DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 18,20,21,22,23,24,25,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PELLISSARD et al. (WO 2022/248513 A1) with SEARCH machine translation.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PELLISSARD et al. (WO 2022/248513 A1) with SEARCH machine translation in view of LI et al. (US 2018/0129742 A1):
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PELLISSARD et al. (WO 2022/248513 A1) with SEARCH machine translation in view of Haupt et al. (EP 3 065 104 A1) with SEARCH machine translation:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 5/12/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 18-27 pending. Claims 1-17 canceled.
35 USC § 101 – Positive Statement
Claim 18 reflects the disclosed “generated” “generation” improvement [0083] in the technical field [002] “from a video dental scan”12 in view of applicant’s disclosure’s paragraphs [002][0083]:
--TECHNICAL FIELD
[002] The systems and methods described herein relate to dental structure modeling, and more specifically a method and system for modeling a dental structure from a video dental scan.
[0083] The 3D model generated from the dental scan videos may preserve the fine surface details obtained from the high-resolution clinical intraoral scan while providing accurate and precise measurements of the current position and orientation of a particular dental structure (e.g., one or more teeth). The clinical high-resolution intraoral scanner can use any suitable intra-oral imaging equipment such as a laser or structured light projection scanner.
3D model generation algorithm--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18,20,21,22,23,24,25,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PELLISSARD et al. (WO 2022/248513 A1) with SEARCH machine translation.
Re 18. (Original), PELLISSARD discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising machine-executable instructions that, upon execution by one or more computer processors, implements a method for delivering context based information to a mobile device in real time, the method comprising:
a memory for storing a set of instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the set of instructions to:
(a) provide a dental video scan of the dental structure of the subject using a camera of a mobile device (or likewise “a portable scanner”, pg. 4, 4th txt blk), wherein the dental structure of the subject comprises one or more oral landmarks (or likewise “a landmark”, pg. 38, 5th txt blk);
(b) analyze the dental video scan (or likewise “analysis of the image…scan”, pg. 20, 2nd txt blk) to identify an oral landmark (or likewise “another3 tooth”-“landmark”, pg. 38, 5th txt blk) of the one or more (other) oral landmarks;
(c) provide the 3D dental model of the dental structure of the subject (or likewise “acquiring … a digital three-dimensional model ”, pg. 3, last txt blk) ;
(d) compare the dental scan video with the 3D dental model to determine differences between the identified oral landmark in the two models (or likewise “a difference in…shapes and/or the positions of teeth in the updated model and in a reference model”, pg. 38, 5th txt blk); and
(e) update the 3D dental model to include the differences of the identified oral landmark (or likewise said “a difference in…shapes and/or the positions of teeth in the updated model and in a reference model”, pg. 38, 5th txt blk).
Re 20. (Original), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 18, wherein the analyzing of the dental video scan comprises
identifying at least one focus object (or likewise a “camera”4) in a frame (or likewise “films”, pg. 20, last txt blk) of the dental video scan,
generating a perspective focus plane (or likewise optical-lens images via a “camera”5) of the at least one focus object, and
identifying the relative distance (or likewise come to an identified position to a distance between the focal point of a lens (that is, the point at which the lens will focus parallel rays of light) and the lens itself as in the camera via a “lens”6) from the focus plane to the camera used to capture the dental video scan.
Re 21. (New), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 18, wherein the analyzing of the dental video scan comprises
determining a relative distance between a camera used to capture the dental video scan and the oral landmark identified in the dental video scan (or likewise “the portable scanner 6…lens…at a predetermined distance from the user’s teeth”, pg. 26, 1st txt blk: via figs. 2,3:
).
Re 22. (New), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 21,
wherein the identified oral landmark is the arch plane (or likewise “a landmark, for example…the updated…arch”, pg. 38, 5th txt blk) of a subject, and
wherein the relative distance comprises a distance from the arch plane to the camera used to capture the dental video scan (or said likewise a principle plane focal point distance via “the portable scanner 6…lens7…at a predetermined distance from the user’s teeth”, pg. 26, 1st txt blk: via figs. 2,3
Re 23. (New), PELLISSARD disclose The method of claim 18, wherein the analyzing of the dental video scan comprises determining
an object distance (or said likewise a principle plane focal point distance via “the portable scanner 6…lens8…at a predetermined distance from the user’s teeth”, pg. 26, 1st txt blk: via figs. 2,3) and9
time duration (or likewise “an updated10 time…by the user”, pg. 3, last txt blk) of at least two perspectives (or likewise “photos”, pg. 36, 1st txt blk) within the dental video scan.
Re 24. (New), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 18, wherein the updating comprises:
(i) applying structure from motion (SfM) to the dental video scan (or likewise “ structured light directly onto the patient's and acquires images different from photos; - in step a),the user modifies the angulation of the portable , preferably by moving”, pg. 9m 1st txt blk);
11
12.
Re 25. (New), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 18, wherein the 3D dental model is a generic model (or likewise a “conventional”-“model”, pg. 40, 1st txt blk).
Re 26. (New), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 18, wherein the 3D dental model comprises the dental structure (or likewise said “a landmark…in the updated model and in a reference model”, pg. 38, 5th txt blk) of the subject.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PELLISSARD et al. (WO 2022/248513 A1) with SEARCH machine translation in view of LI et al. (US 2018/0129742 A1):
Re 19. (Original), PELLISSARD discloses The method of claim 18, wherein the analyzing of the dental video scan comprises running a visual filter neural network to identify the tooth number (or likewise “the tooth number is then a classification13”, pg. 16, 5th txt blk, last S) of at least one tooth in the dental structure of the subject.
PELLISSARD does not teach the difference of claim 19 of:
a visual filter neural network.
Li teach the difference of claim 19 of:
a visual filter neural network (or likewise “a recurrent neural network, such as a long short term memory (LSTM) network. The long short term memory network may generate text driven filters (e.g., text driven visual filters)” [0082] penult S).
Since PELLISSARD suggests various networks, pg. 31, 5th txt blk, such as “LSTM”:
Preferably, a neural network specialized in image generation is used, for example:
- Cycle-Consistent Adversarial Networks (2017),
- Augmented CycleGAN (2018),
- Deep Photo Style Transfer (2017),
- FastPhotoStyle (2018),
- pix2pix (2017),
- Style-Based Generator Architecture for GANs (2018),
- SRGAN (2018),
- WaveGAN 2020
- GAN-LSTM 2019,
- CS GAN 2021,
- DivCo 2021.
one of skill in the art could have or would have done is look to others and thus can make PELLISSARD’s be as Li’s seeing in the change a preferred specialized neural network, PELLISSARD, pg. 31, 5th txt blk, 1st S, via creative explicit or even routine steps:
a) create a dimensional program based on PELLISSARD’s figure 7:
a1) write code to call a neural network program at PELLISSARD’d Extraoral acquisition step a):
a2) input the results of the neural network program to the remaining steps b) and c) of the dimensional program of PELLISSARD:
b) create a neural network image recognition program based on Li’s fig. 14:
b1) write code to return to PELLISSARD’s dimensional program’s Extraoral acquisition step a) at Li’s frame identification step 1404:
c) install/run the programs in PELLISSARD’s smartphone:
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PELLISSARD et al. (WO 2022/248513 A1) with SEARCH machine translation in view of Haupt et al. (EP 3 065 104 A1) with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 27. (New), PELLISSARD teaches The method of claim 21, wherein the relative distance is retrieved from metadata of the dental video scan.
PELLISSARD does not teach the difference of claim 27 of:
retrieved from metadata.
Haupt teach the difference of claim 27 of:
retrieved from metadata (or likewise “retrieving the information from the received metadata”, pg. 9, 3rd txt blk).
Since PELLISSARD suggests selecting an alternative camera, pg. 4, 3rd txt blk:
Extraoral (or "extrabuccal") acquisition devices, that is to say in which the acquisition sensor, in particular the sensor of a camera or a camera , is notintroduced into the mouth of the user, are recent and use photos to deform an initial model obtained with a conventional 3D optical scanner. The computer processing necessary for this deformation is costly.
one of skill in the art could have or would have done is look to others and thus make PELLISSARD’s be as Haupt’s seeing the change “an in-focus14 object of the image is located”, Haupt, pg. 9, 2nd txt blk, via explicit creative or even routing steps:
a) create a dimensional program based on PELLISSARD’s figure 7:
a1) write code to call a neural network program and an image focusing program at PELLISSARD’s Extraoral acquisition step a):
a2) input the results of the neural network program and the image focusing program to the remaining steps b) and c) of the dimensional program of PELLISSARD:
b) create a neural network image recognition program:
b1) write code to return to PELLISSARD’s dimensional program’s Extraoral acquisition step a);
c) create an image focusing program based on Haupt’s fig. 4:
c1) write code at Haupt’s step 223: “Determine the distance difference” to return to PELLISSARD’s Extraoral acquisition step a):
d) install/run the programs in PELLISSARD’s smartphone:
Conclusion
The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action:
Citation
Relevance
IDS (filed 05/15/2026) Saphier et al. (US 2021/0353152 A1) of US App. 18/424,237
Saphier teaches showing a change to update a model:
[0590] FIG. 19C illustrates third side view 1940 of a third 3D surface of the preparation tooth 1914 after further grinding has been performed to change a shape of the preparation tooth. Also shown is first side view 1905 of the first 3D surface of the preparation tooth superimposed over the third side view 1914 of the third 3D surface of the preparation tooth. Processing logic may show the change between the current 3D surface and a past 3D model (e.g., the immediate prior version of the 3D surface or one or more earlier versions of the 3D surface) of a preparation tooth to indicate to a doctor what has changed and/or to show which 3D surface is being used to update a preparation tooth in a 3D model of a dental arch or to update a 3D model of a preparation tooth. The doctor may override an automatic selection of which 3D surface to use, resulting in a different 3D model.
as the closest to the claimed “update the 3D model to include the differences” of claim 18.
Kitching et al. (US 2008/0305454 A1)
Kitching teaches updating a model includes changes and as such there are compared differences:
[0088] Segmented digital models used in the restaging processes can be updated to more accurately reflect the patient's current teeth where new data is obtained in progress tracking steps. Updating may include, e.g., accounting for changes in the external shape of the patient's teeth that occurred during the prior course of treatment. For example, in some instances treatment may include removal of a portion or exterior profile of one or more of a patient's teeth, such as interproximal reduction (IPR), so as to allow sufficient clearance for the movement of the teeth during the course of orthodontic treatment. Besides IPR, there may be other changes that have been made to the patient's teeth (e.g., removed tooth, dental filling, crown, and the like) subsequent to when initial patient scan or data was obtained and used to produce an initial treatment plan, including segmented model(s) of the patient's teeth, but prior to when the progress scan data was obtained. As such, there may be differences that exist between the exterior shapes of teeth in the original data as compared to the progress scan data. Accordingly, previously existing or initial data such as tooth shape in an existing segmented model can be modified so as to reflect detected changes. In the case of IPR, the previously obtained tooth exterior shape can be virtually trimmed to account for the actual trimming that occurred prior to the progress scan.
as the closest to the claimed “update the 3D model to include the differences” of claim 18.
LI et al. (US 2025/0302590 A1): herein referred to as LI I
LI I teaches difference comparing and updating a 3D model based on the comparison error:
[0013] For example, described herein are methods of forming a 3D dental model of an individual's dentition. These methods may include: (1) obtaining an set of 3D parameters for the individual's dentition; (2) constructing a parametric 3D dental model of the individual's dentition with the set of 3D parameters; (3) applying a differentiable renderer to the parametric 3D dental model to derive a 2D rendering of the individual's dentition; (4) obtaining an original 2D image of the individual's dentition; (5) extracting features from the original 2D image; (6) comparing the 2D rendering to the extracted features to derive an image loss function from a difference of the original 2D image and the 2D rendering at each pixel location; (7) performing back-propagation from the image loss function to calculate gradients of loss with respect to the set of 3D parameters; (8) updating the set of 3D parameters based on the calculated gradients; (9) revising the parametric 3D dental model of the individual's dentition with the updated set of 3D parameters; and (10) outputting the parametric 3D dental model.
as the closest to the claimed “update the 3D model to include the differences” of claim 18.
IDS (filed 5/15/2026 & 04/17/2025 & 05/21/2024) cited LI et al. (US 2020/0000551):
(1) a 35 USC 102 reference of US App. 18/157,280; and
(1) an X-reference of PCT/US2021/042247 (NOV 03 2021) and
(2) a D1 reference of 21846558.1 – 1207/ 4185993 PCT/US2021042247:
herein referred to as LI II:
based on this review, LI et al. (US 2020/0000551) appears applicable under
35 USC 102(a)(1) & 35 USC 102(a)(2) regarding claim 18.
LI II teaches “photo15…scanning”16- “appliance” [0174], 2nd S:”photo” & [0199],10th S: “appliance…scanning” (i.e., handheld, photo scanning tool/utensil) and updating a math-variable-model (as a function of a PCA matrix difference Еαβ: see following text-block entry below):
[0121] At block 740, an optimization parameter or subset of parameters are added to the parametric model. For example, optimization of the parametric model may begin with Φ and T, then after iterating through the EM blocks 720 and 730, additional parameters are added. For example, T.sub.τ may be added and then optimized through the EM blocks 720 and 730 for additional iterations. The number of iterations before adding additional parameters may vary. In some embodiments, the EM blocks 720 and 730 may be iterated through 3, 5, 7, 10, 15, 20, or an arbitrary number (e.g., any integer) of times. Finally, a.sub.τ.sup.i may be added to the parametric model, which is processed though the EM blocks 720 and 730 until convergence is reached. During this process, outliers may be determined and filtered out. In some embodiments, after block 740, rather than looping back to block 720 and proceeding directly to the expectation step, the process 700 may loop back to block 710, where a coarse alignment procession is performed based on the updated parametric model.
as the closest to the claimed “camera of a mobile device” and “update the 3D model to include the differences” of claim 18.
Said IDS (filed 5/15/2026 & 04/17/2025 & 05/21/2024) cited LI et al. (US 2020/0000551):
(1) a 35 USC 102 reference of US App. 18/157,280
&
(2) an X-reference of PCT/US2021/042247 International Search Report and Written Opinion dated November 3, 20201
&
(3) a D1 reference of 21846558.1 – 1207/ 4185993 PCT/US2021042247:
herein referred to as LI II:
based on this review, LI et al. (US 2020/0000551) appears applicable under
35 USC 102(a)(1) & 35 USC 102(a)(2) regarding claim 18.
LI II teaches said PCA matrix difference Еαβ:
[0079] To generate a parametric 3D model of a patient's tooth from a 3D tooth model derived from an image of a patient's tooth or from another method known in the art, the tooth may be modeled based on displacement of the scanned tooth surface from a fixed shape, such as a fixed sphere. To illustrate this point, reference is made to FIG. 2, illustrating a parametric tooth model, in accordance with one or more embodiments herein. In the example of FIG. 2, a sphere 210 having a plurality of vertices in fixed or known locations and orientations is shown. A tooth 220 may be placed or otherwise modeled at the center of the sphere 210. In some embodiments, the center of volume of the tooth 220, the scanned portion of the tooth 220, or the crown of the tooth 220, may be aligned with the center of the sphere 210. Then each vertex 230a, 230b of the sphere 210 may be mapped to a location on the surface of the tooth model. In some embodiments, the mapping may be represented by an n*3 matrix, where n represents the number of points on the sphere, such as 2500, and then for each point, the x, y, and z location is recorded. In some embodiments, the matrix stores the difference between a location on a mean tooth with the corresponding position on the model of the actual. In this way, each tooth is represented by the same 2500 points, and differences between the teeth are easily compared with each other. The difference may be represented using PCA components as Σ.sub.i.sup.|b.sup.τ.sup.|a.sub.τ.sup.iB.sub.τ.sup.i, wherein each specific case eventually has a unique set of a.sub.τ.sup.i, since B.sub.τ.sup.i is generic for all cases. To illustrate this point, reference is made to FIG. 3A, showing an example of how well parametric models 320 of the teeth match the original 3D models 310. The parameters of a particular tooth may be stored in a datastore, such as a database and may be represented by a.sub.τ.sup.i.
as the closest to the claimed “update the 3D model to include the differences” of claim 18.
Said IDS (filed 5/15/2026 & 04/17/2025 & 05/21/2024) cited LI et al. (US 2020/0000551):
(1) a 35 USC 102 reference of US App. 18/157,280
&
(2) an X-reference of PCT/US2021/042247 International Search Report and Written Opinion dated November 3, 20201
&
(3) a D1 reference of 21846558.1 – 1207/ 4185993 PCT/US2021042247:
herein referred to as LI II:
based on this review, LI et al. (US 2020/0000551) appears applicable under
35 USC 102(a)(1) & 35 USC 102(a)(2) regarding claim 18.
LII implies landmark17:
[0187] The scanned tooth normalization engine 1354 may implement one or more automated agents configured to parameterize the scanned teeth of a set of treatment plans gathered from the treatment plan datastore 1370 and then determines the mean set of general generic parameters for the parametric model. The scanned tooth normalization engine 1354 may carry out process 350, as described with reference to FIG. 3B. For example, the scanned tooth normalization engine 1354 may align the arches within the historic cases retrieved from the datastore 1370. Each arch in the datastore is aligned at three locations: between the central incisors and at each distal end of the left and right side of each arch. Each tooth's position and orientation is then determined based on its location and orientation with reference to the alignment points:
as the closest to the claimed “oral landmark” of claim 18.
IDS cited Dmitry TUZOFF et al. (US 2020/146646 A1): a D1 reference of 22850389.2 - 1218 / 4377840 PCT/US2022038943: this application (at sheets 2,3) has claim 15 (with lack of unity) that resembles claim 18 of 18/424,169.
DMITRY teaches a visual filter (fig. 6:1116: “Filters (0)”) neural network (fig. 1: “Faster R-CNN is a single unified network consisting of two modules: the regional proposal network (RPN) and object detector.” [0020] 3rd S).
as the closest to the claimed “visual filter neural network” of claim 18.
/DENNIS ROSARIO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667
1 scan: Medicine/Medical, Biology.
a. examination of the body or an organ or part, or a biologically active material, by means of a technique such as computed axial tomography, nuclear magnetic resonance, ultrasonography, or scintigraphy.
b. the image or display so obtained. (Dictionary.com: AMERICAN)
2 scan: med
a. the examination of a part of the body by means of a scanner
b. the image produced by a scanner (Dictionary.com: BRITISH)
3 another: different; distinct; of a different period, place, or kind, wherein distinct is defined: distinguished as not being the same; not identical; separate (sometimes followed by from ), wherein distinguished is defined: to recognize as distinct or different; recognize the salient or individual features or characteristics of, wherein recognize is defined: to identify as something or someone previously seen, known, etc. (Dictionary.com)
4 camera: an optical device consisting of a lens system set in a light-proof construction inside which a light-sensitive film or plate can be positioned See also cine camera digital camera, wherein lens is defined:
2 a. A piece of glass or plastic shaped so as to focus or spread light rays that pass through it, often for the purpose of forming an image.
b. A combination of two or more such lenses, as in a camera or telescope,
wherein focus is defined: to bring or come to a focus or into focus, wherein focus is defined: another name for focal point focal length, wherein focal length is defined: The distance between the optical center of a lens or mirror to its focal point,, wherein center is defined: a principal point, place, or object, wherein focal point is defined: Also called focus (Dictionary.com)
5 camera: an optical device consisting of a lens system set in a light-proof construction inside which a light-sensitive film or plate can be positioned See also cine camera digital camera, wherein lens is defined: a piece of glass or other transparent material, used to converge or diverge transmitted light and form optical images (Dictioanry.com)
6 lens: A piece of glass or plastic shaped so as to focus or spread light rays that pass through it, often for the purpose of forming an image, wherein focus is defined: to bring to a focus or into focus; cause to converge on a perceived point, wherein bring is defined: to cause to come into a particular position, state, or effect, wherein particular is defined: distinguished or different from others or from the ordinary; noteworthy; marked; unusual, wherein distinguish is defined: to perceive clearly by sight or other sense; discern; recognize, wherein perceive is defined: to become aware of, know, or identify by means of the senses, wherein focus is defined: the focal length of a lens; the distance from a focal point to a corresponding principal plane, wherein focal length is defined: The distance between the focal point of a lens (that is, the point at which the lens will focus parallel rays of light) and the lens itself. (Dictionary.com)
7 lens: 2
a. A piece of glass or plastic shaped so as to focus or spread light rays that pass through it, often for the purpose of forming an image.
b. A combination of two or more such lenses, as in a camera or telescope, wherein focus is defined: to bring to a focus or into focus; cause to converge on a perceived point, wherein focus is defined:
Optics.
the focal point of a lens, on which rays converge or from which they deviate.
the focal length of a lens; the distance from a focal point to a corresponding principal plane.
(Dictionary.com)
8 lens: 2
a. A piece of glass or plastic shaped so as to focus or spread light rays that pass through it, often for the purpose of forming an image.
b. A combination of two or more such lenses, as in a camera or telescope, wherein focus is defined: to bring to a focus or into focus; cause to converge on a perceived point, wherein focus is defined:
Optics.
the focal point of a lens, on which rays converge or from which they deviate.
the focal length of a lens; the distance from a focal point to a corresponding principal plane.
(Dictionary.com)
9 “and” is “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation” MPEP 2143 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para, 2nd S, wherein and is defined: (used to connect alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
10 update: Computers. to incorporate new or more accurate information in (a database, program, procedure, etc.), wherein incorporate is defined: to take in or include as a part or parts, as the body or a mass does, wherein take is defined: to determine by inquiry, examination, measurement, scientific observation, etc.. (Dictionary.com).
11 “or” is “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation” MPEP 2143 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para, 2nd S, wherein or is defined: (used to connect words, phrases, or clauses representing alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
12 The MPEP 2143 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para, 2nd S
13 classification: the act of classifying, wherein classifying is defined: to arrange or organize by classes; order according to class., wherein class is defined: a number of persons or things regarded as forming a group by reason of common attributes, characteristics, qualities, or traits; kind; sort, wherein regarded is defined: to look at; observe, wherein observe is defined: to see, watch, perceive, or notice, where perceive is defined: to become aware of, know, or identify by means of the senses. (Dictionary.com) . .
14 focus: Optics. the position of a viewed object or the adjustment of an optical device necessary to produce a clear image. (Dictionary.com)
15 photo: short for photograph, wherein photograph is defined: Often shortened to: photo. an image of an object, person, scene, etc, in the form of a print or slide recorded by a camera on photosensitive material (Dictionary.com)
16 scan: Medicine/Medical, Biology. to examine (a body, organ, tissue, or other biologically active material) with a scanner, wherein scanner is defined: Photography. any device for exposing an image on film, a sensitized plate, etc., by tracing light along a series of many closely spaced parallel lines. (Dictionary.com)
17 landmark:
a: a conspicuous object on land that marks a locality
b : an anatomical structure (i.e., “Each arch”: fig, 4) used as a point (or “three locations”: fig. 4:410,420,430) of orientation (“tooth’s…orientation”) in locating other structures (or “Each tooth’s position…is then determined”) (Merriam-Webster.com)