DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant’s election of claims 16-20, without traverse, in the reply filed on December 29, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 29, 2025.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 26, 2024, and October 2, 2025, have been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (JP 05253964).
Ogawa discloses an air bag cover having a thin-walled part usually covering an air bag arranged in a folded-up state, which is subjected to insert molding in such a state that an insert net having a slit part (flexible) arranged thereto is embedded in the thin-walled part, the core for molding the thin-walled part is provided to a mold in a freely up-and-down movable manner and the end edge of the slit part 4 of the insert net is pressed to the mold by the core to inject a urethane material (abstract and Figures 1-2), as shown below:
, where Ogawa does not disclose the opposing edge portions of the reinforcing layer are molded, as in claim 16. In claim 16, the phrase, “for use over an airbag” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In claim 16, the phrase, “formed from a molding material” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a panel substrate and a flexible reinforcing layer. The reference suggests such a product because Ogawa discloses an air bag cover having a thin-walled part usually covering an air bag arranged in a folded-up state, which is subjected to insert molding in such a state that an insert net having a slit part (flexible) arranged thereto is embedded in the thin-walled part, the core for molding the thin-walled part is provided to a mold in a freely up-and-down movable manner and the end edge of the slit part 4 of the insert net is pressed to the mold by the core to inject a urethane material (abstract and Figures 1-2).
Concerning claim 17, Ogawa does not disclose the length of each edge portion being molded.
Concerning claim 18, Figure 1 of Ogawa shows an H-shaped tear seam having an areal extent that defines an airbag door region, as shown below:
.
Concerning claim 19, Figures 7-8 of Ogawa shows opposing edge portions extend along a back side of opposing airbag doors of the panel, as shown below:
.
Concerning claim 20, Ogawa discloses an air bag cover having a thin-walled part usually covering an air bag arranged in a folded-up state, which is subjected to insert molding in such a state that an insert net having a slit part (flexible) arranged thereto is embedded in the thin-walled part, the core for molding the thin-walled part is provided to a mold in a freely up-and-down movable manner and the end edge of the slit part 4 of the insert net is pressed to the mold by the core to inject a urethane material (abstract).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurson et al. (FR 3109344).
Hurson discloses a panel (1) for interior trim of a motor vehicle, said panel comprising: a core (2) having an edge (5), two upper (6) and lower ( 7) for reinforcing said core, said layers being based on reinforcing fibers embedded in polyurethane foam, a functional element (8) fixed to said edge by at least one fixing means (9), said means comprising a holding part (10) of said element and an anchoring part (11) in said generally rod-shaped core, said core being provided with a hole (12) arranged so that said anchoring part passes through it, the internal wall (13) of said hole being covered with a layer of foam coming from said lower layer so that said layer of foam forms a reinforcing wall (14) of the anchoring of said anchoring part (abstract) where an upper covering layer 19 is overmolded by the foam of the upper reinforcing layer 6 (paragraph 29). Hurson does not disclose the opposing edge portions of the reinforcing layer are molded, as in claim 16.
In claim 16, the phrase, “for use over an airbag” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In claim 16, the phrase, “formed from a molding material” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a panel substrate and a flexible reinforcing layer. The reference suggests such a product because Hurson discloses a panel (1) for interior trim of a motor vehicle, said panel comprising: a core (2) having an edge (5), two upper (6) and lower ( 7) for reinforcing said core, said layers being based on reinforcing fibers embedded in polyurethane foam, a functional element (8) fixed to said edge by at least one fixing means (9), said means comprising a holding part (10) of said element and an anchoring part (11) in said generally rod-shaped core, said core being provided with a hole (12) arranged so that said anchoring part passes through it, the internal wall (13) of said hole being covered with a layer of foam coming from said lower layer so that said layer of foam forms a reinforcing wall (14) of the anchoring of said anchoring part (abstract) where an upper covering layer 19 is overmolded by the foam of the upper reinforcing layer 6 (paragraph 29).
Concerning claim 17, Hurson does not disclose the length of each edge portion being molded.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781