DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 49-68 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-70 of U.S. Patent No. 10,898,131. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed system and method are an obvious broadening of sequentially displaying images to induce an amygdala activation and using a performance score to determine an evaluation of symptoms and need for treatment along with pharmaceutical compositions as claimed in claims 1-70 of U.S. Patent No. 10,898,131.
Claims 49-68 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,123,737. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed system and method are an obvious broadening of sequentially displaying images to induce an amygdala activation using a performance score to determine an evaluation of symptoms and need for treatment along with pharmaceutical compositions are essentially claimed in claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,123,737.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 49, 50, 53, 55, 56, 57, 59, 60, 63, 65, 66 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forbes (US 2012/0071785).
Regarding claims 49 and 59, Forbes discloses a system and method for displaying images, comprising:
a computing system having one or more processors coupled with memory, configured to:
display a first plurality of expression images 103A in sequence to a subject 102, each expression image of the first plurality of expression images: (a) associated with a respective expression of a plurality of expressions and (b) configured to induce an amygdala activation in the subject, see paragraphs [0142] and [0143];
receive, responsive to completion of displaying of the first plurality of expression images, a response 103B from the subject 102 to a query prompting whether a first expression image and a second expression image in the first plurality of expression images exhibits the same emotion, see paragraphs [0092] and [0027];
determine a performance score of the subject for the first session using the response to the query, see paragraphs [0029], [0030] and [0048]; and
modify, based at least on the performance score, presentation of a second plurality of expression images to be displayed in sequence to the subject, see paragraphs [0031] and [0032].
Regarding claims 50 and 60, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to display the first plurality of expression images in sequence, each expression image of the first plurality of expression images at an intensity on an intensity scale 104A of the respective expression in accordance with a level 202 of a plurality of levels, see paragraphs [0063], [0064] and [0065].
Regarding claims 53 and 63, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to provide the performance score 1410, 1420 and 1430 of the subject 102 for the first session using the response to the query.
Regarding claims 55 and 65, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to generate a regimen comprising a therapy session at least one of a specified frequency or a number of times, see paragraphs [0092], [0101] and [0104], the therapy session comprising a plurality of blocks at a plurality of levels, see paragraphs [0109], each block of the plurality of blocks to present a respective plurality of expression images in sequence to the subject, see paragraph [0116].
Regarding claims 56 and 66, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to determine an evaluation for at least one symptom of a psychiatric disorder of the subject based at least on the performance score, see paragraphs [0064] and [0160].
Regarding claims 57 and 67, Forbes discloses the subject is in need of treatment of a psychiatric disorder, wherein the psychiatric disorder comprises a general anxiety disorder or a social phobia, see paragraphs [0050], [0108], [0112] and [0155] wherein fear is being interpreted as a general anxiety disorder or a social phobia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forbes (US 2012/0071785) as applied to claims 49 and 59 above, and further in view of Blum (US 2006/0079495).
Regarding claims 58 and 68, Forbes meets all of the claimed limitations except for the subject 102 is using a pharmaceutical composition to address a psychiatric disorder, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises benzodiazepines.
Blum teaches benzodiazepines are anti-anxiety agents, see paragraph [0069].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use benzodiazepines to address the psychiatric disorder or fear in the system and method for displaying images disclosed in Forbes because fear is an anxiety for which benzodiazepines are prescribed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Caspi et al (US 2005/0037405) teach humans with one or two copies of a short allele exhibit greater amygdala neuronal activity to fearful stimuli compared to individuals homozygous for a long allele.
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
2/12/2026