DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the skirt includes a material having a waterproofness and flexibility” (lines 1-2) is indefinite since claim 3 depends from claim 1 which claims “winding unit configured to wind a skirt that blocks inflow of a headwind generated when a vehicle travels” (lines 1-2). Regarding claim 1, “configured to” implies that the structure is specifically designed or arranged to perform the stated function. Claim 3 positively claims “the skirt” (line 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradnia et al. US 20220315135 A1 (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Moradnia et al. discloses a winding unit (in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) configured to wind a skirt that blocks inflow of a headwind generated when a vehicle travels (“configured to” implies that the structure is specifically designed or arranged to perform the stated function; the apparatus is configured to i.e. only suitable for a headwind skirt; the winding unit is suitable for that purpose) the winding unit (in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) comprising: an actuator (an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]) which generates power; a roller (204 in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figure 2) configured to couple to the skirt and wind the skirt; a holder (220 in paragraphs [0031] and [0034] as shown in Figure 2) configured to couple to an end portion of the skirt; and a driving link (inherent that there is a driving link to connect
an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]) which connects the holder (220 in paragraphs [0031] and [0034] as shown in Figure 2) and the actuator
(an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]) and moves the holder (220 in paragraphs [0031] and [0034] as shown in Figure 2) using the power generated by the actuator (“an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Moradnia et al. discloses the winding unit (in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) of claim 1, wherein the holder (220 in paragraphs [0031] and [0034] as shown in Figure 2) is configured to pull or push the skirt such that the skirt is deployed (as shown in Figure 2) or retracted (as shown in Figure 2) in conjunction with movement of the holder (220 in paragraphs [0031] and [0034] as shown in Figure 2) in a direction intersecting a direction in which the roller (204 in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figure 2) is disposed.
Regarding claim 3, as understood, Moradnia et al. discloses the winding unit (in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) of claim 1, includes a material (flexible sheet 206 in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figure 2) having waterproofness and flexibility.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moradnia et al. US 20220315135 A1 (cited by Applicant) in view of Titus et al.
US 20180265142 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Moradnia et al. discloses the winding unit (in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) of claim 1.
However, Moradnia et al. does not show wherein the driving link includes: a first link coupled to the actuator; a second link which connects the first link and the holder and moves in conjunction with movement of the first link; and a pin which rotatably couples the second link to the holder and transfers a force generated by movement of the second link to the holder.
Titus et al. teaches an actuator 18 displaces the panel 16 between the vent closing and vent opening positions. A linkage 20 connects the actuator 18 with the panel 16 (in paragraph [0022]). The linkage 20 comprises a first link 34 and a second link 36. The first link 34 is connected by means of a pivot pin 38 to the underbody shield. The first end 40 of the first link 34 is connected to the arm 42 of the actuator 18 by means of the pin 44. The second end 46 of the first link 34 is connected to the second link 36 by means of the pin 48.
The opposite end of the second link 36 is connected to the panel 16. As should be appreciated the specific linkage 20 illustrated in Figures 2a and 3
(in paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the winding unit of Moradnia et al. with a driving link using a first link, a second link and a pin, as taught by Titus et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to the particular placement of a first link, a second link and a pin is an obvious matter of design choice.
In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Ragsdale US 7871121 B1 discloses a vehicle air skirt apparatus (air dam device 100 as shown in Figure 1) comprising: a skirt
(as shown in Figures 3 and 5 the panel 110 of the air dam 100 of the present invention is flexible and is of a thickness that can withstand wind at a high velocity but can also bend and accommodate objects on the road surface. For example, in some embodiments, the panel 110 is about 3/4 inch in thickness. This combination of flexibility and thickness also allow the panel 110 to be wrapped around the corners of the bumper 106) which blocks inflow of a headwind.
However, Ragsdale does not show a winding unit which winds the skirt, the winding unit including an actuator which generates power, a roller which is coupled to the skirt and winds the skirt, a holder coupled to an end portion of the skirt, and a driving link which connects the holder and the actuator and moves the holder using the power generated by the actuator.
Moradnia et al. US 20220315135 A1 (cited by Applicant) discloses a winding unit (in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) configured to wind a skirt that blocks inflow of a headwind generated when a vehicle travels (“configured to” implies that the structure is specifically designed or arranged to perform the stated function; the apparatus is configured to i.e. only suitable for a headwind skirt; the winding unit is suitable for that purpose) the winding unit
(in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figures 2) comprising: an actuator (“an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]) which generates power; a roller (204 in paragraph [0031] as shown in Figure 2) configured to couple to the skirt and wind the skirt; a holder (flexible sheet 206 may be held taut between roller 204 at one end 220 as shown in Figure 2) configured to couple to an end portion of the skirt; and a driving link (inherent that there is a connection to drive the winding unit) which connects the holder (flexible sheet 206 may be held taut between roller 204 at one end 220 as shown in Figure 2) and the actuator (“an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]) and moves the holder (flexible sheet 206 may be held taut between roller 204 at one end 220 as shown in Figure 2) using the power generated by the actuator (“an actuator (not shown) in paragraph [0037]).
Since the flexible panel (110) of Ragsdale is wrapped around the corners of the bumper (106), therefore there is no reason to combine the flexible panel (110) of Ragsdale with the winding unit of Moradnia et al. US 20220315135 A1 (cited by Applicant).
Claims 6-10 depends from claim 1.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Communication
/Lori Lyjak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612