DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 18/424,308 filed on 01/26/2024, in
which the amendments and arguments filed on 10/30/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 11, 13, 15-17, and 19-20 been amended.
No claims have been added.
No claims have been cancelled.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 has been received
and considered.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant' s amendments to the Claims have overcome the rejection previously set forth
in the Non-Final Office Action and has overcome the objection in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 07/30/2025. Applicants arguments, see page 6-9 filed on 10/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 are persuasive. Therefore, a new grounds for rejection is made under 35 USC 103 as necessitated by amendment over Pfadler (US 20240109556 A1) in view of (US 20230176568 A1) to von der Ohe et al. (hereinafter von der Ohe) with respect to Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13, 15-17, and 19-20. Another grounds for rejection is made under 35 USC 103 as necessitated by amendment over Pfadler (US 20240109556 A1) in view of (US 20230176568 A1) to von der Ohe et al. (hereinafter von der Ohe) and further in view of (US 20240036571 A1) to Goldman et al. (hereinafter Goldman) with respect to Claim(s) 4, 7, 12, 14, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfadler (US 20240109556 A1) in view of (US 20230176568 A1) to von der Ohe et al. (hereinafter von der Ohe).
Regarding claim 1, Pfadler discloses A method comprising: determining a set of maneuvers associated with a teleoperated vehicle; (Pfadler Paragraph 0011: “In the case of tele-operated driving, ToD, V2X allows a control center, CC, to remotely support an automated transportation vehicle.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0018: “Additionally, the request message contains suggestions for maneuvers that could be performed in the traffic scenario by the automated transportation vehicle. The suggestions are optionally determined by the automated transportation vehicle.”) determining latencies associated with executing each maneuver in the set of maneuvers at the teleoperated vehicle; (Pfadler Paragraph 0024: “the command center will not use commands for complicated or extended maneuvers but will rather support short command for easy maneuvers or short commands triggering predefined maneuver routines in the automated transportation vehicle.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0030: “In a further disclosed embodiment, the validity information for each command is determined as a difference of the time window of the maneuver of the command and a total of the duration of the maneuver and the latency.”) selecting a preferred maneuver from the set of maneuvers based on their respective latencies; (Pfadler Paragraph 0076: “For the exemplary maneuver, where the transportation vehicle crosses the railroad crossing at a speed of 10 km/h and needs 12 s to do so, the validity information is therefore calculated with 20 s minus 12 s minus 1 s minus 1 s as 6 s. Both the uplink latency L1 and the downlink latency L2 were taken into account while determining the validity information in this case. The validity information for the exemplary maneuver thus consists of the determined time span of 6 s and of an indication that both of the latencies have been included in the determination of the validity information.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0077: “As described above for FIG. 3, the control center 2 selects in the sixth operation at 106 at least one command for which the validity information exceeds the predetermined threshold, exemplarily chosen as 5 s. The command for the exemplary maneuver is thus still selected in this further exemplary case and then send to the automated transportation vehicle 1 with the second message M2.”)
Pfadler does not disclose […] determining whether the preferred maneuver satisfies a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; and upon determining that the preferred maneuver satisfies a critical condition, performing the preferred maneuver using the teleoperated vehicle.
However, von der Ohe does teach […] determining whether the preferred maneuver satisfies a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; and upon determining that the preferred maneuver satisfies a critical condition, performing the preferred maneuver using the teleoperated vehicle. (von der Ohe Paragraph 0021: “Preferably, said disturbance is determined by a control unit of said vehicle, e.g. by detecting a latency, in particular an end-to-end latency between said vehicle and said teleoperator station.”) (von der Ohe Paragraph 0022: “If a disturbance is determined, in particular detected, within said network, a first braking maneuver is started for slowing down said vehicle, e.g. by gentle braking. In particular, said vehicle enters a fault state if the end-to-end latency is above a threshold, preferably a predefined, configurable threshold. For example, said threshold is 250 ms. So, if it takes more than 250 ms to send a video frame from the vehicle to the teleoperator station and receive a command back, this is considered a fault.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler to include […] determining whether the preferred maneuver satisfies a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; and upon determining that the preferred maneuver satisfies a critical condition, performing the preferred maneuver using the teleoperated vehicle taught by von der Ohe. This would have been for the benefit provide a method for controlling a teleoperated vehicle, in particular during network disturbances or disruptions. [von der Ohe Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 2, Pfadler discloses The method of claim 1, wherein determining latencies is based on an actuation time for the teleoperated vehicle. (Pfadler Paragraph 0019: “A command according to this disclosure may be a control signal, which causes the automated transportation vehicle to perform a specific maneuver.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0019: “The validity information relates to a time of feasibility of the at least one command.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0041: “In this exemplary embodiment, the controller is further configured for determining the time of feasibility based on the validity information and the determined latency.”)
Regarding claim 3, Pfadler discloses The method of claim 1, wherein determining latencies further comprises determining uplink latencies, downlink latencies, (Pfadler Paragraph 0027: “The control center and the automated transportation vehicle may be configured to determine the channel quality, e.g., a downlink and/or uplink latency, based on the channel quality information.”) and processing time for each of the set of maneuvers. (Pfadler Paragraph 0022: “Optionally, the validity information specifies a time length in which the at least one command has to be executed, in other words, a time length in which the maneuver of the at least one command has to be started.”)
Regarding claim 5, Pfadler discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the critical condition further comprises path, curvature, speed, or vehicle parameters. (Pfadler Paragraph 0076: “For the exemplary maneuver, where the transportation vehicle crosses the railroad crossing at a speed of 10 km/h and needs 12 s to do so, the validity information is therefore calculated with 20 s minus 12 s minus 1 s minus 1 s as 6 s. Both the uplink latency L1 and the downlink latency L2 were taken into account while determining the validity information in this case. The validity information for the exemplary maneuver thus consists of the determined time span of 6 s and of an indication that both of the latencies have been included in the determination of the validity information.”) (Note: in order to determine the time of the validity information vehicle speed is needed)
Regarding claim 6, Pfadler discloses The method of claim 1, wherein selecting the preferred maneuver is based on a predefined preference parameter. (Pfadler Paragraph 0078: “The automated transportation vehicle 1 then selects the one command with the largest time of feasibility from the one or more commands that were sent by the control center 2. In this further exemplary case, the command for the exemplary maneuver is selected.”)
Regarding claim 8, Pfadler discloses The method of claim 6, wherein the predefined preference parameter further comprises fueling or battery charge. (Pfadler Paragraph 0033: “Exemplarily, when the validity information specifies a time of feasibility for a command, the command with the largest time of feasibility is providing the highest safety margin. The safety margin may also be based on fuel economy, low acceleration and/or low risk of damage related to the command, e.g., takes into account further weighing factors next to the validity information.”)
Regarding claim 9, Pfadler discloses A system for remote teleoperation of a vehicle, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Pfadler Paragraph 0046: “Terms such as “processing” or “creating” or “transferring” or “executing” or “determining” or “detecting” or “obtaining” or “selecting” or “calculating” or “generating” or the like, refer to the action and processes of a computer system that manipulates and transforms data represented as physical (electronic) quantities within the computer's registers and memories into other data similarly represented as physical quantities within the memories or registers or other such information storage.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0058: “Further the disclosed controller 40 is configured to carry out the disclosed methods, as explained in detail below. For this purpose, the controller 40 has an internal memory 41 and a CPU 42, which communicate with one another, for example, via a suitable data bus.”) determine a set of maneuvers associated with a teleoperated vehicle; (Pfadler Paragraph 0011: “In the case of tele-operated driving, ToD, V2X allows a control center, CC, to remotely support an automated transportation vehicle.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0018: “Additionally, the request message contains suggestions for maneuvers that could be performed in the traffic scenario by the automated transportation vehicle. The suggestions are optionally determined by the automated transportation vehicle.”) determine latencies associated with executing each maneuver in the set of maneuvers at the teleoperated vehicle; (Pfadler Paragraph 0024: “the command center will not use commands for complicated or extended maneuvers but will rather support short command for easy maneuvers or short commands triggering predefined maneuver routines in the automated transportation vehicle.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0030: “In a further disclosed embodiment, the validity information for each command is determined as a difference of the time window of the maneuver of the command and a total of the duration of the maneuver and the latency.”) select a preferred maneuver from the set of maneuvers based on a predefined preference parameter and their respective latencies; (Pfadler Paragraph 0076: “For the exemplary maneuver, where the transportation vehicle crosses the railroad crossing at a speed of 10 km/h and needs 12 s to do so, the validity information is therefore calculated with 20 s minus 12 s minus 1 s minus 1 s as 6 s. Both the uplink latency L1 and the downlink latency L2 were taken into account while determining the validity information in this case. The validity information for the exemplary maneuver thus consists of the determined time span of 6 s and of an indication that both of the latencies have been included in the determination of the validity information.”) (Note: The exemplary maneuver is based on time as the predefined parameter.) (Pfadler Paragraph 0077: “As described above for FIG. 3, the control center 2 selects in the sixth operation at 106 at least one command for which the validity information exceeds the predetermined threshold, exemplarily chosen as 5 s. The command for the exemplary maneuver is thus still selected in this further exemplary case and then send to the automated transportation vehicle 1 with the second message M2.”) […] select a next preferred maneuver from the set of maneuvers based on the predefined preference parameter; (Pfadler Paragraph 0079: “The automated transportation vehicle 1 is configured for discarding any command with the time of feasibility being below a predetermined threshold, exemplarily chosen as 3 s. Since the time of feasibility of the selected command exceeds this predetermined threshold (6 s>3 s), the method follows the path marked y in FIG. 4 and the ninth operation at 109 is executed by the automated transportation vehicle 1.”)
Pfadler does not disclose […] determine that the preferred maneuver does not satisfy a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; […] and upon determining that the next preferred maneuver satisfies the critical condition, perform the preferred maneuver using the teleoperated vehicle.
However, von der Ohe does teach […] determine that the preferred maneuver does not satisfy a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; […] and upon determining that the next preferred maneuver satisfies the critical condition, perform the preferred maneuver using the teleoperated vehicle. (von der Ohe Paragraph 0021: “Preferably, said disturbance is determined by a control unit of said vehicle, e.g. by detecting a latency, in particular an end-to-end latency between said vehicle and said teleoperator station.”) (von der Ohe Paragraph 0022: “If a disturbance is determined, in particular detected, within said network, a first braking maneuver is started for slowing down said vehicle, e.g. by gentle braking. In particular, said vehicle enters a fault state if the end-to-end latency is above a threshold, preferably a predefined, configurable threshold. For example, said threshold is 250 ms. So, if it takes more than 250 ms to send a video frame from the vehicle to the teleoperator station and receive a command back, this is considered a fault.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler to include […] determine that the preferred maneuver does not satisfy a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; […] and upon determining that the next preferred maneuver satisfies the critical condition, perform the preferred maneuver using the teleoperated vehicle taught by von der Ohe. This would have been for the benefit provide a method for controlling a teleoperated vehicle, in particular during network disturbances or disruptions. [von der Ohe Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 10, Pfadler discloses The system of claim 9, wherein determining latencies is based on an actuation time for the teleoperated vehicle. (Pfadler Paragraph 0019: “A command according to this disclosure may be a control signal, which causes the automated transportation vehicle to perform a specific maneuver.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0019: “The validity information relates to a time of feasibility of the at least one command.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0041: “In this exemplary embodiment, the controller is further configured for determining the time of feasibility based on the validity information and the determined latency.”)
Regarding claim 11, Pfadler discloses The system of claim 9, wherein determining latencies further comprises determining uplink latencies, downlink latencies, (Pfadler Paragraph 0027: “The control center and the automated transportation vehicle may be configured to determine the channel quality, e.g., a downlink and/or uplink latency, based on the channel quality information.”) and processing time for each of the set of maneuvers. (Pfadler Paragraph 0022: “Optionally, the validity information specifies a time length in which the at least one command has to be executed, in other words, a time length in which the maneuver of the at least one command has to be started.”)
Regarding claim 13, Pfadler discloses The system of claim 9, wherein the critical condition further comprises path, curvature, speed, or vehicle parameters. (Pfadler Paragraph 0076: “For the exemplary maneuver, where the transportation vehicle crosses the railroad crossing at a speed of 10 km/h and needs 12 s to do so, the validity information is therefore calculated with 20 s minus 12 s minus 1 s minus 1 s as 6 s. Both the uplink latency L1 and the downlink latency L2 were taken into account while determining the validity information in this case. The validity information for the exemplary maneuver thus consists of the determined time span of 6 s and of an indication that both of the latencies have been included in the determination of the validity information.”) (Note: in order to determine the time of the validity information vehicle speed is needed)
Regarding claim 15, Pfadler discloses The system of claim 13, wherein the predefined preference parameter further comprises fueling or battery charge. (Pfadler Paragraph 0033: “Exemplarily, when the validity information specifies a time of feasibility for a command, the command with the largest time of feasibility is providing the highest safety margin. The safety margin may also be based on fuel economy, low acceleration and/or low risk of damage related to the command, e.g., takes into account further weighing factors next to the validity information.”)
Regarding claim 16, Pfadler discloses A non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Pfadler Paragraph 0044: “Some portions of the detailed description which follows are presented in terms of data processing procedures, operations or other symbolic representations of operations on data bits that can be performed on computer memory.”) (Note: Memory is a type of non-transitory computer readable media) (Pfadler Paragraph 0058: “Further the disclosed controller 40 is configured to carry out the disclosed methods, as explained in detail below. For this purpose, the controller 40 has an internal memory 41 and a CPU 42, which communicate with one another, for example, via a suitable data bus.”) determine a set of maneuvers associated with a teleoperated vehicle; (Pfadler Paragraph 0011: “In the case of tele-operated driving, ToD, V2X allows a control center, CC, to remotely support an automated transportation vehicle.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0018: “Additionally, the request message contains suggestions for maneuvers that could be performed in the traffic scenario by the automated transportation vehicle. The suggestions are optionally determined by the automated transportation vehicle.”) determine latencies associated with executing each maneuver in the set of maneuvers at the teleoperated vehicle; (Pfadler Paragraph 0024: “the command center will not use commands for complicated or extended maneuvers but will rather support short command for easy maneuvers or short commands triggering predefined maneuver routines in the automated transportation vehicle.”) (Pfadler Paragraph 0030: “In a further disclosed embodiment, the validity information for each command is determined as a difference of the time window of the maneuver of the command and a total of the duration of the maneuver and the latency.”) select a preferred maneuver from the set of maneuvers based on a predefined preference parameter and their respective latencies; (Pfadler Paragraph 0076: “For the exemplary maneuver, where the transportation vehicle crosses the railroad crossing at a speed of 10 km/h and needs 12 s to do so, the validity information is therefore calculated with 20 s minus 12 s minus 1 s minus 1 s as 6 s. Both the uplink latency L1 and the downlink latency L2 were taken into account while determining the validity information in this case. The validity information for the exemplary maneuver thus consists of the determined time span of 6 s and of an indication that both of the latencies have been included in the determination of the validity information.”) (Note: The exemplary maneuver is based on time as the predefined parameter.) (Pfadler Paragraph 0077: “As described above for FIG. 3, the control center 2 selects in the sixth operation at 106 at least one command for which the validity information exceeds the predetermined threshold, exemplarily chosen as 5 s. The command for the exemplary maneuver is thus still selected in this further exemplary case and then send to the automated transportation vehicle 1 with the second message M2.”) […] determine that no other maneuvers in the set of maneuvers satisfy the predefined preference parameter; and request assistance from a remote operator to operate the teleoperated vehicle. (Pfadler Paragraph 0042: “In other words, if each of the at least one command was discarded for having a time of feasibility below the predetermined threshold, the controller is configured for sending the new request message to the control center. The controller may be sending the new request message instead of selecting one command of the at least one command and performing the one command. In other words, the controller is restarting the method if each of the at least one command is found to be insufficient.”)
Pfadler does not disclose […] determine that the preferred maneuver does not satisfy a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver;
However, von der Ohe does teach […] determine that the preferred maneuver does not satisfy a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; (von der Ohe Paragraph 0021: “Preferably, said disturbance is determined by a control unit of said vehicle, e.g. by detecting a latency, in particular an end-to-end latency between said vehicle and said teleoperator station.”) (von der Ohe Paragraph 0022: “If a disturbance is determined, in particular detected, within said network, a first braking maneuver is started for slowing down said vehicle, e.g. by gentle braking. In particular, said vehicle enters a fault state if the end-to-end latency is above a threshold, preferably a predefined, configurable threshold. For example, said threshold is 250 ms. So, if it takes more than 250 ms to send a video frame from the vehicle to the teleoperator station and receive a command back, this is considered a fault.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler to include […] determine that the preferred maneuver does not satisfy a critical condition based on the latency associated with executing the preferred maneuver at the teleoperated vehicle, wherein the critical condition comprises a permissible latency beyond which actuator commands for the preferred maneuver cannot be executed within predefined performance limits for proper execution of the preferred maneuver; taught by von der Ohe. This would have been for the benefit provide a method for controlling a teleoperated vehicle, in particular during network disturbances or disruptions. [von der Ohe Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 17, Pfadler discloses The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining latencies further comprises determining uplink latencies, downlink latencies, (Pfadler Paragraph 0027: “The control center and the automated transportation vehicle may be configured to determine the channel quality, e.g., a downlink and/or uplink latency, based on the channel quality information.”) and processing time for each of the set of maneuvers. (Pfadler Paragraph 0022: “Optionally, the validity information specifies a time length in which the at least one command has to be executed, in other words, a time length in which the maneuver of the at least one command has to be started.”)
Regarding claim 19, Pfadler discloses The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the critical condition further comprises path, curvature, speed, or vehicle parameters. (Pfadler Paragraph 0076: “For the exemplary maneuver, where the transportation vehicle crosses the railroad crossing at a speed of 10 km/h and needs 12 s to do so, the validity information is therefore calculated with 20 s minus 12 s minus 1 s minus 1 s as 6 s. Both the uplink latency L1 and the downlink latency L2 were taken into account while determining the validity information in this case. The validity information for the exemplary maneuver thus consists of the determined time span of 6 s and of an indication that both of the latencies have been included in the determination of the validity information.”) (Note: in order to determine the time of the validity information vehicle speed is needed)
Regarding claim 20, Pfadler discloses The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the predefined preference parameter further comprises fueling or battery charge. (Pfadler Paragraph 0033: “Exemplarily, when the validity information specifies a time of feasibility for a command, the command with the largest time of feasibility is providing the highest safety margin. The safety margin may also be based on fuel economy, low acceleration and/or low risk of damage related to the command, e.g., takes into account further weighing factors next to the validity information.”)
6. Claim(s) 4, 7, 12, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfadler (US 20240109556 A1) in view of (US 20230176568 A1) to von der Ohe et al. (hereinafter von der Ohe) and further in view of (US 20240036571 A1) to Goldman et al. (hereinafter Goldman).
Regarding claim 4, Pfadler in view of von der Ohe teaches claim 3 accordingly, the rejection, of claim 3 is incorporated above.
Pfadler in view of von der Ohe does not teach The method of claim 3, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time.
However, Goldman does teach The method of claim 3, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time. (Goldman Paragraph 0018: “The remote operator may have a predetermined amount of time to respond to (e.g., accept) the request. If a response is received within the predetermined amount of time, the request is assigned to the remote operator. Alternatively, if the response is not received within the predetermined amount of time, the request may be sent one or more additional remote operators and/or placed back into a queue for reassignment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler in view of von der Ohe to include The method of claim 3, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time taught by Goldman. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient system in determining a remote operator(s) to assist the vehicle, for example, if the autonomous vehicle requests assistance to traverse the environment. [Goldman Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 7, Pfadler in view of von der Ohe teaches claim 6 accordingly, the rejection, of claim 6 is incorporated above.
Pfadler in view of von der Ohe does not teach The method of claim 6, wherein the predefined preference parameter is set based on user input.
However, Goldman does teach The method of claim 6, wherein the predefined preference parameter is set based on user input. (Goldman Paragraph 0054: “In some examples, the preference(s) 240 may be added, deleted, modified, or otherwise provided by the remote operators 108”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler in view of von der Ohe to include The method of claim 6, wherein the predefined preference parameter is set based on user input taught by Goldman. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient system in determining a remote operator(s) to assist the vehicle, for example, if the autonomous vehicle requests assistance to traverse the environment. [Goldman Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 12, Pfadler in view of von der Ohe teaches claim 11 accordingly, the rejection, of claim 11 is incorporated above.
Pfadler in view of von der Ohe does not teach The system of claim 11, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time.
However, Goldman does teach The system of claim 11, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time. (Goldman Paragraph 0018: “The remote operator may have a predetermined amount of time to respond to (e.g., accept) the request. If a response is received within the predetermined amount of time, the request is assigned to the remote operator. Alternatively, if the response is not received within the predetermined amount of time, the request may be sent one or more additional remote operators and/or placed back into a queue for reassignment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler in view of von der Ohe to include The system of claim 11, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time taught by Goldman. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient system in determining a remote operator(s) to assist the vehicle, for example, if the autonomous vehicle requests assistance to traverse the environment. [Goldman Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 14, Pfadler in view of von der Ohe teaches claim 13 accordingly, the rejection, of claim 13 is incorporated above.
Pfadler in view of von der Ohe does not teach The system of claim 13, wherein the predefined preference parameter is set based on user input.
However, Goldman does teach The system of claim 13, wherein the predefined preference parameter is set based on user input. (Goldman Paragraph 0054: “In some examples, the preference(s) 240 may be added, deleted, modified, or otherwise provided by the remote operators 108”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler in view of von der Ohe to include The system of claim 13, wherein the predefined preference parameter is set based on user input taught by Goldman. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient system in determining a remote operator(s) to assist the vehicle, for example, if the autonomous vehicle requests assistance to traverse the environment. [Goldman Paragraph 0008]
Regarding claim 18, Pfadler in view of von der Ohe teaches claim 17 accordingly, the rejection, of claim 17 is incorporated above.
Pfadler in view of von der Ohe does not teach The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time.
However, Goldman does teach The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time. (Goldman Paragraph 0018: “The remote operator may have a predetermined amount of time to respond to (e.g., accept) the request. If a response is received within the predetermined amount of time, the request is assigned to the remote operator. Alternatively, if the response is not received within the predetermined amount of time, the request may be sent one or more additional remote operators and/or placed back into a queue for reassignment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pfadler in view of von der Ohe to include The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the processing time includes a remote operator reaction time taught by Goldman. This would have been for the benefit to provide a more efficient system in determining a remote operator(s) to assist the vehicle, for example, if the autonomous vehicle requests assistance to traverse the environment. [Goldman Paragraph 0008]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664