number of the first ports, wherein the total number of the first ports indicates a total number of ports in a resource pair that are supported by the terminal device in the one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64); and
configuring a channel measurement resource for the terminal device based on the first
indication information (Paragraph [0140] CSI-RS resource).
3. Regarding claims 22, 26, 30, and 34, Hao teaches, wherein the frequency unit is one or more carriers, the frequency unit is one or more bands, the frequency unit is one or more band combinations, or the frequency unit is one or more bandwidth parts (Paragraphs [0054] BWP, subset of subbands).
4. Regarding claim 37, Hao teaches an apparatus (Paragraphs [0009] and [0010]), comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute computer
instructions stored in the memory, so that the apparatus performs operations including:
generating first indication information (Paragraph [0140])
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one piece of first information and at least one piece of first resource pair information, and one piece of the first information is associated with one piece of the first resource pair information (Paragraph [0140] indicator for the preferred CSI-RS resource pair);
wherein the first resource pair information indicates a number of resource pairs supported by the terminal device in one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64),and
wherein the first information indicates at least one of :
a number of first ports, wherein the number of the first ports indicates a maximum number of transmit ports in one resource within a resource pair, or
a total number of the first ports, wherein the total number of the first ports indicates a total number of ports in a resource pair that are supported by the terminal device in the one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64); and
sending the first indication information (Paragraph [0140] report an indicator).
5. Regarding claim 38, Hao teaches an apparatus (Fig.2 BS 110a), comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute computer
instructions stored in the memory, so that the apparatus performs operations including:
receiving first indication information from a terminal device (Paragraph [0140] report an indicator),
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one piece of first information and at least one piece of first resource pair information, and one piece of the first information is associated with one piece of the first resource pair information (Paragraph [0140] indicator for the preferred CSI-RS resource pair);
wherein the first resource pair information indicates a number of resource pairs supported by the terminal device in one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64),and
wherein the first information indicates at least one of :
a number of first ports, wherein the number of the first ports indicates a maximum number of transmit ports in one resource within a resource pair, or
a total number of the first ports, wherein the total number of the first ports indicates a total number of ports in a resource pair that are supported by the terminal device in the one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64); and
configuring a channel measurement resource for the terminal device based on the first
indication information (Paragraph [0140] CSI-RS resource).
6. Regarding claim 39, Hao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer instructions, wherein when the computer instructions are run on an apparatus (Paragraph [0013] computer readable medium), the apparatus is
enabled to perform operations including:
generating first indication information (Paragraph [0140])
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one piece of first information and at least one piece of first resource pair information, and one piece of the first information is associated with one piece of the first resource pair information (Paragraph [0140] indicator for the preferred CSI-RS resource pair);
wherein the first resource pair information indicates a number of resource pairs supported by the terminal device in one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64),and
wherein the first information indicates at least one of :
a number of first ports, wherein the number of the first ports indicates a maximum number of transmit ports in one resource within a resource pair, or
a total number of the first ports, wherein the total number of the first ports indicates a total number of ports in a resource pair that are supported by the terminal device in the one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64); and
sending the first indication information (Paragraph [0140] report an indicator).
7. Regarding claim 40, Hao teaches a chip (Paragraph [0009], comprising:
a processor, wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, and is configured to execute
computer instructions stored in the memory, so that the chip perform operations including:
generating first indication information (Paragraph [0140])
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one piece of first information and at least one piece of first resource pair information, and one piece of the first information is associated with one piece of the first resource pair information (Paragraph [0140] indicator for the preferred CSI-RS resource pair);
wherein the first resource pair information indicates a number of resource pairs supported by the terminal device in one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64),and
wherein the first information indicates at least one of :
a number of first ports, wherein the number of the first ports indicates a maximum number of transmit ports in one resource within a resource pair, or
a total number of the first ports, wherein the total number of the first ports indicates a total number of ports in a resource pair that are supported by the terminal device in the one frequency unit (Paragraph [0140] total number of ports in each group/pair is 48 and 64); and
sending the first indication information (Paragraph [0140] report an indicator).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466