DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 6/15/26 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro et al. (Pub. No.: 2025/0183990), herein Fujishiro.
As to claim 1, Fujishiro teaches a network-controlled repeater (NCR), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fujishiro [0070] The NCR-MT 520A includes a receiver 521, a transmitter 522, and a controller 523. The controller 523 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processing by the processor); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the NCR to:
receive, from a network entity via a serving cell associated with the NCR, first control signaling indicating one or more sub-bands for a channel measurement on a component carrier associated with network-controlled forwarding (Fujishiro [0123] In step S102, based on the capability information received from the NCR-MT 520A in step S101, the gNB 200 transmits to the NCR-MT 520A at least one of configuration information for handing over the NCR-MT 520A to the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, configuration information for configuring the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, configuration information for configuring the beam management of the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, and configuration information for configuring the measurement of the operating frequencies of the NCR-Fwd 510A. The configuration information is transmitted from the gNB 200 to the NCR-MT 520A via the control link.)
wherein the one or more sub-bands are at least partially non-overlapping with a frequency range associated with the serving cell (Fujishiro [0152] the NCR-MT 520A receives beam information indicating the beam of the neighboring cell (non-overlapping frequency of the serving cell) from the serving cell via the control link, and performs processing of receiving the beam of the neighboring cell based on the received information. And [0154] In step S501, the gNB 200a may configure the SSB measurement of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) to the NCR-MT 520A [0155] In step S502, the NCR-MT 520A measures the beam (SSB) of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) and specifies the SSB transmission timing of the neighboring cell)
transmit, to the network entity based at least in part on reception of the first control signaling, the channel measurement associated with the one or more sub-bands (Fujishiro [0155] In step S502, the NCR-MT 520A measures the beam (SSB) of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) and specifies the SSB transmission timing of the neighboring cell; and
relay signaling over the one or more sub-bands based at least in part on transmitting the channel measurement (Fujishiro [0156] In step S503, the NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A so as to avoid the timing specified in step S502 and relay the SSB of the gNB 200a (serving cell). The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A so as not to perform a relay operation at a timing at which SSB transmission conflicts between the serving cell and the neighboring cell. The NCR-MT 520A may notify the gNB 200a (serving cell) of the timing specified in step S502)
As to claim 8, Fujishiro teaches a network entity, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fujishiro [0074] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating a configuration example of the gNB 200 according to the first embodiment. The gNB 200 includes a transmitter 210, a receiver 220, a controller 230, and a backhaul communicator 240); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output, to a network-controlled repeater (NCR) via a serving cell associated with the NCR, first control signaling indicating one or more sub-bands for a channel measurement on a component carrier associated with network-controlled forwarding (Fujishiro [0123] In step S102, based on the capability information received from the NCR-MT 520A in step S101, the gNB 200 transmits to the NCR-MT 520A at least one of configuration information for handing over the NCR-MT 520A to the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, configuration information for configuring the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, configuration information for configuring the beam management of the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, and configuration information for configuring the measurement of the operating frequencies of the NCR-Fwd 510A. The configuration information is transmitted from the gNB 200 to the NCR-MT 520A via the control link. The configuration information may be an information element included in the RRC message transmitted from the gNB 200 to the NCR-MT 520A, for example, the RRC reconfiguration message)
wherein the one or more sub-bands are at least partially non-overlapping with a frequency range associated with the serving cell (Fujishiro [0152] the NCR-MT 520A receives beam information indicating the beam of the neighboring cell (non-overlapping frequency of the serving cell) from the serving cell via the control link, and performs processing of receiving the beam of the neighboring cell based on the received information. And [0154] In step S501, the gNB 200a may configure the SSB measurement of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) to the NCR-MT 520A [0155] In step S502, the NCR-MT 520A measures the beam (SSB) of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) and specifies the SSB transmission timing of the neighboring cell)
obtain, from the network entity based at least in part on output of the first control signaling, the channel measurement associated with the one or more sub-bands (Fujishiro [0155] In step S502, the NCR-MT 520A measures the beam (SSB) of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) and specifies the SSB transmission timing of the neighboring cell; and
output signaling over the one or more sub-bands based at least in part on the channel measurement (Fujishiro [0156] In step S503, the NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A so as to avoid the timing specified in step S502 and relay the SSB of the gNB 200a (serving cell). The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A so as not to perform a relay operation at a timing at which SSB transmission conflicts between the serving cell and the neighboring cell. The NCR-MT 520A may notify the gNB 200a (serving cell) of the timing specified in step S502)
As to claim 15, Fujishiro teaches a method for wireless communications by a network-controlled repeater (NCR), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity via a serving cell associated with the NCR, first control signaling indicating one or more sub-bands for a channel measurement on a component carrier associated with network-controlled forwarding (Fujishiro [0123] In step S102, based on the capability information received from the NCR-MT 520A in step S101, the gNB 200 transmits to the NCR-MT 520A at least one of configuration information for handing over the NCR-MT 520A to the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, configuration information for configuring the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, configuration information for configuring the beam management of the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, and configuration information for configuring the measurement of the operating frequencies of the NCR-Fwd 510A. The configuration information is transmitted from the gNB 200 to the NCR-MT 520A via the control link. The configuration information may be an information element included in the RRC message transmitted from the gNB 200 to the NCR-MT 520A, for example, the RRC reconfiguration message)
wherein the one or more sub-bands are at least partially non-overlapping with a frequency range associated with the serving cell (Fujishiro [0152] the NCR-MT 520A receives beam information indicating the beam of the neighboring cell (non-overlapping frequency of the serving cell) from the serving cell via the control link, and performs processing of receiving the beam of the neighboring cell based on the received information. And [0154] In step S501, the gNB 200a may configure the SSB measurement of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) to the NCR-MT 520A [0155] In step S502, the NCR-MT 520A measures the beam (SSB) of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) and specifies the SSB transmission timing of the neighboring cell)
transmitting, to the network entity based at least in part on receiving the first control signaling, the channel measurement associated with the one or more sub-bands (Fujishiro [0155] In step S502, the NCR-MT 520A measures the beam (SSB) of the neighboring gNB 200b (neighboring cell) and specifies the SSB transmission timing of the neighboring cell; and
relaying signaling over the one or more sub-bands based at least in part on transmitting the channel measurement (Fujishiro [0156] In step S503, the NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A so as to avoid the timing specified in step S502 and relay the SSB of the gNB 200a (serving cell). The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A so as not to perform a relay operation at a timing at which SSB transmission conflicts between the serving cell and the neighboring cell. The NCR-MT 520A may notify the gNB 200a (serving cell) of the timing specified in step S502)
As to claim 2, Fujishiro teaches the NCR of claim 1, wherein the one or more sub-bands correspond to a frequency range, a radio frequency band, the component carrier, or a bandwidth part of the component carrier (Fujishiro [0123] the measurement of the operating frequencies of the NCR-Fwd)
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 10-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro and Choi et al. (2025/0175813), herein Choi.
As to claim 3, Fujishiro teaches the NCR of claim 1,
Fujishiro does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the NCR to: receive, from the network entity based at least in part on the channel measurement, second control signaling indicating control information associated with the network-controlled forwarding via the one or more sub-bands.
However Choi does teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the NCR to: receive, from the network entity based at least in part on the channel measurement, second control signaling indicating control information associated with the network-controlled forwarding via the one or more sub-bands (Choi [0066] According to an embodiment, the network-controlled repeater (NCR) may perform carrier sensing under the control of the base station or may perform carrier sensing alone. [0067] Referring to FIGS. 5 and 6, a signal is detected in area C through carrier sensing around the NCR and then the NCR may attempt beam search only in area C as shown in FIG. 6. This series of procedures may be managed by the base station (e.g., gNB) through the control link or managed by adding a control unit to the NCR itself and Fig. 7 communication between the gNB, NCR and UE and updating the beam candidate group)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro and Choi, because Choi teaches us [0066] even after the beam search procedure is initiated, carrier sensing may be continuously performed and the beam candidate group may be updated, thereby The NCR may provide data collected setting an optimal beam. during the carrier sensing process to the base station to support the beam setting procedure of the base station.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 4, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the NCR of claim 3, wherein the control information indicates an amplification gain, a transmission power, an on-off operation, one or more backhaul beams, one or more access-link beams, a quantity of antenna elements, or a combination thereof (Choi [0041] Communication through the control link enables the exchange of side control information, such as beamforming, UL/DL switching, and ON/OFF tuning for managing the NCR-Fwd)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro and Choi for the same reasons stated in claim 3
Claims 11 and 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 5, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the NCR of claim 1, wherein the channel measurement comprises a received signal strength indicator in an intermediate frequency domain or a radio frequency domain (Choi [0063] Referring to FIG. 5, carrier sensing is to measure the strength of a signal input to an NCR, and may be performed in a variety of ways)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro and Choi for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
As to claim 6, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the NCR of claim 1, wherein the channel measurement comprises a precoding matrix indicator or a channel quality indicator (Choi [0068] According to an embodiment, in the carrier sensing procedure, the strength of a signal coming from the user equipment to the base station or the NCR may be measured, the strength of reflected wave of a signal transmitted from the base station or the NCR may be measured, or various measurement indicators (e.g., received signal received power (RSRP), and a channel quality indicator (CQI)) included in messages transmitted and received by the communication protocol may be used. This improves the accuracy of carrier sensing, thus enabling more precise setting of the beam candidate group)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro and Choi for the same reasons stated in claim 3
As to claim 7, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the NCR of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the NCR to: receive, from the network entity based at least in part on transmission of the channel measurement, third control signaling indicating the one or more sub-bands associated with a scheduled forwarding operation (Choi [0049] That is, in the present disclosure, a base station may set a communication-possible area through carrier sensing, and may form, on the basis of this, a beam candidate group and perform a beam search procedure. In addition, the base station may update a beam candidate group by using various types of measurement information, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and a channel quality indicator (CQI), received from a user equipment, thereby improving the accuracy of beam search. Through this, wide beam search (step P-1) is shortened and narrow beam search (step P-2) is directly entered, so that a beam may be efficiently set) and adjust an amplification gain associated with the scheduled forwarding operation (Choi [0042] The NCR-Fwd 203 is a function for amplifying DL/UL RF signals or performing beamforming for transfer, and does not include any digital transmission and reception logic. The NCR-Fwd is controlled according to a control signal of the gNB received by the NCR-MT. When the NCR-Fwd first receives a signal from the DL or the UL, the NCR-Fwd performs appropriate beamforming and amplifies the power of the received signal and transfers the signal to the corresponding link, and needs to have an appropriate antenna configuration for performing this.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro and Choi for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
As to claim 12, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the network entity of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output, to a user equipment via the network-controlled forwarding based at least in part on the channel measurement, third control signaling indicating a configuration of a frequency domain resources associated with a second channel measurement or associated with a communication (Choi [0049] That is, in the present disclosure, a base station may set a communication-possible area through carrier sensing, and may form, on the basis of this, a beam candidate group and perform a beam search procedure. In addition, the base station may update a beam candidate group by using various types of measurement information, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and a channel quality indicator (CQI), received from a user equipment, thereby improving the accuracy of beam search. Through this, wide beam search (step P-1) is shortened and narrow beam search (step P-2) is directly entered, so that a beam may be efficiently set)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro and Choi for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 13, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the network entity of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output, to a user equipment via the network-controlled forwarding based at least in part on the channel measurement, third control signaling indicating a configuration of a modulation and coding scheme for communication of data with the user equipment via the network-controlled forwarding (Fujishiro [0142] The CSI feedback information may include information for determining the MCS of the beam. The type of the CSI feedback information may include channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (L1), a rank indicator (RI), and a L1-RSRP)
As to claim 14, the combination of Fujishiro and Choi teach the network entity of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: adjust a transmission power associated with the signaling based at least in part on the channel measurement (Fujishiro [0085] The NCR control signal may include beam control information for designating a transmission direction, a transmission weight, or a beam pattern for the NCR-Fwd 510A to perform directional transmission. The beam control information may be associated with the frequency control information (center frequency). The beam control information may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI). The beam control information may include beam forming angle information. When the NCR control signal received from the gNB 200 includes the beam control information, the NCR-MT 520A (controller 523) controls the NCR-Fwd 510A such that the NCR-Fwd 510A forms a transmission directivity (beam) indicated by the beam control information (step S2A). Since the NCR control signal includes the beam control information, the gNB 200 can control the transmission directivity of the NCR apparatus 500A via the NCR-MT 520A)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant states that Fujishiro fails to disclose “control signaling indicating one or more sub-bands for a channel measurement on a component carrier associated with network-controlled forwarding” (applicant remarks page 7 last paragraph). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Fujishiro teaches us [0122] The capability information may be information indicating whether or not the control link connection is possible at the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, that is, whether or not the NCR-MT 520A can operate at the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A. The capability information may be information indicating whether or not SSB monitoring (SSB reception) is possible at the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, that is, whether or not including the receiver 540. The capability information may be information indicating whether or not beam management is possible at the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A, for example, beam selection capability, beam monitoring capability, beam recovery capability, and the like. The capability information may be information indicating whether or not radio measurement in the operating frequency of the NCR-Fwd 510A is possible, for example, measurement capability and/or reporting capability of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, or the like. The capability information may be information indicating whether simultaneous reception of the control link and the backhaul link of the NCR-MT 520A is possible. The capability information may be information indicating including the NCR-Fwd 510A having an operating frequency different from the operating frequency of the NCR-MT 520A.
Therefore we have information about the operating link (frequency) of the NCR-Fwd, specifically radio measurement is possible and RSRP, RSRQ and SINR. For this reason the examiner maintains the rejection with Fujishiro.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467