Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Boles is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Boles solves a similar problem as the invention. Boles is used to show that magnets can be used to provide convenient and organized storage for a group of hangers. Hangers are a similar product to a clip wherein that they serve a purpose but when not used, the group can become a mess to organize. Boles solves this issue by utilizing magnets to stack the hangers together to keep them inline and attached to one another and “preventing a pile of unorganized hangers” (Boles para 63). Applicant also argues Boles only relates to organizing hangers in a closet. However, Boles specifically discloses “Multiple hangers 10 can stack up on the side of a metal surface, such as a washer or dryer” (Boles para 63). This directly addresses the similar problem and solution as applicant of how to organize a group of devices when not in use. Examiner holds rejection over the prior art.
In response to applicant’s argument stating the proposed combination of Ginocchio’s device with the magnets of Boles would not result in the applicant’s claimed invention, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 8 only requires the main body to include one or more magnets to be “stacked along their flat edges for organized storage” not that the clips must maintain the same profile to result in “stacking efficiently.” Examiner also notes that “organized storage” is a subjective and broad limitation. Ginocchio’s device, while allowing for different profiles, is capable of locking into matching profiles with other devices. Then, when stacked together via magnets, would result in a neat stack of clips. Alternatively, were Ginnocchio’s device stacked with different profiles, the combination would still result in organized storage and read over the claims as presented. Examiner holds rejection over the prior art.
In response to applicant’s argument that the combinations would change the principle of operation of Ginocchio’s device, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ginocchio does not need to be converted to a static gap system since the gap between the first end and second end of the main body is static shown in annotated Figures 2A-2C. Examiner holds rejection over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ginocchio US 8635750.
Regarding Claim 1, Ginocchio discloses a clip for sealing a bag, comprising:
a flat main body (16) with a C-shaped profile forming a gap (annotated Fig 2A-2C) between a first end and a second end, wherein the gap remains static during operation of the clip (Fig 2A-2C), a first edge at least partially spanning the gap on the main body;
a moveable element (14) coupled to the first end of the main body via a joint (hinge ends 18, 20), the moveable element having a second edge designed to engage with the first edge when positioned within the gap;
a locking element (58) located at the second end of the main body, comprising a set of ratchet teeth (56) oriented to engage with a corresponding set of ratchet teeth (56) on the moveable element for locking the moveable element in place within the gap; and
a release mechanism (38) operatively connected to or integrated with the locking element to disengage the ratchet teeth, thereby allowing movement of the moveable element (Figure 9A, reference numerals shown in Figure 2B).
Regarding Claim 2, Ginocchio discloses wherein the moveable element comprises an opening (296) in its center, facilitating the attachment of the clip to an external anchor (peg) (Figure 9A, Column 7, lines 46-49).
Regarding Claim 3, Ginocchio discloses wherein the moveable element and the main body together form an oval profile, allowing a user to apply pressure using the full strength of their hand for closing the clip using a natural C-shaped grip (Figure 9A).
Regarding Claim 4, Ginocchio discloses wherein the clip is composed of a material suitable for use in fridge and freezer environments (ABS and polycarbonate).
Regarding Claim 5, Ginocchio discloses wherein the clip is made from a material selected from the group consisting of plastic, silicone, stainless steel, borosilicate glass, PTFE (Polytetrafluoroethylene), PEEK (Polyether Ether Ketone), PPS (Polyphenylene Sulfide), and vitreous enamel coated steel, to enable its use in both oven and freezer environments (ABS and polycarbonate).
Regarding Claim 12, Ginocchio discloses wherein the gap between the first end and the second end of the main body is adjustable, allowing the clip to accommodate bags of various thicknesses (Fig 2A-2C).
Regarding Claim 15, Ginocchio discloses wherein the joint is a hinged joint (18, 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginocchio US 8635750 in view of Boles US 20170065113 .
Regarding Claim 8, Ginocchio discloses the invention except wherein the main body comprises one or more magnets, enabling multiple clips to be magnetically attracted to each other and stacked along their flat edges for organized storage.
Boles discloses a hanger with magnets (28) embedded in the body.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the clip of Ginocchio to include the magnets as taught by Boles to the hangers 10 to stack up neatly, one on top of the other, preventing a pile of unorganized hangers 10 (para 58).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginocchio US 8635750.
Regarding Claim 9, Ginocchio discloses the invention except wherein the clip is available in various sizes and dimension ratios to accommodate different bag sizes and types.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the clip of Ginocchio to be various sizes and dimension ratios as disclosed in order to accommodate different sizes of objects, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding Claim 13, Ginocchio discloses the invention except wherein the main body and the moveable element include textured surfaces to enhance grip and ease of operation, particularly in wet conditions or with slippery hands (Column 7, lines 39-40, “Frame 294 could be roughened or knurled to assist in gripping”).
However, Ginocchio teaches wherein the frame 294 could be roughened or knurled to assist in gripping (Column 7, lines 39-40). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the main body and the moveable element to also be roughened or knurled to assist in gripping.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginocchio US 8635750 in view of Wightman US 588848.
Regarding Claim 14, Ginocchio discloses the invention except wherein the first edge and the second edge are toothed.
Wightman discloses a bag clip wherein the first and second edges are toothed (4)(Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the clip of Ginocchio to include the teeth on the first and second edges as taught by Weightman to “engage into the material of a bad and thus prevent the fastener from slipping thereon” (lines 37-40).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677