DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Armstrong et al. (US-20220328861-A1).
As to claim 1, Armstrong discloses an electrode assembly (figure 2, electrode assembly 200, [0013]) comprising:
a plurality of unit cells stacked in a stacking direction (figure 2, electrode assembly 200, [0013]), each of the unit cells comprising an anode structure (figure 2, counter-electrode structures 204, [0013], [0060]), a separator structure (figure 2, separator structures 205, [0013]), and a cathode structure (figure 2, electrode structures 202, [0013], [0060]), wherein the cathode structure of each unit cell comprises:
a cathode current collector (figure 2, electrode current collector 214, [0013], [0060]); and
a cathode active material layer (figure 2, electrode active material 212, [0013], [0060]), wherein (1) the cathode structure extends in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to the stacking direction (figure 2, electrode structures 202, [0013], [0060]), and (2) an end portion of the cathode current collector extends beyond the cathode active material and the separator structure in the longitudinal direction (figure 2, electrode current collector 214, [0013], [0060]);
a first adhesive polymer strip attached to the end portion of the cathode current collector of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]);
a second adhesive polymer strip attached to the end portion of the cathode current collector of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]), wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip are separated in a third direction perpendicular to both the stacking direction and the longitudinal direction (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]); and
a cathode busbar (figure 2, electrode busbar 208, [0013], [0119]) attached to the end portions of the cathode current collectors through the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]).
As to claim 2, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprise a neat polymer [0124].
As to claim 3, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprise a thermoplastic adhesive [0124].
As to claim 4, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprise a thermoset [0124].
As to claim 5, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1, and Armstrong further discloses wherein middle sections of the end portions of the current collectors are attached directly to the cathode busbar [0102], the middle sections extending between the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip (figure 4b, unitary layer 400, [0119]).
As to claim 6, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 5, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the middle sections of the end portions of the current collectors are welded to the cathode busbar ([0102], [0119]).
As to claim 7, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip are parallel and extend in the stacking direction (figure 4b, unitary layer 400).
As to claim 8, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprises a base polymer and a conductive filler [0131].
As to claim 9, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 8, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the conductive filler comprises one of an aluminum filler, a titanium filler, a titanium nitride filler, a carbon-based filler, a stainless-steel filler, or a noble metal filler [0131].
As to claim 10, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 8, and Armstrong further discloses wherein a shape of the conductive filler comprises one of spheres, flakes, fibers, hollow coated particles, solid coated particles, or a conductive mesh [0170].
As to claim 11, Armstrong discloses a method of assembly an electrode assembly (figure 2, electrode assembly 200, [0013]) comprising:
Stacking a plurality of unit cells stacked in a stacking direction (figure 2, electrode assembly 200, [0013]), each of the unit cells comprising an anode structure (figure 2, counter-electrode structures 204, [0013], [0060]), a separator structure (figure 2, separator structures 205, [0013]), and a cathode structure (figure 2, electrode structures 202, [0013], [0060]), wherein the cathode structure of each unit cell comprises:
a cathode current collector (figure 2, electrode current collector 214, [0013], [0060]); and
a cathode active material layer (figure 2, electrode active material 212, [0013], [0060]), wherein (1) the cathode structure extends in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to the stacking direction (figure 2, electrode structures 202, [0013], [0060]), and (2) an end portion of the cathode current collector extends beyond the cathode active material and the separator structure in the longitudinal direction (figure 2, electrode current collector 214, [0013], [0060]);
attaching a first adhesive polymer strip attached to the end portion of the cathode current collector of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]);
attaching a second adhesive polymer strip attached to the end portion of the cathode current collector of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]), wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip are separated in a third direction perpendicular to both the stacking direction and the longitudinal direction (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]); and
attaching a cathode busbar (figure 2, electrode busbar 208, [0013], [0119]) attached to the end portions of the cathode current collectors through the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]).
As to claim 12, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 11, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprise a neat polymer [0124].
As to claim 13, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 11, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprise a thermoplastic adhesive [0124].
As to claim 14, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 11, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprise a thermoset [0124].
As to claim 15, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 11, and Armstrong further discloses attaching middle sections of the end portions of the current collectors are attached directly to the cathode busbar [0102], the middle sections extending between the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip (figure 4b, unitary layer 400, [0119]).
As to claim 16, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 15, and Armstrong further discloses welding the middle sections of the end portions of the current collectors to the cathode busbar ([0102], [0119]).
As to claim 17, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 11, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip are parallel and extend in the stacking direction (figure 4b, unitary layer 400).
As to claim 18, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 11, and Armstrong further discloses wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip each comprises a base polymer and a conductive filler [0131], and wherein the conductive filler comprises one of an aluminum filler, a titanium filler, a titanium nitride filler, a carbon-based filler, a stainless steel filler, or a noble metal filler [0131].
As to claim 19, Armstrong discloses the electrode assembly of claim 18, and Armstrong further discloses wherein a shape of the conductive filler comprises one of spheres, flakes, fibers, hollow coated particles, solid coated particles, or a conductive mesh [0170].
As to claim 20, Armstrong discloses a secondary battery [0232] comprising a battery enclosure [0232], an electrode assembly (figure 2, electrode assembly 200, [0013]), and an electrolyte within the battery enclosure [0088], wherein the electrode assembly comprises:
a plurality of unit cells stacked in a stacking direction (figure 2, electrode assembly 200, [0013]), each of the unit cells comprising an anode structure (figure 2, counter-electrode structures 204, [0013], [0060]), a separator structure (figure 2, separator structures 205, [0013]), and a cathode structure (figure 2, electrode structures 202, [0013], [0060]), wherein the cathode structure of each unit cell comprises:
a cathode current collector (figure 2, electrode current collector 214, [0013], [0060]); and
a cathode active material layer (figure 2, electrode active material 212, [0013], [0060]), wherein (1) the cathode structure extends in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to the stacking direction (figure 2, electrode structures 202, [0013], [0060]), and (2) an end portion of the cathode current collector extends beyond the cathode active material and the separator structure in the longitudinal direction (figure 2, electrode current collector 214, [0013], [0060]);
a first adhesive polymer strip attached to the end portion of the cathode current collector of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]);
a second adhesive polymer strip attached to the end portion of the cathode current collector of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]), wherein the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip are separated in a third direction perpendicular to both the stacking direction and the longitudinal direction (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]); and
a cathode busbar (figure 2, electrode busbar 208, [0013], [0119]) attached to the end portions of the cathode current collectors through the first adhesive polymer strip and the second adhesive polymer strip (figure 4B, unitary layer 400, [0013], [0119]).
Conclusion
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727