Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 04/06/2026.
Claims 1- 19 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/26/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 13-15 and 17-18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/06/2026 with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200022194 A1), hereinafter “Wang”; in further view of Kuang et al. (US 20190364554 A1), hereinafter “Kuang”, and in further view of Lee et al. (US 20220272721 A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches A communication method, applied to a first terminal device [Wang: Abstract teaches sending message including configuration information between terminal devices], wherein the method comprises:
Receiving, by the first terminal device, a first media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from a radio access network device, wherein the first MAC PDU includes first information that is usable to identify a second terminal device and control information [Wang: Fig. 13a,b; Par. 200-205 teaches of sending MAC PDU from access network device];
Sending, by the first terminal device, the second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through a sidelink [Wang: Figs. 13a,b ; Par. 206- 2010 sending MAC PDU to the terminal by relay device].
However, Wang does not teach wherein parsing, by the first terminal device, the first MAC PDU to determine second information usable to indicate the presence of the control information of the second terminal device;
Providing, by the first terminal device, the control information of the second terminal device in a MAC subheader of a second MAC PDU; and
the second MAC PDU includes the second information in the MAC subheader, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information of the second terminal device.
Nevertheless, Kuang, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches parsing, by the first terminal device, the first MAC PDU to determine second information usable to indicate the presence of the control information of the second terminal device [Kuang: Fig. 2; step 201, 202; Par. 216 – 220 teaches received first message which include MAC PDU which further include data channel sidelink resource corresponding to the second user equipment];
Providing, by the first terminal device, the control information of the second terminal device in a MAC subheader of a second MAC PDU [Kuang: Fig. 2]; and
wherein the second MAC PDU includes the second information in the MAC subheader, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information of the second terminal device [Kuang: Fig. 2, Par. 374 teaches second message is encapsulated with sidelink control information which further include different type of information for terminal where second message has MAC CE [Par. 410] where each MACE has corresponding header [Par. 12] ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kuang for sending sidelink control information in second message. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kuang in the Wang system in order to implement rapid scheduling and reduce delay [Kuang: Par. 32].
However, Wang in view of Kuang does not teach MAC subheader is a sidelink MAC subheader.
Nevertheless, lee, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches teach MAC subheader is a sidelink MAC subheader [Lee: Par. 516 teaches The MAC PDU format version number field may indicate which version of the SL-SCH subheader is used. The V field size may be 4 bits].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lee for using sidelink version subheader. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lee in the Wang/ Kuang system in order to implement channel prioritization [Lee: Par. 604].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches sending the second MAC PDU including the sidelink MAC sub header and a first MAC control element (CE), the second MAC sub header includes the second information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the first MAC CE includes the control information of the second terminal device [Wang: See Fig. 13 a, b]
Regarding claim 3, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches wherein the receiving the first MAC PDU that includes first information that is usable to identify the control information includes receiving the first MAC PDU that includes the first information that is usable to identify information about a recommended bit rate to be used by the second terminal device [Kuang: Par. 244 further teaches sending information about identify is arranged with bit].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches receiving the first MAC PDU including a first MAC control element (CE), and the first MAC CE includes the first information that identifies the second terminal device [Wang: See step 1303].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 4. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches wherein at least one of receiving the first MAC PDU including the first MAC CE or the sending the second MAC PDU that includes a second MAC CE includes respectively receiving or sending third information, and the third information is usable to identity information of a logical channel corresponding to the control information or identity information of a radio bearer corresponding to the control information [Wang: Fig. 6; Par. 155 teaches of receiving and configuring the radio bearer information].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches determining, based on the first information that identifies the second terminal device, to send the second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through the sidelink [Wang: Fig. 13a].
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches An apparatus, applied for a first terminal device, comprising: a memory storing instructions [Wang: Fig. 5]; and
at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the processor to perform operations of [Wang: Abstract teaches sending message including configuration information between terminal devices], wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from a radio access network device, wherein the first MAC PDU includes first information usable to identify a second terminal device and control information [Wang: Fig. 13a,b; Par. 200-205 teaches of sending MAC PDU from access network device]; and
sending a second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through a sidelink, wherein the second MAC PDU includes second information [Wang: Figs. 13a,b ; Par. 206- 2010 sending MAC PDU to the terminal by relay device].
However, Wang does not teach wherein parsing, by the first terminal device, the first MAC PDU to determine second information usable to indicate the presence of the control information of the second terminal device;
Providing, by the first terminal device, the control information of the second terminal device in a MAC subheader of a second MAC PDU; and
the second MAC PDU includes the second information in the MAC subheader, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information of the second terminal device.
Nevertheless, Kuang, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches parsing, by the first terminal device, the first MAC PDU to determine second information usable to indicate the presence of the control information of the second terminal device [Kuang: Fig. 2; step 201, 202; Par. 216 – 220 teaches received first message which include MAC PDU which further include data channel sidelink resource corresponding to the second user equipment];
Providing, by the first terminal device, the control information of the second terminal device in a MAC subheader of a second MAC PDU [Kuang: Fig. 2]; and
wherein the second MAC PDU includes the second information in the MAC subheader, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information of the second terminal device [Kuang: Fig. 2, Par. 374 teaches second message is encapsulated with sidelink control information which further include different type of information for terminal where second message has MAC CE [Par. 410] where each MACE has corresponding header [Par. 12] ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kuang for sending sidelink control information in second message. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kuang in the Wang system in order to implement rapid scheduling and reduce delay [Kuang: Par. 32].
However, Wang in view of Kuang does not teach MAC subheader is a sidelink MAC subheader.
Nevertheless, lee, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches teach MAC subheader is a sidelink MAC subheader [Lee: Par. 516 teaches The MAC PDU format version number field may indicate which version of the SL-SCH subheader is used. The V field size may be 4 bits].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lee for using sidelink version subheader. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lee in the Wang/ Kuang system in order to implement channel prioritization [Lee: Par. 604].
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches wherein the control information comprises information about a recommended bit rate [Kuang: Par. 244 further teaches sending information about identify is arranged with bit].
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches A communication method, applied to a first terminal device and comprising [Wang: Fig. 5]; and
at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the processor to perform operations of [Wang: Abstract teaches sending message including configuration information between terminal devices], wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from a radio access network device, wherein the first MAC PDU includes first indication information, the first indication information is usable to indicate that the first MAC PDU includes: first information that is usable to identify a second terminal device, second information [Wang: Fig. 13a,b; Par. 200-205 teaches of sending MAC PDU from access network device];
sending a second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through a sidelink, wherein the second MAC PDU includes second indication information, the second indication information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU [Wang: Figs. 13a,b ; Par. 206- 2010 sending MAC PDU to the terminal by relay device].
However, Wang does not teach wherein parsing, by the first terminal device, the first MAC PDU to determine second information usable to indicate the presence of the control information of the second terminal device;
Providing, by the first terminal device, the control information of the second terminal device in a MAC subheader of a second MAC PDU; and
the second MAC PDU includes the second information in the MAC subheader, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information of the second terminal device.
Nevertheless, Kuang, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches parsing, by the first terminal device, the first MAC PDU to determine second information usable to indicate the presence of the control information of the second terminal device [Kuang: Fig. 2; step 201, 202; Par. 216 – 220 teaches received first message which include MAC PDU which further include data channel sidelink resource corresponding to the second user equipment];
Providing, by the first terminal device, the control information of the second terminal device in a MAC subheader of a second MAC PDU [Kuang: Fig. 2]; and
wherein the second MAC PDU includes the second information in the MAC subheader, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information of the second terminal device [Kuang: Fig. 2, Par. 374 teaches second message is encapsulated with sidelink control information which further include different type of information for terminal where second message has MAC CE [Par. 410] where each MACE has corresponding header [Par. 12] ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kuang for sending sidelink control information in second message. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kuang in the Wang system in order to implement rapid scheduling and reduce delay [Kuang: Par. 32].
However, Wang in view of Kuang does not teach MAC subheader is a sidelink MAC subheader.
Nevertheless, lee, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches teach MAC subheader is a sidelink MAC subheader [Lee: Par. 516 teaches The MAC PDU format version number field may indicate which version of the SL-SCH subheader is used. The V field size may be 4 bits].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lee for using sidelink version subheader. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lee in the Wang/ Kuang system in order to implement channel prioritization [Lee: Par. 604].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches wherein the receiving the first MAC PDU includes receiving a first MAC subheader and a first MAC control element (CE) [Wang: Par. 72 teaches of adding header to the data which include identifier of the terminal and CE], the first MAC sub header includes the first indication information, and the first MAC CE includes: the first information that is usable to identify the second terminal device, the second information, and the control information. [Wang: See Fig. 13 a, b]
Regarding claim 15, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches wherein the sending the second MAC PDU includes sending a second MAC subheader and a first MAC control element (CE), [Wang: Par. 72 teaches of adding header to the data which include identifier of the terminal and CE], the second MAC subheader includes the second indication information, and the second MAC CE includes: the second information and the control information [Kuang; Fig. 7; Par. 296 further teaches of MAC PDU further including of sub headers].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Wang/Kuang in view of Lee teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Wang/Kuang in view of Lee further teaches wherein the receiving the first MAC PDU that includes the first indication information includes receiving a logical channel identity field value that identifies a MAC CE type on a Uu interface [Wang: Par. 68 included Uu interface].
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412