DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 3-7, 9, 11-16 and 18-20 have been amended.
Claims: 8 have not been amended.
Claims: 2, 10 and 17 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTES:
The examiner notes that the applicant’s current amendments filed on 04/06/26 has changed the scope of the claims which necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
In addition, the examiner notes that contrary to the applicant’s arguments on page 7 of the applicant’s arguments filed on 04/06/26, the applicant’s current amendments to claim 9 does not overcome the previously indicated claim objection to minor informalities indicated on pages 2-3 of the previous office action filed on 01/06/26 and as such said previous claim objection to claim 9 for minor informalities has been reiterated herein as seen below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “… transmitting, to a second UE, first sidelink control information (SCI) ) based on the explicit request for the IUC information being enabled; …” which recites two close parenthesis after the recited “SCI” and appears to be a typographical error and should only have one close parenthesis (i.e. “… transmitting, to a second UE, first sidelink control information (SCI)).
Claim 9 recites “A method of a second user equipment (UE), the method comprising: … and transmitting second SCI including the IUC information including to the second UE.” which indicates that the method is performed by the second UE and then goes on to indicate that the second SCI is transmitted by the second UE to itself which is confusing and a potential 112 indefinite issue but appears to be a typographical error and should instead be written as transmitting the second SCI to the first UE (i.e. “A method of a second user equipment (UE), the method comprising: … and transmitting second SCI including the IUC information to the first UE.”) and for the purpose of examination and the rejection provided below will be interpreted as such.
In addition Claim 9 also recites “… determining the IUC information based on the fist SCI; …” which recites “the fist SCI” and appears to be a typographical error and should instead recite “the first SCI” (i.e. “… determining the IUC information based on the first SCI; …”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (US Patent Publication 2023/0239900) in view of Hu et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0306021 herein after referenced as Hu).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 16, Park discloses:
A method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: and A first user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor, wherein the one or more instructions are executed to perform a method of: receiving configuration information indicating whether an explicit request for inter-UE coordination (IUC) information is enabled or not; (Park, [0135]-[0136] discloses for explicit signaling for the D2D coordination resource allocation procedure, a Medium Access Control MAC/Radio Resource Control RRC layer of a UE may request a physical PHY layer for coordination request CR transmission (i.e. reads on explicit request for IUC information). The MAC/RRC layer of the UE may provide resource configuration information for the CR transmission to the PHY layer and, based thereon, may request the PHY layer for the CR transmission and discloses As another example, without a request from an upper layer, the PHY layer of the UE (i.e. reads on a first UE) may perform the CR transmission based (i.e. reads on indicating whether an explicit request for IUC information is enabled or not) on configuration provided (i.e. reads on receiving configuration information) from the upper layer; Park, [0193] & Table 22 discloses Inter-UE coordination request: This field refers to a field that indicates a coordination request status. Inter-UE coordination is enabled by upper layer signaling such as PC5-RRC and is available for CR when the inter-UE coordination request field is set to a value of 1; Park, [0159] discloses configuring a PRB set for coordination request CR e.g., inter-UE coordination request, a resource for resource coordination request may be allocated without colliding with a PSFCH resource for HARQ feedback to PSSCH reception; Park, [0202] discloses As another example, when a specific condition or a specific configuration is satisfied without explicit signaling of the Tx UE, the C-UE may perform the resource coordination procedure; Park, [0237] discloses The terminal device 1850 may include a processor 1870, an antenna device 1862, a transceiver 1864, and a memory 1866; Park, [0240] discloses The memory 1866 may store operation-processed information of the processor 1870, software, an OS, and an application related to an operation of the terminal device 1850, and the like).
transmitting, to a second UE, first sidelink control information (SCI)(Park, Fig. 16 & [0226] discloses the C-UE may receive a coordination request CR from the Tx UE. … The C-UE (i.e. reads on a second UE) may receive (i.e. reads on transmitting to) the coordination request (i.e. reads on first SCI) based on at least one of a physical resource set of a PSFCH, a 1st / 2nd SCI format (i.e. reads on SCI), CRC scrambling and DMRS sequence, and PSSCH. … As another example, a new 1st / 2nd SCI format for indicating the coordination request may be configured and, through this the coordination request may be indicated. As another example, the coordination request may be indicated through one of reserved bits within the SCI format; Park, [0136] discloses As another example, without a request from an upper layer, the PHY layer of the UE may perform the CR transmission based (i.e. reads on transmitting based on the explicit request for the IUC information being enabled) on configuration provided from the upper layer; Park, [0193] & Table 22 discloses Inter-UE coordination request: This field refers to a field that indicates a coordination request status. Inter-UE coordination is enabled by upper layer signaling such as PC5-RRC and is available for CR when the inter-UE coordination request field is set to a value of 1; Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21).
and receiving (Park, [0138] discloses The Tx UE 810 may transmit explicit signaling for requesting the C-UE 820 for transmission of a coordination message required for resource selection … When the C-UE 820 receives explicit signaling, the C-UE 820 (i.e. reads on the second UE) may prepare a coordination message and may transmit (i.e. reads on receiving from) the prepared coordination message (i.e. reads on including the IUC information) to the Tx UE 810. The Tx UE 810 may perform a resource reselection procedure based on the coordination message received from the C-UE 820; Park, [0153] discloses The UE may transmit CR information to the C-UE through the configured resource. The C-UE may receive the CR information and then provide coordination resource information i.e., CM to the Tx UE; Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21).
wherein the first SCI includes an indicator for indicating the explicit request and first information on a requesting type of a first resource set, (Park, Fig. 16 & [0226] discloses the C-UE may receive a coordination request CR from the Tx UE. Here, the coordination request may be 1 bit or more information bits. That is, the coordination request (i.e. reads on the first SCI) may include 1-bit information indicating (i.e. reads on an indicator for indicating) a case in which the Tx UE performs the coordination request (i.e. reads on the explicit request) to the C-UE … the coordinate request may include information bits greater than 1 bit to request information on a type of coordination information (i.e. reads on first information on a requesting type of a first resource set) as well as a coordination request status. The C-UE may receive the coordination request based on at least one of a physical resource set of a PSFCH, a 1st / 2nd SCI format, CRC scrambling and DMRS sequence, and PSSCH. … As another example, a new 1st / 2nd SCI format for indicating the coordination request may be configured and, through this the coordination request may be indicated. As another example, the coordination request may be indicated through one of reserved bits within the SCI format; Park, [0148] discloses For example, the Tx UE may request the C-UE for a resource coordination request and a type or a format of desired resource coordination information. Here, type/format information of resource coordination may include at least one of a preferred resource, a nonpreferred resource, and channel measurement information e.g., RSRP, RSSI, CBR, CR. … Here, when the Tx UE transmits only a resource coordination request, only 1-bit information may be required. However, when the Tx UE transmits a type or a format of desired resource coordination information with the resource coordination request, the Tx UE needs to use 1 bit or more additional information bits to transmit the type or the format of desired resource coordination information).
and wherein the (Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information (i.e. reads on includes second information on a type of a second resource set) may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above. Applicant’s Claim 3 recites “… the IUC information of the second SCI includes preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information corresponding to the requesting type of the first resource set”).
Park discloses a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request but fails to explicitly recite that said coordination message is also received via an SCI and therefore fails to disclose “and receiving second SCI including the IUC information from the second UE” and “wherein the second SCI includes second information on a type of a second resource set”.
In a related field of endeavor, Hu discloses:
and receiving second SCI including the IUC information from the second UE; and wherein the second SCI includes second information on a type of a second resource set (Hu, [0071] discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 (i.e. reads on the second UE) is configured to send (i.e. reads on receiving from) an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 (i.e. reads on second SCI) comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information (i.e. reads on second SCI) that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources (i.e. reads on including the IUC information and reads on includes second information on a type of a second resource set) … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format; Hu, [0033] discloses the PSCCH conveys a part of Sidelink Control Information SCI to be decoded by any receiving UE for channel sensing purpose and the SCI includes the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern and antenna port, etc.; Hu, [0043] discloses the SCI stage 2 can comprise an SCI format 2-A, an SCI format 2-B or an SCI format 2-C; Hu, [0070] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2. Applicant’s Claim 3 recites “… the IUC information of the second SCI includes preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information corresponding to the requesting type of the first resource set”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Park to incorporate the teachings of Hu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize known signaling formats in transmitting inter-UE coordination response messages (Hu, [0071]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (i.e. Park, [0251]) and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request as taught by Park) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request, wherein the coordination message response is received via another SCI such as an SCI format 2-C and includes time-frequency resources as taught by Hu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request (i.e. as taught by both Park & Hu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 18, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The first UE of claim 16 (see claim 16).
wherein the requesting type of the first resource set included in the first SCI indicates preferred resources or non-preferred resources, and the IUC information of the second SCI includes preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information corresponding to the requesting type of the first resource set (Park, [0148] discloses For example, the Tx UE may request the C-UE for a resource coordination request and a type or a format of desired resource coordination information. Here, type/format information of resource coordination may include at least one of a preferred resource, a nonpreferred resource, and channel measurement information e.g., RSRP, RSSI, CBR, CR; Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 19, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The first UE of claim 16 (see claim 16).
wherein the first SCI further includes time resource information, and preferred resources or non-preferred resources indicated by the IUC information of the second SCI are determined within a time resource indicated by the time resource information (Hu, [0033] discloses the PSCCH conveys a part of Sidelink Control Information SCI to be decoded by any receiving UE for channel sensing purpose and the SCI includes the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern and antenna port, etc.; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format; Park, [0130] discloses the C-UE 730-4 may generate coordination resource set information CM and may provide the same to the Tx UE 730-1 in consideration of scheduling resource information and/or resource pool allocated to generate resource coordination information from the base station 730-1).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 20, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The first UE of claim 16 (see claim 16).
wherein the first SCI further includes frequency resource information, and preferred resources or non-preferred resources indicated by the IUC information of the second SCI are determined within a frequency resource indicated by the frequency resource information (Hu, [0033] discloses the PSCCH conveys a part of Sidelink Control Information SCI to be decoded by any receiving UE for channel sensing purpose and the SCI includes the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern and antenna port, etc.; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format; Park, [0130] discloses the C-UE 730-4 may generate coordination resource set information CM and may provide the same to the Tx UE 730-1 in consideration of scheduling resource information and/or resource pool allocated to generate resource coordination information from the base station 730-1).
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein preferred resources or non-preferred resources indicated by the IUC information of the second SCI are determined within a resource pool (Park, [0130] discloses the C-UE 730-4 may generate coordination resource set information CM and may provide the same to the Tx UE 730-1 in consideration of scheduling resource information and/or resource pool allocated to generate resource coordination information from the base station 730-1; Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the first SCI is configured by higher layer signaling to include the indicator for requesting the IUC information (Park, [0136] discloses As another example, without a request from an upper layer, the PHY layer of the UE may perform the CR transmission based on configuration provided from the upper layer; Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein each of the first SCI and the second SCI is an SCI format 2-C (Hu, [0043] discloses the SCI stage 2 can comprise an SCI format 2-A, an SCI format 2-B or an SCI format 2-C; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses:
A method of a second user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a first UE, first sidelink control information (SCI) based on the first UE receiving configuration information indicating whether an explicit request for inter-UE coordination (IUC) information is enabled or not; (Park, Fig. 16 & [0226] discloses the C-UE (i.e. reads on a second UE) may receive (i.e. reads on receiving from) a coordination request CR (i.e. reads on first SCI) from the Tx UE (i.e. reads on a first UE). … The C-UE may receive the coordination request based on at least one of a physical resource set of a PSFCH, a 1st / 2nd SCI format (i.e. reads on SCI), CRC scrambling and DMRS sequence, and PSSCH. … As another example, a new 1st / 2nd SCI format for indicating the coordination request may be configured and, through this the coordination request may be indicated. As another example, the coordination request may be indicated through one of reserved bits within the SCI format; Park, [0136] discloses As another example, without a request from an upper layer, the PHY layer of the UE (i.e. reads on the first UE) may perform the CR transmission based on configuration provided (i.e. reads on based on receiving configuration information indicating whether an explicit request for IUC information is enabled or not) from the upper layer; Park, [0193] & Table 22 discloses Inter-UE coordination request: This field refers to a field that indicates a coordination request status. Inter-UE coordination is enabled by upper layer signaling such as PC5-RRC and is available for CR when the inter-UE coordination request field is set to a value of 1; Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21; Park, [0159] discloses configuring a PRB set for coordination request CR e.g., inter-UE coordination request, a resource for resource coordination request may be allocated without colliding with a PSFCH resource for HARQ feedback to PSSCH reception; Park, [0202] discloses As another example, when a specific condition or a specific configuration is satisfied without explicit signaling of the Tx UE, the C-UE may perform the resource coordination procedure).
determining the IUC information based on the first SCI; (Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C (i.e. reads on the first SCI) to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM (i.e. reads on determining the IUC information) transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21 (i.e. reads on based on the first SCI); Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above).
and transmitting first UE, (Park, [0138] discloses The Tx UE 810 may transmit explicit signaling for requesting the C-UE 820 for transmission of a coordination message required for resource selection … When the C-UE 820 receives explicit signaling, the C-UE 820 may prepare a coordination message and may transmit (i.e. reads on transmitting) the prepared coordination message (i.e. reads on including the IUC information) to the Tx UE 810 (i.e. reads on the first UE). The Tx UE 810 may perform a resource reselection procedure based on the coordination message received from the C-UE 820; Park, [0153] discloses The UE may transmit CR information to the C-UE through the configured resource. The C-UE may receive the CR information and then provide coordination resource information i.e., CM to the Tx UE; Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21).
wherein the first SCI includes an indicator for indicating the explicit request and first information on a requesting type of a first resource set, (Park, Fig. 16 & [0226] discloses the C-UE may receive a coordination request CR from the Tx UE. Here, the coordination request may be 1 bit or more information bits. That is, the coordination request (i.e. reads on the first SCI) may include 1-bit information indicating (i.e. reads on an indicator for indicating) a case in which the Tx UE performs the coordination request (i.e. reads on the explicit request) to the C-UE … the coordinate request may include information bits greater than 1 bit to request information on a type of coordination information (i.e. reads on first information on a requesting type of a first resource set) as well as a coordination request status. The C-UE may receive the coordination request based on at least one of a physical resource set of a PSFCH, a 1st / 2nd SCI format, CRC scrambling and DMRS sequence, and PSSCH. … As another example, a new 1st / 2nd SCI format for indicating the coordination request may be configured and, through this the coordination request may be indicated. As another example, the coordination request may be indicated through one of reserved bits within the SCI format; Park, [0148] discloses For example, the Tx UE may request the C-UE for a resource coordination request and a type or a format of desired resource coordination information. Here, type/format information of resource coordination may include at least one of a preferred resource, a nonpreferred resource, and channel measurement information e.g., RSRP, RSSI, CBR, CR. … Here, when the Tx UE transmits only a resource coordination request, only 1-bit information may be required. However, when the Tx UE transmits a type or a format of desired resource coordination information with the resource coordination request, the Tx UE needs to use 1 bit or more additional information bits to transmit the type or the format of desired resource coordination information).
and wherein the (Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information (i.e. reads on includes second information on a type of a second resource set) may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above. Applicant’s Claim 11 recites “… the IUC information of the second SCI includes preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information corresponding to the requesting type of the first resource set”).
Park discloses a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request but fails to explicitly recite that said coordination message is also received via an SCI and therefore fails to disclose “and transmitting second SCI including the IUC information to the first UE,” and “and wherein the second SCI includes second information on a type of a second resource set”.
In a related field of endeavor, Hu discloses:
and transmitting second SCI including the IUC information to the first UE; and wherein the second SCI includes second information on a type of a second resource set (Hu, [0071] discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send (i.e. reads on transmitting to) an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 (i.e. reads on second SCI) comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304 (i.e. reads on the first UE). … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information (i.e. reads on second SCI) that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources (i.e. reads on including the IUC information and reads on includes second information on a type of a second resource set) … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format; Hu, [0033] discloses the PSCCH conveys a part of Sidelink Control Information SCI to be decoded by any receiving UE for channel sensing purpose and the SCI includes the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern and antenna port, etc.; Hu, [0043] discloses the SCI stage 2 can comprise an SCI format 2-A, an SCI format 2-B or an SCI format 2-C; Hu, [0070] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2. Applicant’s Claim 11 recites “… the IUC information of the second SCI includes preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information corresponding to the requesting type of the first resource set”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Park to incorporate the teachings of Hu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize known signaling formats in transmitting inter-UE coordination response messages (Hu, [0071]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (i.e. Park, [0251]) and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request as taught by Park) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request, wherein the coordination message response is received via another SCI such as an SCI format 2-C and includes time-frequency resources as taught by Hu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a first UE transmitting a coordination request to a second UE via an SCI and receiving a coordination message that includes a set of preferred or non-preferred resources in response to the coordination request (i.e. as taught by both Park & Hu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the requesting type of the resource set included in the first SCI indicates preferred resources or non-preferred resources, and the IUC information of the second SCI is preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information corresponding to the requesting type of the first resource set (Park, [0148] discloses For example, the Tx UE may request the C-UE for a resource coordination request and a type or a format of desired resource coordination information. Here, type/format information of resource coordination may include at least one of a preferred resource, a nonpreferred resource, and channel measurement information e.g., RSRP, RSSI, CBR, CR; Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format).
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the first SCI further includes time resource information, and preferred resources or non-preferred resources indicated by the IUC information of the second SCI are determined within a time resource indicated by the time resource information (Hu, [0033] discloses the PSCCH conveys a part of Sidelink Control Information SCI to be decoded by any receiving UE for channel sensing purpose and the SCI includes the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern and antenna port, etc.; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format; Park, [0130] discloses the C-UE 730-4 may generate coordination resource set information CM and may provide the same to the Tx UE 730-1 in consideration of scheduling resource information and/or resource pool allocated to generate resource coordination information from the base station 730-1).
Regarding claim 13, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the first SCI further includes frequency resource information, and preferred resources or non-preferred resources indicated by the IUC information of the second SCI are determined within a frequency resource indicated by the frequency resource information (Hu, [0033] discloses the PSCCH conveys a part of Sidelink Control Information SCI to be decoded by any receiving UE for channel sensing purpose and the SCI includes the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions, demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern and antenna port, etc.; Hu, [0070]-[0071] discloses in Type-1 inter-UE coordination, the Tx UE is configured to provide/send an inter-UE coordination request signal to the Rx UE over sidelink and the inter-UE coordination request signal comprises an inter-UE coordination request that requests the Rx UE to determine a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources for a sidelink SL transmission from the Tx UE, for example, to the Rx UE or to a different UE and the inter-UE coordination request signal further comprises a SL channel state information CSI request and the SL CSI request is provided to the Rx UE in a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 and discloses Upon receiving the inter-UE coordination request signal 308, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources, in response to processing the inter-UE coordination request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to determine an SL CSI for the Tx UE 304, in response to processing the SL CSI request. Further, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send an inter-UE coordination response signal 310 comprising an SL CSI report derived based on the SL CSI, to the Tx UE 304. … the inter-UE coordination response signal 310 further comprises an inter-UE coordination response or inter-UE coordination information that comprises the set of preferred resources or the set of non-preferred resources … when the inter-UE coordination response comprises the set of preferred resources, the Rx UE 306 is configured to send both the inter-UE coordination response and the SL CSI report to the Tx UE 304 via a sidelink control information SCI stage 2 format; Park, [0130] discloses the C-UE 730-4 may generate coordination resource set information CM and may provide the same to the Tx UE 730-1 in consideration of scheduling resource information and/or resource pool allocated to generate resource coordination information from the base station 730-1).
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein preferred resources or non- preferred resources indicated by the IUC information of the second SCI are determined within a resource pool (Park, [0130] discloses the C-UE 730-4 may generate coordination resource set information CM and may provide the same to the Tx UE 730-1 in consideration of scheduling resource information and/or resource pool allocated to generate resource coordination information from the base station 730-1; Park, [0242] discloses the C-UE may generate the coordination message based on the coordination request. Here, the coordination message may include information related to resource configuration of the Tx UE. For example, when the C-UE is an Rx UE, preferred resource information or nonpreferred resource information may be included in the coordination message. As another example, when the C-UE is a third UE, the C-UE may include resource allocation information SCI received from neighboring Tx UEs, which is described above).
Regarding claim 15, Park in view of Hu discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the first SCI is configured by higher layer signaling to include the indicator requesting the IUC information (Park, [0136] discloses As another example, without a request from an upper layer, the PHY layer of the UE may perform the CR transmission based on configuration provided from the upper layer; Park, [0191] discloses The Tx UE may transmit the above SCI format 2-C to the C-UE. Here, SCI format 2-C may further include information on the following Table 21 as well as CR information. The C-UE may configure a CM transmitted to the Tx UE based on information included in the following Table 21).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645