This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 05/28/2026. Claims 1-9 and 11-18 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ll. 16, consider amending to, --direction and the balancer at which position the balancer is attached, wherein the at least one fan and—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the gap functions as a flow passage" in ll. 20 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, ll. 13 already recites “a flow passage” defined to radially outward exhaust air and therefore, it is unclear to the Examiner whether the gap is defining the same flow passage or a second, additional flow passage. As best understood and for examination purposes, “a flow passage” in ll. 20 is the same flow passage in ll. 13.
Claim 1, ll. 20, --the gap functions as [[a]]the flow passage to radially outward exhaust air flowing in the—
Claim 3 recites, “a protrusion portion extending toward another of the main plate and the balancer and placed in abutment with the other of the main plate and the balancer” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner the exact relationship claimed between “another of the main plate” and the balancer which is placed in abutment “with the other of the main plate.” As best understood from fig. 6 and pp. [0040-0041] in instant disclosure, the at least one fan in which the balancer attached (as required by claims 1-2, which claim 3 depends from) is the dust collection fan (200 reference number) and the main plate of the at least one fan or the balancer includes a protrusion portion (261 and 262, fig. 11) placed in abutment with a surface of the at least one fan or the balancer (fig. 6). Therefore, for examination purposes, one of the main plate and the balancer includes a protrusion portion extending toward either the main plate or the balancer and placed in abutment with the one of the surfaces of the main plate (from claim 2) or the balancer.
Claim 3, ll. 2-4, -- wherein one of the main plate and the balancer includes a protrusion portion extending toward either the main plate [[and]]or the balancer and placed in abutment with the one of the surfaces or the balancer, and--
Further, claim 3 recites “a space functioning as the flow passage is defined between the main plate and the balancer” which renders the claim indefinite. As best understood and as necessitated by the amendments, “a gap” from claim 1 functions as the flow passage to radially outward exhaust air. The Examiner notes “gap” is defined as a break or space in an object or between two objects; and further, as best understood from pp. [0041-0043] and fig. 6, “a space” (270 in instant disclosure) corresponds to the same limitation as “the gap.” Therefore, for examination purposes, a space in claim 3 is defined as the same area as the gap in claim 1.
Claims 2, 4-9, and 11-18 are rejected accordingly since they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiede (US Patent No. 6,159,084) in view of Zhang (US 2023/0271296) and Maier (US Patent No. 4,355,487).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Tiede (US Patent No. 6,159,084) discloses a portable machining apparatus (embodiment of fig. 3) comprising:
a motor (within housing 10, not explicitly shown; col. 3, ll. 22-24);
an output shaft (item 11; figs. 1 and 3) extending in an axial direction (defined as direction along axis 111; fig. 1) and configured to be rotated by a rotational driving force of the motor (col. 3, ll. 22-28);
a tool accessory (item 17; figs. 1 and 3) configured to perform an eccentric circular motion in response to the rotation of the output shaft (col. 3, ll. 36-37, via amount e1; figs. 1 and 3);
a lower fan portion (lower fan 14; designated in annotated fig. 3 below) fixed to the output shaft so as to circumferentially surround the output shaft (lower fan 14 fixed to output shaft 11 via items 13, 15; figs. 1 and 3);
an upper fan portion (upper fan 14; fig. 3) configured to be rotated by the rotational driving force of the motor (col. 6, ll. 11-15); and
a balancer (item 25; designed to form a counter mass to weight 35, i.e. balancer; col. 5, ll. 2-5) attached to at least one fan (balancer 25 attached to lower fan portion via items 31, 32; col. 3, ll. 65 through col. 4, ll. 2; fig. 3),
wherein the balancer are at least partially spaced apart from each other in the axial direction via a gap (designated in annotated fig. 3 below), at a position in a circumferential direction of the at least one fan where the at least one fan and the balancer overlap as viewed in the axial direction (gap is defined at a position along a circumferential direction in a region in which balancer 25 and fan portion overlap along axial, i.e. vertical, direction in view of figs. 1 and 3).
Tiede Annotated Fig. 3.
Though Tiede discloses an impeller having an upper and lower fan, Tiede does not explicitly disclose the details of the impeller, such as a dust collection fan and a motor cooling fan.
However, Zhang (US 2023/0271296) teaches a portable machining apparatus (fig. 1) comprising a motor (item 20; fig. 2), an output shaft (item 211; fig. 3), a tool accessory (item 41; figs. 2-3), an integrated fan (items 30, 31; figs. 2-4), analogous to the fan construction in Tiede, and a balancer (item 60; figs. 4-5), wherein the integrated fan includes a dust collection fan (lower side of fan, i.e. side of fan in view of fig. 7) and a motor cooling fan (upper side of fan, i.e. side of fan in view of fig. 6), wherein the fan includes a main plate (item 311; figs. 6-7) and a plurality of blades (items 312, 313; figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fan, as disclosed in Tiede, to be a dust collection fan on the lower portion of the fan and a motor cooling fan on the upper portion of the fan, as taught in Zhang, in order for the device to function as intended thereby, collecting dust particles in the dust collection bag (corresponding to bag 16 in Tiede) and cooling the motor to suppress heat generation (pp. [0008] in Tiede; and pp. [0053-0054] in Zhang).
Zhang Figs. 6-7.
Lastly, though Tiede discloses a dust collection bag (item 16; col. 3, ll. 32-34) in which dust particles can be collected, Tiede is silent on the airflow, such as wherein a flow passage is defined so as to radially outward exhaust air flowing in the axial direction toward the at least one fan at a circumferential position of the at least one fan between an edge portion opposite from the balancer in the axial direction and the balancer at which position the balancer is attached, and wherein the gap functions as the flow passage to radially outward exhaust air flowing in the axial direction toward the at least one fan.
However, Maier (US Patent No. 4,355,487) teaches an analogous portable machining apparatus (fig. 1) comprising a motor (item 14; fig. 1), an output shaft (item 18; fig. 1), a tool accessory (item 40; fig. 1), a dust collection fan (item 60; figs. 1 and 3), a balancer (item 30; fig. 1) attached to the dust collection fan (fig. 1), wherein a flow passage (defined as pathway through holes 50, into space 54, through pathway 82, and into dust collecting bag; col. 4, ll. 9-14; fig. 1) is defined so as to radially outward exhaust air flowing in the axial direction toward the at least one fan (air flowing in axial direction through holes 50 are radially exhausted via blades 78 on dust collection fan; col. 4, ll. 1-9) at a circumferential position of the at least one fan (air flow is directed towards circumferential position of fan via blades 78) between an edge portion of the at least one fan opposite from the balancer in the axial direction (defined as edge of at least of fan facing balancer, which is opposite from balancer in up-down direction, i.e. axial direction; fig. 1) and the balancer at which position the balancer is attached (air flow is exhaust along radial between position in which balancer is attached to edge portion of the at least one fan opposite from balancer; col. 4, ll. 9-14), and wherein a gap (designated in annotated fig. 1 below, corresponding to gap in Tiede) functions as the flow passage to radially outward exhaust air (col. 4, ll. 1-9; flow passage is radially exhaust within gap, i.e. along blades 78, in order to enter pathway 82 and into dust collection bag; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable machining apparatus, as disclosed in Tiede, to include dust collection holes in the tool accessory for airflow and dust particles to be suctioned through in an axial direction and radially exhausted outward to be collected in the dust collection bag (corresponding to bag 16 in Tiede), as taught in Maier, in order to improve the rate at which dust is cleared (Maier; col. 1, ll. 61-67) and safely take up the dust when the most dust is being produced (Maier; col. 4, ll. 50-52).
Maier Annotated Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 2, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one fan includes a main plate (designated in annotated fig. 1 below),
one of the surfaces is a surface on one side of the main plate wherein the balancer is located (one surface, designated in annotated fig. 1 below, is a surface in which balancer is located, via items 31, 32; figs. 1 and 3), and
the flow passage is defined between the one of the surfaces of the main plate and the balancer (flow passage is defined within gap, designated in annotated fig. 3 above, which is between the one of the surfaces and the balancer).
Though Tiede appears to disclose a plurality of blades (designated in annotated fig. 1 above) on one of surfaces of the main plate, Tiede is silent on the exact details of the blades, such as the plurality of blades generally radially extending at least partially on one of surfaces of the main plate (corresponding to instant invention “generally radially” meaning, pp. [0010] in instant disclosure, in which blades are angled with respect to the exact axial direction).
However, as used above, Zhang (US 2023/0271296) teaches a portable machining apparatus (fig. 1) comprising an integrated fan (items 30, 31; figs. 2-4), analogous to the fan construction in Tiede, wherein the fan includes a main plate (item 311; figs. 6-7), and wherein the at least one fan attached to balancer (defined as dust collection fan, analogous to Tiede) includes a plurality of blades (items 313; fig. 7) generally radially extending (corresponding to instant invention “generally radially” meaning, pp. [0010] in instant disclosure) at least partially on one of surfaces of the main plate (blades 313 are angled relative to axial direction, i.e. vertical direction in view of figs. 1-2, along main plate 311; fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fan unit, as disclosed in Tiede, to include a plurality of blades radially extending on both sides of the plate, as taught in Zhang, in order for the device to suction up dust, cool down the motor during use, and guide airflow efficiently through the machine (pp. [0053-0054] in Zhang).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the balancer includes a protrusion portion (item 31; figs. 1 and 3) extending toward the main plate (protrusion portion 31 of balancer 25 extends toward main plate in axial direction; figs. 1 and 3) and placed in abutment with the one of the surfaces of the main plate (protrusion portion 31 of balancer 25 is press-fit into the one of the surfaces of the main plate in which plurality of blades are located on; figs. 1 and 3), and
a space (designated as “gap” in annotated fig. 3 above) functioning as the flow passage is defined between the main plate and the balancer using the protrusion portion (as modified from Maier above; space functions as flow passage for suctioned dust to radially exhaust along blades of fan and into pathway 82, fig. 1 of Maier).
Regarding claim 4, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the protrusion portion extends at least partially radially (protrusion portion 31 defines a width extending in radial direction, i.e. left-right direction in view of figs. 1 and 3) such that the protrusion portion functions as a rectifier for radially outward directing a flow of the air in the flow passage (protrusion portion defines a gap when balancer 25 is inserted into main plate, i.e. rectifier, to direct air along the space and flow passage toward dust collection unit 16).
Regarding claim 5, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein each of the plurality of blades at least partially and generally radially extends (corresponding to meaning of partially and generally radially extending from pp. [0010] of instant disclosure) so as to intersect with a radial direction (Zhang; each blade of the plurality of blades 313 is angled, i.e. extending along circular array, relative to radial direction; fig. 7 of Zhang above), and
the protrusion portion is disposed so as to intersect with the radial direction in the same direction as the plurality of blades (protrusion portion 31 of Tiede extends in same direction with at least a portion of the plurality of blades, as configured from Zhang) .
Regarding claim 6, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the balancer includes the protrusion portion (balancer 25 includes protrusion portion 31; figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede).
Regarding claim 7, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust collection fan and the motor cooling fan are in the form of an integrated single fan (dust collection fan and motor cooling fan are defined on opposing sides of one piece, as configured from Zhang above) including a main plate (designated in annotated fig. 1 of Tiede above; corresponding to main plate 311 in Zhang) including a first surface (defined as lower surface of fan in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) and a second surface (defined as upper surface of fan in view of figs 1 and 3 in Tiede) opposite from the first surface (first and second surfaces are on opposing sides of main plate), a plurality of first blades (lower items 14 in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) radially extending at least partially on the first surface (items 14 extend in radial direction, i.e. left-right direction, in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede), and a plurality of second blades (upper items 14 in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) radially extending at least partially on the second surface (items 14 extend in radial direction, i.e. left-right direction, in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede).
Regarding claim 11 Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the balancer includes the protrusion portion (balancer 25 includes protrusion portion 31; figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede).
Regarding claim 12, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the dust collection fan and the motor cooling fan are in a form of an integrated single fan (dust collection fan and motor cooling fan are defined on opposing sides of one piece, as configured from Zhang above) including the main plate including a first surface (defined as lower surface of fan in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) and a second surface (defined as upper surface of fan in view of figs 1 and 3 in Tiede) opposite from the first surface (first and second surfaces are on opposing sides of main plate), a plurality of first blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 313; fig. 7 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the first surface (items 313 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along first surface), wherein the plurality of first blades are the plurality of blades (plurality of blades correspond to blades facing balancer in view of figs. 1 and 3in Tiede) and a plurality of second blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 312; fig. 6 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the second surface (items 312 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along second surface; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the dust collection fan and the motor cooling fan are in a form of an integrated single fan (dust collection fan and motor cooling fan are defined on opposing sides of one piece, as configured from Zhang above) including the main plate including a first surface (defined as lower surface of fan in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) and a second surface (defined as upper surface of fan in view of figs 1 and 3 in Tiede) opposite from the first surface (first and second surfaces are on opposing sides of main plate), a plurality of first blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 313; fig. 7 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the first surface (items 313 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along first surface), wherein the plurality of first blades are the plurality of blades (plurality of blades correspond to blades facing balancer in view of figs. 1 and 3in Tiede) and a plurality of second blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 312; fig. 6 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the second surface (items 312 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along second surface; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the dust collection fan and the motor cooling fan are in a form of an integrated single fan (dust collection fan and motor cooling fan are defined on opposing sides of one piece, as configured from Zhang above) including the main plate including a first surface (defined as lower surface of fan in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) and a second surface (defined as upper surface of fan in view of figs 1 and 3 in Tiede) opposite from the first surface (first and second surfaces are on opposing sides of main plate), a plurality of first blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 313; fig. 7 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the first surface (items 313 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along first surface), wherein the plurality of first blades are the plurality of blades (plurality of blades correspond to blades facing balancer in view of figs. 1 and 3in Tiede) and a plurality of second blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 312; fig. 6 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the second surface (items 312 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along second surface; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the dust collection fan and the motor cooling fan are in a form of an integrated single fan (dust collection fan and motor cooling fan are defined on opposing sides of one piece, as configured from Zhang above) including the main plate including a first surface (defined as lower surface of fan in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) and a second surface (defined as upper surface of fan in view of figs 1 and 3 in Tiede) opposite from the first surface (first and second surfaces are on opposing sides of main plate), a plurality of first blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 313; fig. 7 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the first surface (items 313 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along first surface), wherein the plurality of first blades are the plurality of blades (plurality of blades correspond to blades facing balancer in view of figs. 1 and 3in Tiede) and a plurality of second blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 312; fig. 6 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the second surface (items 312 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along second surface; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the balancer includes the protrusion portion (balancer 25 includes protrusion portion 31; figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede), and
wherein the dust collection fan and the motor cooling fan are in a form of an integrated single fan (dust collection fan and motor cooling fan are defined on opposing sides of one piece, as configured from Zhang above) including the main plate including a first surface (defined as lower surface of fan in view of figs. 1 and 3 in Tiede) and a second surface (defined as upper surface of fan in view of figs 1 and 3 in Tiede) opposite from the first surface (first and second surfaces are on opposing sides of main plate), a plurality of first blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 313; fig. 7 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the first surface (items 313 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along first surface), wherein the plurality of first blades are the plurality of blades (plurality of blades correspond to blades facing balancer in view of figs. 1 and 3in Tiede) and a plurality of second blades (as modified from Zhang above; items 312; fig. 6 in Zhang) radially extending at least partially on the second surface (items 312 in Zhang extend partially in radial direction along second surface; fig. 6).
Claims 8 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiede (US Patent No. 6,159,084) in view of Zhang (US 2023/0271296), Maier (US Patent No. 4,355,487), and further in view of Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048).
Regarding claim 8, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose the details of the materials used, such as wherein the balancer is made from metal, and the at least one fan is lighter in specific gravity than the balancer, as required by the claim.
However, Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048) teaches a portable machining apparatus (item 10; figs. 1-2) comprising a motor (item 30; fig. 2), an output shaft (item 32; fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 6-9), a tool accessory (item 18; figs. 1-2; col. 5, ll. 15-21), an integrated fan (item 54; figs. 2-5) including a dust collection fan (defined as lower portion of item 54, i.e. item 58; col. 6, ll. 50-54; figs. 4-5) and a motor cooling fan (defined as upper portion of item 54, i.e. item 56; col. 6, ll. 44-48; figs. 2-4), and a balancer (item 52; figs. 3 and 6) attached to at least one fan (balancer is mounted on lower portion, i.e. dust collection fan 58), and wherein the balancer is made from metal (col. 5, ll. 34-38 and col. 6, ll. 60) and the at least one fan is lighter in specific gravity than the balancer (col. 5, ll. 38-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the balancer, as disclosed in Tiede, to be composed of a metal in order for the fan to be lighter in specific gravity than the balancer, as taught in Kuehne, in order to reduce the overall mass of the fan, thereby reducing the amount of power necessary to drive the tool accessory, and also maintaining the strength and durability of the critical features of the apparatus (Kuehne; col. 7, l. 6-16).
Regarding claim 17, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose the details of the materials used, such as wherein the balancer is made from metal, and the at least one fan is lighter in specific gravity than the balancer, as required by the claim.
However, Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048) teaches a portable machining apparatus (item 10; figs. 1-2) comprising a motor (item 30; fig. 2), an output shaft (item 32; fig. 2; col. 5, ll. 6-9), a tool accessory (item 18; figs. 1-2; col. 5, ll. 15-21), an integrated fan (item 54; figs. 2-5) including a dust collection fan (defined as lower portion of item 54, i.e. item 58; col. 6, ll. 50-54; figs. 4-5) and a motor cooling fan (defined as upper portion of item 54, i.e. item 56; col. 6, ll. 44-48; figs. 2-4), and a balancer (item 52; figs. 3 and 6) attached to at least one fan (balancer is mounted on lower portion, i.e. dust collection fan 58), and wherein the balancer is made from metal (col. 5, ll. 34-38 and col. 6, ll. 60) and the at least one fan is lighter in specific gravity than the balancer (col. 5, ll. 38-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the balancer, as disclosed in Tiede, to be composed of a metal in order for the fan to be lighter in specific gravity than the balancer, as taught in Kuehne, in order to reduce the overall mass of the fan, thereby reducing the amount of power necessary to drive the tool accessory, and also maintaining the strength and durability of the critical features of the apparatus (Kuehne; col. 7, l. 6-16).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiede (US Patent No. 6,159,084) in view of Zhang (US 2023/0271296), Maier (US Patent No. 4,355,487), and further in view of Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048) and Iwakami (CN 107042495), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 9, Tiede as modified discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one fan includes a threaded boss protruding toward the balancer, the balancer includes a through-hole formed at a position corresponding to the threaded boss, the protrusion portion protrudes toward the at least one fan around the through-hole, and is shaped and sized in such a manner that an outer periphery of the threaded boss is fitted therein, and the at least one fan and the balancer are fixed to each other using a threaded member inserted in the through-hole and the threaded boss.
However, the embodiment of figs. 8-9 in Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048) teaches a portable machining apparatus (item 10; figs. 1-2) comprising an integrated fan (item 134; fig. 8, identical to function of fan 34 in earlier embodiment, col. 7, ll. 19-23) including a dust collection fan (defined as lower portion of item 134, col. 6, ll. 50-54) and a motor cooling fan (defined as upper portion of item 134, col. 6, ll. 44-48; figs. 2-4), and a balancer (item 152; figs. 8-9) attached to at least one fan (balancer is mounted on lower portion, i.e. dust collection fan),
wherein the at least one fan (lower side of item 150, corresponding to dust collection fan) includes a boss (item 153; fig. 8) protruding toward the balancer (col. 7, ll. 26-29), the balancer includes a through-hole (item 155; fig. 9) formed at a position corresponding to the boss (col. 7, ll. 29-31),
the protrusion portion protrudes toward the at least one fan around the through-hole (protrusion portion, corresponding to protrusion portion 31 in Tiede above, protrudes toward main plate at a position around, i.e. outside of, through-hole), and is shaped and sized in such a manner that an outer periphery of the boss is fitted therein (col. 7, ll. 29-36), and the at least one fan and the balancer are fixed to each other (col. 7, ll. 32-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one fan and balancer, as disclosed in Tiede, to include a protruding boss on the at least one fan and through-hole on the protrusion portion of the balancer, as taught in the embodiment of figs 8-9 of Kuehne, in order to assist in retaining the balancer to the at least one fan and thereby, creating an interference to prevent removal of the balancer from the at last one fan during use (col. 6, ll. 33-38 and col. 7, ll. 32-37).
Further, neither embodiment in Kuehne discloses wherein the boss is threaded and a threaded member is inserted in the through-hole and the threaded boss to fixed the at least one fan and the balancer to each other. Instead, the embodiment of figs. 8-9 in Kuehne discloses wherein the boss is heat-staked to the through-hole in the balancer.
However, Iwakami (CN 107042495) teaches an analogous structure of connecting two components of a portable machining apparatus, wherein one piece includes a threaded boss (item 61; pp. [0071]; figs. 10-11) and a second piece includes a through-hole (item 62a; pp. [0074]; figs. 10-11), and wherein the two pieces are fixed to each other using a threaded member (item 63; pp. [0071-0073]; figs. 10-11) inserted into the through-hole and the threaded boss (fig. 11).
Both the embodiment of figs. 8-9 of Kuehne and Iwakami disclose means of securing two components to each other via a protruding boss on one component to a through-hole on a separate, second component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat-staking means, as disclosed in the embodiment of figs. 8-9 of Kuehne, with the threaded member inserted through the through-hole and threaded boss, as taught in Iwakami, to achieve the predictable result of securing the two components, i.e. at least one fan and balancer, together and prevent removal of the pieces during use.
Regarding claim 18, Kuehne discloses the portable machining apparatus as claimed in claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one fan includes a threaded boss protruding toward the balancer, the balancer includes a through-hole formed at a position corresponding to the threaded boss, the protrusion portion protrudes toward the at least one fan around the through-hole, and is shaped and sized in such a manner that an outer periphery of the threaded boss is fitted therein, and the at least one fan and the balancer are fixed to each other using a threaded member inserted in the through-hole and the threaded boss.
However, the embodiment of figs. 8-9 in Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048) teaches a portable machining apparatus (item 10; figs. 1-2) comprising an integrated fan (item 134; fig. 8, identical to function of fan 34 in earlier embodiment, col. 7, ll. 19-23) including a dust collection fan (defined as lower portion of item 134, col. 6, ll. 50-54) and a motor cooling fan (defined as upper portion of item 134, col. 6, ll. 44-48; figs. 2-4), and a balancer (item 152; figs. 8-9) attached to at least one fan (balancer is mounted on lower portion, i.e. dust collection fan),
wherein the at least one fan (lower side of item 150, corresponding to dust collection fan) includes a boss (item 153; fig. 8) protruding toward the balancer (col. 7, ll. 26-29), the balancer includes a through-hole (item 155; fig. 9) formed at a position corresponding to the boss (col. 7, ll. 29-31),
the protrusion portion protrudes toward the at least one fan around the through-hole (protrusion portion, corresponding to protrusion portion 31 in Tiede above, protrudes toward main plate at a position around, i.e. outside of, through-hole), and is shaped and sized in such a manner that an outer periphery of the boss is fitted therein (col. 7, ll. 29-36), and the at least one fan and the balancer are fixed to each other (col. 7, ll. 32-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one fan and balancer, as disclosed in Tiede, to include a protruding boss on the at least one fan and through-hole on the protrusion portion of the balancer, as taught in the embodiment of figs 8-9 of Kuehne, in order to assist in retaining the balancer to the at least one fan and thereby, creating an interference to prevent removal of the balancer from the at last one fan during use (col. 6, ll. 33-38 and col. 7, ll. 32-37).
Further, neither embodiment in Kuehne discloses wherein the boss is threaded and a threaded member is inserted in the through-hole and the threaded boss to fixed the at least one fan and the balancer to each other. Instead, the embodiment of figs. 8-9 in Kuehne discloses wherein the boss is heat-staked to the through-hole in the balancer.
However, Iwakami (CN 107042495) teaches an analogous structure of connecting two components of a portable machining apparatus, wherein one piece includes a threaded boss (item 61; pp. [0071]; figs. 10-11) and a second piece includes a through-hole (item 62a; pp. [0074]; figs. 10-11), and wherein the two pieces are fixed to each other using a threaded member (item 63; pp. [0071-0073]; figs. 10-11) inserted into the through-hole and the threaded boss (fig. 11).
Both the embodiment of figs. 8-9 of Kuehne and Iwakami disclose means of securing two components to each other via a protruding boss on one component to a through-hole on a separate, second component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat-staking means, as disclosed in the embodiment of figs. 8-9 of Kuehne, with the threaded member inserted through the through-hole and threaded boss, as taught in Iwakami, to achieve the predictable result of securing the two components, i.e. at least one fan and balancer, together and prevent removal of the pieces during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Tiede (US Patent No. 6,159,084), Zhang (US 2023/0271296), and Maier (US Patent No. 4,355,487), thereby not relying on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The previous primary reference, Kuehne (US Patent No. 9,102,048), from Non Final Rejection filed on 02/06/2026 is used as a teaching reference in the above rejection for claims 8, 9, 17, and 18. Further, the same teaching reference, Iwakami (CN 107042495), from Non-Final Rejection filed on 02/06/2026 is used in the above rejection for claims 9 and 18. The translation and foreign document are provided in previous Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeda (US 2006/0211351) discloses a portable machining apparatus comprising a motor, an output shaft, a tool accessory, an integrated fan having a motor cooling fan and a dust collecting fan, and a gap defining a flow passage extending in an axial direction then radially exhausting through the machine.
Chen (US 2024/0157507) discloses a portable machining apparatus comprising a motor, an output shaft, a tool accessory, a dust collection fan, and a balancer attached to the dust collection fan, wherein a gap is formed in an axial direction between upper portion of balancer and blades of fan in order for a flow passage to radially exhaust through gap.
Chen (US Patent No. 8,435,096) discloses a portable machining apparatus comprising a motor, an output shaft, a tool accessory, a dust collection fan, a motor cooling fan, and a balancer attached to at least one fan, wherein a gap is formed in an axial direction between portion of balancer and blades of the at least one fan in order for a flow passage to radially exhaust through gap.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723