DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the application 18/424,058 filed on 01-26-2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (1) as being anticipated by Foagate et al. (US PAT. 5,666,424).
Consider Claim 1, Fosgate teaches an impedance adaptation circuit(see fig. 1), used for being connected between a head unit(see fig. 1(100-105)) and an audio processing circuit(see fig. 1), the impedance adaptation circuit(see fig. 1) comprising:
an adaptation resistor(see fig. 1(110-115)) including a first end and a second end,
a switching element including a first end and a second end(see fig. 1(120));
wherein the first end of the adaptation resistor is connected to a first audio output end of the head unit and to a first audio input end of the audio processing circuit(see fig. 1); wherein the second end of the adaptation resistor is connected to the first end of the switching element(see fig. 1 and col. 4, line 30-col. 5, line 67);
wherein the second end of the switching element is connected to a second audio output end of the head unit and to a second audio input end of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67);
wherein the adaptation resistor includes a resistance value within a matched working impedance range of the head unit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 6, line 6-col. 7, line 67);
and wherein the switching element is configured to be in an on state during start-up load diagnostic of the head unit and switch off after the start-up load diagnostic is completed(see figs. 7-11 and col. 10, line 25-col. 13, line 67).
Consider Claim 2, Fosgate teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a relay or a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) (see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 9, line 67).
Consider Claims 6 and 7, Foagate teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the resistance value of the adaptation resistor is determined based on matched working impedance ranges of a plurality of different types of head units comprising the head unit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67); and an audio processing apparatus comprising: the impedance adaptation circuit of claim 1; and an audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67).
Consider Claims 8 and 9, Foagate teaches the audio processing apparatus wherein the impedance adaptation circuit and the audio processing circuit are integrated in the same package(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67); and the audio processing apparatus further comprising an impedance stabilization resistor connected in parallel with the impedance adaptation circuit, the impedance stabilization resistor to stabilize an input impedance of the audio processing circuit when the switching element of the impedance adaptation circuit switches off(see figs. 7-11 and col. 10, line 25-col. 13, line 67).
Consider Claim 11, Foagate teaches an impedance adaptation circuit(see fig. 1) comprising:
an adaptation resistor(see fig. 1(110-115)) including a first end and a second end, a switching element including a first end and a second end(see fig. 1(120)); wherein the first end of the adaptation resistor is connected to a first audio output end of the head unit and to a first audio input end of the audio processing circuit(see fig. 1); wherein the second end of the adaptation resistor is connected to the first end of the switching element(see fig. 1 and col. 4, line 30-col. 5, line 67);
wherein the second end of the switching element is connected to a second audio output end of the head unit and to a second audio input end of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67); wherein the adaptation resistor includes a resistance value within a matched working impedance range of the head unit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 6, line 6-col. 7, line 67);
and wherein the switching element is configured to be in an on state during start-up load diagnostic of the head unit and switch off after the start-up load diagnostic is completed(see figs. 7-11 and col. 10, line 25-col. 13, line 67).
Consider Claim 12, Fosgate teaches The impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a relay or a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) (see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 9, line 67).
Consider Claim 16, Foagate teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the resistance value of the adaptation resistor is determined based on matched working impedance ranges of a plurality of different types of head units comprising the head unit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
9. Claims 10 and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foagate et al. (US PAT. 5,666,424) in view of Vaughan et al. (US 2004/011771).
Consider Claim 10, Fosgate teaches a head unit; the impedance adaptation circuit an audio processing circuit; and a speaker, connected to an output of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67) but Fosgate does not explicitly teach an in-vehicle infotainment system.
However, Vaughan teaches an in-vehicle infotainment system, comprising: a head unit; the impedance adaptation circuit an audio processing circuit; and a speaker, connected to an output of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 2-4 and paragraphs[0016]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Vaughan into the teaching of Fosgate to provide a multi-channel audio system can be installed into any of a plurality of acoustically unique vehicle environments. A digital signal processing system for processing source audio signals generates a plurality of audio output signals to be coupled to audio transducers, wherein the digital signal processing system includes a multi-channel equalization filter. An equalization coefficient memory stores a plurality of equalization characteristic sets, each equalization characteristic set corresponding to a respective one of the vehicle environments. A controller couples a selected one of the equalization characteristic sets to the multi-channel equalization filter in response to a vehicle environment identification signal.
Consider Claims 17 and 18, Fosgate teaches an audio processing apparatus, comprising: the impedance adaptation circuit and an audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67); and the audio processing apparatus further comprising an impedance stabilization resistor connected in parallel with the impedance adaptation circuit, the impedance stabilization resistor to stabilize an input impedance of the audio processing circuit when the switching element of the impedance adaptation circuit switches off(see figs. 7-11 and col. 10, line 25-col. 13, line 67).
Consider Claim 19, Fosgate teaches a head unit; the impedance adaptation circuit an audio processing circuit; and a speaker, connected to an output of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67) but Fosgate does not explicitly teach an in-vehicle infotainment system.
However, Vaughan teaches an in-vehicle infotainment system, comprising: a head unit; the impedance adaptation circuit an audio processing circuit; and a speaker, connected to an output of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 2-4 and paragraphs[0016]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Vaughan into the teaching of Fosgate to provide a multi-channel audio system can be installed into any of a plurality of acoustically unique vehicle environments. A digital signal processing system for processing source audio signals generates a plurality of audio output signals to be coupled to audio transducers, wherein the digital signal processing system includes a multi-channel equalization filter. An equalization coefficient memory stores a plurality of equalization characteristic sets, each equalization characteristic set corresponding to a respective one of the vehicle environments. A controller couples a selected one of the equalization characteristic sets to the multi-channel equalization filter in response to a vehicle environment identification signal.
Consider Claim 20, Fosgate teaches
a head unit(see fig. 1(100-105));
an audio processing circuit(see fig. 1), the impedance adaptation circuit(see fig. 1) comprising:
an adaptation resistor(see fig. 1(110-115)) including a first end and a second end,
a switching element including a first end and a second end(see fig. 1(120));
wherein the first end of the adaptation resistor is connected to a first audio output end of the head unit and to a first audio input end of the audio processing circuit(see fig. 1); wherein the second end of the adaptation resistor is connected to the first end of the switching element(see fig. 1 and col. 4, line 30-col. 5, line 67);
wherein the second end of the switching element is connected to a second audio output end of the head unit and to a second audio input end of the audio processing circuit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 8, line 67);
wherein the adaptation resistor includes a resistance value within a matched working impedance range of the head unit(see figs. 1-6 and col. 6, line 6-col. 7, line 67);
and wherein the switching element is configured to be in an on state during start-up load diagnostic of the head unit and switch off after the start-up load diagnostic is completed(see figs. 7-11 and col. 10, line 25-col. 13, line 67); and a loudspeaker connected to the audio processing circuit(see fig.1); but Fosgate does not explicitly teach an in-vehicle infotainment system.
However, Vaughan teaches an in-vehicle infotainment system(see fig. 1), comprising: a head unit; an impedance adaptation circuit comprising: an adaptation resistor including a first end and a second end, a switching element including a first end and a second end; wherein the first end of the adaptation resistor is connected to a first audio output end of a head unit and to a first audio input end of an audio processing circuit (see figs. 2-4 and paragraphs[0016]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Vaughan into the teaching of Fosgate to provide a multi-channel audio system can be installed into any of a plurality of acoustically unique vehicle environments. A digital signal processing system for processing source audio signals generates a plurality of audio output signals to be coupled to audio transducers, wherein the digital signal processing system includes a multi-channel equalization filter. An equalization coefficient memory stores a plurality of equalization characteristic sets, each equalization characteristic set corresponding to a respective one of the vehicle environments. A controller couples a selected one of the equalization characteristic sets to the multi-channel equalization filter in response to a vehicle environment identification signal.
10. Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foagate et al. (US PAT. 5,666,424) in view of Gertz et al. (US PAT. 5,751,818).
Consider claim 3, Foagate does not explicitly teach the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermal switch, and the switching element switches off based on a current flowing in the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch being greater than a trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch.
However, Gertz teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermal switch, and the switching element switches off based on a current flowing in the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch being greater than a trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch (see figs. 1-2 and col.8, line 10-col. 9, line, 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Gertz into the teaching of Foagate to provide a circuit system for selectively switching between main and remote loudspeakers includes a pair of input terminals for applying an input audio signal to the loudspeakers. A first selector switch contact is provided in series with the main loudspeakers. A second selector switch contact is provided in series with the remote loudspeakers. A current-dependent resistance element is provided in series with the remote loudspeakers to protect the remote loudspeakers from overdrive. The circuit system may also include a second current-dependent resistance element and a cooperating defeat switch contact as well as a resistor and associated load limiting switch contact all in series with the remote loudspeakers.
Consider claim 4, Foagate as modified by Gertz teaches the impedance adaptation circuit, wherein the trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch is determined based on a voltage across the first audio output end of the head unit, the second audio output end of the head unit, and the resistance value of the adaptation resistor(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 9, line 67).
Consider claim 13, Foagate does not explicitly teach the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermal switch, and the switching element switches off based on a current flowing in the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch being greater than a trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch.
However, Gertz teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermal switch, and the switching element switches off based on a current flowing in the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch being greater than a trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch (see figs. 1-2 and col.8, line 10-col. 9, line, 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Gertz into the teaching of Foagate to provide a circuit system for selectively switching between main and remote loudspeakers includes a pair of input terminals for applying an input audio signal to the loudspeakers. A first selector switch contact is provided in series with the main loudspeakers. A second selector switch contact is provided in series with the remote loudspeakers. A current-dependent resistance element is provided in series with the remote loudspeakers to protect the remote loudspeakers from overdrive. The circuit system may also include a second current-dependent resistance element and a cooperating defeat switch contact as well as a resistor and associated load limiting switch contact all in series with the remote loudspeakers.
Consider claim 14, Foagate as modified by Gertz teaches the impedance adaptation circuit, wherein the trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch is determined based on a voltage across the first audio output end of the head unit, the second audio output end of the head unit, and the resistance value of the adaptation resistor(see figs. 1-6 and col. 7, line 6-col. 9, line 67).
11. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foagate et al. (US PAT. 5,666,424) in view of Kuells. (US 2015/0365774).
Consider Claim 5, Fosgate does not explicitly teach the impedance adaptation circuit wherein a result of the start-up load diagnostic comprises one of an open circuit impedance, a short circuit impedance, and a matched working impedance.
However, Kuells teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermal switch, and the switching element switches off based on a current flowing in the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch being greater than a trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch (see figs. 1, 3-9D and paragraphs[0028]-[0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Kuells into the teaching of Foagate to provide a self diagnostic loudspeaker load impedance testing system, or Push Here Diagnostic (PHD) system, located within a mixer/amplifier for testing loudspeaker connections to the mixer amplifier during installation and maintenance. The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test. A PHD analyzer within the mixer amplifier analyzes the response of the loudspeakers and related wiring to the test signal to detect a total system impedance that exceeds the amplifier rating and to detect short circuits in the wiring. The PHD analyzer illuminates an indicator when a fault occurs. The test is initiated by depressing a momentary contact switch within the mixer amplifier housing by inserting a tool through an opening in the mixer amplifier housing.
Consider Claim 15, Fosgate does not explicitly teach the impedance adaptation circuit wherein a result of the start-up load diagnostic comprises one of an open circuit impedance, a short circuit impedance, and a matched working impedance.
However, Kuells teaches the impedance adaptation circuit wherein the switching element comprises a positive temperature coefficient thermal switch, and the switching element switches off based on a current flowing in the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch being greater than a trip current of the positive temperature coefficient thermal switch (see figs. 1, 3-9D and paragraphs[0028]-[0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Kuells into the teaching of Foagate to provide a self diagnostic loudspeaker load impedance testing system, or Push Here Diagnostic (PHD) system, located within a mixer/amplifier for testing loudspeaker connections to the mixer amplifier during installation and maintenance. The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test. A PHD analyzer within the mixer amplifier analyzes the response of the loudspeakers and related wiring to the test signal to detect a total system impedance that exceeds the amplifier rating and to detect short circuits in the wiring. The PHD analyzer illuminates an indicator when a fault occurs. The test is initiated by depressing a momentary contact switch within the mixer amplifier housing by inserting a tool through an opening in the mixer amplifier housing.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Haulick et al.(US PAT.8,081,776) is cited to show other IMPEDANCE ADAPTATION CIRCUIT, AUDIO PROCESSING APPARATUS AND IN-VEHICLE INFOTAINMENT SYSTEM.
13. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M, can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2651 Patent Examiner
US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 07-01-2026