DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/26/2024.
Claims 1- 19 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/26/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200022194 A1), hereinafter “Wang”; and in further view of Kuang et al. (US 20190364554 A1), hereinafter “Kuang”.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches A communication method, applied to a first terminal device [Wang: Abstract teaches sending message including configuration information between terminal devices], wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from a radio access network device, wherein the first MAC PDU includes first information that is usable to identify a second terminal device and control information [Wang: Fig. 13a,b; Par. 200-205 teaches of sending MAC PDU from access network device]; and
sending a second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through a sidelink [Wang: Figs. 13a,b ; Par. 206- 2010 sending MAC PDU to the terminal by relay device].
However, Wang does not teach wherein the second MAC PDU includes second information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information.
Nevertheless, Kuang, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the second MAC PDU includes second information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information [Kuang: Fig. 2, Par. 374 teaches second message is encapsulated with sidelink control information which further include different type of information for terminal].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kuang for sending sidelink control information in second message. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kuang in the Wang system in order to implement rapid scheduling and reduce delay [Kuang: Par. 32].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches sending the second MAC PDU including a second MAC sub header and a first MAC control element (CE), the second MAC sub header includes the second information, and the second information is usable to indicated that the first MAC CE includes the control information [Wang: See Fig. 13 a, b]
Regarding claim 3, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches wherein the receiving the first MAC PDU that includes first information that is usable to identify the control information includes receiving the first MAC PDU that includes first information that is usable to identify information about a recommended bit rate [Kuang: Par. 244 further teaches sending information about identify is arranged with bit].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches receiving the first MAC PDU including a first MAC control element (CE), and the first MAC CE includes the first information that identifies the second terminal device [Wang: See step 1303].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 4. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches wherein at least one of receiving the first MAC PDU including the first MAC CE or the sending the second MAC PDU that includes a second MAC CE includes respectively receiving or sending third information, and the third information is usable to identity information of a logical channel corresponding to the control information or identity information of a radio bearer corresponding to the control information [Wang: Fig. 6; Par. 155 teaches of receiving and configuring the radio bearer information].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches determining, based on the first information that identifies the second terminal device, to send the second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through the sidelink [Wang: Fig. 13a].
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches An apparatus, applied for a first terminal device, comprising: a memory storing instructions [Wang: Fig. 5]; and
at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the processor to perform operations of [Wang: Abstract teaches sending message including configuration information between terminal devices], wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from a radio access network device, wherein the first MAC PDU includes first information usable to identify a second terminal device and control information [Wang: Fig. 13a,b; Par. 200-205 teaches of sending MAC PDU from access network device]; and
sending a second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through a sidelink, wherein the second MAC PDU includes second information [Wang: Figs. 13a,b ; Par. 206- 2010 sending MAC PDU to the terminal by relay device].
However, Wang does not teach wherein the second MAC PDU includes second information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information.
Nevertheless, Kuang, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the second MAC PDU includes second information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU includes the control information [Kuang: Fig. 2, Par. 374 teaches second message is encapsulated with sidelink control information which further include different type of information for terminal].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kuang for sending sidelink control information in second message. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kuang in the Wang system in order to implement rapid scheduling and reduce delay [Kuang: Par. 32].
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches wherein the control information comprises information about a recommended bit rate [Kuang: Par. 244 further teaches sending information about identify is arranged with bit].
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches A communication method, applied to a first terminal device and comprising [Wang: Fig. 5]; and
at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the processor to perform operations of [Wang: Abstract teaches sending message including configuration information between terminal devices], wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from a radio access network device, wherein the first MAC PDU includes first indication information, the first indication information is usable to indicate that the first MAC PDU includes: first information that is usable to identify a second terminal device, second information [Wang: Fig. 13a,b; Par. 200-205 teaches of sending MAC PDU from access network device];
sending a second MAC PDU to the second terminal device through a sidelink, wherein the second MAC PDU includes second indication information, the second indication information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU [Wang: Figs. 13a,b ; Par. 206- 2010 sending MAC PDU to the terminal by relay device].
However, Wang does not teach wherein the second information is usable to indicate that the first MAC PDU includes the control information; and includes: the second information and the control information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU comprises the control information
Nevertheless, Kuang, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the second information is usable to indicate that the first MAC PDU includes the control information [Kuang: Fig. 2, Par. 374 teaches second message is encapsulated with sidelink control information which further include different type of information for terminal]
includes: the second information and the control information, and the second information is usable to indicate that the second MAC PDU comprises the control information [Kuang: Fig. 2; Par. 205- 210 teaches of sending second message/information which comprise control information from first message and information of UE].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kuang for sending sidelink control information in second message. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kuang in the Wang system in order to implement rapid scheduling and reduce delay [Kuang: Par. 32].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches wherein the receiving the first MAC PDU includes receiving a first MAC subheader and a first MAC control element (CE) [Wang: Par. 72 teaches of adding header to the data which include identifier of the terminal and CE], the first MAC sub header includes the first indication information, and the first MAC CE includes: the first information that is usable to identify the second terminal device, the second information, and the control information. [Wang: See Fig. 13 a, b]
Regarding claim 15, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches wherein the sending the second MAC PDU includes sending a second MAC subheader and a first MAC control element (CE), [Wang: Par. 72 teaches of adding header to the data which include identifier of the terminal and CE], the second MAC subheader includes the second indication information, and the second MAC CE includes: the second information and the control information [Kuang; Fig. 7; Par. 296 further teaches of MAC PDU further including of sub headers].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Wang in view of Kuang teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Wang in view of Kuang further teaches wherein the receiving the first MAC PDU that includes the first indication information includes receiving a logical channel identity field value that identifies a MAC CE type on a Uu interface [Wang: Par. 68 included Uu interface].
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412