DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pressure relief member” claims 9 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
GROUND 1: Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a second changeover valve” which is unclear in view of the specification and the customary use of the meaning of the term “valve” as known to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA). That is, a valve is known to be a device which is used to start, stop or regulate fluid flow therethrough. Para 0028 states that the “second changeover valve 4 is a four-way pipe”, which is not a valve, but merely a fitting along the fluid paths of the coffee machine. Thus, it does not appear from the disclosure or drawings, that the second changeover valve 4 is capable of starting, stopping or regulating fluid flow therethrough. Appropriate clarification and correction i required.
Claims 2-20 are rejected as being necessarily dependent upon claim 1.
Claims 9 and 18 recite a pressure relief member which “makes pressure-relieved water flow back to the water tank” which leads to confusion as to how the relief member actually makes the water return to the tank. Para 0029, which describes the pressure relief member 8, but fails to disclose any structural elements thereof. In order to “make” the water return, the member must be a pump or other means which forces the water to return. However, it is unclear form the specification what the Applicant intends to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
GROUND 2: Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2023/117246 to Rossetto et al.
In regard to claims 1 and 11, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system for a coffee machine, comprising a water tank 1, a water pump 2, a first changeover valve 14, a second changeover valve (not labeled), a heating device 3 and an extraction assembly 4, wherein the water tank, the water pump and the first changeover valve are sequentially connected, the first changeover valve is sequentially connected with the heating device and the second changeover valve to form a first water path structure, the first changeover valve is connected with the second changeover valve to form a second water path structure, and the second changeover valve is connected with the extraction assembly (See Fig. 1).
In regard to claims 2 and 12, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system, wherein when the water pump draws a liquid in the water tank through the first water path structure to the extraction assembly while continuously pressurizing the liquid, an output pressure of the water pump is a first pressure value, and the output pressure is kept stable until extraction is completed (See Fig. 1 and pages 6-7).
In regard to claims 3, 5, 13 and 15, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system, wherein the first pressure value is 6 bar to 10 bar (see pages 2 and 7). It is noted, Rossetto et al. disclose a pump capable of pumping dispending water at a pressure between 4 bar and 25 bar, which reads on the cited claims. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regard to claims 4 and 14, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system, wherein when the water pump draws a liquid in the water tank through the second water path structure to the extraction assembly while continuously pressurizing the liquid, an output pressure of the water pump is a first pressure value, and the output pressure is kept stable until extraction is completed (See Fig. 1 and pages 6-7).
In regard to claims 9 and 19, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system, further comprising a flow controller 16 connected and arranged between the water tank and the water pump.
In regard to claims 10 and 20, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system, further comprising a steam assembly 22 connected with the second changeover valve (See Figs. 2-3). It is noted, as disclosed in the instant invention (see para 0031), the use and placement of “steam devices” in coffee machines are commonly known in the art. Furthermore, as broadly as claimed, the language does not require a steam assembly to be connected to the second valve, but merely connected with the second valve and thus may be connected to difference components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
GROUND 3: Claim(s) 6-7 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/117246 to Rossetto et al. in view of US Patent No. 11,839,326 to Juve.
In regard to claims 6-7 and 16-17, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system, wherein when the water pump draws a liquid in the water tank through the second water path structure to the extraction assembly (See rejections above) but are silent with respect to the water pump draws the liquid in the water tank while intermittently. Juve teaches of an analogous coffee machine having flow control over the water path thereof including the water pump, to enable control over the rate of water supplied to the coffee extraction system (See Figs. 1-4 and 9-21). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to intermittently pressure fluid to the extraction system of Rossetto et al. to create different flavor profiles of coffee as desired by the consumer, as tuaght by Juve and is well known in the art.
GROUND 4: Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/117246 to Rossetto et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0000237 to Wu.
In regard to claims 8 and 18, Rossetto et al. disclose a water path control system (See rejections above), but are silent with respect to a pressure relief member connected and arranged between the water pump and the first changeover valve, wherein the pressure relief member is connected to the water tank and makes pressure-relieved water flow back to the water tank. Wu teaches of an analogous coffee machine comprising a pressure relief valve 24 that returns water to the water tank 21 via pipe 27 (see Figs. 2-3 and para 0016). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to provide a pressure relief valve with return means in system of Rossetto et al. to conserve water as tuaght by Wu and is well known in the art.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993