DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon et al (US Publication No.: US 2008/0253001 A1, “Pichon”) in view of Heft et al (US Patent No.: US 4,840,474).
Regarding Claim 1, Pichon in view of Heft discloses an optical system assembly (Figures 1-6) for a camera device configured to be used in a variable temperature environment (Paragraph 0004),
The optical system assembly comprising:
At least two lenses (Figure 1, two lenses 12);
A lens barrel (Figure 1, lens barrel 2),
Having an inner side (Figure 1, inner side 3), configured to accommodate the at least two lenses (Figure 1), wherein
The lens barrel comprises: a first opening and a second opening (Figure 1, first opening 6, second opening 7), and
At least two lens slots arranged at the inner side of the lens barrel to accommodate the at least two lenses (Figure 1 discloses two accommodated lenses 12 inside the barrel); and
A spacer spring configured within the lens barrel to allow distribution and/or compensation of stress and/or force caused by a thermal compression and/or a thermal expansion of the lens barrel under variable temperature (Figure 1, spacer spring 15 with 25; Figures 3-6; Paragraphs 0048-0056; Paragraph 0004; Paragraph 0067).
Pichon fails to disclose that the spacer spring has at least one groove and/or at least one step, wherein the groove and/or the step is/are formed in a single-piece wall of the spacer spring and wherein the groove and/or the step has/have a first sidewall being at least partly inclined with respect to the wall of the spacer spring and the groove has a second sidewall being at least partly inclined with respect to the wall of the spacer spring.
However, Heft discloses a similar assembly where the spacer spring has at least one groove and/or at least one step, wherein the groove and/or the step is/are formed in a single-piece wall of the spacer spring and wherein the groove and/or the step has/have a first sidewall being at least partly inclined with respect to the wall of the spacer spring and the groove has a second sidewall being at least partly inclined with respect to the wall of the spacer spring (Heft, Figure 2, spacer spring 96 has multiple grooves that are inclined inward with respect to the sidewall to produce a zig-zag shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spacer spring as disclosed by Pichon to have grooves/steps as disclosed by Heft. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of maintain the lens elements in place and optimizing their positioning (Heft, Column 3, l.24-35).
Regarding Claim 2, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the assembly comprises a plurality of lenses, the barrel has an outer side (Figure 1, outer side 2), the barrel comprises a plurality of lens slots spread across the inner side (Figure 1 discloses a plurality of lenses spread across the inner side), the first opening and the second opening, and/or the spacer spring is configured to adapt its longitudinal extension along a longitudinal axis between the first opening and the second opening within the lens barrel (Figures 1-2; Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 3, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least two lenses include at least one concave lens, at least one convex lens and/or a combination of at least one concave lens and at least one convex lens (Figure 1 discloses concave and convex lenses).
Regarding Claim 4, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the lens barrel comprises material including at least one metal, at least one alloy and/or at least one polymer (Paragraph 0048 discloses metal).
Regarding Claim 5, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the lens barrel comprises an assembly of at least one cylindrical piece, at least one spacer member and/or at least one sealing member (Paragraph 0043; Figure 1, cylindrical piece 15, spacer spring 25).
Regarding Claim 6, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 5, wherein the lens barrel further comprises a first retainer and a second retainer configured to sandwich the at least two lenses, the at least one cylindrical piece, the at least one spacer member, and/or the at least one sealing member, together (Figures 1-3, first retainer 8, second retainer 16; Paragraph 0046).
Regarding Claim 7, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 6, wherein the first retainer and the second retainer are fastened and/or screwed to the at least one cylindrical piece, the at least one spacer member, and/or the at least one sealing member by one or more fasteners (Figures 1-3 discloses that the retainers are fastened onto the cylindrical piece).
Regarding Claim 8, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 5, wherein the at least two lenses, the at least one cylindrical piece and/or the at least one spacer spring are axially arranged in a barrel form in one or more combinations to form the optical system assembly (Figure 1 discloses the at least two lenses 12, the cylindrical piece 15, spacer spring 25 are arranged axially).
Regarding Claim 9, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 5, wherein the spacer spring is configured in-between one of the at least two lenses, at least two cylindrical pieces, or a combination of a lens and a cylindrical piece (Figure 1, the spacer spring 25 is disposed between the cylindrical piece 15 and the lenses 12).
Regarding Claim 10, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first opening and/or the second opening is/are circular in shape (Figure 1, the first opening 6 and the second opening 7 are in a circular cross-section; Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 11, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is configured to allow a light beam to enter the lens barrel, exit through the second opening and/or being received by at least one photo receptor (Paragraph 0042; Paragraphs 0045-0046).
Regarding Claim 12, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first opening and the second opening have one of a similar diameter or a different diameter (Figure 1, the first opening 6 and the second opening 7 have a same diameter; Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 13, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least two lenses has a lens thickness (Figure 1 discloses a thickness for each lens 12).
Regarding Claim 14, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 13, wherein the lens thickness for each of the at least two lenses is one of same or different with respect to at least one other lens and/or each other and/or the lens thickness of at least one pair of lenses is same or different (Figure 1 discloses that the lens thicknesses vary).
Regarding Claim 15, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of lens slots has a slot thickness (Figure 1, the inside of the lens barrel accommodates the lenses, so would have to accommodate the lens thickness as well).
Regarding Claim 16, Pichon in view of Heft discloses optical system assembly according to claim 15, wherein the slot thickness for each of the plurality of lens slots is one of same or different with respect to at least one of the lens slots and/or each other and/or the slot thickness of at least one pair of lens slots is same or different (Figure 1, since the lens thicknesses are different, the slot thicknesses must also be different).
Regarding Claim 17, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of lens slots is configured with a thickness same as that of a thickness of a corresponding lens, amongst the at least two of lenses to avoid any rattling or loose fitting of the at least one lens within the corresponding lens slot (Figure 1, the thicknesses of the lens must match that of the slot).
Regarding Claim 18, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the spacer spring has at least partly a cylindrical shape, (ii) the spacer spring further has at least one cut out, and/or (iii) the at least one groove, the at least one step, and/or the at least one cut out runs at least partly along an outer surface of the at least one spacer spring (Figure 1 discloses a plurality of grooves/steps/cut outs in the spacer spring 25).
Regarding Claim 19, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 18, wherein the wall comprises the outer surface of the at least one spacer spring, wherein the wall extends in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis extending from the first opening to the second opening and/or the groove and/or the step is with respect to the longitudinal axis inwardly extending from the wall or is with respect to the longitudinal axis radially outwardly extending from the wall (Figure 1, spacer spring 25).
Regarding Claim 21, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are directly connected or the first sidewall and the second sidewall are connected via at least one groove bottom, wherein the groove bottom is at least partly extending parallel to the longitudinal axis and/or the first sidewall, the second sidewall and/or the groove bottom are formed as a single piece (Figure 1 discloses connected sidewalls of the grooves of the spacer spring 25).
Regarding Claim 22, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 19, wherein the first sidewall, the second side wall and/or the groove bottom is/are at least partly curved, wherein the first sidewall, the second side wall and/or the groove bottom form at least one single, single-piece, curved wall element (Figure 1 discloses a curve between the grooves of the spacer spring 25).
Regarding Claim 23, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 18, wherein the at least one groove and/or the step of the spacer spring has/have a thickness and/or form configured to absorb any stress and/or force caused by the thermal deformation, and/or one of a thermal compression expansion or a thermal expansion, of the cylindrical pieces along a stress line at least partly extending at least substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figure 1; Figures 3-6; Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 24, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1, wherein by a stress and/or force acting on the spacer spring along the stress line,(i) a relative angle between the first sidewall and the second sidewall is elastically changed, and/or (ii) a relative angle between the first sidewall and the groove bottom or a relative angle between the first sidewall and the wall is elastically changed, and/or (iii) a relative angle between the second sidewall and the groove bottom or a relative angle between the second sidewall and the wall is elastically changed, and/or (iv) a curvature of the first sidewall, the second side wall, the bottom groove and/or the curved wall element is elastically changed (Figure 1, the spacer spring 25 would be compressed together causing the angle to change; Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 25, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 18, wherein a plurality of cut- outs is provided, wherein the cut-outs are connected by bars and/or the bars are located between the cut-outs, wherein the cut-outs and/or bars have a form and/or dimensions configured to absorb any stress and/or force caused by the thermal deformation, and/or one of a thermal compression expansion or a thermal expansion, of the cylindrical pieces along a stress line at least partly extending mainly parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figure 1 discloses bars of the spacer spring 25 with cutouts; Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 26, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 25, wherein the cut-outs and/or bars are configured to absorb stress and/or force by an elastic deformation of at least a part of the cut-outs and/or at least a part of the bars (Paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 27, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 23, wherein the stress line is at least partly defined by connecting points of the plurality of cylindrical pieces, the spacer member, and/or the sealing member (Figures 3-6; Paragraph 0066).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichon in view of Heft in further view of Masuzawa et al (US Publication No.: US 2019/0101718 A1 of record, “Masuzawa”).
Regarding Claim 28, Pichon in view of Heft discloses the optical system assembly according to claim 1.
Pichon fails to disclose that the optical system assembly is configured to be used with the camera device of a vehicle.
However, Masuzawa discloses a similar optical assembly where the optical system assembly is configured to be used with the camera device of a vehicle (Masuzawa, Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly as disclosed by Pichon to be included in a vehicle as disclosed by Masuzawa. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of allowing users to observe their environments outside the vehicle (Masuzawa, Paragraph 0050).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871