DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kath (US Patent 59275991) in view of Mehta (GB 22248631).
As per claim 1, Kath discloses a wireless air conditioner control device for wirelessly controlling a window mounted air conditioner, said device comprising:
a thermostat being mountable to a support surface in a building wherein said thermostat is configured to be accessible to a user, said thermostat having a communication unit being integrated into said thermostat, said thermostat having temperature controls being movably integrated into said thermostat for establishing a target temperature, said thermostat having a temperature sensor wherein said temperature sensor is configured to sense the temperature of ambient air in the immediate area of said thermostat, said communication unit broadcasting a de-actuate command when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that matches said target temperature, said communication unit broadcasting an actuate command when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that is above said target temperature [Abstract; Fig. 1-4; col. 2, lines 6-10; col. 4, lines 59-65; a wireless air conditioning control system; col. 5, lines 7-48; a thermostat having a communication unit referred as “transmitter 20”; the transmitter 20 includes a controller 36 and a temperature sensing mechanism, a thermistor 46; col. 7, lines 20-25; col. 6, lines 8-45; controller 36 is programmed to calculate and display the current ambient temperature; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; controller 36 compares the ambient temperature with a set point and determine whether an air conditioning request signal should be transmitted to receiver 18 and receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition]; and
a power unit having a male power plug being integrated into said power unit wherein said male power plug is configured to be plugged into a female electrical outlet, said power unit having a female socket being integrated into said power unit wherein said female socket is configured to insertably receive a male plug of a power cord of a window air conditioner, said power unit being in remote communication with said communication unit in said thermostat thereby facilitating said power unit to receive said acuate command and said de-actuate command from said communication unit, said power unit being actuated into an actuated condition when said power unit receives said acuate command, said power unit being actuated into a de-actuated condition when said power unit receives said de-actuate command, said female socket being in communication with said male power plug when said power unit is actuated into said actuated condition wherein said female socket is configured to supply electrical power to the window air conditioner thereby facilitating the window air conditioner to cool air in the building, said female socket being inhibited from communicating with said male power plug when said power unit is actuated into said de-actuated condition wherein said female socket is configured to remove electrical power from the window air conditioner [Abstract; Fig. 1, 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; “Receiver 18 receives electricity from power input 80, which will typically be the host building electrical system.”; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; controller 36 compares the ambient temperature with a set point and determine whether an air conditioning request signal should be transmitted to receiver 18 and receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition].
Though Kath does not specifically disclose regarding a male plug and female socket in the power unit, but it is quite common in the art wherein a power unit that plugs into a wall outlet having a male plug to connect to the wall outlet and having female plug(s) for connection of devices/units (e.g., air conditioner unit). However, Mehta (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., a programmable thermostat for room air conditioning unit) clearly disclose such a configuration [Fig. 1; first paragraph under Detailed Description; pages 10-11 of submitted PDF document or marked pages 4-5 of the document]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references (including the one used later below (Lyhne (US Pub. 20250217429)) as these all are directed to control an air conditioner unit via a thermostat.
As per claim 2, Kath discloses wherein: said thermostat has a front wall and a back wall which has at least one fastening element being integrated into said back wall thereby facilitating said at least one fastening element to engage the support surface for retaining said thermostat on the support surface [Fig. 1; col. 5, lines 7-48; “Transmitter is a portable unit contained within a housing 26, which may be temporarily or permanently mounted to a wall or other appropriate surface.”]; each of said plurality of temperature controls is disposed on said front wall of said thermostat [Fig. 2; claim 10; command input by an operator]; said plurality of temperature controls includes a temperature increase button and a temperature decrease button [Fig. 1; buttons 30 and 32].
As per claim 3, Kath discloses wherein: said communication unit comprises a thermostat processor being integrated into said thermostat [col. 5, lines 7-48; thermostat or transmitter 20 includes a controller 36 (comprising a microprocessor) and temperature sensing mechanism 40; col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons]; said thermostat processor receives an actuate input and a de-actuate input [col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons and/or command input by an operator (claim 10)]; said thermostat processor is electrically coupled to said temperature sensor [col. 5, lines 7-48; thermostat or transmitter 20 includes temperature sensing mechanism 40]; each of said temperature increase button and said temperature decrease button is electrically coupled to said thermostat processor [col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons]; said target temperature is increased toward a maximum temperature when said temperature increase button is manipulated [col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons]; said target temperature is decreased toward a minimum temperature when said temperature decrease button is manipulated [col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons]; said thermostat processor receives said actuate input when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that is greater than said target temperature [col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; controller 36 compares the ambient temperature with a set point and determine whether an air conditioning request signal should be transmitted to receiver 18 and receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition]; and said thermostat processor receives said de-actuate input when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that is less than said target temperature [col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; controller 36 compares the ambient temperature with a set point and determine whether an air conditioning request signal should be transmitted to receiver 18 and receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition].
As per claim 4, Kath discloses wherein said communication unit includes a thermostat transceiver being integrated into said thermostat, said thermostat transceiver being electrically coupled to said thermostat processor, said thermostat transceiver broadcasting said de-actuate command when said thermostat processor receives said de-actuate input, said thermostat transceiver broadcasting said actuate command when said thermostat processor receives said actuate input [col. 5, lines 7-48; a thermostat having a communication unit referred as “transmitter 20”].
As per claim 5, Kath discloses wherein said communication unit includes a display being integrated into said front wall of said thermostat, said display being electrically coupled to said thermostat processor, said display displaying indicia comprising numbers to indicate the current temperature and said target temperature [col. 5, lines 12-16; col. 6, lines 40-45; transmitter 20 includes a display 28 to display current ambient temperature or other information as programmed].
As per claim 6, Kath discloses wherein said power unit comprises: a housing having a rear wall and a forward wall, said male plug extending away from said rear wall, said female socket being recessed into said forward wall [Fig. 1; col. 8, lines 37-41; “Receiver 18 receives electricity from power input 80, which will typically be the host building electrical system.”]; a power processor being integrated into said housing, said power processor receiving a turn on input and a turn off input [Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 7-11; “… an air conditioning control assembly referred to as “receiver,” 18 …”; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 8; a controller 92]; and a switch being integrated into said housing, said switch having a control input being electrically coupled to said power processor, said switch having a pair of power terminals each being electrically coupled to a respective one of said male power plug and said female socket, said switch being actuated into a closed condition when said power processor receives said turn on input, said switch being actuated into an open condition when said power processor receives said turn off input, said pair of power terminals being in electrical communication with each other when said switch is actuated into said closed condition wherein said switch is configured to turn on the window air conditioner, said pair of power terminals being inhibited from being in electrical communication with each other when said switch is actuated into said open condition wherein said switch is configured to turn off the window air conditioner [Fig. 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 12; col. 10, lines 5-65; switch 93; relay 16].
As per claim 7, Kath discloses wherein: said communication unit includes a thermostat transceiver, said thermostat transceiver broadcasting a de-actuate command and an actuate command [col. 5, lines 7-48; a thermostat having a communication unit referred as “transmitter 20”]; said power unit includes a power transceiver being integrated into said housing [Fig. 1; col. 8, lines 37-41; “Receiver 18 receives electricity from power input 80, which will typically be the host building electrical system.”]; said power transceiver is electrically coupled to said power processor [Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 7-11; “… an air conditioning control assembly referred to as “receiver,” 18 …”; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 8; a controller 92]; said power transceiver is in wireless communication with said thermostat transceiver thereby facilitating said power transceiver to receive each of said de-actuate command and said actuate command from said thermostat transceiver [Fig. 1, 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; air conditioning control assembly 18; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition based on received request from the thermostat (transmitter 20)]; said power processor receives said turn on input when said power transceiver receives said actuate command from said thermostat transceiver [Fig. 1, 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; air conditioning control assembly 18; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 3; receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition, wherein the controller 92 controls operation of the receiver 18 based on received request signal from the thermostat (transmitter 20)]; and said power processor receives said turn off input when said power transceiver receives said de-actuate command from said thermostat transceiver [col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 3; controller 92 controls operation of the receiver 18 based on received request signal from the thermostat (transmitter 20)].
As per claim 8, Kath discloses wherein: said power unit includes a plurality of lights [Fig. 1, 3; LED 22; col. 10, lines 60-64]; each of said plurality of lights is integrated into said forward wall of said housing wherein each of said plurality of lights is configured to emit light outwardly from said forward wall [Fig. 1, 3; LED 22; col. 10, lines 60-64]; each of said lights is electrically coupled to said power processor [Fig. 1, 3; LED 22; col. 10, lines 60-64; the receiver 18 is the power unit having the controller 92]; and each of said plurality of lights is turned on when said power transceiver is in wireless communication with said thermostat transceiver wherein said plurality of lights is configured to visually communicate that said power transceiver is communicating with said thermostat transceiver [Fig. 1, 3; LED 22; col. 10, lines 60-64; “The successful reception of an identifying signal is indicated by LED 22.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kath (US Patent 59275991) in view of Mehta (GB 22248631) and further in view of Lyhne (US Pub. 202502174291).
As per claim 10, Kath discloses a wireless air conditioner control device for wirelessly controlling a window mounted air conditioner, said device comprising:
a thermostat being mountable to a support surface in a building wherein said thermostat is configured to be accessible to a user, said thermostat having a communication unit being integrated into said thermostat, said thermostat having temperature controls being movably integrated into said thermostat for establishing a target temperature, said thermostat having a temperature sensor wherein said temperature sensor is configured to sense the temperature of ambient air in the immediate area of said thermostat, said communication unit broadcasting a de-actuate command when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that matches said target temperature, said communication unit broadcasting an actuate command when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that is above said target temperature, said thermostat having a front wall and a back wall which has at least one fastening element being integrated into said back wall thereby facilitating said at least one fastening element to engage the support surface for retaining said thermostat on the support surface, each of said plurality of temperature controls being disposed on said front wall of said thermostat, said plurality of temperature controls including a temperature increase button and a temperature decrease button [Abstract; Fig. 1-4; col. 2, lines 6-10; col. 4, lines 59-65; a wireless air conditioning control system; col. 5, lines 7-48; a thermostat having a communication unit referred as “transmitter 20”; “Transmitter is a portable unit contained within a housing 26, which may be temporarily or permanently mounted to a wall or other appropriate surface.”; the transmitter 20 includes a controller 36 and a temperature sensing mechanism, a thermistor 46; col. 7, lines 20-25; col. 6, lines 8-45; controller 36 is programmed to calculate and display the current ambient temperature; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; controller 36 compares the ambient temperature with a set point and determine whether an air conditioning request signal should be transmitted to receiver 18 and receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition; col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons], said communication unit comprising:
a thermostat processor being integrated into said thermostat, said thermostat processor receiving an actuate input and a de-actuate input, said thermostat processor being electrically coupled to said temperature sensor, each of said temperature increase button and said temperature decrease button being electrically coupled to said thermostat processor, said target temperature being increased toward a maximum temperature when said temperature increase button is manipulated, said target temperature being decreased toward a minimum temperature when said temperature decrease button is manipulated, said thermostat processor receiving said actuate input when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that is greater than said target temperature, said thermostat processor receiving said de-actuate input when said temperature sensor senses a temperature that is less than said target temperature [col. 5, lines 7-48; thermostat or transmitter 20 includes a controller 36 (comprising a microprocessor) and temperature sensing mechanism 40 includes thermistor 46; col. 6, lines 46-57; up and down buttons];
a thermostat transceiver being integrated into said thermostat, said thermostat transceiver being electrically coupled to said thermostat processor, said thermostat transceiver broadcasting said de-actuate command when said thermostat processor receives said de-actuate input, said thermostat transceiver broadcasting said actuate command when said thermostat processor receives said actuate input [Abstract; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; transmitting an air conditioning request signal]; and
a display being integrated into said front wall of said thermostat, said display being electrically coupled to said thermostat processor, said display displaying indicia comprising numbers to indicate the current temperature and said target temperature [col. 5, lines 12-16; col. 6, lines 40-45; transmitter 20 includes a display 28 to display current ambient temperature or other information as programmed]; and
a power unit having a male power plug being integrated into said power unit wherein said male power plug is configured to be plugged into a female electrical outlet, said power unit having a female socket being integrated into said power unit wherein said female socket is configured to insertably receive a male plug of a power cord of a window air conditioner, said power unit being in remote communication with said communication unit in said thermostat thereby facilitating said power unit to receive said acuate command and said de-actuate command from said communication unit, said power unit being actuated into an actuated condition when said power unit receives said acuate command, said power unit being actuated into a de-actuated condition when said power unit receives said de-actuate command, said female socket being in communication with said male power plug when said power unit is actuated into said actuated condition wherein said female socket is configured to supply electrical power to the window air conditioner thereby facilitating the window air conditioner to cool air in the building, said female socket being inhibited from communicating with said male power plug when said power unit is actuated into said de-actuated condition wherein said female socket is configured to remove electrical power from the window air conditioner [Abstract; Fig. 1, 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; “Receiver 18 receives electricity from power input 80, which will typically be the host building electrical system.”; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; controller 36 compares the ambient temperature with a set point and determine whether an air conditioning request signal should be transmitted to receiver 18 and receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition], said power unit comprising:
a housing having a rear wall and a forward wall, said male plug extending away from said rear wall, said female socket being recessed into said forward wall [Fig. 1; col. 8, lines 37-41; “Receiver 18 receives electricity from power input 80, which will typically be the host building electrical system.”];
a power processor being integrated into said housing, said power processor receiving a turn on input and a turn off input [Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 7-11; “… an air conditioning control assembly referred to as “receiver,” 18 …”; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 8; a controller 92];
a switch being integrated into said housing, said switch having a control input being electrically coupled to said power processor, said switch having a pair of power terminals each being electrically coupled to a respective one of said male power plug and said female socket, said switch being actuated into a closed condition when said power processor receives said turn on input, said switch being actuated into an open condition when said power processor receives said turn off input, said pair of power terminals being in electrical communication with each other when said switch is actuated into said closed condition wherein said switch is configured to turn on the window air conditioner, said pair of power terminals being inhibited from being in electrical communication with each other when said switch is actuated into said open condition wherein said switch is configured to turn off the window air conditioner [Fig. 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 12; col. 10, lines 5-65; switch 93; relay 16];
a power transceiver being integrated into said housing, said power transceiver being electrically coupled to said power processor, said power transceiver being in wireless communication with said thermostat transceiver thereby facilitating said power transceiver to receive each of said de-actuate command and said actuate command from said thermostat transceiver, said power processor receiving said turn on input when said power transceiver receives said actuate command from said thermostat transceiver, said power processor receiving said turn off input when said power transceiver receives said de-actuate command from said thermostat transceiver [Fig. 1, 3; col. 8, lines 37-41; air conditioning control assembly 18; col. 7, lines 20-45; col. 8, lines 37-41; receiver 18 activates or deactivates the air condition based on received request from the thermostat (transmitter 20)]; and
a plurality of lights, each of said plurality of lights being integrated into said forward wall of said housing wherein each of said plurality of lights is configured to emit light outwardly from said forward wall, each of said lights being electrically coupled to said power processor, each of said plurality of lights being turned on when said power transceiver is in wireless communication with said thermostat transceiver wherein said plurality of lights is configured to visually communicate that said power transceiver is communicating with said thermostat transceiver, said plurality of lights including a rounded light and a plurality of arced lights, each of said arced lights being curved such that each of said arced lights forms an arc, said plurality of arced lights being evenly spaced apart from each other and being distributed above said rounded light wherein each said rounded light and said plurality of arced lights is configured to define a Wi-Fi symbol [Fig. 1, 3; LED 22; col. 10, lines 60-64].
Though Kath does not specifically disclose regarding a male plug and female socket in the power unit, but it is quite common in the art wherein a power unit that plugs into a wall outlet having a male plug to connect to the wall outlet and having female plug(s) for connection of devices/units (e.g., air conditioner unit). However, Mehta (in the same field of endeavor, i.e., a programmable thermostat for room air conditioning unit) clearly disclose such a configuration [Fig. 1; first paragraph under Detailed Description; pages 10-11 of submitted PDF document or marked pages 4-5 of the document]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references (including the one used later below (Lyhne (US Pub. 20250217429)) as these all are directed to control an air conditioner unit via a thermostat.
Kath and Mehta do not specifically disclose that the LED 22 is a WiFi symbol. However, the disclosed invention is not limited [Kath: col. 12, lines 25-29] and LED 22 can be modified to display any indicator display, such as a WiFi symbol. However, Lyhne clearly discloses utilizing LED light to light up a shape of a WiFi symbol [para 0080, 0085]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are directed to use LED light to indicate a successful connection. Moreover, it is a design choice how to display a successful connection.
As per claim 9, Kath discloses the invention substantially. Kath does not specifically disclose that the LED 22 is a WiFi symbol. However, the disclose invention is not limited [col. 12, lines 25-29] and LED 22 can be modified to display any indicator display, such as a WiFi symbol. However, Lyhne clearly discloses utilizing LED light to light up a shape of a WiFi symbol [para 0080, 0085]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cited references as both are directed to use LED light to indicate a successful connection. Moreover, it is a design choice how to display a successful connection.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-10225912 discloses system and apparatus for selectively interrupting a power supply in such a manner, an appliance, such as an air conditioner that is plugged into the home automation wall module, may have its power supply enabled or disabled by the hub wherein the home automation receptacle module comprising a first set of male power plugs configured to be inserted into power sockets of a power outlet.
Conclusion
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 Prior art cited by the examiner in the previous office action.