DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kimura (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0347834 A1).
As per claim 1, Kimura discloses an information processing system (figures 1 and 2), comprising circuitry configured to: acquire a captured image by capturing a document (paragraph [0035]: capturing image data of the first page of the original document); perform an analysis process using the captured image (figure 2: image processing steps S2, S4, S5, S6, S7, S8); based on a result of the analysis process, select, for each of at least one setting item of a plurality of setting items relating to image processing to be performed on the captured image, at least one setting value from among configurable setting values as a candidate for a recommended setting (as shown in figure 2, steps S5, S6 and S7, at least one setting of color, resolution and filter is proposed to be changed); perform image processing repeatedly on the captured image while changing setting values of the plurality of setting items with a setting value of the at least one setting item restricted to the at least one setting value selected as the candidate for the recommended setting (the image processing is repeated on the captured image for different settings in color, resolution and filter); and based on a result of the image processing, determine recommended settings for the plurality of setting items relating to image processing to obtain an image suitable for character recognition (paragraph [0046]: “The OCR processing section 4 then executes OCR processing on the generated image data for character recognition (Step S9)”).
As per claim 2, Kimura discloses wherein the circuitry selects the candidate for the recommended setting by performing image analysis on the captured image as the analysis process (Kimura in figure 2 teaches the changed settings are the claimed “candidate for the recommended setting”).
As per claim 10, Kimura discloses wherein the circuitry performs image processing on the captured image using the configurable setting values, and based on a character recognition result for an image obtained by performing the image processing, selects the setting value being the candidate for the recommended setting (see step S1 for OCR and S5, S6 and S7 for setting changes).
As per claim 12, Kimura discloses wherein the circuitry determines the recommended settings for the plurality of setting items based on character recognition results for a plurality of images obtained by repeatedly performing the image processing on the captured image while change each of the setting values for the plurality of setting items (the document in Kimura contains a plurality of pages, and as shown in figure 2 a plurality of pages may be processed and a multiple of settings may be changed to achieve a desired OCR setting).
As per claim 13, Kimura discloses wherein the circuitry determines, as the recommended settings for the plurality of setting items, a combination of the setting values relating to the plurality of setting items with which an image with a best character recognition result is obtained (as explained above, the settings of color, resolution and filter are changed for best OCR result).
As per claim 14, Kimura discloses a memory that stores the determined recommended settings for the plurality of setting items in association with identification information of the document (Kimura’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a memory for storing setting values).
As per claim 15, Kimura teaches the plurality of setting items includes an image processing setting item relating to at least one of background pattern removal, specific character extraction, a dropout color, a binarization sensitivity or noise removal (the color and filter settings are corresponding to the claimed “dropout color” and “noise removal”).
As per claim 16, Kimura teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to present the recommended settings for the plurality of setting items to a user (Kimura teaches a display section 5 for viewing the setting changes and the user has the ability to manually change the settings if they are not desired).
As per claim 18, Kimura teaches wherein the document is a plurality of documents (as explained above, Kimura teaches the document is a document of a plurality of pages).
As per claim 19, see explanation in claim 1.
As per claim 20, see explanation in claim 1, the examiner notes Kimura’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667