DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/8/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/8/2026 regarding claims 1, 8 and 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument on pages 8-9 that Ahmed (US PGPub 2009/0068970) fails to teach the limitation of claim 1, especially the limitation of “wherein scanning rates in the programmable table vary based on a level of favorability in relation to the mobile device, and wherein scanning rates associated with mobile networks within the telecommunications system are lower than scanning rates associated mobile networks outside of the telecommunications system”, the examiner cannot concur with the applicant because of the reasons described below.
On the contrary to the applicant’s arguments, Ahmed discloses that when the wireless device 106 registers with a WLAN 112, it can record information such the base station ID, location of the cell, location of the device when it registered with the WLAN, time/date, and other information. This list is continuously updated by the wireless device. The location code can be expanded to different granularities such as a combination of location area and cell-id, which, in one example, can define the proximity of a workplace. In this example, the scanning frequency can be increased when the wireless device 106 is near the workplace. Therefore, Ahmed teaches that a wireless device can update the list (e.g., scanning profile) based on a level of favorability (how close the wireless device is located near the workplace) in relation to the mobile device (Ahmed, see paragraph 0053). Ahmed further teaches that FIG. 3 shows a dynamic scanning profile 310 that can reside on the wireless device 106. The Scan Interval column 304 includes entries including scan interval information associated with base stations. For example, a first entry 310 includes a scanning interval of 10 seconds associated with the first base station and a second entry 312 includes a scanning interval of 5 minutes associated with the second base station. BN base station has 1 hr of scan interval which is lower than other base stations (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraphs 0060-0061).
Therefore, Ahmed teaches the limitation of claim 1, especially the limitation of “wherein scanning rates in the programmable table vary based on a level of favorability in relation to the mobile device, and wherein scanning rates associated with mobile networks within the telecommunications system are lower than scanning rates associated mobile networks outside of the telecommunications system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahmed (US PGPub 2009/0068970).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Ahmed teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one data processor of a system (Ahmed, see abstract, A method, information processing system, and wireless device are disclosed for managing network scanning intervals), cause the system to perform actions comprising:
establishing, at a mobile device associated with a telecommunications system, a connection to a first mobile network of a plurality of mobile networks (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, The wireless device 106, at step 904, registers with a base station 132);
accessing, at the mobile device, a programmable table that stores identifiers of the plurality of mobile networks, each identifier associated with a scanning rate in the programmable table (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0084, The wireless device 106, at step 906, determines if the base station ID associated with the base station 132 is in its dynamic scanning profile 110. Figure 3 shows the structure of a dynamic scanning profile),
wherein scanning rates in the programmable table vary based on a level of favorability in relation to the mobile device (Ahmed, see paragraph 0053, when the wireless device 106 registers with a WLAN 112, it can record information such the base station ID, location of the cell, location of the device when it registered with the WLAN, time/date, and other information. This list is continuously updated by the wireless device. The location code can be expanded to different granularities such as a combination of location area and cell-id, which, in one example, can define the proximity of a workplace. In this example, the scanning frequency can be increased when the wireless device 106 is near the workplace. Therefore, Ahmed teaches that a wireless device can update the list (e.g., scanning profile) based on a level of favorability (how close the wireless device is located near the workplace) in relation to the mobile device), and wherein scanning rates associated with mobile networks within the telecommunications system are lower than scanning rates associated mobile networks outside of the telecommunications system (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraphs 0060-0061, FIG. 3 shows a dynamic scanning profile 310 that can reside on the wireless device 106. The Scan Interval column 304 includes entries including scan interval information associated with base stations. For example, a first entry 310 includes a scanning interval of 10 seconds associated with the first base station and a second entry 312 includes a scanning interval of 5 minutes associated with the second base station. BN base station has 1 hr of scan interval which is lower than other base stations);
retrieving a first scanning rate associated with a first identifier of the first mobile network (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, If the result of this determination is … positive); and
causing the mobile device to scan for network connection at the first scanning rate (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, If the result of this determination is positive, the wireless device 106, at step 910, dynamically adjusts the scanning interval to the interval indicated by its dynamic scanning profile 110).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Ahmed teaches wherein the identifiers of the plurality of mobile networks are multimedia messaging country codes (MCCs), mobile network codes (MNCs), or public land mobile networks (PLMNs) (Ahmed, see paragraph 0052, The wireless device 106 actively learns the locations of alternative networks such as WLANS that are suitable for registration. In this embodiment, as well as the embodiments discussed above, location codes, which can comprise one or more of Location Area Codes (“LACs”), Cell IDs, and GPS coordinates (from the wireless device 106 and/or base station 132), and other data. LACs can be used along with Mobile Country Codes (“MCCs”), and Mobile Network Codes (“MNCs”) to uniquely identify a location area within the Public Land Mobile Network (“PLMN”)).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Ahmed teaches wherein the connection to the first mobile network is facilitated by a satellite (Ahmed, see paragraph 0052, The wireless device 106 actively learns the locations of alternative networks such as WLANS that are suitable for registration. In this embodiment, as well as the embodiments discussed above, location codes, which can comprise one or more of Location Area Codes (“LACs”), Cell IDs, and GPS coordinates (from the wireless device 106 and/or base station 132), and other data. LACs can be used along with Mobile Country Codes (“MCCs”), and Mobile Network Codes (“MNCs”) to uniquely identify a location area within the Public Land Mobile Network (“PLMN”)).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Ahmed teaches the actions further comprising:
responsive to establishing, at the mobile device, a second connection to a second mobile network, wherein the second mobile network is facilitated by a base station associated with a first third-party system (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, The wireless device 106, at step 904, registers with a base station 132):
retrieving, from the programmable table, a second scanning rate associated with a second identifier of the second mobile network, wherein the second scanning rate is higher than the first scanning rate (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0084, The wireless device 106, at step 906, determines if the base station ID associated with the base station 132 is in its dynamic scanning profile 110. Figure 3 shows the structure of a dynamic scanning profile); and
causing the mobile device to scan for network connection at the second scanning rate (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, If the result of this determination is positive, the wireless device 106, at step 910, dynamically adjusts the scanning interval to the interval indicated by its dynamic scanning profile 110).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Ahmed teaches the actions further comprising:
responsive to establishing, at the mobile device, a third connection to a third mobile network, wherein the third mobile network is associated with a partner third-party system (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, The wireless device 106, at step 904, registers with a base station 132):
retrieving, from the programmable table, a third scanning rate associated with a third identifier of the third mobile network, wherein the third scanning rate is higher than the first scanning rate and lower than the second scanning rate (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0084, The wireless device 106, at step 906, determines if the base station ID associated with the base station 132 is in its dynamic scanning profile 110. Figure 3 shows the structure of a dynamic scanning profile); and
causing the mobile device to scan for network connection at the third scanning rate (Ahmed, see paragraph 0084, If the result of this determination is positive, the wireless device 106, at step 910, dynamically adjusts the scanning interval to the interval indicated by its dynamic scanning profile 110).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Ahmed teaches wherein:
the programmable table stores identifiers of one or more access nodes associated with the telecommunications system (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0061, The dynamic scanning profile 310 of FIG. 3 includes one or more columns such as a Base Station ID column 302 and a Scanning Interval column 304),
each identifier is associated with a scanning rate (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0061, The dynamic scanning profile 310 of FIG. 3 includes one or more columns such as a Base Station ID column 302 and a Scanning Interval column 304), and
the scanning rates associated with identifiers of extraterrestrial access nodes are higher than the scanning rates of terrestrial scanning nodes (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0061, The dynamic scanning profile 310 of FIG. 3 includes one or more columns such as a Base Station ID column 302 and a Scanning Interval column 304).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Ahmed teaches wherein:
the programmable table stores identifiers of a first set of access nodes associated with partner third-party systems and a second set of access nodes associated with non-partner third-party systems (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0061, The dynamic scanning profile 310 of FIG. 3 includes one or more columns such as a Base Station ID column 302 and a Scanning Interval column 304),
each identifier is associated with a scanning rate (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0061, The dynamic scanning profile 310 of FIG. 3 includes one or more columns such as a Base Station ID column 302 and a Scanning Interval column 304), and
the scanning rates associated with the first set of access nodes lower than the scanning rates of the second set of access nodes (Ahmed, see figure 3 and paragraph 0061, The dynamic scanning profile 310 of FIG. 3 includes one or more columns such as a Base Station ID column 302 and a Scanning Interval column 304).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443