DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cronin et al. (US 6,609,421, hereafter Cronin)
With respect to claim 1, Cronin teaches a sensor (14, 16, 18) configured for use with an aircraft, the sensor comprising: a probe portion (14A, 16A, 18A) configured to extend outward of an outer surface of the aircraft, the probe portion including: a distal end formed by a probe (14A, 16A, 18A) on a first side of the sensor; and an interior portion (14D, 16D, 18D) configured to extend within the outer surface of the aircraft, the interior portion including: a proximal end having an electrical connector on a second side of the sensor, the second side being opposite the first side. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Note that although the claims recites a vertical takeoff and landing capable aircraft, there is no positive claim of any particular VTOL characteristics and therefore this is considered to be an intended use which the sensors of Cronin are capable of performing.
Although Cronin does not explicitly teach wherein wiring connected to the electrical connector extends in a direction away from the electrical connector that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis defined by the probe portion, the wiring could be reasonably be located to extend in any direction, dependent upon the configuration of the aircraft interior, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to extend the wiring in a direction that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis defined by the probe portion in order to orient the wires in a most convenient direction according to a design choice.
With respect to claim 2, Cronin teaches a housing (14D, 16D, 18D) between the electrical connector and a flange of the probe portion; and an airdata computer within the housing. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2)
With respect to claim 3, Cronin teaches the probe portion includes a pitot port. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2)
With respect to claim 4, Cronin teaches the probe portion includes a static pressure port. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2)
` With respect to claim 5, Cronin teaches a housing (14D, 16D, 18D) that contains an airdata computer, the housing having a proximal side, a lateral side, and a distal side, the electrical connector formed on proximal side. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Note that although Cronin does not explicitly discuss the location of the electrical connector, it must be located on one of the sides and that side could then be called the proximal side.
With respect to claim 6, Cronin teaches the housing is configured to extend within an interior space of the aircraft when the sensor is installed with the probe portion outside of the aircraft, such that the lateral side faces insulation or an interior wall of the aircraft. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Note again that Cronin does not explicitly discuss the arrangement of the housing, however at least one side must generally face an interior wall of the aircraft and this side could be called the lateral side.
With respect to claim 7, Cronin teaches a flange that bridges the probe portion and the interior portion. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Although Cronin does not explicitly teach wherein a width of the housing, as measured from the lateral side to the flange, is less than about 4.0 inches, the optimal housing width would be dependent upon the size of the individual components and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the width as a design choice.
With respect to claim 8, Cronin teaches a sensor (14, 16, 18) comprising: a probe portion (14A, 16A, 18A) configured to protrude outside of an aircraft, the probe portion defining a longitudinal axis; a housing (14D, 16D, 18D) configured to extend within a housing of the aircraft; a flange connecting the probe portion to the housing; a distal end formed by the probe portion; an airdata computer contained within the housing, the housing having a proximal side and a distal side; and an electrical connector at the proximal side or the distal side of the housing. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Note that although Cronin does not explicitly discuss the location of the electrical connector, it must be located on one of the sides and that side could then be called the proximal side or the distal side.
Although Cronin does not explicitly teach wherein wiring connected to the electrical connector extends in a direction away from the electrical connector that is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis, the wiring could be reasonably be located to extend in any direction, dependent upon the configuration of the aircraft interior, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to extend the wiring in a direction that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis defined by the probe portion in order to orient the wires in a most convenient direction according to a design choice.
With respect to claim 9, Cronin teaches the electrical connector is configured to connect wiring such that the wiring is in electrical communication with the computer. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2)
With respect to claim 10, Cronin teaches a circuit board within the housing and connected between wiring and the computer. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2)
With respect to claim 11, Cronin teaches an aircraft (10), comprising: an outer surface; a sensor (14, 16, 18) including: a probe portion (14A, 16A, 18A) that extends outward of the outer surface of the aircraft, the probe portion including: a distal end formed by a probe; and an interior portion (14D, 16D, 18D) extending inside the outer surface of the aircraft, the interior portion including: a housing; and an electrical connector on a proximal side or a distal side of the housing; and wiring extending from the electrical connector. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Note that although Cronin does not explicitly discuss the location of the electrical connector, it must be located on one of the sides and that side could then be called the proximal side or the distal side.
Although Cronin does not explicitly teach the housing having a bottom side that is free of an electrical connector, the electrical connector could reasonably be located on any external surface and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to leave the bottom side of the housing free of electrical connector in order to orient the wires in a preferred direction according to a design choice.
With respect to claim 12, Cronin teaches the probe portion defines a longitudinal axis that extends substantially parallel to the outer surface of the aircraft. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2). Although Cronin does not explicitly teach the location of the electrical connector, the electrical connector could be located on any external surface and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to locate the electrical connector in a direction that is substantially parallel to the outer surface of the aircraft in order to orient the wires in a preferred direction according to a design choice.
With respect to claim 13, Cronin teaches a gap formed between the outer surface and material within the aircraft, the interior portion of the sensor being secured within the gap. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Note that although Cronin does not explicitly teach the arrangement, any location of the sensor would be between the outer surface and other material within the aircraft and therefore this space would be considered to be the claimed gap.
With respect to claim 14, although Cronin does not explicitly teach wherein a width of the gap is about 4.0 inches, the optimal housing width would be dependent upon the size of the individual components and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the width as a design choice.
With respect to claim 15, Cronin teaches the material includes an interior wall or insulation. Note that the interior portion of the sensor generally faces all of the interior walls of the aircraft.
With respect to claim 16, although Cronin does not explicitly teach the location of the electrical connector, the electrical connector could be located on any external surface and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to locate the electrical connector in a direction that is substantially parallel to the outer surface of the aircraft in order to orient the wires in a preferred direction according to a design choice
With respect to claim 17, Cronin teaches a computer connected to the wiring and provided within the housing. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2)
With respect to claim 18, Cronin teaches a bottom side of the housing faces an interior wall or insulation of the aircraft. Note that the housing generally faces an interior wall of the aircraft on all sides.
With respect to claim 19, Cronin teaches the bottom side is free of an electrical connector. Note that although Cronin does not explicitly discuss the location of the electrical connector, the housing generally has at least one side which is free of an electrical connector and this could be called the bottom side.
With respect to claim 20, Cronin teaches a flange that bridges the probe portion and the interior portion. (col. 4, lines 23-59, Figs. 1-2) Although Cronin does not explicitly teach wherein a width of the housing, as measured from the lateral side to the flange, is less than about 4.0 inches, the optimal housing width would be dependent upon the size of the individual components and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the width as a design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicant’s amendments do overcome the rejection under 35 USC 102, the claimed structure is still considered to be obvious over the teachings of Cronin. The claimed structures are not explicitly taught by Cronin, however the arrangement of wiring is a well understood design function, having no impact on the actual function of the claimed apparatus and therefore the location of the electrical connectors and the wires cannot be considered sufficient to define the invention over the prior art. It should also be noted that the drawings are clearly schematic in nature and therefore the location of the wiring on the drawings of Cronin is not considered to teach the location of the wiring in the actual apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853