DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/02/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 19, 26 and 30 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 11 recites, “the other component” (line 5). It is suggested to replace it with “other component” for more clarity. Claim 26 is objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 11.
Claim 19 recites, “early transmission of the report” (line 13). It is suggested to replace it with “the transmission of the report” for more clarity. Claim 19 is objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 30.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites, “the configuration information that is indicative that the UE is to transmit the handover-associated measurement report before expiration of the handover preparation condition monitoring period is indicated as a preparation monitoring time fraction, the preparation monitoring time fraction is expressed as a fraction of the handover preparation condition monitoring period or as a quantity of times the first handover condition is to be satisfied during the handover preparation condition monitoring period” (lines 2-9). It is unclear what a “fraction” is technically referring to or in what relationship it corresponds to a “quantity of times” as these expressions represent different concepts. Further, it is unclear whether the “fraction” represents a ratio for the entire period, a sampling duty cycle, or a mere frequency. Claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rational applied to claim 17. For the sake of examination purpose only, it is interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-14, 19-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al (US Publication No. 2022/0286927 A1)1 in view of Merwaday et al (US Publication No. 2022/0014946 A1)2.
Regarding claim 1, Madadi discloses, a user equipment (UE) [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0102, user equipment (UE)], comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0084-0085, memory 330; note that every UE has at least one memory storing a code]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0084-0085, processor 310; note that every UE has at least one processor coupled with the memory operable to execute the code to cause the UE to perform action(s)]:
receive configuration information indicative of a first handover condition for handover of the UE from a serving network entity to a target network entity [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105, (at operation 503) the UE receives the measurement reporting related configuration information indicating setting the triggering conditions (i.e., first handover condition) for handover of the UE; note that a handover requires a handover from at least one serving entity to at least another another/target entity], the configuration information also indicative of a handover preparation condition monitoring period [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105, the measurement reporting related configuration information indicating of reporting intervals of the measurement reporting (i.e., handover preparation condition monitoring period)] and that the UE is to transmit a handover-associated measurement report before expiration of the handover preparation condition monitoring period [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the UE performs send the measurement report to the BS based on the measurement reporting parameters including the reporting intervals; further see ¶0115, the measurement reporting configuration parameters . . . includes but is not limited to as reportAmount, reportOnLeave, timeToTrigger, reportAddNeighMeas, reportInterval] based at least in part on satisfaction of the first handover condition during the handover preparation condition monitoring period [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the UE performs send the measurement report to the BS based on the measurement reporting parameters including triggering conditions (based on a satisfaction of the triggering conditions); further see ¶0114, the information element (IE) ReportConfigNR specifies criteria for triggering of an NR measurement reporting event and ¶0118-0119, A7-1, “entering condition”); note that since the handover is performed as a result of the measurement report triggered, the triggering condition is considered as the handover condition], wherein transmission of the report before the expiration of the handover preparation condition monitoring period is based on application of a digital . . . model [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, transmission of the measurement report by the UE according to the reporting intervals is based on ML model; see also “A1/ML assisted Measurement Reporting event method”];
transmit, before expiration of the handover preparation condition monitoring period, the handover-associated measurement report [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the UE sends/transmits the measurement report according to the reporting interval] based on the satisfaction of the first handover condition during the handover preparation condition monitoring period [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the UE sends/transmits the measurement report to the BS based on the measurement reporting parameters including triggering conditions (based on a satisfaction of the triggering conditions); further see ¶0114, the information element (IE) ReportConfigNR specifies criteria for triggering of an NR measurement reporting event and ¶0118-0119, A7-1, “entering condition”)].
Although Madadi discloses, “wherein transmission of the report before the expiration of the handover preparation condition monitoring period is based on application of a digital . . . model” and “transmit, before expiration of the handover preparation condition monitoring period, the handover-associated measurement report based on the satisfaction of the first handover condition during the handover preparation condition monitoring period” as set forth above, Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the digital model is modified to be “a digital twin model”, and participate in a handover operation for handover of the UE from the serving network entity to the target network entity based on transmission of the handover-associated measurement report.
However, Merwaday discloses, the digital model is modified to be “a digital twin model”[FIG. 13; its related descriptions; ¶0118 and 0153-0154, digital twin (DT) circuitry 830], and participate in a handover operation for handover of the UE from the serving network entity to the target network entity based on transmission of the handover-associated measurement report [FIG. 13; its related descriptions; ¶0152-0153, the UE participates in a handover from source gNB to target gNB based on transmission of measurement control and reports; see signal flows among the UE 1310, source gNB 1320, and target gNB].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi in order to cause the system to be able to improve resiliency of a wireless network by overcoming various service disruption factors and maximize availability and reliability of the wireless links [e.g., ¶0002 of Merwaday].
Regarding claim 2, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Madadi discloses, transmit the handover-associated measurement report to the serving network entity [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the UE sends/transmits the measurement report to the BS], Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, wherein the digital twin model is at one of a digital twin management function [¶0031 and 0113, note that DT circuitry 830 is in a MEC system as a network function].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 1 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, transmit the handover-associated measurement report to a digital twin management function associated with the serving network entity and the target network entity [FIG. 13; its related descriptions; ¶0154 and 0156, the DT 730 receives the measurement reports; note that the DT 830 is associated with source gNB and target gNB directly or indirectly (see signal flows of FIG. 13)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 1 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, determine, using a digital twin management function at the UE, that the first handover condition is expected to be satisfied during one or more future instances of the handover preparation condition monitoring period [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment. . . . In this manner, the simulated changes represent possible changes to the virtual environment and, as a result, possible changes to the physical environment. If, for example, a UE was moving at a rate of speed that would soon cause the UE to transition from having LoS of a gNB to not having LoS of the gNB, simulation of such change can be used to begin a handover from the gNB to another gNB prior to the UE not having LoS with the gNB; note that it is determined using digital twin model that the LoS of the UE toward gNB is transitioned from having LoS to not having LoS to satisfy a handover condition from the gNB to another gNB].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 4 as set forth above.
Although Madadi discloses, wherein the handover-associated measurement report is transmitted based at least in part on . . . that the first handover condition is to be satisfied during the handover preparation condition monitoring period [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the UE sends/transmits the measurement report to the BS based on the measurement reporting parameters including triggering conditions (based on a satisfaction of the triggering conditions); further see ¶0114, the information element (IE) ReportConfigNR specifies criteria for triggering of an NR measurement reporting event and ¶0118-0119, A7-1, “entering condition”)], Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, wherein the handover-associated measurement report is transmitted based at least in part on an expectation that the first handover condition is to be satisfied during the handover preparation condition monitoring period [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment. . . . In this manner, the simulated changes represent possible changes to the virtual environment and, as a result, possible changes to the physical environment. If, for example, a UE was moving at a rate of speed that would soon cause the UE to transition from having LoS of a gNB to not having LoS of the gNB, simulation of such change can be used to begin a handover from the gNB to another gNB prior to the UE not having LoS with the gNB; note that the measurement report is received based on determining using digital twin model that the LoS of the UE toward gNB is transitioned from having LoS to not having LoS to satisfy a handover condition from the gNB to another gNB].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 1 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, wherein the digital twin model is representative of a physical environment associated with the UE, the serving network entity, and the target network entity [¶0117, a digital twin is a real-time virtual representation of a physical entity such as an object, a system, or a process; further see ¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment; note that the physical environment is associated with the UE 1310, the source gNB 1320 and the target gNB 1330 with respect to FIG. 13].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 9 as set forth above. ,
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, wherein the digital twin model is further representative of . . . radio frequency coverage associated with the serving network entity and the target network entity [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment. . . . In this manner, the simulated changes represent possible changes to the virtual environment and, as a result, possible changes to the physical environment. If, for example, a UE was moving at a rate of speed that would soon cause the UE to transition from having LoS of a gNB to not having LoS of the gNB, simulation of such change can be used to begin a handover from the gNB to another gNB prior to the UE not having LoS with the gNB; note that the LoS (line of sight) is considered as a RF coverage].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 9 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, the physical environment is represented in the digital twin model [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment] by . . . predicted values that define a channel, at the UE, with respect to the other components of the physical environment, the other components of the physical environment include the serving network entity and the target network entity [¶0145, the simulated changes represent possible changes to the virtual environment and, as a result, possible changes to the physical environment. If, for example, a UE was moving at a rate of speed that would soon cause the UE to transition from having LoS of a gNB to not having LoS of the gNB, simulation of such change can be used to begin a handover from the gNB to another gNB prior to the UE not having LoS with the gNB; note that the LoS (line of sight) is considered as a channel at the UE; further see ¶0146].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 9 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, the physical environment is represented in the digital twin model [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment] by predicted locations of the UE [¶0145, UE was moving at rat rate of speed; further see ¶0146, likelihood that the UE continues on its current path] based on reference signal received power (RSRP) values at the UE with respect to other components of the physical environment [¶0119, received signal strength and ¶0149, RSRP at the UE], the other components of the physical environment include the serving network entity and the target network entity [¶0145, the gNB and another gNB; see also in FIG. 13, source gNB 1320 and target gNB 1330].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 9 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, the physical environment is represented in the digital twin model [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment] by predicted trajectories of the UE [¶0145, UE was moving at rat rate of speed; further see ¶0146, likelihood that the UE continues on its current path; further see ¶0119, the scope of the simulations covers the parameters of interest like locations and velocities of users, channel conditions (received signal strength, SINR, etc.) at the UEs] based on a history of reference signal received power (RSRP) values and associated timestamps at the UE [¶0119 received signal strength and ¶0149, RSRP at the UE] with respect to other components of the physical environment, the other components of the physical environment include the serving network entity and the target network entity [¶0145, the gNB and another gNB; see also in FIG. 13, source gNB 1320 and target gNB 1330].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 9 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, wherein the physical environment is represented in the digital twin model [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment] by predicted future reference signal received power (RSRP) values at the UE [¶0119 received signal strength and ¶0149, RSRP at the UE]based on predicted trajectories of the UE and predicted coverage distribution at the UE [¶0145, UE was moving at rat rate of speed; further see ¶0146, likelihood that the UE continues on its current path; further see ¶0119, the scope of the simulations covers the parameters of interest like locations and velocities of users, channel conditions (received signal strength, SINR, etc.) at the UEs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Madadi discloses, a serving network entity [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0103, base station (BS)], comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0073, 0077 and 0079, memory 290; note that every base station has at least one memory storing a code]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the serving network entity to [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0073-0076, processor 288; note that every base station has at least one processor coupled with the memory operable to execute the code to cause the base station to perform action(s)].
Since claim 19 is merely different from claim 1 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a serving network entity, but recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the serving network entity of claim 20 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, forward the handover-associated measurement report to the digital twin management function [¶0151, the DT circuitry 830 collects semantic and kinematic information, and network information and measurement reports; further see ¶0149, configured by gNB to report certain measurement events; note that signals from UE to DT circuitry is transmitted via a base station] when the digital twin model is at the digital twin management function [FIG. 13; its related descriptions; ¶0151, see DT circuitry 830].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the serving network entity of claim 20 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, determine, when the digital twin model is at the serving network entity, that the first handover condition is expected to be satisfied during one or more future instances of the handover preparation condition monitoring period [¶0145, the virtual environment memory 1030 represents a virtual environment that mirrors (e.g., is a digital twin of) the physical environment. . . . In this manner, the simulated changes represent possible changes to the virtual environment and, as a result, possible changes to the physical environment. If, for example, a UE was moving at a rate of speed that would soon cause the UE to transition from having LoS of a gNB to not having LoS of the gNB, simulation of such change can be used to begin a handover from the gNB to another gNB prior to the UE not having LoS with the gNB; note that it is determined using digital twin model that the LoS of the UE toward gNB is transitioned from having LoS to not having LoS to satisfy a handover condition from the gNB to another gNB].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the serving network entity of claim 22 as set forth above.
Madadi does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Merwaday discloses, transmit a handover request to the target network entity based at least in part on an expectation that the first handover condition is to be satisfied FIG. 13; its related descriptions; ¶0152-0153, the source gNB 1320 transmits HO request to target gNB 1330 based on transmission of measurement control and reports; see signal flows among the UE 1310, source gNB 1320, and target gNB].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Merwaday in the system of Madadi for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 9.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 11.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 12.
Regarding claim 29, since claim 29 recites similar features to claim 1 without additional features, claim 29 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, since claim 30 recites similar features to claim 19 without additional features, claim 30 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 19.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al (US Publication No. 2022/0286927 A1) in view of Merwaday et al (US Publication No. 2022/0014946 A1) and further in view of Park et al (US Publication No. 2021/0136762 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, the UE of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Madadi in view of Merwaday discloses, “in support of the digital twin model” [see FIG. 13 of Merwaday; supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1], Madadi in view of Merwaday does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Park discloses, receive a request to report a history of latest received reference signal received power (RSRP) values . . ., wherein the request specifies that the history is for a single cell, for all neighbor cells, or for a limited quantity of cells having strongest RSRP values [¶0066, in an aspect, step 3 includes measuring of the neighbor cell SSBs by the UE. For example, the serving network entity (e.g., gNB) may inform the UE of the SSB information for the neighbor cell (e.g., physical cell identity (PCI), SSB location, periodicity, etc.). The serving network entity may request the UE to report the measurements of the SSBs of the neighbor cell (e.g., the strongest SSB index, L1-RSRP of SSB, etc.)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Madadi in view of Merwaday with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Park to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Park into the system of Madadi in view of Merwaday would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to seamless mobility and reduce drop rates in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 15, 17-18 and 28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nam et al (US Publication No. 2023/0362681 A1) [FIG. 1; ¶0050-0051]
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Madadi was cited in an IDS.
2 Merwaday was cited in an IDS.