DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6350955, Daoud.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses a compression coupling assembly for joining to a conduit, the compression coupling assembly comprising: a coupling body (1) having a first end portion and a central portion, wherein the coupling body is configured to receive the conduit through the first end portion, the first end portion having a threaded portion (26) on an outer surface of the coupling body, and a plurality of spaced-apart teeth (30) extending axially away from the first end portion and the central portion, wherein each of the teeth has a distal end portion (36) located furthest away from the central portion of the coupling body, and a proximal end portion located between the distal end portion and the central portion of the coupling body; a compression nut (50), the compression nut having an inner thread and an inner protrusion, the inner thread (58) being configured to thread on the threaded portion of the coupling body, the inner protrusion (60) having a leading surface that is configured to compress against and apply a radially inward force to the proximal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body, thereby compressing the plurality of spaced-apart teeth around an outer surface of the at least one conduit when the at least one conduit is received in the coupling body; and wherein the leading surface is free from engagement with the distal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the coupling body has a second end portion located opposite the first end portion, wherein the coupling body is configured to be inserted into an electrical panel.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the coupling body and the compression nut extend along a longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the plurality of spaced-apart teeth extend axially away from the threaded portion and the central portion.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses an outer surface of the compression nut includes a plurality of flats formed therein.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the plurality of flats are formed within the central portion of the outer surface of the compression nut.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the compression nut further includes an inwardly sloped flange and a trailing surface (near 54).
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the inwardly sloped flange forms a boundary for an opening.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6241291, Hui-Chen.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses a compression coupling assembly for joining to a conduit, the compression coupling assembly comprising: a coupling body (10, 20) having a first end portion and a central portion, wherein the coupling body is configured to receive the conduit through the first end portion, the first end portion having a threaded portion (11) on an outer surface of the coupling body, and a plurality of spaced-apart teeth (24) extending axially away from the first end portion and the central portion, wherein each of the teeth has a distal end portion (30) located furthest away from the central portion of the coupling body, and a proximal end portion located between the distal end portion and the central portion of the coupling body; a compression nut (30, 32), the compression nut having an inner thread and an inner protrusion (see Fig. 4 below), the inner thread being configured to thread on the threaded portion of the coupling body, the inner protrusion having a leading surface that is configured to compress against and apply a radially inward force to the proximal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body, thereby compressing the plurality of spaced-apart teeth around an outer surface of the at least one conduit when the at least one conduit is received in the coupling body; and wherein the leading surface is free from engagement with the distal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body.
[AltContent: textbox (Protrusion and leading edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inner thread)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the coupling body has a second end portion located opposite the first end portion, wherein the coupling body is configured to receive a second conduit through the second end portion.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the second end portion includes a second threaded portion on the outer surface of the coupling body, the coupling body further including a plurality of spaced-apart second teeth extending away from the second threaded portion and the central portion of the coupling body, wherein each of the second teeth has a distal end portion located furthest away from the central portion of the coupling body, and a proximal end portion located between the distal end portion and the central portion of the coupling body.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the assembly further includes a second compression nut, the second compression nut having a second inner thread and a second inner protrusion, the second inner thread being configured to thread on the second threaded portion of the coupling body, the second inner protrusion having a leading surface that is configured to engage with and apply a radially inward force to the proximal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart second teeth when the second inner thread is threadably tightened on the second threaded portion of the coupling body, thereby compressing the plurality of spaced-apart second teeth around being configured to compress an outer surface of a second conduit when the second conduit is received in the coupling body.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the coupling body and the compression nut extend along a longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the plurality of spaced-apart teeth extend axially away from the threaded portion and the central portion.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses an outer surface of the compression nut includes a plurality of flats formed therein.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the plurality of flats are formed within the central portion of the outer surface of the compression nut.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Daound discloses the compression nut further includes an inwardly sloped flange and a trailing surface (33).
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hui-Chen discloses the inwardly sloped flange forms a boundary for an opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, 14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679