DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/5/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 10898131 and 10123737 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 49, 50, 53, 55, 56, 57, 59, 60, 63, 65, 66 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forbes (US 2012/0071785), cited previously.
Regarding claims 49 and 59, Forbes discloses a system and method for displaying images, comprising:
a computing system having one or more processors coupled with memory, configured to:
display a first plurality of expression images 103A in sequence to a subject 102, each expression image of the first plurality of expression images: (a) associated with a respective expression of a plurality of expressions and (b) configured to induce an amygdala activation in the subject, see paragraphs [0142] and [0143];
receive, responsive to completion of displaying of the first plurality of expression images 103A, a response 103B from the subject 102 to a query prompting whether a first expression image and a second expression image in the first plurality of expression images exhibits the same emotion (dominant emotional characteristic), see paragraphs [0020], [0062], [0080-0081],[0092] and [0027].
determine a performance score of the subject for the first session using the response to the query, see paragraphs [0029], [0030] and [0048]; and
modify, based at least on the performance score, presentation of a second plurality of expression images to be displayed in sequence to the subject, see paragraphs [0031] and [0032].
Regarding claims 50 and 60, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to display the first plurality of expression images in sequence, each expression image of the first plurality of expression images at an intensity on an intensity scale 104A of the respective expression in accordance with a level 202 of a plurality of levels, see paragraphs [0063], [0064] and [0065].
Regarding claims 53 and 63, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to provide the performance score 1410, 1420 and 1430 of the subject 102 for the first session using the response to the query.
Regarding claims 55 and 65, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to generate a regimen comprising a therapy session at least one of a specified frequency or a number of times, see paragraphs [0092], [0101] and [0104], the therapy session comprising a plurality of blocks at a plurality of levels, see paragraphs [0109], each block of the plurality of blocks to present a respective plurality of expression images in sequence to the subject, see paragraph [0116].
Regarding claims 56 and 66, Forbes discloses the computing system is further configured to determine an evaluation for at least one symptom of a psychiatric disorder of the subject based at least on the performance score, see paragraphs [0064] and [0160].
Regarding claims 57 and 67, Forbes discloses the subject is in need of treatment of a psychiatric disorder, wherein the psychiatric disorder comprises a general anxiety disorder or a social phobia, see paragraphs [0050], [0108], [0112] and [0155] wherein fear is being interpreted as a general anxiety disorder or a social phobia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forbes (US 2012/0071785) as applied to claims 49 and 59 above, and further in view of Blum (US 2006/0079495), both cited previously.
Regarding claims 58 and 68, Forbes meets all of the claimed limitations except for the subject 102 is using a pharmaceutical composition to address a psychiatric disorder, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises benzodiazepines.
Blum teaches benzodiazepines are anti-anxiety agents, see paragraph [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use benzodiazepines to address the psychiatric disorder or fear in the system and method for displaying images disclosed in Forbes because fear is an anxiety for which benzodiazepines are prescribed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner finds that receive, responsive to completion of displaying of the first plurality of expression images 103A, a response 103B from the subject 102 to a query prompting whether a first expression image and a second expression image in the first plurality of expression images exhibits the same emotion (dominant emotional characteristic), see paragraphs [0020], [0062], [0080-0081],[0092] and [0027].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796