Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/6/26 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection on 9/30/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong (US 11717714).
With respect to claim 1, Hong discloses, an adjustable weight lifting apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a weight lifting device (dumbbell in fig. 1) comprising first and second axially outer surfaces (e.g. axially outermost surfaces of innermost and outermost weights 2 in figs. 3-4);
a plurality of weight disks (dumbbell plates 2 in fig. 3-4) removably attachable to the first and second axially outer surfaces of the weight lifting device and to each other (abstract, “weight-adjustable dumbbells”; also see col. 9, lines 26 – 45); and
each weight disk comprising a main body portion (230 in fig. 16) having first and second axially outer weight disk surfaces (fig. 16; sides of 230 are not labeled; the first surface is matched to the side that mates with the protrusion portion 221; and the second surface is matched to the side that mates with the groove portion 231), a protrusion (male dovetail, 32 in fig. 16) removably attachable (col. 9 lines 1-10; detail the removable bolt/screw fastening of the protrusion plate 221 in fig. 16) to the first axially outer weight disk surface of the main body portion (col. 9 lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the protrustion 32/221 to the main body first surface) and at a top of the weight disk (the top of the weight disk is seen as the octagonal side towards the top of fig. 16; it is clear that the protrusion is situated at the top of the weight disk; also see fig. 4), and a recess (female dovetail joint member; 31 in fig. 16) at the top of the weight disk (it is clear from both figs. 4 and 16 that the groove, 31, is situated at the top of the weight disk) on the second axially outer weight disk surface (the recess is provide on the opposite surface of the weight disk; figs. 4, 16), the protrusion of a first one of the plurality of weight disks being adapted to be removably received in the recess of a second one of the plurality of weight disks (fig. 4), the first and second ones of the plurality of weight disks being radially movable but not axially movable relative to each other when the protrusion of the first one of the plurality of weight disks is received in the recess of the second one of the plurality of weight disks (abstract; “restricting axial movement between the adjacent dumbbell plates”; also see col. 5, lines col. 5, lines 23-25), wherein the recess is defined by a component that is removably attachable to the main body portion (fig. 16 details a removable recess 31 plate 231; as discussed above col. 9, lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the recess 31/231 to the main body second surface) and that is separate from the protrusion (fig. 16 clearly demonstrates that prior to attachment 231 is separate from 221).
With respect to claim 2, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above), wherein the protrusion of the second one of the plurality of weight disks is adapted to be removably received in the recess of the first one of the plurality of weight disks when the protrusion of the first one of the plurality of weight disks is removably received in the recess of the second one of the plurality of weight disks (clear from fig. 4 and the abstract that the plurality of weight disks are removably receivable into one another).
With respect to claim 8, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above), wherein the recess on each weight disk (31 in fig. 16) is provided in a component (231 in fig. 16) removably attachable (col. 9 lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the protrusion/recesses 231/221 to the main body surfaces) to the main body portion (230 in fig. 16).
With respect to claim 9, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 8 (see above), wherein the recess includes a narrowest end closest to an outer surface of the main body portion and a widest end axially inward of the outer surface of the main body (clear from fig. 16, e.g. that the wider end is inward and the narrower outward, this would also seem to be necessary for such a dovetail joint to function properly).
With respect to claim 10, Hong discloses, a weight disk (2 in fig. 3) for an adjustable weight lifting apparatus (fig. 1), the adjustable weight lifting apparatus comprising a plurality of weight disks (2 in figs. 3-4) removably attachable to each other (abstract, “weight-adjustable dumbbells”; also see col. 9, lines 26 – 45), the weight disk comprising a main body portion (230 in fig. 16) having first and second axially outer weight disk surfaces(fig. 16; sides of 230 are not labeled; the first surface is matched to the side that mates with the protrusion portion 221; and the second surface is matched to the side that mates with the groove portion 231), a protrusion (32 in fig. 16) removably attachable (col. 9 lines 1-10; detail the removable bolt/screw fastening of the protrusion plate 221 in fig. 16) to the first axially outer weight disk surface of the main body portion (fig. 16) and at a top of the weight disk (the top of the weight disk is seen as the octagonal side towards the top of fig. 16; it is clear that the protrusion is situated at the top of the weight disk; also see fig. 4), and a recess (female dovetail joint member; 31 in fig. 16) at the top of the weight disk on the second axially outer weight disk surface (it is clear from both figs. 4 and 16 that the groove, 31, is situated at the top of the weight disk), the protrusion of the weight disk being adapted to be removably received in the recess of a another one of the plurality of weight disks (fig. 4), the weight disk and the other one of the plurality of weight disks being radially movable but not axially movable relative to each other when the protrusion of the weight disk is received in the recess of the other one of the plurality of weight disks (abstract; “restricting axial movement between the adjacent dumbbell plates”; also see col. 5, lines col. 5, lines 23-25), wherein the recess is defined by a component that is removably attachable to the main body portion (para. 52 details that the recess component (205) is removably attached to the main body of the weight disk with “suitable fasteners such as pins, bolts, screws, or the like” pins and bolts are seen as removable attachment fasteners).
wherein the recess is defined by a component that is removably attachable to the main body portion (fig. 16 details a removable recess 31 plate 231; as discussed above col. 9, lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the recess 31/231 to the main body second surface) and that is separate from the protrusion (fig. 16 clearly demonstrates that prior to attachment 231 is separate from 221).
With respect to claim 11, Hong discloses, the weight disk as set forth in claim 10 (see above), wherein the protrusion of the other one of the plurality of weight disks is adapted to be removably received in the recess of the weight disks when the protrusion of the weight disk is removably received in the recess of the other one of the plurality of weight disks (clear from fig. 4 and the abstract that the plurality of weight disks are removably receivable into one another).
With respect to claim 15, Hong discloses, the weight disk as set forth in claim 10 (see above), wherein the recess on each weight disk (31 in fig. 16) is provided in a component (231 in fig. 16) removably attachable (col. 9 lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the protrusion/recesses 231/221 to the main body surfaces) to the main body portion (230 in fig. 16).
With respect to claim 16, Hong discloses, the weight disk as set forth in claim 15 (see above), wherein the recess includes a narrowest end closest to an outer surface of the main body portion and a widest end axially inward of the outer surface of the main body (clear from fig. 16, e.g. that the wider end is inward and the narrower outward, this would also seem to be necessary for such a dovetail joint to function properly).
With respect to claim 17, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above), wherein the main body portion (230 in fig. 16) of the weight disk extends between the protrusion and the recess at the top of the weight disk and physically separates the protrusion and the recess (fig. 16).
With respect to claim 18, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above), wherein the protrusion and the recess are circumferentially spaced apart along an outer periphery of the weight disk such that a continuous portion of the main body portion of the weigh disk extends between the protrusion and the recess (fig. 16 details a continuous portion of 203 extends between 221 and 231).
With respect to claim 19, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above), wherein the protrusion is attached directly to the main body portion of the weight disk (231 directly attaches to 230 in fig. 16) and the recess is attached separately to a different portion of the main body portion of the weigh disk (221 is separately attached to a different portion of the main body portion, namely the opposite side surface of 230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Hong (US 11717714) in view of Svenberg (US 20230001258).
With respect to claim 3, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above), wherein the first and second axially outer surfaces of the weight lifting device each include an axially outer surface protrusion (fig. 4 shows that the outer surfaces of the weight lifting device each include a protrusion 30), the axially outer surface protrusions of the first and second axially outer surfaces being adapted to be removably received in the recess of corresponding weight disks of the plurality of weight disks (fig. 4 details the removable reception of protrusion 30 in the matching grooves in the additional weight disks), the weight lifting device and the corresponding weight disks being radially movable but not axially movable relative to one another when the axially outer surface protrusions of the first and second axially outer surfaces are received in the recesses of the corresponding weight disks (abstract; “restricting axial movement between the adjacent dumbbell plates”; also see col. 5, lines col. 5, lines 23-25).
Hong does not expressly disclose that each axially outer surface of the weight lifting device each include a protrusion and a recess. As detailed above Hong does contemplate a protrusion on the outer surfaces but not both a protrusion and recess.
Svenberg discloses, wherein the first and second axially outer surfaces of the weight lifting device each include an axially outer surface protrusion and an axially outer surface recess (139 and 141 in fig. 5J), the axially outer surface protrusions of the first and second axially outer surfaces being adapted to be removably received in the recess of corresponding weight disks of the plurality of weight disks, the weight lifting device and the corresponding weight disks being radially movable but not axially movable relative to one another when the axially outer surface protrusions of the first and second axially outer surfaces are received in the recesses of the corresponding weight disks (clear from fig 1, and para 36 that the disks and their corresponding male/female dovetails removably interface with each other).
Svenberg and Hong are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely adjustable weight dumbbells.
At the time of filing the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide paired protrusion and recesses on a single side surface of the base device weight disk of Hong as taught by Svenberg.
The motivation would have been a well understood advantage of additional rigidity in the connection between weight disks. Such a combination would have also resulted in a predictable combination with recesses and protrusions on both sides of the Hong weight disk.
With respect to claim 4, Hong in view of Svenberg disclose, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 3 (see above), wherein the axially outer surface protrusions of the first and second axially outer surfaces are removably attachable to the first and second axially outer surfaces of the weight lifting device (Svenberg; para. 52 expressly discloses connection of the male/female dovetail joint connections being affixed to the inner most weight disk via removable fasteners such as bolts and screws) (Hong; col. 9 lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the protrusion/recesses 231/221 to the main body surfaces).
Claim(s) 5-7, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 11717714) in view of Chen (US 11951347).
With respect to claim 5, Hong discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 1 (see above).
Hong contemplates different axially limiting structures (col. 5, lines 42-43, contemplating differently shaped blocks “and the like”).
Hong does not expressly disclose, wherein the protrusion on each weight disk comprises a knob having a narrowest end closest to the main body portion and a wider end furthest from the main body portion.
Chen discloses, a protrusion (121 in fig. 1) on each weight disk (100 in fig. 1) comprises a knob (121 in fig. 1) having a narrowest end closest to the main body portion (bottom of the T-shaped 121 in fig. 1) and a wider end furthest from the main body portion (top of the T-shaped 121 in fig. 1).
Chen and Hong are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely exercise devices.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the male/female dovetail joints of Hong with the knob/groove joints taught by Chen. The result of such a combination would have been predictable and resulted in a weight disks as taught by Hong that are connected together with a knob/groove joint instead of the previously discussed dovetail.
With respect to claim 6, Hong in view of Chen discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 5 (see above).
Chen further discloses, wherein the recess includes a narrowest end closest to an outer surface of the main body portion and a widest end axially inward of the outer surface of the main body (the T-shaped groove in fig. 1 of Chen discloses a wider inward of the disk and a narrower end outwardly).
With respect to claim 7, Hong in view of Chen discloses, the adjustable weight lifting apparatus as set forth in claim 5 (see above).
Hong further discloses, wherein the protrusion on each weight disk is removably attachable to the main body portion by a bolt (col. 9 lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the protrusion/recesses 231/221 to the main body surfaces with a bolt).
With respect to claim 12, Hong discloses, the weight disk as set forth in claim 10 (see above).
Hong contemplates different axially limiting structures (col. 5, lines 42-43, contemplating differently shaped blocks “and the like”).
Hong does not expressly disclose, wherein the protrusion on each weight disk comprises a knob having a narrowest end closest to the main body portion and a wider end furthest from the main body portion.
Chen discloses, a protrusion (121 in fig. 1) on each weight disk (100 in fig. 1) comprises a knob (121 in fig. 1) having a narrowest end closest to the main body portion (bottom of the T-shaped 121 in fig. 1) and a wider end furthest from the main body portion (top of the T-shaped 121 in fig. 1).
Chen and Hong are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely exercise devices.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted the male/female dovetail joints of Hong with the knob/groove joints taught by Chen. The result of such a combination would have been predictable and resulted in a weight disks as taught by Hong that are connected together with a knob/groove joint instead of the previously discussed dovetail.
With respect to claim 13, Hong in view of Chen discloses, the weight disk as set forth in claim 12 (see above).
Chen further discloses, wherein the recess includes a narrowest end closest to an outer surface of the main body portion and a widest end axially inward of the outer surface of the main body (the T-shaped groove in fig. 1 of Chen discloses a wider inward of the disk and an narrower end outwardly).
With respect to claim 14, Hong in view of Chen discloses, the weight disk as set forth in claim 12 (see above).
Svenberg further discloses, wherein the protrusion on each weight disk is removably attachable to the main body portion by a bolt (col. 9 lines 1-10 and fig. 16 detail the attachment of the protrusion/recesses 231/221 to the main body surfaces with a bolt).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krull – US6033350 – interlocking weights with mounted dovetail joints (fig. 70-72)
Pohl – US20240252873 – interlocking weight dumbbell
Barrow – US20230113490 – removable knob and groove joint
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625