DETAILED ACTION
TELE-INSPECTION SYSTEM AND METHOD
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 01/26/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No 18/425,184, 18/418,671 and 18/418,714. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant Application
Application 18/425,184
Application 18/418,671
Application 18/418,714
Claim 1:
A method for controlling an inspection process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising:
(a) installing equipment used for or related to an inspection process in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the inspection equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the inspection equipment; and
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the inspection equipment by the processor, wherein the inspection equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the manufacturing inspection process.
Claim 1:
A method for controlling a material gouging process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising:
(a) installing equipment used for or related to a material gouging process “inspection process” in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the gouging equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the gouging equipment; and
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the arc gouging equipment by the processor, wherein the gouging equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the gouging process.
Claim 1:
A method for controlling a material removal process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising:
(a) installing equipment used for or related to a material removal process in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the material removal equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the material removal equipment; and
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the material removal equipment by the processor, wherein the material removal equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the material removal process.
Claim 1:
A method for programming equipment used for or related to a manufacturing process, comprising:
(a) installing equipment in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the equipment;
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the equipment by the processor, wherein the equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the manufacturing process; and (e) using the software to save a teachpoint in a program file.
Claim 11:
A method for controlling an inspection process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising:
(a) installing equipment used for or related to an inspection process in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the inspection equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the inspection equipment;
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the inspection equipment by the processor, wherein the inspection equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the manufacturing inspection process; and
(e) displaying a real-time video of the manufacturing environment to the user during the inspection process.
Claim 12:
A method for controlling an arc gouging process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising:
(a) installing equipment used for or related to an arc gouging process “inspection process” in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the arc gouging equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the arc gouging equipment;
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the arc gouging equipment by the processor, wherein the arc gouging equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the arc gouging process; and
(e) providing a computer network across which the processor communicates with the arc gouging equipment.
Claim 11:
A method for controlling a material removal process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising:
(a) installing equipment used for or related to a weld grinding process in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the weld grinding equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment;
(c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the weld grinding equipment; and
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the weld grinding equipment by the processor, wherein the weld grinding equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the weld grinding process.
Claim 13:
A method for remotely programming equipment used for or related to a manufacturing process, comprising:
(a) installing equipment in a manufacturing environment;
(b) positioning a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the equipment, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment; (c) connecting at least one processor to the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the equipment;
(d) connecting at least one manual controller to the processor, wherein the at least one manual controller receives motion input from a user of the manual controller, wherein the software on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the equipment by the processor, wherein the equipment, which is physically remote from the at least one controller, executes the motion commands in real-time during the manufacturing process; and
(e) saving a teachpoint in a program file, wherein the software:
(i) determines whether the equipment has moved a predetermined minimum distance from a previously saved teachpoint location; and
(ii) adds the teachpoint to the program file if the equipment moved the predetermined minimum distance from the previously saved teachpoint location.
Although the conflicting claims 1- 20 in the instant application and 1-20 in co-pending application are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the similar limitation to produce the same end results of an additive fabrication device and method. For example, it is clear that the gouging process is identical or similar to the “inspection process” mention in the instant application.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims mention in the Table above of the Instant application and Provisional Application No. 18/425,184, 18/418,671 and 18/418,714 to arrive at claims 1-20 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining elements would perform the same function as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. [herein after Wang] (US 2016/0229050).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for controlling an inspection process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising: (a) installing equipment used for or related to an inspection process in a manufacturing environment (Fig. 2); (b) positioning a plurality of sensors (12c) within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the inspection equipment (Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of sensors (12c) are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment (¶0012-¶0013); (c) connecting at least one processor (14c) to the plurality of sensors (12c), wherein the at least one processor (14c) includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the inspection
equipment (¶0017-¶0018); and (d) connecting at least one manual controller (12b) to the processor (14c), wherein the at least one manual controller (12b) receives motion input from a user of the manual controller (12b), wherein the software (“a robot controller 12b that includes a data interface that accepts motion commands and provides actual motion data”; ¶0012) on the processor (14c) mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the inspection equipment by the processor (14c, see claim 3), wherein the inspection equipment (Fig. 2), which is physically remote from the at least one controller (12b), executes the motion commands in real-time during the manufacturing inspection process (¶0012).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses a method for controlling an inspection process used in a manufacturing environment, comprising: (a) installing equipment used for or related to an inspection process in a manufacturing environment (Fig. 2); (b) positioning a plurality of sensors (12c) within the manufacturing environment in proximity to the inspection equipment (Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of sensors (12c) are configured to gather data from the manufacturing environment (¶0012-¶0013); (c) connecting at least one processor (14c) to the plurality of sensors (12c), wherein the at least one processor includes software for receiving data from the plurality of sensors and the inspection equipment (¶0017-¶0018); (d) connecting at least one manual controller (12b) to the processor (14c), wherein the at least one manual controller (12b) receives motion input from a user of the manual controller (12b), wherein the software (“a robot controller 12b that includes a data interface that accepts motion commands and provides actual motion data”; ¶0012), on the processor mathematically transforms the motion input into corresponding motion commands that are sent to the inspection equipment by the processor (see claim 3), wherein the inspection equipment (Fig. 2), which is physically remote from the at least one controller (12b), executes the motion commands in real-time during the manufacturing inspection process (¶0012); and (e) displaying (14b) a real-time video of the manufacturing environment to the user during the inspection process (¶0017-¶0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. [herein after Wang] (US 2016/0229050).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wang further discloses the inspection equipment includes a robot (12a) having an end effector (12d) for evaluating the integrity of welded material [(12e); ¶0014], and wherein the end effector includes a sensor [(12c); Fig. 2].
Wang fails to explicitly disclose the end effector includes a PAUT probe, an Eddy current probe, or combinations thereof.
However, Eddy current probes are devices used to detect surface and near-surface defects in conductive materials by inducing eddy currents.
Wang discloses [“sensors 12c includes a wrist force sensor. The haptic control loop sends the force measurement from the force sensor to the controlling device 14a.”; (¶0028)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of method for controlling an inspection process used in a manufacturing environment, to modify Wang, to include a PAUT probe, an Eddy current probe, or combinations thereof, as Wang already discloses a force sensor, for the benefit of providing a device
such as cameras, microphones, position sensors, proximity sensors and force sensors, that observe the robot station 12.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Wang further discloses (a) using at least one of the sensors in the plurality of sensors to measure a distance between the end effector and the welded material (¶0012); and (b) disabling the user’s control of the inspection equipment if the distances varies from a predetermined operating distance range (¶0019 & ¶0031).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855