DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akl et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0051549)
Referring to Claim 1, Akl et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (par 122, UE, wireless), comprising:
one or more memories (par 123, memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (par 123, processor), configured to cause the UE to:
receive a communication including remaining minimum system information (RMSI) for a first cell that is operating in a network energy saving (NES) mode (par 123, receive information, e.g. cost parameter from neighboring node in operation mode; par 98, RMSI; par 92, low energy consumption state); and
perform an operation associated with a selection of the first cell, the selection of the first cell being in accordance with one or more conditions being met (pars 122-124 and 129, handover/cell selection procedure).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the operation includes selecting the first cell for establishing a connection (par 123, handover/cell selection procedure), wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the communication, are configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a second cell, the communication (par 123, handover/cell selection), wherein the one or more conditions being met includes the UE being associated with an authorized subscription for accessing the first cell (par 38, subscription).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the operation includes selecting the first cell for establishing a connection, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the communication, are configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a second cell, the communication (par 123, handover/cell selection procedure); and receive, from the second cell, an indication that the UE is authorized to access the first cell, wherein the one or more conditions being met includes the UE receiving the indication that the UE is authorized to access the first cell (pars 39, 122-124 and 129, allowed cell selection).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a second cell, a paging communication, wherein the one or more conditions being met includes the UE receiving the paging communication (pars 122-124 and 129, paging).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the operation is associated with the UE having uplink traffic to transmit, and wherein the one or more conditions are associated with the uplink traffic having at least one of: an allowable traffic type, an allowable quality of service class, or an allowable purpose (pars 49-50, channel quality).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the first cell, a request for the communication, the transmission of the request being associated with the one or more conditions being met, wherein the communication is in response to transmitting the request communication (par 123, handover/cell selection procedure; pars 98-100, event detection comprising change in operating mode/cost parameter, interpreted as request for system information, as it enables parameter transmission; par 92, low energy consumption state; par 106, cell/node).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the operation includes camping on the first cell and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the communication, are configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the first cell, one or more system information communications including the RMSI, the one or more system information communications being received during one or more periods prior to a paging occasion for an idle discontinuous reception cycle that is configured for the UE (par 98, RMSI ; par 123, handover/cell selection procedure; pars 84 and 118, sleep mode).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 7 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the first cell or second cell, updated configuration information for the one or more system information communications (pars 98 and 123, RMSI, cost parameter).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a second cell, configuration information for one or more resources associated with requests for system information; transmit, to the second cell, a request for system information using at least one of the one or more resources, wherein the communication is in response to transmitting the request; and receive, from the first cell, an indication of updated configuration information for the one or more resources (par 123, parameter, handover/cell selection procedure).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the UE is operating in a connected mode with a connection to the first cell prior to receiving the communication, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the first cell and while operating in the connected mode, assistance information for accessing the first cell when the first cell is operating in the NES mode (par 123, receive information, e.g. cost parameter from neighboring node in operation mode; par 98, RMSI; par 92, low energy consumption state).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a second cell and prior to receiving the communication, partial system information for the first cell (pars 98 and 123, parameter/cell selection information).
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to a second cell, a request for system information for the first cell, the request including an indication of spatial domain information associated with the UE and the first cell, and wherein receiving the communication comprises: receive, from the first cell, the communication in response to transmitting the request (par 71, spatial resources; par 123, cell selection information).
Referring to Claim 13 as applied to Claim 1 above, Akl et al. disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the first cell, a broadcast channel communication indicating assistance information for obtaining the RMSI via a second cell. (par 98, broadcast, RMSI; par 123, cell)
Referring to Claim 14, Akl et al. disclose a network node for wireless communication (pars 98-100, neighboring node), comprising:
one or more memories (par 152, memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (par 152, processor), configured to cause the network node to:
receive, for a user equipment (UE), a request for system information for a first cell that is operating in a network energy saving (NES) mode (pars 98-100, event detection comprising change in operating mode/cost parameter, interpreted as request for system information, as it enables parameter transmission; par 92, low energy consumption state; par 106, cell/node); and
transmit a communication including remaining minimum system information (RMSI) for the first cell in accordance with one or more conditions being met (pars 98-100, transmit cost parameter/RMSI, condition satisfied; par 92, low energy consumption state).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 14 above, Akl et al. disclose the network node, wherein the network node is a first network node, wherein the first network node is associated with the first cell, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the request for the system information, are configured to cause the network node to: receive, from a second network node, the request for system information (pars 98-100, event detection comprising change in operating mode/cost parameter).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 15 above, Akl et al. disclose the network node, wherein the request for system information includes at least one of: spatial domain information for the communication, a timing of the communication, an indication to activate transmission of the RMSI, or an indication of a cause of the request (par 71, spatial resources).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 15 above, Akl et al. disclose the network node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit, to the second network node, an indication of whether the first network node is to transmit the communication (pars 98-100, event detection comprising change in operating mode/cost parameter; pars 98-100, event detection comprising change in operating mode/cost parameter, interpreted as request for system information, as it enables parameter transmission).
Referring to Claim 18, Akl et al. disclose a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (par 122, UE, wireless), comprising:
receiving a communication including remaining minimum system information (RMSI) for a first cell that is operating in a network energy saving (NES) mode (par 123, receive information, e.g. cost parameter from neighboring node in operation mode; par 98, RMSI; par 92, low energy consumption state); and
performing an operation associated with a selection of the first cell, the selection of the first cell being in accordance with one or more conditions being met (pars 122-124 and 129, handover/cell selection procedure).
Referring to Claim 19 as applied to Claim 18 above, Akl et al. disclose the method, wherein the operation includes selecting the first cell for establishing a connection, (par 123, handover/cell selection procedure), wherein receiving the communication comprises: receiving, from a second cell, the communication (par 123, handover/cell selection), wherein the one or more conditions being met includes the UE being associated with an authorized subscription for accessing the first cell (par 38, subscription).
Referring to Claim 20 as applied to Claim 18 above, Akl et al. disclose the method, wherein the operation includes selecting the first cell for establishing a connection, wherein receiving the communication comprises: receiving, from a second cell, the communication (par 123, handover/cell selection procedure); and receiving, from the second cell, an indication that the UE is authorized to access the first cell, wherein the one or more conditions being met includes the UE receiving the indication that the UE is authorized to access the first cell (pars 39, 122-124 and 129, allowed cell selection).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following patents/patent application publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to network energy saving state: U.S. Pat. Application Pub. No. 2024/0244524 to Bala et al.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642