DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 1/26/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horn et al., (US 2019/0313239), (hereinafter, Horn).
Regarding claim 1, Horn discloses a device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (= apparatus such as a UE for optimizing UE radio capability signaling, see [0009-10 and 0101]), the operations comprising:
including, in user equipment (UE) capability information, at least a portion of a device identifier of a UE (= determining, based at least on the type of network, at least one capability identifier associated with at least one of UE radio capabilities for type of the network, see [0009-10 and 0077]); and
causing the UE capability information to be transmitted in resource control messaging (= transmitter is configured to transmit, via RRC message, the at least one capability identifier to the network, see [0010 and 0106]).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Horn discloses the device, wherein the device identifier comprises an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) (see, [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 2, Horn discloses the device, wherein the at least the portion of the device identifier comprises a Type Allocation Code (TAC) portion of the IMEI (see, [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 2, Horn discloses the device, wherein the resource control messaging comprises radio resource control (RRC) messaging (see, [0064 and 0100]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 4, Horn discloses the device, wherein the UE capability information comprises a UECapabilitylnformation information element (IE) in an RRC message (see, [0063 and 0100]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 4, Horn discloses the device wherein the device comprises a modem chipset (see, [0049]).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 4, Horn discloses the device wherein the operations further comprise obtaining the at least the portion of the device identifier from a storage element of the UE (see, [0099]).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 1, Horn explicitly fails to disclose that the device further comprising a secure memory, and wherein the operations further comprise: storing the UE capability information in the secure memory, wherein the causing involves accessing the UE capability information from the secure memory (see, [0066 and 0064]).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 4, Horn discloses the device wherein the including is performed only once, resulting in permanent inclusion of the at least the portion of the device identifier in the UE capability information (see, [0099-100 and 0103]).
Regarding claim 11, Horn discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a user equipment (UE) that includes a modem, facilitate performance of operations (= UE 120 may be a wireless modem, see [0049]), the operations comprising:
receiving, from the modem, a request for at least a portion of a device identifier of the UE to be encoded in UE capability information for resource control messaging
(= BS 110 can request what capabilities for the UE to report, see [0065 and 0084];); and
providing the at least the portion of the device identifier to the modem in response to the request (= reporting capability identifier, see [0070, 0078 and 0106]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 11, Horn discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the device identifier comprises an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) (see, [0069]).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 12, Horn discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the at least the portion of the device identifier comprises a Type Allocation Code (TAC) portion of the IMEI (see, [0069]).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 11, Horn discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the resource control messaging comprises radio resource control (RRC) messaging (see, [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 14, Horn discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the UE capability information comprises a UECapabilitylnformation information element (IE) in an RRC message(see, [0100]).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 11, Horn discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the receiving is performed only during initial configuration of the modem with respect to the UE (see, [0099 and 0103]).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 11, Horn discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, wherein the receiving and the providing are each performed only once (see, [0099-100 and 0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Horn view of Methner et al., (US 2024/0146750), (hereinafter, Methner).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 1, Horn explicitly fails to disclose the device wherein transmission of the UE capability information in the resource control messaging facilitates detection of fraudulent access to a network.
However, Methner, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the device wherein transmission of the UE capability information in the resource control messaging facilitates detection of fraudulent access to a network (= based on comparison of TAC to the end device information, multifaceted fraud detection device 125 may determine whether the capabilities match, see [0045 and 0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Methner with Horn for the benefit of achieving a communication system whereby capability information is used to determine fraudulent activity in the system.
Regarding claim 18, Horn discloses a method (= operation may be performed by gNB, see [0109]), comprising:
obtaining, by a processing system including a processor, user equipment (UE) capability information that includes at least a portion of a device identifier of a UE, wherein the UE capability information is transmitted in resource control messaging
(= network node receives an indication of capability identifier from UE; and the indication of at least one capability identifier may be received via a RRC message, see [0110]).
Horn explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“extracting, by the processing system, the at least the portion of the device identifier from the UE capability information to facilitate detection of fraudulent access to a network”.
However, Methner, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“extracting, by the processing system, the at least the portion of the device identifier from the UE capability information to facilitate detection of fraudulent access to a network” (= based on comparison of TAC to the end device information, multifaceted fraud detection device 125 may determine whether the capabilities match, see [0045 and 0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Methner with Horn for the benefit of achieving a communication system whereby capability information is used to determine fraudulent activity in the system.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 18, Horn further discloses the method, wherein the device identifier comprises an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), wherein the at least the portion of the device identifier comprises a Type Allocation Code (TAC) portion of the IMEI, wherein the resource control messaging comprises radio resource control (RRC) messaging, and wherein the UE capability information comprises a UECapabilitylnformation information element (IE) in an RRC message (see, [0069]).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned in claim 18, Horn further discloses the method, wherein the processing system is implemented in a radio access network (RAN) or in a core network (see, [0064 and 0109]).
CONCLUSION
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Shostak et al., (US 2022/0225103) teaches system and method for network access security.
b. Huggett et al., (US 2009/0061863) teaches terminal device control server and method therefor.
c. Khetawat et al., (US 2008/0076386) teaches method and apparatus for preventing theft of service in a communication system.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.