DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-13, filed 91/2026 with respect to 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection and the arguments were directed towards the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US 20190069244 A1) and Tripathi et al (US 20150362980A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses an electronic device ([0026] electronic device), comprising:
a display ([0026] display device 160);
at least one sensor module ([0026] sensor module 176);
a time module configured to receive time information ([0063] time-related data);
memory ([0026] memory 130);
a first processor ([0027] main processor);
a second processor, the second processor operating independently of the first processor ([0027] auxiliary processor); and
a sensor hub configured to transmit sensor data obtained by means of the at least one sensor module in a second mode to at least any one of the first processor and the second processor ([0027] the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., central processing unit or application processor) and an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing device, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communications processor) that is operated independently of the main processor 121 and additionally or alternatively uses lower power than the main processor 121 or is specialized for a designated function.),
wherein the memory stores one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the first processor ([0027] general purpose computer accesses code for implementing the processing shown herein, the execution of the code transforms the general purpose computer into a special purpose computer for executing the processing),
cause the electronic device to generate and output a first image in a first mode ([0061] state of being turned on (or powered on) in a first mode (or normal mode)), and
wherein the memory stores the one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the electronic device to:
receive a third image associated with the second image through functions to which power is not blocked by the first processor, in the second mode in which the first processor is in a sleep state where power is blocked to at least any one of a plurality of function blocks to be executed by the first processor ([0068] a sleep mode or an inactive/deactivated state, the component in question may be in a state where it cannot perform at least some of the functions that it can perform in normal mode or active state., [0027] the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., central processing unit or application processor) and an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing device, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communications processor) that is operated independently of the main processor 121 and additionally or alternatively uses lower power than the main processor 121 or is specialized for a designated function),
blend at least any one of the sensor data received from the sensor module and the time information received through the time module with the third image to generate the second image ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.), and
display the second image on the display ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image).
Tripathi discloses generate and output a second image while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor ([0024] the always-on component 16 may be configured to wake one or more peripheral components 18A-18n during a time that the CPU processors 30 are powered down, [0039] the peripherals 18A-18n may include video peripherals display controllers configured to display video data on one or more display devices, graphics processing units (GPUs),).
Jeon and Tripathi are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power management of Jeon to include generate and output a second image while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor as described by Tripathi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to always-on component may be configured to power up other components of the SOC while keeping the central processing unit (CPU) processors powered down, in order to perform a task assigned to such other component(s) (Tripathi, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jeon and Tripathi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon discloses wherein the third image is associated with at least a portion of the first image received from the first processor ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.)
Regarding claim 3, Jeon discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the electronic device to select and display at least any one of a plurality of image objects corresponding to the time information on the display, upon the second mode ([0084] the watch face image may include a clock face image(e.g., face and at least one of letters, numbers, symbols, images, etc., formed on the face)), and
wherein the plurality of image objects comprise at least any one of a plurality of hour image objects, a plurality of minute image objects, and a plurality of second image objects ([0084] at least one indicator image, such as an hour hand image, a minute hand image, and/or a second hand image.)
Regarding claim 4, Jeon discloses select and update any one of the plurality of minute image objects to the display every first period, in the second mode ([0088] depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion, information associated with the second motion, DDI ON command, or DDI OFF command) from the sensor module 376 or depending on the expiration of the timer.) and
select and update any one of the plurality of hour image objects to the display every second period different from the first period ([0084] the watch face image may include a clock face image(e.g., face and at least one of letters, numbers, symbols, images, etc., formed on the face) and at least one indicator image, such as an hour hand image, a minute hand image, and/or a second hand image.).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon discloses wherein the at least one sensor module senses at least any one of exercise information or biometric information of a user of the electronic device ([0086] the biometric information-related data from the sensor module), and
wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the electronic device to blend and display a sensor image generated based on the sensed at least any one of exercise information or biometric information of the user, the time information, and a background image corresponding to the third image on the display in the second mode ([0088] in the second mode, the display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data which are stored in the internal memory of the display, depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor cause the electronic device to:
select and update a sensor image corresponding to the exercise information and the biometric information of the user to the display every specified period, in the second mode ([0093] biometric signal may include an electric signal (e.g., an electrocardiogram signal, a pulse wave signal, etc.) output from the biosensor, and the biometric information may include at least one of user's identification information, physical information, emotion information, health information, disease information, exercise information, activity information, stress information, and sleep information)
Regarding claim 7, Jeon discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the electronic device to blend and display at least any one of the sensor data and the time information on a background image corresponding to the third image on the display ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon discloses wherein the second processor includes:
a meta parser configured to extract draw information for displaying the second image from pieces of meta data delivered from at least any one of the first processor and the at least one sensor module ([0092] sensor module 376 may transmit information associated with the motion to the processor 320 in the first mode, and may transmit the information associated with the motion to the display 360 in the second mode.), and
a data composer configured to generate the second image based on the extracted draw information ([0260] a screen (or graphical user interface (GUI)) including at least one graphical element 1410 (e.g., text, image, video, or a combination of some/all thereof) in a first mode.), and
wherein the meta data comprises a watch position at which the time information will be displayed, a position of the sensor data, and the third image associated with the first image ([0261] The home screen may include the at least one graphical element 1410 (e.g., a shortcut icon for executing frequently used applications, time, weather, and biometric information).).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon discloses wherein the sensor hub comprises:
a sensor service configured to process the sensor data received from the sensor module ([0064] The processor 320 may transmit, to the display 360, the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data based on the information associated with the first motion (or in response to the reception of the information associated with the first motion)); and
an inter-process communication (IPC) driver configured to deliver the sensor data processed from the sensor service to the second processor ([0066] the processor 320 may receive information associated with a second motion from the sensor module).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon discloses wherein the first mode is an active mode ([0061] state of being turned on (or powered on) in a first mode (or normal mode)), and
wherein the second mode is a low power display mode ([0061] a state of being turned off (or powered off) in a second mode (or watch only mode).),
Regarding claim 11, Jeon discloses an electronic device ([0026] electronic device), comprising:
a display ([0026] display device 160);
at least one sensor module configured to sense activity information of a user who uses the electronic device ([0026] sensor module 176);
memory ([0026] memory 130);
a first processor ([0027] main processor);
a second processor, the second processor operating independently of the first processor; ([0027] auxiliary processor); and
a sensor hub configured to transmit sensor data obtained by means of the at least one sensor module to the first processor in a first mode and transmit the sensor data to at least any one of the first processor and the second processor in a second mode ([0027] the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., central processing unit or application processor) and an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing device, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communications processor) that is operated independently of the main processor 121 and additionally or alternatively uses lower power than the main processor 121 or is specialized for a designated function.),
wherein the memory stores one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the first processor ([0027] general purpose computer accesses code for implementing the processing shown herein, the execution of the code transforms the general purpose computer into a special purpose computer for executing the processing),
cause the electronic device to generate and output a first image in the first mode ([0061] state of being turned on (or powered on) in a first mode (or normal mode)), and
wherein the memory stores the one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor cause the electronic device to:
receive a third image associated with the second image through functions to which power is not blocked by the first processor, in the second mode in which the first processor is in a sleep state where power is blocked to at least any one of a plurality of function blocks to be executed by the first processor ([0068] a sleep mode or an inactive/deactivated state, the component in question may be in a state where it cannot perform at least some of the functions that it can perform in normal mode or active state., [0027] the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., central processing unit or application processor) and an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing device, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communications processor) that is operated independently of the main processor 121 and additionally or alternatively uses lower power than the main processor 121 or is specialized for a designated function),
blend the received third image with the sensor data received from the sensor module to generate the second image ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.), and
display the second image on the display ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image).
Tripathi discloses generate and output a second image while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor ([0024] the always-on component 16 may be configured to wake one or more peripheral components 18A-18n during a time that the CPU processors 30 are powered down, [0039] the peripherals 18A-18n may include video peripherals display controllers configured to display video data on one or more display devices, graphics processing units (GPUs),).
Jeon and Tripathi are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power management of Jeon to include generate and output a second image while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor as described by Tripathi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to always-on component may be configured to power up other components of the SOC while keeping the central processing unit (CPU) processors powered down, in order to perform a task assigned to such other component(s) (Tripathi, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jeon and Tripathi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Jeon discloses a time module configured to receive time information,
wherein the at least one sensor module senses at least any one of exercise information and biometric information of the user of the electronic device ([0086] the biometric information-related data from the sensor module), and
wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the electronic device to:
upon the second mode, update at least any one of the sensor data generated based on the sensed information of the user and the time information every certain period ([0088] in the second mode, the display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data which are stored in the internal memory of the display, depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion)., and
blend and display the updated at least any one of the sensor data and the third image on the display ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon discloses wherein the second processor comprises:
a meta parser configured to extract draw information for displaying the second image from pieces of meta data delivered from at least any one of the first processor and the sensor module ([0092] sensor module 376 may transmit information associated with the motion to the processor 320 in the first mode, and may transmit the information associated with the motion to the display 360 in the second mode.), and
a data composer configured to blend at least any one of a sensor image and a watch image on a background image based on the extracted draw information to generate the second image ([0260] a screen (or graphical user interface (GUI)) including at least one graphical element 1410 (e.g., text, image, video, or a combination of some/all thereof) in a first mode.), and
wherein the meta data comprises a watch position at which the time information will be displayed, a position of the sensor data, and the third image associated with the first image ([0261] The home screen may include the at least one graphical element 1410 (e.g., a shortcut icon for executing frequently used applications, time, weather, and biometric information).).
Regarding claim 14, Jeon discloses wherein the sensor hub comprises:
a sensor service configured to process the sensor data received from the sensor module ([0064] The processor 320 may transmit, to the display 360, the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data based on the information associated with the first motion (or in response to the reception of the information associated with the first motion)); and
an inter-process communication (IPC) driver configured to deliver the sensor data processed from the sensor service to the second processor ([0066] the processor 320 may receive information associated with a second motion from the sensor module).
Regarding claim 15, Jeon discloses wherein the first mode is an active mode ([0061] state of being turned on (or powered on) in a first mode (or normal mode)), and
wherein the second mode is a low power display mode ([0061] a state of being turned off (or powered off) in a second mode (or watch only mode).),
Regarding claim 16, Jeon discloses a method at an electronic device ([0026] electronic device), the method comprising:
generating and outputting, by a first processor of the electronic device, a first image in a first mode ([0061] state of being turned on (or powered on) in a first mode (or normal mode));
receiving, by a time module, time information ([0063] time-related data);
sensing, by at least one sensor module, activity information of a user who uses the electronic device, in the first mode and the second mode ([0086] the biometric information-related data from the sensor module),;
transmitting, by a sensor hub, the activity information of the user, the activity information being sensed in the first mode, to the first processor and transmitting, by the sensor hub, the activity information of the user, the activity information being sensed in the second mode, to the second processor ([0088] in the second mode, the display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data which are stored in the internal memory of the display, depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion).;
receive a third image associated with the second image through functions to which power is not blocked by the first processor, in the second mode in which the first processor is in a sleep state where power is blocked to at least any one of a plurality of function blocks to be executed by the first processor ([0068] a sleep mode or an inactive/deactivated state, the component in question may be in a state where it cannot perform at least some of the functions that it can perform in normal mode or active state., [0027] the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., central processing unit or application processor) and an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing device, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communications processor) that is operated independently of the main processor 121 and additionally or alternatively uses lower power than the main processor 121 or is specialized for a designated function),
blending, by the second processor, at least any one of sensor data received from the sensor module and the time information received through the time module with the third image to generate the second image ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.); and
displaying, by the second processor, the second image on a display ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image).
Tripathi discloses generating and outputting, by a second processor of the electronic device while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor, a second image the second processor operating independently of the first processor ([0024] the always-on component 16 may be configured to wake one or more peripheral components 18A-18n during a time that the CPU processors 30 are powered down, [0039] the peripherals 18A-18n may include video peripherals display controllers configured to display video data on one or more display devices, graphics processing units (GPUs),).
Jeon and Tripathi are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power management of Jeon to include generating and outputting, by a second processor of the electronic device while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor, a second image the second processor operating independently of the first processor as described by Tripathi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to always-on component may be configured to power up other components of the SOC while keeping the central processing unit (CPU) processors powered down, in order to perform a task assigned to such other component(s) (Tripathi, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jeon and Tripathi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Jeon discloses wherein the at least one sensor module senses at least any one of exercise information and biometric information of the user of the electronic device ([0086] the biometric information-related data from the sensor module), and
wherein the method further comprises:
upon the second mode, blending and displaying, by the second processor, the sensor data generated based on the sensed information of the user, watch information, and the third image on the display ([0088] in the second mode, the display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data which are stored in the internal memory of the display, depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon discloses herein the generating and outputting of the second image in the second mode comprises:
selecting and updating a sensor image corresponding to at least any one of exercise information and biometric information of the user to the display every certain period ([0088] in the second mode, the display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data which are stored in the internal memory of the display, depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon discloses wherein the generating and outputting of the second image in the second mode comprises:
extracting draw information for displaying the second image from pieces of meta data delivered from at least any one of the first processor and the sensor module ([0092] sensor module 376 may transmit information associated with the motion to the processor 320 in the first mode, and may transmit the information associated with the motion to the display 360 in the second mode.),; and
blending at least any one of the sensor data and the time information on the third image based on the extracted draw information to generate the second image ([0260] a screen (or graphical user interface (GUI)) including at least one graphical element 1410 (e.g., text, image, video, or a combination of some/all thereof) in a first mode.), and
wherein the meta data comprises a watch position at which the time information will be displayed, a position of the sensor data, and the third image associated with the first image ([0261] The home screen may include the at least one graphical element 1410 (e.g., a shortcut icon for executing frequently used applications, time, weather, and biometric information).).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an electronic device to perform operations ([0274] implemented in hardware, firmware or via the execution of software or computer code that can be stored in a recording medium such as a CD ROM, a Digital Versatile Disc (DVD), a magnetic tape, a RAM, a floppy disk, a hard disk, or a magneto-optical disk or computer code downloaded over a network originally stored on a remote recording medium or a non-transitory machine readable medium and to be stored on a local recording medium), the operations comprising:
receiving, by a time module, time information ([0063] time-related data);
sensing, by at least one sensor module, activity information of a user who uses the electronic device, in the first mode and a second mode where the second processor is running at the lower power than in the first mode ([0086] the biometric information-related data from the sensor module),;
transmitting, by a sensor hub, the activity information of the user, the activity information being sensed in the first mode, to the first processor and transmitting, by the sensor hub, the activity information of the user, the activity information being sensed in the second mode, to the second processor ([0088] in the second mode, the display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data, the time-related data, and/or the biometric information-related data which are stored in the internal memory of the display, depending on the signal/command/information (e.g., a wake up signal, a sleep signal, information associated with the first motion).;
receive a third image associated with the second image through functions to which power is not blocked by the first processor, in the second mode in which the first processor is in a sleep state where power is blocked to at least any one of a plurality of function blocks to be executed by the first processor ([0068] a sleep mode or an inactive/deactivated state, the component in question may be in a state where it cannot perform at least some of the functions that it can perform in normal mode or active state., [0027] the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., central processing unit or application processor) and an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing device, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communications processor) that is operated independently of the main processor 121 and additionally or alternatively uses lower power than the main processor 121 or is specialized for a designated function), and
blending, by the second processor, at least any one of sensor data received from the sensor module and the time information received through the time module with the third image to generate the second image ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image and/or the biometric information-related data based on at least a portion of the image data and the time-related data.); and
displaying, by the second processor, the second image on a display ([0086] display 360 may display the watch face image).
Tripathi discloses generating and outputting, by a first processor of the one or more processors awhile the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor, a second image ,the second processor operating independently of the first processor ([0024] the always-on component 16 may be configured to wake one or more peripheral components 18A-18n during a time that the CPU processors 30 are powered down, [0039] the peripherals 18A-18n may include video peripherals display controllers configured to display video data on one or more display devices, graphics processing units (GPUs),).
Jeon and Tripathi are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power management of Jeon to include generating and outputting, by a second processor of the electronic device while the second processor is running at lower power than in the first mode in which the first processor while generating and outputting the first image is concurrently running with the second processor, a second image the second processor operating independently of the first processor as described by Tripathi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to always-on component may be configured to power up other components of the SOC while keeping the central processing unit (CPU) processors powered down, in order to perform a task assigned to such other component(s) (Tripathi, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jeon and Tripathi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, Jeon is silent to wherein, when a certain event occurs while the electronic device operates in the first mode, the electronic device switches to a low power display mode and the first processor switches from a wake- up state to the sleep state.
Tripathi discloses wherein, when a certain event occurs while the electronic device operates in the first mode, the electronic device switches to a low power display mode and the first processor switches from a wake- up state to the sleep state ([0034] Generally, a component may wake another component if that other component is inactive. Waking the component may include powering the component up (if the component is powered down) and restoring state to the component. Waking may further include causing the component to begin operation, e.g. on a particular item of work. An inactive component may be referred to as being asleep. When an active component is put to sleep, it may become inactive.).
Jeon and Tripathi are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power management of Jeon to include wherein, when a certain event occurs while the electronic device operates in the first mode, the electronic device switches to a low power display mode and the first processor switches from a wake- up state to the sleep state as described by Tripathi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to always-on component may be configured to power up other components of the SOC while keeping the central processing unit (CPU) processors powered down, in order to perform a task assigned to such other component(s) (Tripathi, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jeon and Tripathi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615