DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's 10/7/26 election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) is acknowledged. Applicant’s traversal, as well as the 9/4/26 Restriction Requirement (“R/R”), are mooted by applicant’s 10/7/26 cancellation of (non-elected) claims 9-20. Applicant’s 10/7/26 filing of new claim 21, which by its nature attempts to obviate the 9/4/26 Restriction Requirement by making a new independent claim that recites the distinct features of the 1/26/24 claim set’s independent claims 1, 9, and 17 as Markush species within a single (new) independent claim, is also acknowledged. As such, and given applicant’s above-detailed election of Group I (i.e. a method of employing Na2SiO3), claim 21’s Na2SiO3 Markush species is considered to have been constructively elected (with traverse) in response to the newly-necessitated Species Election Requirement (“SER”); claim 21 will be examined as limited to the Na2SiO3 Markush species within its step b., unless said species is found to be allowable (see below). Applicant’s traversal of the election of Group I as a result of the R/R is imputed to applicant’s constructive election of claim 21’s Na2SiO3 Markush species. Said traversal, i.e. on the grounds that, vis-à-vis claim 21, i) there is substantial overlap between the species (Remarks at p. 6), and ii) there would be no search and/or examination burden in reviewing all pending species (Remarks at p. 7, adapted to the newly-recited species), has been fully considered but is not persuasive. As to i), such an argument is moot as inapposite since it relates to an R/R between Groups of independently-claimed inventions rather than, as here, (Markush) species within a single independent claim. Regarding ii), the requisite serious search and/or examination burden is established by the presence of one or more of reasons (a)-(e), detailed below. The SER remains deemed proper and is thus made FINAL; claim 21 shall thus be examined only as to its step b.’s Na2SiO3 solution, unless said solution is eventually found allowable.
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species, namely, within claim 21, a Na2SiO3 solution, a NaOH solution, and a silicate glass. The species are independent or distinct because they have materially different properties and effects, etc. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, no claims are generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least one of the following reason(s) apply:
(a) the species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the species require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another; &/or
(e) the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/1st par.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this SER to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election. The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the SER, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the SER will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species. Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species. Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
As detailed above, applicant is deemed to have constructively elected claim 21’s Na2SiO3 species with traverse; the traversal is rebutted as detailed above.
Information Disclosure Statement (“IDS”)
The 6/10/24 IDS fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(b)(3)&(5) and MPEP 609 because the 2016 Mahmud et al. reference listing does not identify the publisher thereof, the 2010 Industrial Crops and Products article does not identify the author(s) thereof, and no translation and/or concise explanation of relevance of the non-English DE259526 was received. The IDS has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this IDS or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all certification requirements for 37 CFR 1.97(e) statements. MPEP 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd par. as indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 21 recite “high purity sodium silicate”, but do not state what will meet or infringe (i.e. qualify as) “high purity” Na2SiO3; the specification does not rectify this ambiguity. The foregoing creates confusion as to the claimed scope and how to avoid infringement thereof, rendering claims 1 and 21 rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd par. MPEP 2173.02.
Applicant is hereby advised that, as independent claims 1 and 21 are rejected for deficiencies under 35 USC 112(b)/2nd par., all claims depending therefrom also contain such deficiencies and are likewise rejected (unless the deficiencies are resolved by the dependent claim’s own limitations) - cure thereof is required for any and all claims affected even if any such claim were otherwise found allowable. See, e.g., In re Jolly, 172 F.2d 566, 567 (CCPA 1949) (holding that dependent claims of indefinite claims are thusly indefinite), and Ex parte Kristensen, 10 USPQ2d 1701, 1702-04 (BPAI 1989) (same); 35 USC 112(d)/4th par.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd par. because while the claims recite “an elemental concentration”, it is unclear what “elemental concentration” refers to. What element(s) will meet/infringe “elemental” here? MPEP 2173.02. While the quoted recitations are interpreted via the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (MPEP 2111) to mean any elements other than (Na2SiO3’s) Na, Si, and O (and water’s H), this rejection nevertheless needs addressing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering the obviousness rejections below, the applicant should note that the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention has the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the claimed invention. The references of record in the application reasonably reflect this level of skill.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over DE4216119 (1993) (“’119”) (incl. English machine translation, “EMT”). Regarding claims 1 and 21, ‘119 teaches a method comprising adding aq. Na2SiO3 and/or aq. NaOH to a suspension comprising SiO2 to give a mixture, and removing SiO2 therefrom via ultrafiltration to give a retentate of undissolved SiO2 and a purified permeate solution (i.e. purified aq. Na2SiO3). See ‘119 at, e.g., EMT boxed areas. It is noted that the order of mixing (i.e. adding SiO2 to the aq. Na2SiO3 and/or aq. NaOH as claimed, or vice versa as in ‘119 as detailed above) cannot alone serve as a non-obvious distinction; alteration of a mixing order is prima facie obvious in the absence of persuasive evidence of criticality or unexpected results, not found within the instant application. See, e.g., In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975 (CCPA 1930); MPEP 2144.04 IV. C. Further, the term “biogenic” in “biogenic silica” is considered to be an embedded product-by-process recitation. Since it has been held that the patentability of a product and its method of production are determined separately, the “biogenic” in “biogenic silica” product-by-process recitation has not been accorded patentable weight, except to the extent that the “biogenic” process steps suggest structural features of the resulting product. See In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985), In re Brown, 173 USPQ 688, 688 (CCPA 1977), and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2113. It being unclear what, if any, structural features are so suggested (silica, i.e. SiO2, is axiomatically silica, i.e. SiO2).1 As such, any SiO2 source, e.g. ‘119’s, is considered to qualify as the SiO2 employed in claim 21. See also MPEP 2113 ("The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.") (internal citations omitted). Additionally and/or alternatively, given ‘119’s teaching of providing SiO2 as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to produce/procure said SiO2 by any method and/or in any form known in the art, such as via natural/biogenic sources, as such sources are plentiful and require no cost/effort other than harvesting (i.e. no need for synthesis). MPEP 2113 & 2143 I.(E).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, ‘119 teaches that its aq. NaOH is “continually added… so that the reactors charged [therewith] have a pH of 8 to 12…”; this is understood to indicate that ‘119 regards the aq. NaOH concentration as a result-effective variable. See ‘119 at, e.g., EMT clm. 1. While ‘119 does not specify a 3.5-4.5 SiO2 to Na2O (i.e. the constituent parts of Na2SiO3, since 2NaOH + SiO2 -> Na2SiO3 + H2O, and Na2SiO3 <-> Na2O + SiO2) mass ratio as in claim 2 or a 20-22% solids concentration as in claim 6, it nevertheless would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ascertain and employ a desired SiO2 to Na2O (i.e. SiO2 to [2NaOH minus H2O]) mass ratio, such as within claim 2’s range and/or so as to achieve a solids concentration range as in claim 6, via routine experimentation- it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05, citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955). This is especially so given that ‘119 is considered to regard its aq. NaOH concentration as a result-effective variable as detailed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, ‘119’s SiO2 and purified Na2SiO3 are considered to meet the claimed purity requirements as no impurity concentrations, nor elements other than Si, O, and Na (and water’s H) are taught as present in ‘119’s above-detailed method. MPEP 2144.01. ‘119’s method is also regarded as meeting the claimed impurity concentrations since ‘119’s method renders claim 1’s method (from which claims 3 and 5 depend) prima facie obvious- it has been held that where claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially similar methods, a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP 2112.01, citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). In other words, since ‘119 teaches or at least suggests claim 1’s positive method steps, it matters not whether ‘119 also teaches or suggests the features of the intended result of performing said steps- it would not be reasonable to expect different results when performing identical or at least substantially similar steps. Accord, MPEP 2145 II, citing, e.g., In re Baxter Travenol Labs., 952 F.2d 388, 392 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (stating that “Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention”). See also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (stating the “general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the [old] process again patentable”) (emphasis in original).
Regarding claim 7, the term “biogenic” in “biogenic silica” is considered to be an embedded product-by-process limitation as detailed above. As such, see MPEP 2113, citing In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 698, which stated that “If the product in [a] product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In other words, the source of a product cannot patentably distinguish the product from the same product obtained from a different source. See In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969) (stating that "the patentability of a claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious.") (emphasis in original). Since ‘119 supplies SiO2 as detailed above, the source of said SiO2 cannot serve as a patentable/non-obvious distinction. Thus, ‘119’s teachings vis-à-vis claim 1, detailed above, are regarded to meet claim 7 as well.
Regarding claim 8, adding a further amount of SiO2 is considered a repetition of ‘119’s above-detailed adding step, and as such would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention- it is “well within the expected skill of the technician to operate a process continuously [or thus, repeatedly]." See, e.g., In re Dilnot, 319 F.2d 188 (CCPA 1963) (internal citations omitted) and In re Citron, 140 USPQ 220, 222 (CCPA 1964) (affirming BPAI’s upholding of Examiner’s rejection of claims repeating prior-taught steps as obvious); MPEP 2144.04 V.E.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘119 in view of TN2014/0071 (2015) (“’071”). Regarding claim 4, ‘119 employs ultrafiltration as detailed above. While ‘119 does not specify that its ultrafiltration employs a hollow fiber membrane as claimed, ‘071 so teaches.
‘071 teaches that, in conducting ultrafiltration on aq. mixtures (as does ‘119), a hollow fiber membrane (“HFM”) is a preferable selection therefor, as an HFM is described as “preferred from the standpoint of cost reduction.” See ‘071 at, e.g., par. 1 and 21. Given the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an HFM as taught by ‘071 for ‘119’s ultrafiltration, to thereby achieve ‘071’s taught advantage of cost reduction (as opposed to other options for ultrafiltration) in doing so. MPEP 2143 I.(G).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL BERNS whose telephone number is (469)295-9161. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5:00 (Central). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at (571) 270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANIEL BERNS/ October 20, 2026
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1736
1 See MPEP 2112.01 II, citing, e.g., In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (stating that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.”).