DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 1/26/2024 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US20210176626A1).
As to claim 1, Abdelghaffar teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Fig. 13, 1300) one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and (Fig. 13, 1330-1335) one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and (Fig. 13, 1340) individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network entity, first control signaling indicating a capability to operate in a full-duplex mode; ([0006]: " The method may include identifying a multi-mode capability for communications by the UE within a frequency band such that the UE is capable of operating in any one of a half duplex TDD mode and a full duplex FDD mode within the frequency band, transmitting an indication of the multi-mode capability to a base station")
receive, from the network entity based at least in part on the first control signaling, second control signaling indicating a network entity mode and a UE mode for communication of one or more messages, wherein the network entity mode comprises the full-duplex mode or a half-duplex mode and the UE mode comprises the full-duplex mode or the half-duplex mode; and ([0006]: " receiving, responsive to transmission of the indication, a communication format configuration that includes a partitioning between TDD mode communications and FDD mode communications for the frequency band.")
communicate the one or more messages based at least in part on the second control signaling indicating the network entity mode and the UE mode. ([0111] FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate examples of wireless communications system 201 and 202 that support dual-mode half duplex TDD and full duplex FDD capable UE in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0114] Wireless communication system 202 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 may operate in a full duplex mode and the UEs 115 may also operate in a full duplex mode. [0130] For example, a UE 115 may declare a capability to operate in a half duplex TDD mode. [0131] The UE 115 may also indicate or declare that the UE 115 can operate in a half duplex FDD mode)
As to claim 13, Abdelghaffar teaches a network entity, comprising: (Fig. 17, 1705) one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and (Fig. 17, 1730-1735) one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and (Fig. 17, 1740) individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain, from a user equipment (UE), first control signaling indicating a capability to operate in a full-duplex mode; ([0006]: " The method may include identifying a multi-mode capability for communications by the UE within a frequency band such that the UE is capable of operating in any one of a half duplex TDD mode and a full duplex FDD mode within the frequency band, transmitting an indication of the multi-mode capability to a base station")
output, to the UE based at least in part on the first control signaling, second control signaling indicating a network entity mode and a UE mode for communication of one or more messages, wherein the network entity mode comprises the full-duplex mode or a half-duplex mode and the UE mode comprises the full-duplex mode or the half-duplex mode; and ([0006]: " receiving, responsive to transmission of the indication, a communication format configuration that includes a partitioning between TDD mode communications and FDD mode communications for the frequency band."]
communicate the one or more messages based at least in part on the second control signaling indicating the network entity mode and the UE mode. ([0111] FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate examples of wireless communications system 201 and 202 that support dual-mode half duplex TDD and full duplex FDD capable UE in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0114] Wireless communication system 202 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 may operate in a full duplex mode and the UEs 115 may also operate in a full duplex mode. [0130] For example, a UE 115 may declare a capability to operate in a half duplex TDD mode. [0131] The UE 115 may also indicate or declare that the UE 115 can operate in a half duplex FDD mode)
As to claims 2 and 14, Abdelghaffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the network entity based at least in part on the second control signaling, third control signaling indicating a duration associated with the network entity mode, the UE mode, or both. ([0016] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the communication format configuration includes a guard time between TDD mode communications and FDD mode communications that satisfies the switching time capability of the UE.)
As to claim 3, Abdelghaffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling indicates a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode and the network entity mode is the full-duplex mode, wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
communicate, based at least in part on a prioritized transmission direction, the one or more messages on an uplink channel or a downlink channel. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration)
As to claim 4, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling indicates a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode and the network entity mode is the full-duplex mode, wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
communicate, based at least in part on prioritization of a channel type of a first channel or a reference signal type of the first channel, the one or more messages on the first channel or on a second channel. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration [0128] Any of spectrum configurations 401, 402, 403, and 404, or a combination may be communicated by a base station 105 to one or more UEs 115.)
As to claims 5 and 15 , Abdelghaffar The UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling indicates a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode and the network entity mode is the full-duplex mode, wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
receive, from the network entity, fourth control signaling indicating a priority associated with a first channel; and communicate, based at least in part on the fourth control signaling, the one or more messages on the first channel or on a second channel. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration [0125] Spectrum configuration 402 may be an example of a TDD mode configuration, including legacy TDD configurated combined with unpaired FDD mode configurations. [0128] Any of spectrum configurations 401, 402, 403, and 404, or a combination may be communicated by a base station 105 to one or more UEs 115. [0093] The wireless communications system 100 may be configured to support ultra-reliable communications or low-latency communications, or various combinations thereof. Support for mission critical functions may include prioritization of services, and mission critical services may be used for public safety or general commercial applications. The terms ultra-reliable, low-latency, mission critical, and ultra-reliable low-latency may be used interchangeably herein.)
As to claims 6 and 16, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive fourth control signaling that indicates a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode and the network entity mode is the full-duplex mode; and ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
refrain from communicating one or more second messages based at least in part on the fourth control signaling. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration [0128] Any of spectrum configurations 401, 402, 403, and 404, or a combination may be communicated by a base station 105 to one or more UEs 115. See fig. 4-8)
As to claims 7 and 17, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling indicates a change of the network entity mode from the full-duplex mode to the half- duplex mode, a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode, and a change of a full duplex slot to an uplink slot, wherein the one or more messages comprises an uplink message and a downlink message, and wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
communicate the uplink message in the uplink slot; and refrain from communicating the downlink message in the uplink slot. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration [0128] Any of spectrum configurations 401, 402, 403, and 404, or a combination may be communicated by a base station 105 to one or more UEs 115. See fig. 4-8)
As to claims 8 and 18, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling indicates a change of the network entity mode from the full-duplex mode to the half- duplex mode, a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode, and a change of a full duplex slot to a downlink slot, wherein the one or more messages comprises an uplink message and a downlink message, wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
communicate the downlink message in the downlink slot; and refrain from communicating the uplink message in the downlink slot. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration [0128] Any of spectrum configurations 401, 402, 403, and 404, or a combination may be communicated by a base station 105 to one or more UEs 115. See fig. 4-8)
As to claims 9 and 19, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling indicates a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode, a change of the UE mode from the full-duplex mode to the half-duplex mode, and a change of a full duplex slot to a flexible slot, wherein the one or more messages comprises an uplink message and a downlink message, and wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0111] Wireless communications system 201 may be an example of communications between one or more base stations 105 and one or more UEs 115, in a case where the base stations 105 operate in a full duplex mode and UEs 115 operate in a half duplex mode. [0140] The UE 115 may switch to a FDD resource block 810, either based on a UE 115 requirement or based on signaling from a base station 105. The UE 115 may also switch back to a TDD communication mode 805-b after another guard time period 815. The UE 115 may communicate according to TDD communication mode 805-b for slot n+3. [0129] the UE 115 may be able to operate in either a half duplex TDD mode for some part of the CC bandwidth, the whole part of the CC bandwidth, or a full duplex FDD mode within the CC bandwidth (e.g., within the NR band))
communicate one of the uplink message or the downlink message in the flexible slot; and refrain from communicating another of the uplink message or the downlink message in the flexible slot. ([0122] Base station 105 may transmit an indication of a communication configuration mode (e.g., one or more of spectrum configuration 401, 402,403, and 404) to the one or more UEs 115. The one or more UEs 115 may then communicate based on the received communication configuration [0128] Any of spectrum configurations 401, 402, 403, and 404, or a combination may be communicated by a base station 105 to one or more UEs 115. See fig. 4-8)
As to claim 11, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full-duplex mode, a partially overlapping full-duplex mode, or a fully overlapping full-duplex mode. ([0116] Spectrum configuration 303 may illustrate an example of a legacy sub-band full duplex (SBFD) unpaired TDD spectrum configuration that a UE 115 may use to communicate with a base station 105.)
As to claim 12, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second control signaling comprises downlink control information, group common downlink control information, radio resource control signaling, or a medium access control control element. ([0032] transmitting the second indication via a radio resource control message, where the communication format configuration may be static or semi-static. [0033] transmitting the second indication which may be indicative of the communication format configuration may include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting the second indication via a downlink control information message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar in view of Zhang et al.(US20220183027A1).
As to claims 10 and 20, Abdelghaffar teaches the UE of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the second control signaling comprises two or more bits, and the two or more bits indicate the network entity mode and the UE mode.
However Zhang teaches wherein the second control signaling comprises two or more bits, and the two or more bits indicate the network entity mode and the UE mode. ([0005] The UE receives, from a base station, scheduling information for an uplink or downlink transmission indicating a physical layer (PHY) priority level from a set of priority levels including a first half-duplex priority level, a second half-duplex priority level, a first full-duplex priority level, and a second full-duplex priority level. The UE transmits or receives the uplink or downlink transmission based on the uplink or downlink PHY priority level indicated by the base station.[0006] The base station transmits or receives the uplink or downlink transmission based on the uplink or downlink PHY priority level transmitted to the UE.[0066] the multiple bits may be used to indicate duplex mode type priority levels, such as a half-duplex high priority level, a full-duplex high priority level, a half-duplex low priority level, and a full-duplex low priority level. In another example, a scheduling request priority parameter (e.g., which may be referred to as a “schedulinglingRequestPriority” parameter) in a scheduling request resource configuration parameter (e.g., a “SchedulingRequestResourceConfig” parameter) may be changed to 2 bits, which can represent four priorities instead of two priorities: half-duplex high priority, full-duplex high priority, half-duplex low priority, and full-duplex low priority.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scheduling information of Abdelghaffar with the scheduling information of Zhang in order to allow co-existing full-duplex and half-duplex operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-30 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The independent claims 21 and 27 recite;” first control signaling indicating a capability to switch from a first bandwidth filter operation to a second bandwidth filter operation, from the second bandwidth filter operation to the first bandwidth filter operation, or both, wherein the first bandwidth filter operation is associated a first bandwidth that is wider than a second bandwidth associated with the second bandwidth filter operation;… second control signaling switching a full duplex symbol to half duplex symbol or the half duplex symbol to the full duplex symbol;” and is not taught by the prior art and would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465