This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 1/26/2024
Claims 1-25 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren).
Regarding claim 17, Ren teaches a method of operating an automated guided vehicle (AGV) (Par. [0002] “AGV low-power-consumption standby communication circuit”), comprising:
operating a power control module of the AGV in a sleep mode (Par. [0022] “AGV enters a low-power consumption standby communication mode”; Par. [0028] “second communication module is in a sleep mode”);
switching from the sleep mode to a wake mode by generating a wakeup signal (Par. [0029] “the second communication module wakes up at regular time, enters an activation mode”);
automatically powering on a wireless communication device on the AGV in response to the wakeup signal while maintaining the AGV in a shutdown state (Par. [0012] “first wireless communication module … second wireless communication module”; Par. [0073] “second communication module controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power”; Par. [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply” – the first communication module gets powered up before any of the other circuits, meaning the AGV is maintained in a shutdown state);
monitoring for a startup command received wirelessly by the wireless communication device (Par. [0029] “the second communication module … inquires whether a task for the AGV exists or not through communication with the scheduling system” – a received task corresponds to a startup command for initiating AGV operation); and
when the startup command is received during the monitoring, automatically powering
on the AGV (Par. [0077] “if a new task is detected, the AGV is switched to a running state”; Par. [0026] “the second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply”).
Regarding claim 18, Ren further teaches wherein the operating step further comprises operating the power control module in the sleep mode for a first period of time (Par. [0077] “the second communication module is in a sleep mode, and the standby current reaches the uA level – power is controlled while the second communication module is in sleep mode), wherein the monitoring step further comprises monitoring for the startup command during a second period of time following the wakeup signal (Par. [0077] “the second communication module wakes up at regular time, enters an activation mode and inquires whether a task for the AGV exists or not through communication with the scheduling system” – following a periodic wakeup signal, the second communication module is monitoring for a startup command task. If no task exists, the communication module enters sleep mode again.).
Regarding claim 19, Ren further teaches when the startup command is not received during the second period of time, automatically powering down the wireless communication device and returning to the sleep mode (Par. [0077] “if no new task exists, the polling is finished; the second communication module enters the sleep mode again until the next polling time is awakened” – Ren teaches that during the wake period the system determines whether a task is received, and if no task is detected during that period, the system returns to sleep mode.).
Regarding claim 20, Ren further teaches carrying out repeated cycles of alternatingly operating in the sleep mode for the first period of time and in the wake mode for the second period of time until the startup command is received and the AGV is powered on (Par. [0077] “the second communication module wakes up at regular time, enters an activation mode and inquires whether a task for the AGV exists or not through communication with the scheduling system; … if no new task exists, the polling is finished; the second communication module enters the sleep mode again until the next polling time is awakened; if a new task is detected, the AGV is switched to a running state.” – Ren teaches that the second communication module performs periodic polling at regular intervals, such that the system repeatedly alternates between sleep mode and wake mode to check for the presence of a task, and continues this cycle until a task is detected and the AGV is switched to a running state.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Williams US 6,892,315 B1 (hereinafter Williams).
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches an automated guided vehicle (AGV) power control module (Claim 1, “invention provides a AGV low-power consumption standby communication circuit which characterized in that: the battery pack comprises a first communication module, a second communication module, a power management module and a BMS battery pack”), comprising:
a wakeup circuit (Claim 7, “the second communication module controls the AGV power management module to close all power supplies except the low-power-consumption standby circuit” … “executing awakening operation” – The second communication module keeps a standby circuit alive, detects the wake condition, and initiates restoration of system power, which corresponds to a wakeup circuit) having at least one command input (Par. [0011], “the first communication module and the second communication module are both in communication connection with an external AGV dispatching system and used for receiving tasks from the dispatching system”) and at least one control output (Par. [0011], “second communication module also controls the power management module to supply power or cut off power to the first communication module and other peripheral circuits”) and being operable by electrical power received from a power source (Par. [0011], “the BMS battery pack … provides electric energy for the power management module”);
wherein the wakeup circuit includes a timer circuit (Par. [0028] “the second communication module works in a sleep-timing wake-up mode”; Par. [0029] “the polling interval time is t1” – sleep-timing wake up mode with polling interval is interpreted as a timer circuit) and the timer circuit being coupled to the control output (Par. [0028] “the second communication module works in a sleep-timing wake-up mode”; Par. [0045] “second communication module also controls the power management module to supply power or cut off power” – the second communication module is capable of both a timer circuit and a control output, showing coupling through one structure) to change the output state of the control output (Par. [0011] “supply power or cut off power”).
Ren does not explicitly teach at least one parameter that can be configured via the command input, and changing the output state of the control output in dependence on the parameter.
However, Williams teaches at least one parameter that can be configured via the command input (Col. 2, “the signal ADJUST [3:1] may be implemented as a user programmable input signal”; Col. 3 “The multiplexer 106 may multiplex the divided delay signals DIV DEL in response to the signal ADJUST [3:1]”), and changing the output state of the control output in dependence on the parameter (Col. 4, “The multiplexer 106 may generate the signal OUTPUT in response to the signal ADJUST[3:1] and the signals DIV DEL”).
Ren and Williams are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to electronic circuits for controlling power states and wake-up behavior of devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit, as taught by Ren, and incorporate configurable timing functionality to allow controlled activation intervals based on selectable parameters, as taught by Williams.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide adjustable wake-up timing to accommodate different operational conditions, improve adaptability of wake-up timing, and enable the AGV system to conserve power (Col. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the timer circuit carries out a sleep/wakeup cycle (Par. [0028] “the second communication module works in a sleep-timing wake-up mode”) for which the control output is set at a first state during a sleep portion of the cycle (Par. [0022] “close all power supplies except the low-power-consumption standby circuit” – first state is a lower power state) and is set at a second, different state during a wake portion of the cycle (Par. [0024] “controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power”; Par. [0026] “start other circuits for power supply”).
Ren does not explicitly teach wherein the parameter is a sleep time parameter indicative of the length of time of the sleep portion of the cycle.
However, Williams teaches wherein the parameter is a sleep time parameter indicative of the length of time of the sleep portion of the cycle (Claim 15, “a sleep period … is determined by said programmable delay value.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the second state of the control output comprises electrical power (Par. [0073] “second communication module controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power”) sufficient to operate (Par. [0074] “waiting for the first communication module to start and initialize and establishing wireless communication” – electrical power must be sufficient to operate the first communication module) a wireless communication device (WCD) (Par. [0013] “first wireless communication module is a high-bandwidth wireless communication module, and the communication mode with high performance includes WIFI, 3G, 4G or 5G.”; Par. [0014] “second wireless communication module is a low-power wireless communication module and adopts low-speed and low-power communication; the module comprises a low-power wifi module, a low-power sub-1G module, a low-power Bluetooth module, a ZigBee module or a Lora module”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the control output comprises a WCD power output (Par. [0024] “controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power”), and wherein the wakeup circuit further includes a second control output that comprises an AGV power output (Par. [0026] “the second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply; Par. [0045] “the second communication module also controls the power management module to supply power or cut off power to the first communication module and other peripheral circuits of the main controller”) which can be switched between a first state and a second state that provides electrical power sufficient to operate an AGV startup circuit (Par. [0071] “second communication module controls the AGV power management module to close all power supplies except the low-power-consumption standby circuit”; Par. [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply” – closing power supplies is a first state, and starting circuits for power supply is a second state), and wherein the wakeup circuit operates during the sleep portion of the cycle to maintain the WCD power output and the AGV power output at their first states (Par. [0077] “only the second communication module keeps polling communication”) during which they do not provide electrical power sufficient to activate the WCD or the AGV startup circuit, respectively (Par. [0063] “the main controller, the first wireless communication module and other circuits irrelevant to standby are all powered off”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the wakeup circuit operates during the wake portion of the cycle to set the WCD power output to its second state (Par. [0073] “second communication module controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power;”), monitor the command input for an AGV startup command (Par. [0077] “inquires whether a task for the AGV exists or not through communication with the scheduling system”), and set the AGV power output to its second state when the AGV startup command is received (Par. [0077] “if a new task is detected, the AGV is switched to a running state.”; Par. [0026] “second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply;”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches an AGV comprising the power control module (Par. [0011] “power management module to supply power or cut off power to the first communication module and other peripheral circuits of the main controller except the low-power standby communication circuit in the AGV”).
Claim(s) 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Williams US 6,892,315 B1 (hereinafter Williams), and further in view of O’Hara et al. USPGPUB 2019/0064849 A1 (hereinafter O’Hara).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren and Williams do not explicitly teach wherein the timer circuit includes a wake time parameter indicative of the length of time of the wake portion of the cycle.
However, O’Hara teaches wherein the timer circuit includes a wake time parameter indicative of the length of time of the wake portion of the cycle (Par. [0099] “If the timer 132 counts from an initial time value to the predefined idle time threshold (a sleep event), the timer 132 outputs a sleep event signal to the control logic 130 of the wakeup circuit 104 which causes the control logic 130 to terminate output of the actuation signal 136 thus disconnecting the lithium battery 52 from the motor system 30”; Fig. 7, “start a timer to measure a period of non-use and maintain lithium battery access as long as the timer has not expired”).
Ren, Williams, and O’Hara are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to electronic power control systems that manage activation and deactivation of electrical components using timing-based control.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit with a timer, as taught by Ren and Williams, and incorporate control over the duration of the wake portion of the cycle to further refine timing-based power management, as taught by O’Hara.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to limit the duration of active operation to reduce unnecessary energy consumption as suggested by O’Hara (Par. [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren teaches switching states based on one or more commands received via the command input (Par. [0011] “the first communication module and the second communication module are both in communication connection with an external AGV dispatching system and used for receiving tasks from the dispatching system;”).
Ren and Williams do not explicitly teach wherein the wakeup circuit further comprises a relay that switches the output state of the control output between a first state and a second state.
However, O’Hara teaches wherein the wakeup circuit further comprises a relay (Fig. 3, Par. [0080] “The wakeup circuit 104 controls closing and opening of the contactor 106 to electrically connect the motor system 30 to the lithium battery 52 and disconnect the motor system 30 from the lithium battery 52, respectively”- A contactor is a type of relay) that switches the output state of the control output between a first state and a second state (Fig. 7, Par. [0108] “BMS 50 mechanically disconnects a lithium battery interface from a power delivery interface in response to a sleep event”; Par. [0109] “BMS 50 mechanically reconnects the lithium battery interface to the power delivery interface in response to a wakeup event”).
Ren, Williams, and O’Hara are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to power control systems that manage electrical connections and power delivery in response to control signals.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit with a timer, as taught by Ren and Williams, and incorporate a relay for switching between power states to provide controlled connection and disconnection of power, as taught by O’Hara.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve reliability of power switching by ensuring clear physical connection and disconnection of power paths as suggested by O’Hara (Par. [0004]; Par. [0108] - [0109]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Williams US 6,892,315 B1 (hereinafter Williams), and further in view of Zaretsky et al. US 6,462,926 B1 (hereinafter Zaretsky).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches an AGV startup circuit input (Par. [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply”) and an AGV startup circuit output (Par. [0051] “the main controller, the first communication module and the like are started firstly, and power supplies of other circuits such as a motor driver and the like are started after the main controller”),
Ren and Williams do not explicitly teach wherein the control output of the wakeup circuit and the AGV startup circuit output are logically ORed together to the AGV startup circuit input such that a power signal on either of both of the control output and the AGV startup circuit output causes a power signal to be outputted by the power control module on the AGV startup circuit input.
However, Zaretsky teaches wherein the control output of the wakeup circuit and the AGV startup circuit output are logically ORed together to the AGV startup circuit input (Claim 12, “A low loss diode ORing circuit, comprising: a first feed input capable of receiving a first power signal; a second feed input capable of receiving a second power signal”) such that a power signal on either of both of the control output and the AGV startup circuit output causes a power signal to be outputted by the power control module on the AGV startup circuit input (Claim 12, “an output for providing the first power signal and the second power signal to a different circuit”).
Ren, Williams, and Zaretsky are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to electrical circuits for controlling and distributing power signals.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit with a timer, as taught by Ren and Williams, and incorporate an ORing circuit for combining multiple control or power signals to allow multiple inputs to drive a common output, as taught by Zaretsky.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve flexibility and efficiency of power control by allowing multiple signals to trigger startup while reducing power dissipation as suggested by Zaretsky (Col. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ren, Williams, and Zaretsky teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zaretsky further teaches wherein the wakeup circuit control output and AGV startup circuit output are logically ORed together using diodes (Claim 12, “first diode-transistor pair connected between the first feed input and the output … second diode-transistor pair connected between the second feed input and the output” – the two diode-transistor pairs make up diode ORing using two diode paths into a common output.).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Williams US 6,892,315 B1 (hereinafter Williams), and further in view of Fernald et al. USPGPUB 2006/0005054 A1 (hereinafter Fernald).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the at least one command input comprises a multi-wire bus interface (Par. [0050] “communication bus adopts UART, CAN, SPI or I2C”).
Ren does not explicitly teach at least one parameter comprises a plurality of time/date parameters stored in the wakeup circuit and that are configurable via the bus interface.
However, Fernald teaches at least one parameter comprises a plurality of time/date parameters stored in the wakeup circuit (Par. [0018] “The RTC 116 has disposed thereon a plurality of registers and RAM memory 124, which are operable to store the timing information associated with the RTC 116”; Par. [0018] “During operation, the RTC 116 will update its internal time and date information, which information is stored in the registers 124”; Par. [0028] “The internal value of the 48-bit timer can be preset by storing a set time and date value in the capture internal registers and then transferring this information to the timer 410.”) and that are configurable via the bus interface (Par. [0018] “This information can be initialized by the CPU 102 through a digital interface 130 with the registers 124”).
Ren, Williams, and Fernald are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to timing and control circuits used to manage operational states of electronic systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit with a timer, as taught by Ren and Williams, and incorporate a real time clock storing multiple time and date parameters to enable time-based control of system operation, as taught by Fernald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve prediction and programmability of timing control by enabling scheduled wake-up events rather than relying solely on fixed intervals as suggested by Fernald (Par. [0004]; Par. [0018]; Par. [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ren, Williams, and Fernald teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Fernald further teaches wherein the timer circuit comprises a software-controlled electronic processor (Par. [0005] “processing circuit for receiving digital information and
processing said received digital information”) and real time clock (Par. [0005] “stand-alone RTC circuit”) that can be set by the electronic processor using the time/date parameters (Par. [0018] “This information can be initialized by the CPU 102 through a digital interface 130 with the registers 124”), and wherein the wakeup circuit includes a plurality of registers each accessible by the electronic processor and each storing one of the time/date parameters (Par. [0018] “The RTC 116 has disposed thereon a plurality of registers and RAM memory 124, which are operable to store the timing information associated with the RTC 116”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the wakeup circuit operates in any of a plurality of operating modes including a sleep/wake mode (Par. [0071] “low-power consumption standby communication mode”; Par. [0077] “sleep-timing wake-up mode”), wherein the wakeup circuit can be switched between the operating modes by a mode command received via the command input (Par. [0011] “used for receiving tasks from the dispatching system” ), and wherein the wakeup circuit is configured to receive an output control command via the command input and change the output state of the control output based on the output control command independently of the operating mode (Par. [0011] “second communication module also controls the power management module to supply power or cut off power to the first communication module and other peripheral circuits” – supplying or cutting off power is based on detected tasks/commands from the dispatching system).
Williams further teaches a programmable user-controlled timing mode selection (Col. 2, “the signal ADJUST [3:1] may be implemented as a user programmable input signal”).
Ren and Williams do not explicitly teach a shift schedule mode.
However, Fernald teaches a shift schedule mode (Par. [0018] “The RTC 116 has disposed thereon a plurality of registers and RAM memory 124, which are operable to store the timing information associated with the RTC 116”; Par. [0028] “The internal value of the 48-bit timer can be preset by storing a set time and date value in the capture internal registers and then
transferring this information to the timer 410. The alarm function compares the 48-bit value in the timer on a real time basis to the value in the internal alarm registers. An alarm
event will be triggered if the two values match” – Fernald gives the time/date scheduling backbone through RTC registers, stored time values, and control output based on RTC timing, which is interpreted as a shift schedule mode implemented with time/date values.).
Ren, Williams, and Fernald are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to timing-based control of electronic system operation.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit with a timer, as taught by Ren and Williams, and incorporate a real time clock to enable operation based on predefined schedules, as taught by Fernald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve automation by enabling scheduled transitions between operating modes based on predefined times as suggested by Fernald (Par. [0028]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Williams US 6,892,315 B1 (hereinafter Williams), and further in view of Orvane et al. USPGPUB 2022/0100203 A1 (hereinafter Orvane).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ren and Williams teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren in view of Williams teaches the AGV set forth in claim 13 (as has been discussed regarding claim 13 above), and Ren further teaches communicating with a wakeup circuit of each AGV via an AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state (Par. [0047] “first wireless communication module is a high-bandwidth wireless communication module, and the communication mode with high performance includes WIFI, 3G, 4G, or 5G.”).
Ren and Williams do not explicitly teach an AGV fleet system comprising a plurality of AGVs; and
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon an AGV supervisory control program that is executable by one or more electronic processors of a facility supervisory system (FSS) to carry out an AGV supervisory process for communication to, and control of, the AGVs via wireless communication from the FSS.
However, Orvane teaches an AGV fleet system (Par. [0033] “movement of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles in a movement area equipped with a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points each comprising at least one geolocation means and a Wi-Fi communication module”) comprising:
a plurality of AGVs (Par. [0033] “fleet of autonomously guided vehicles”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon an AGV supervisory control program (Par. [0033] “control, by a supervising server, of the movement of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles” – the supervising server executes control logic for AGVs, which would reside in memory as executable instructions) that is executable by one or more electronic processors of a facility supervisory system (FSS) (Par. [0033] “supervising server”) to carry out an AGV supervisory process for communication to, and control of, the AGVs via wireless communication from the FSS (Par. [0033] “a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points each comprising at least one geolocation means and a Wi-Fi communication module”; Par. [0049] “The autonomous handling vehicles (10, 20) are each equipped with a Wi-Fi communication module and one or more autonomous geolocation means that are independent of any external technical infrastructure, in particular, independent of the GPS system or a system of radio-transmission beacons to allow total autonomy in positioning the handling vehicle”).
This arrangement uses the communication infrastructure of Orvane in combination with the AGV control architecture of Ren to enable remote activation for the AGV based on received command signals. Orvane’s supervising server generates and transmits command signals through the wireless access points, which are received by the AGV wireless communication module of Ren and provided as input signals to the wakeup circuit, which in response controls the power management module to restore power and transition the AGV from a powered-down state to a running state.
Ren, Williams, and Orvane are analogous art because they all relate to systems for controlling operation of automated guided vehicles and associated communication systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV system of Ren and Williams and incorporate a centralized supervisory communication system in order to enable remote monitoring and control of multiple AGVs from a facility-level system as taught by Orvane.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to enable remote transmission of command signals to the AGV, improving system responsiveness and reducing the need for local user interaction as suggested by Orvane (Par. [0044] – [0049]).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orvane et al. USPGPUB 2022/0100203 A1 (hereinafter Orvane) in view of O’Hara et al. USPGPUB 2019/0064849 A1 (hereinafter O’Hara), and further in view of Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren).
Regarding claim 15, Orvane teaches an automated guided vehicle (AGV) fleet system (Par. [0033] “movement of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles in a movement area equipped with a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points each comprising at least one geolocation means and a Wi-Fi communication module”), comprising:
a plurality of AGVs (Par. [0033] “fleet of autonomously guided vehicles”), (ii) the wireless communication device for communication to and from the AGV(Par. [0045] “Wireless communication between the server (100) and each of the autonomous handling vehicles (10, 20) is based on IEEE radioelectric network standard 802.11 and amendments thereto usually known collectively as Wi-Fi or wireless fidelity”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon an AGV supervisory
control program (Par. [0033] “control, by a supervising server, of the movement of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles” – the supervising server executes control logic for AGVs, which would reside in memory as executable instructions) that is executable by one or more electronic processors of a facility supervisory system (FSS) (Par. [0033] “supervising server”) to carry out an AGV supervisory process for communication to, and control of, the AGVs via wireless communication from the FSS (Par. [0033] “a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points each comprising at least one geolocation means and a Wi-Fi communication module”; Par. [0049] “The autonomous handling vehicles (10, 20) are each equipped with a Wi-Fi communication module and one or more autonomous geolocation means that are independent of any external technical infrastructure, in particular, independent of the GPS system or a system of radio-transmission beacons to allow total autonomy in positioning the handling vehicle”).
Orvane does not explicitly teach each AGV having one or more power sources, a plurality of motors for driving and steering the AGV, a wireless communication device, a wakeup circuit, and an AGV controller operable by electrical power from the power source(s) and being coupled to (i) the motors to control movement and steering of the AGV, and (iii) the wakeup circuit for wireless startup of the AGV; and
Communicating with the wakeup circuit of each AGV via the AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state.
However, O’Hara teaches each AGV having one or more power sources (Par. [0076] “lithium battery 52.”), a plurality of motors for driving and steering the AGV (Fig. 2, Par. [0074] “the motor system 30 includes a motor controller 40, an electric motor 42 which is linked to the set of tires 24 (FIG. 1), and an electric brake 44 coupled with the electric motor 42”), a wakeup circuit (Par. [0079] “wakeup circuit 104”), an AGV controller operable by electrical power from the power source(s) (Par. [0074] “motor controller 40 of some embodiments controls delivery of stored electric power from the lithium battery system 32 to the electric motor 42 which ultimately turns at least some of the tires 24 to move the utility vehicle 20.”) and being coupled to (i) the motors to control movement and steering of the AGV (Par. [0074] “the motor system 30 includes a motor controller 40, an electric motor 42 which is linked to the set of tires 24 (FIG. 1), and an electric brake 44 coupled with the electric motor 42”)
Orvane and O’Hara are analogous art because they both relate to electronic control systems for vehicles.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV fleet control system of Orvane and incorporate a power source coupled to motors to control movement, steering, and power of a vehicle as taught by O’Hara.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated improve battery efficiency when using an electronic motor as suggested by O’Hara (Par. [0004]).
O’Hara does not explicitly teach a wireless communication device and (iii) the wakeup circuit for wireless startup of the AGV; and
Communicating with the wakeup circuit of each AGV via the AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state.
However, Ren teaches a wireless communication device (Par. [0013] “first wireless communication module is a high-bandwidth wireless communication module, and the communication mode with high performance includes WIFI, 3G, 4G or 5G.”; Par. [0014] “second wireless communication module is a low-power wireless communication module and adopts low-speed and low-power communication; the module comprises a low-power wifi module, a low-power sub-1G module, a low-power Bluetooth module, a ZigBee module or a Lora module”) and (iii) the wakeup circuit for wireless startup of the AGV (Claim 7, “the second communication module controls the AGV power management module to close all power supplies except the low-power-consumption standby circuit” … “executing awakening operation” – The second communication module keeps a standby circuit alive, detects the wake condition, and initiates restoration of system power, which corresponds to a wakeup circuit; Par. [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply”); and
Communicating with the wakeup circuit of each AGV via the AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state (Par. [0073] – [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power; … second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply).
This arrangement integrates remote communication with local AGV control to enable wireless startup of the AGV. The wireless communication device of Ren receives command signals from the facility system of Orvane and provides the signals to the controller, which processes the signals and provides corresponding control signals to the wakeup circuit, causing the AGV to transition from a low-power state to an operational state.
Orvane, O’Hara, and Ren are analogous art because they all relate to systems for controlling operation of automated guided vehicles and associated communication systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV fleet control system of Orvane and O’Hara, and incorporate a communication device to wakeup the AGVs as taught by Ren.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve stability and reliability of communication as suggested by Ren (Par. [0088]).
Regarding claim 16, Orvane teaches an automated guided vehicle (AGV) fleet system (Par. [0033] “movement of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles in a movement area equipped with a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points each comprising at least one geolocation means and a Wi-Fi communication module”), comprising:
a plurality of AGVs located within a facility (Par. [0033] “a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles in a movement area equipped with a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points each comprising at least one geolocation means and a Wi-Fi communication module” –movement area could be located anywhere with a plurality of wireless Wi-Fi access points, including within a facility), (ii) the wireless communication device for communication to and from the AGV(Par. [0045] “Wireless communication between the server (100) and each of the autonomous handling vehicles (10, 20) is based on IEEE radioelectric network standard 802.11 and amendments thereto usually known collectively as Wi-Fi or wireless fidelity”); and
a facility supervisory system (FSS) that includes one or more FSS controllers comprising an electronic processor and memory accessible by the processor (Par. [0005] “control of the movement of automated guided handling vehicles by a supervising server controlling, in particular, the segregation of the trajectories of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles by periodically transmitting digital information via a Wi-Fi radio frequency network.” – the supervising server must have a processor and memory accessible by the processor in order to be able to control the vehicles), the memory storing software comprising instructions executable by the electronic processor to carry out an AGV supervisory control process for communication and control of the AGVs (Claim 9, “autonomously guided vehicles is controlled according to data received from the supervising server”), the FSS further including a plurality of wireless access points distributed around the facility and connected to the FSS controller(s) (Par. [0021] “plurality of Wi-Fi access points spread over the area concerned”).
Orvane does not explicitly teach each AGV having one or more power sources, a plurality of motors for driving and steering the AGV, a wireless communication device, a wakeup circuit, and an AGV controller operable by electrical power from the power source(s) and being coupled to (i) the motors to control movement and steering of the AGV and (iii) the wakeup circuit for wireless startup of the AGV; and
Communicating with the wakeup circuit of each AGV via the AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state.
However, O’Hara teaches each AGV having one or more power sources (Par. [0076] “lithium battery 52.”), a plurality of motors for driving and steering the AGV (Fig. 2, Par. [0074] “the motor system 30 includes a motor controller 40, an electric motor 42 which is linked to the set of tires 24 (FIG. 1), and an electric brake 44 coupled with the electric motor 42”), a wakeup circuit (Par. [0079] “wakeup circuit 104”), an AGV controller operable by electrical power from the power source(s) (Par. [0074] “motor controller 40 of some embodiments controls delivery of stored electric power from the lithium battery system 32 to the electric motor 42 which ultimately turns at least some of the tires 24 to move the utility vehicle 20.”) and being coupled to (i) the motors to control movement and steering of the AGV (Par. [0074] “the motor system 30 includes a motor controller 40, an electric motor 42 which is linked to the set of tires 24 (FIG. 1), and an electric brake 44 coupled with the electric motor 42”)
Orvane and O’Hara are analogous art because they both relate to electronic control systems for vehicles.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV fleet control system of Orvane and incorporate a power source coupled to motors to control movement, steering, and power of a vehicle as taught by O’Hara.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated improve battery efficiency when using an electronic motor as suggested by O’Hara (Par. [0004]).
O’Hara does not explicitly teach a wireless communication device and (iii) the wakeup circuit for wireless startup of the AGV; and
Communicating with the wakeup circuit of each AGV via the AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state.
However, Ren teaches a wireless communication device (Par. [0013] “first wireless communication module is a high-bandwidth wireless communication module, and the communication mode with high performance includes WIFI, 3G, 4G or 5G.”; Par. [0014] “second wireless communication module is a low-power wireless communication module and adopts low-speed and low-power communication; the module comprises a low-power wifi module, a low-power sub-1G module, a low-power Bluetooth module, a ZigBee module or a Lora module”) and (iii) the wakeup circuit for wireless startup of the AGV (Claim 7, “the second communication module controls the AGV power management module to close all power supplies except the low-power-consumption standby circuit” … “executing awakening operation” – The second communication module keeps a standby circuit alive, detects the wake condition, and initiates restoration of system power, which corresponds to a wakeup circuit; Par. [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply”); and
Communicating with the wakeup circuit of each AGV via the AGV wireless communication device to thereby startup the AGVs from a powered down state (Par. [0073] – [0075] “second communication module controls the power management module to start the first communication module to supply power; … second communication module controls the power management module to start other circuits for power supply).
This configuration enables the facility supervisory system to remotely control AGV operation via the communication pathway. Orvane’s facility supervisory system transmits command signals through the wireless access points, which are received by the AGV wireless communication device of Ren and provided to the wakeup circuit, enabling remote control of the AGV power state.
Orvane, O’Hara, and Ren are analogous art because they all relate to systems for controlling operation of automated guided vehicles and associated communication systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV fleet control system of Orvane and O’Hara, and incorporate a communication device to wakeup the AGVs as taught by Ren.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve stability and reliability of communication as suggested by Ren (Par. [0088]).
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Fernald et al. USPGPUB 2006/0005054 A1 (hereinafter Fernald).
Regarding claim 21, Ren does not explicitly teach wherein the operating step further comprises:
operating a processor of the power control module in a low power sleep mode;
operating a timer circuit for the first period of time; and
at the expiration of the first period of time, switching the processor out of the low power sleep mode by sending an interrupt from the timer circuit to the processor.
However, Fernald teaches wherein the operating step further comprises:
operating a processor of the power control module in a low power sleep mode (Par. [0003] “low power operating mode which allows the processor or a digital portion thereof to be placed into a very "deep sleep" mode by halting the processing operation or just allow a lower power mode”);
operating a timer circuit for the first period of time (Claim 1, “a timer for being clocked by said RTC clock circuit to increment a stored time value”); and
at the expiration of the first period of time, switching the processor out of the low power sleep mode by sending an interrupt from the timer circuit to the processor (Par. [0024] “RTC state machine 412 also includes a missing clock detector that can interrupt the processor and the oscillators 118 from the suspend mode, or even generate a device reset when the alarm reaches a predetermined value”).
Ren, and Fernald are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to timing-based control of electronic system operation.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit, as taught by Ren, and incorporate a real time clock to generate an interrupt that is provided to a processor or wakeup circuit, which causes the system to exit a sleep mode and initiate activation based on predefined schedules, as taught by Fernald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve automation by enabling scheduled transitions between operating modes based on predefined times as suggested by Fernald (Par. [0028]).
Regarding claim 22, Ren does not explicitly teach wherein the switching step comprises switching to the wake mode based on a shift schedule start time and a current time provided by a real-time clock on the AGV.
However, Fernald teaches switching step comprises switching to the wake mode based on a shift schedule start time and a current time provided by a real-time clock on the AGV (Par. [0018] “The RTC 116 has disposed thereon a plurality of registers and RAM memory 124, which are operable to store the timing information associated with the RTC 116”; Par. [0028] “The internal value of the 48-bit timer can be preset by storing a set time and date value in the capture internal registers and then transferring this information to the timer 410. The alarm function compares the 48-bit value in the timer on a real time basis to the value in the internal alarm registers. An alarm event will be triggered if the two values match” – Fernald gives the time/date scheduling backbone through RTC registers, stored time values, and control output based on RTC timing, which is interpreted as a shift schedule start time implemented with time/date values.).
Ren, and Fernald are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to timing-based control of electronic system operation.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit, as taught by Ren, and incorporate a real time clock to enable operation based on predefined schedules, as taught by Fernald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve automation by enabling scheduled transitions between operating modes based on predefined times as suggested by Fernald (Par. [0028]).
Regarding claim 23, Ren teaches a method of operating an automated guided vehicle (AGV) (Par. [0002] “AGV low-power-consumption standby communication circuit”), comprising:
operating a power control module of the AGV in a sleep mode while the AGV is in a
shutdown state (Par. [0022] “second communication module controls the AGV power management module to close all power supplies except the low-power-consumption standby circuit including the second communication module” – without power, the AGV is in a shutdown state. The power control module is still being operated in a sleep mode through the second communication module.);
Ren does not explicitly teach comparing the current time to a scheduled start time using a real-time clock in the power control module; and
switching the power control module from the sleep mode to a wake mode and automatically powering on the AGV from the shutdown state when the current time has a predetermine requisite relationship to the schedule start time.
However, Fernald teaches comparing the current time to a scheduled start time using a real-time clock in the power control module (Par. [0028] “The internal value of the 48-bit timer can be preset by storing a set time and date value in the capture internal registers and then transferring this information to the timer 410. The alarm function compares the 48-bit value in the timer on a real time basis to the value in the internal alarm registers. An alarm event will be triggered if the two values match”); and
switching the power control module from the sleep mode to a wake mode and automatically powering on the AGV from the shutdown state when the current time has a predetermine requisite relationship to the schedule start time (Claim 9, “RTC circuit further includes an alarm circuit for comparing a predetermined alarm value with the results output from said timer and, as a true comparison is made, generating an indication of such comparison as an output to said processing circuit for taking a predetermined action thereon.”).
Fernald’s timer compares the current time to stored time values, and when the required relationship is satisfied, the resulting control output is provided to the wakeup circuit of Ren, which restores power and transitions the AGV to an operational state.
Ren, and Fernald are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to timing-based control of electronic system operation.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above AGV wake up circuit, as taught by Ren, and incorporate a real time clock to enable operation based on predefined schedules, as taught by Fernald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve automation by enabling scheduled transitions between operating modes based on predefined times as suggested by Fernald (Par. [0028]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Ren and Fernald teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Fernald further teaches wherein the predetermined requisite relationship is that the current time equals the scheduled start time (Claim 9, “RTC circuit further includes an alarm circuit for comparing a predetermined alarm value with the results output from said timer and, as a true comparison is made, generating an indication of such comparison as an output to said processing circuit for taking a predetermined action thereon.” – predetermined alarm value is interpreted as a scheduled start time).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. US CN 111031597 A (hereinafter Ren) in view of Fernald et al. USPGPUB 2006/0005054 A1 (hereinafter Fernald), and further in view of Orvane et al. USPGPUB 2022/0100203 A1 (hereinafter Orvane).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Ren and Fernald teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ren further teaches wherein the switching step further comprises automatically
powering on a wireless communication device on the AGV (Par. [0024] “controls the power
management module to start the first communication module to supply power”).
Ren does not explicitly teach establishing a wireless communication connection between the AGV and a facility supervisory system at a facility where the AGV is located.
However, Orvane teaches establishing a wireless communication connection between the AGV and a facility supervisory system at a facility where the AGV is located (Par. [0005] “control of the movement of automated guided handling vehicles by a supervising server controlling, in particular, the segregation of the trajectories of a fleet of autonomously guided vehicles by periodically transmitting digital information via a Wi-Fi radiofrequency network. The supervising server connects in real time with the warehouse management environment (ERP, WMS, machines, doors, conveyors, traceability) and is easily incorporated in existing industrial
and logistical processes.”).
Ren, Fernald, and Orvane are analogous art because they all relate to systems for controlling operation of automated guided vehicles and associated communication systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above RTC AGV system of Ren and Fernald and incorporate a centralized supervisory control and integrating known fleet-management control as taught by Orvane.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include system-level coordination and centralized control, enabling remote communication and management of multiple AGVs rather than isolated operation as suggested by Orvane (Par. [0044] – [0049]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brady et al. [USPGPUB 2018/0024554 A1] teaches autonomous ground vehicles retrieving items for delivery to specified locations.
Hildebrand et al. [USPGPUB 2014/0068303 A1] teaches a circuit arrangement comprising a clock generator configured to generate a clock signal, a circuit having a low power mode, and a controller, configured to receive, when the circuit is in the low power mode, a request specifying that the circuit should return from the low power mode and trigger the circuit to return from the low power mode when the number of clock cycles of the clock signal since the reception of the request has reach a threshold value.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119