DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, & 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohannon et al. (US Patent # 4,557,560) in view of Xu et al. (WIPO Publication # WO2022041526A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bohannon discloses an optical cable (i.e. lightguide fiber cable 20) comprising:
a hollow buffer tube (i.e. heat barrier layer 32) having a plurality of optical fibers (i.e. plurality of lightguide fibers 26) therein;
a first plurality of layered strength members (i.e. plurality of strength wires 36) surrounding the hollow buffer tube;
a conductor (i.e. corrugated inner shield 51 & corrugated outer shield 60) surrounding the first plurality of layered strength members, wherein the conductor comprises a first metal layer (i.e. corrugated inner shield 51) surrounded by a second metal layer (i.e. corrugated outer shield 60), and wherein the first metal layer is aluminum; and
an outer insulating jacket (i.e. jacket 70) surrounding the conductor (Fig. 1, 2, 4, & 7; Abstract; Column 4, line 13- Column 5, line 20; Column 5, line 38- Column 6, line 64; Column 7, line 16- Column 8, line 14; Column 10, line 11-31; Claim 6).
Bohannon does not explicitly disclose that the second metal layer is copper.
Xu teaches that the second metal layer (i.e. conductive strip of resistance reduction layer 3) is copper (Fig. 1-3; Paragraphs 0006-0007, 0013, 0021-0026).
Xu teaches that it is well known in the art of submarine to use copper as the material of an additional layer. Bohannon also mentions that copper can be used instead of aluminum. Therefore, said material is considered useful in Bohannon. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use copper as the material for the second metal layer of Bohannon, as taught by Xu, in order to reduce the DC current resistance. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 9 includes the limitations of claim 1 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim. The cable of Bohannon is a communications cable which would inherently be connected between a set of local power feed equipment stations. Claim 17 includes the limitations of claim 1 (the method of forming an optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim.
Regarding Claim 3, Bohannon discloses that the conductor (i.e. corrugated outer shield 60) is directly adjacent the outer jacket (i.e. jacket 70) (Fig. 4).
Claim 11 includes the limitations of claims 2 & 3 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to those claims. The second plurality of layered strength members is disclosed by Bohannon as plurality of strength members 33.
Regarding Claim 5, Bohannon discloses that the aluminum is an aluminum tape helically or longitudinally wrapped around the second plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 7; Column 5, line 3-4; Column 10, line 11-22). Copper tape 106 which forms shield 51 may be aluminum instead.
Claim 13 includes the limitations of claim 5 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim.
Regarding Claim 6, Bohannon in view of Xu discloses that the copper is longitudinally wrapped along an exterior of the aluminum tape (Bohannon: Fig. 2; Column 6, line 14-45)
Claim 14 includes the limitations of claim 6 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim.
Regarding Claim 7, Bohannon in view of Xu discloses that the copper is welded over the aluminum tape (Xu: Paragraph 0022, 0027-0028).
Claim 15 includes the limitations of claim 7 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim. Claim 18 includes the limitations of claim 7 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to those claims. The first metal layer is aluminum and not welded as disclosed by Bohannon (Fig. 7; Column 5, line 3-4; Column 10, line 11-22) while the second metal layer is copper and welded as taught by Xu (Paragraph 0022, 0027-0028).
Regarding Claim 8, Bohannon discloses that a first radial thickness of the first metal layer is greater than a second radial thickness of the second metal layer (Claim 6).
Claim 16 includes the limitations of claim 8 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim.
Regarding Claim 19, Bohannon discloses forming a second plurality of layered strength members (i.e. plurality of strength members 33) around the first plurality of layered strength members (i.e. plurality of strength wires 36) (Fig. 2; Column 4, line 28-41).
Regarding Claim 20, Bohannon discloses forming the conductor comprises helically or longitudinally wrapping the first metal layer and the second metal layer around the second plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 7; Column 5, line 3-4; Column 10, line 11-22). Copper tape 106 which forms shield 51 may be aluminum instead.
Claims 2 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohannon et al. (US Patent # 4,557,560) in view of Xu et al. (WIPO Publication # WO2022041526A1), as applied to claims 1 & 9, and in further view of Gu et al. (WIPO Publication # WO2019114375A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Bohannon discloses a second plurality of layered strength members (i.e. plurality of strength members 33) surrounding the hollow buffer tube (Fig. 2; Column 4, line 28-41).
Bohannon does not explicitly disclose that wherein each of the first plurality of strength members has a first diameter, and wherein each of the second plurality of strength members has a second and third diameter, different than the first diameter.
Gu teaches that wherein each of the first plurality of strength members (i.e. inner layer of armor layer 20) has a first diameter, and wherein each of the second plurality of strength members (i.e. outer layer of armor layer 20) has a second and third diameter, different than the first diameter (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0028 & 0031-0032).
Gu teaches that it is well known in the art of strength members for submarine cables to use multiple layers of said strength members and use different diameters according to the water depths to which the cable will be subjected. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide different diameters in the different layers of strength members of Bohannon, as taught by Gu, in order to adapt and design the cable for different water depths. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 10 includes the limitations of claim 2 (an optical communication system using the optical cable) and is analyzed as such as with respect to that claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that substituting the stainless-steel outer shield layer of Bohannon with the copper outer layer of Xu would render the cable of Bohannon unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bohannon already discloses that both aluminum and copper are useful materials to be used as shields. As the Applicant states in the remarks, Xu teaches a single or double layer of copper. Therefore, one skilled in the art could combine the teachings of both references to arrive at a double layer inner shield in which one layer is copper and the other is aluminum as claimed. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847