DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendriks (US 20090185281) in view of Helwegen et al. (US 20090009881).
Regarding claim 1, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) an imaging device comprising: an image sensor (60; section 0050); a rear fixed focus lens group element (20) positioned in front of the image sensor along an optical axis of the imaging device; a first liquid lens (22) positioned in front of the image sensor and the rear fixed focus lens group along the optical axis; a second liquid lens (40) positioned in front of the image sensor and the first liquid lens along the optical axis; an aperture (36) positioned between the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens along the optical axis, the optical axis passing through the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens; and a front fixed focus lens group (52, 54) positioned in front of the image sensor and the second liquid lens along the optical axis, wherein the rear fixed focus lens group or the front fixed focus lens group includes an aspherical lens (section 0066); and a controller (sections 0022, 0049).
Hendriks does not necessarily disclose a controller restrains the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to settings where the F# of the imaging device is constant independent of zoom level, or the F# is changed with respect to the zoom level, wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the zoom level and focus, and wherein the controller adjusts the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to project a zoom-independent area of a focal plane projected onto the image sensor.
Helwegen discloses (Figs. 1-8c) a controller (9, 49) restrains the first liquid lens (1, 41) and the second liquid lens (2, 42) to settings where the F# of the imaging device is constant independent of zoom level, or the F# is changed with respect to the zoom level, wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the zoom level and focus, and wherein the controller adjusts the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to project a zoom-independent area of a focal plane projected onto the image sensor (sections 0008, 0042, 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Helwegen to obtain a predetermined focusing level for any given object distance for any given zoom level.
Regarding claim 3, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the aperture is positioned at an aperture distance from the first liquid lens of between 0.1% and 99.9% of the distance between the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens (sections 0019, 0061; “lens stop...positioned approximately symmetrically between fluid lenses 22 and 40”).
Regarding claim 4, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) a first lens orientation of the first liquid lens (22) and a second lens orientation of the second liquid lens (40) are equal relative to one another (an “orientation” of the lenses is that they are both vertically oriented).
Regarding claim 5, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the aperture (36) is a variable aperture configured to change aperture size (section 0048).
Regarding claim 6, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the image sensor (60; claim 13), the rear fixed focus lens group (20), the first liquid lens (22), the aperture (36), the second liquid lens (40), and the front fixed focus lens group (54) are positioned in listed order along the optical axis.
Regarding claim 7, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the controller, the controller operatively coupled to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens (sections 0015, 0022, 0049, 0056).
Regarding claim 8, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the controller is adapted to acquire images at multiple different working distances between 300 millimeters (mm) and 5000 mm, wherein each of the multiple different working distances are at least 50 mm from one another and at most 5 meters from one another.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular distances, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) an imaging device comprising: an image sensor (60; section 0050); a rear fixed focus lens group (20) positioned in front of the image sensor along an optical axis of the imaging device; a first liquid lens (22) positioned in front of the image sensor along the optical axis, the first liquid lens comprising a first solid portion (26) and a first flexible membrane (32), the first solid portion and the first flexible membrane defining a first interior space filled by a first liquid (28); a second liquid lens positioned in front of the image sensor along the optical axis, the second liquid lens comprising a second solid portion (50) and a second flexible membrane (48), the second solid portion and the second flexible membrane defining a second interior space filled by a second liquid (46); an aperture (36) positioned between the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens along the optical axis, the optical axis passing through the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens; and a front fixed focus lens group (52, 54) positioned in front of the image sensor along the optical axis; and a controller operatively coupled to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens (sections 0015, 0022, 0049, 0056).
Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the controller configured to: receive a desired focal distance for an object; retrieve from a database or compute focal length settings for the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens, the focal length settings configured to achieve the desired focal distance; send signals based on the focal length settings to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to cause the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to be at the desired focal distance, wherein the controller restrains the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to settings where the F# of the imaging device is constant independent of zoom level, or the F# is changed with respect to the zoom level, wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the zoom level and focus.
Helwegen discloses (Figs. 1-8c) the controller (9, 49) configured to: receive a desired focal distance for an object (section 0041); retrieve from a database or compute focal length settings for the first liquid lens (1, 41) and the second liquid lens (2, 42), the focal length settings configured to achieve the desired focal distance; send signals based on the focal length settings to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to cause the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to be at the desired focal distance, wherein the controller restrains the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to settings where the F# of the imaging device is constant independent of zoom level, or the F# is changed with respect to the zoom level, wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the zoom level and focus (sections 0008, 0041-0042, 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Helwegen to obtain a predetermined focusing level for any given object distance for any given zoom level.
Regarding claim 10, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the controller is further configured to: determine that the focal length settings include an arrangement where a first curvature of the first membrane is substantially the same as a second curvature of the second membrane; based on determining that the focal length settings include the arrangement, send the signals to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to cause the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to be at the desired focal distance (sections 0036-0040).
Regarding claim 12, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) at least two, three, four, or five individual members of a group including the image sensor (60; claim 13), the rear fixed focus lens group (20), the first liquid lens (22), the aperture (36), the second liquid lens (40), and the front fixed focus lens group (54) are positioned in listed order along the optical axis.
Regarding claim 13, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) an imaging device comprising: an image sensor (60; section 0050); a rear fixed focus lens group (20) positioned in front of the image sensor along an optical axis of the imaging device; a first liquid lens (22) positioned in front of the image sensor along the optical axis; a second liquid lens (40) positioned in front of the image sensor along the optical axis; a front fixed focus lens group (52, 54) positioned in front of the image sensor along the optical axis; and a controller operatively coupled to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens (sections 0015, 0022, 0049, 0056).
Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the controller is configured to: receive a distance between an object and the imaging device; determine a desired focal distance based on the distance between the object and the imaging device; retrieve from a database or compute focal length settings for the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens, the focal length settings confirmed to achieve the desired focal distance; and send signals based on the focal length settings to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to cause the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to be at the desired focal distance, wherein the controller restrains the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to settings where the F# of the imaging device is constant independent of zoom level, or the F# is changed with respect to the zoom level, wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the zoom level and focus.
Helwegen discloses (Figs. 1-8c) the controller (9, 49) is configured to: receive a distance between an object and the imaging device (section 0041); determine a desired focal distance based on the distance between the object and the imaging device; retrieve from a database or compute focal length settings for the first liquid lens (1, 41) and the second liquid lens (2, 42), the focal length settings confirmed to achieve the desired focal distance; and send signals based on the focal length settings to the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to cause the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to be at the desired focal distance (section 0041), wherein the controller restrains the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens to settings where the F# of the imaging device is constant independent of zoom level, or the F# is changed with respect to the zoom level, wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the zoom level and focus (sections 0008, 0041-0042, 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Helwegen to obtain a predetermined focusing level for any given object distance for any given zoom level.
Regarding claim 14, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the controller is further configured to: acquire, using the image sensor, an image of the object including a symbol candidate; and based on failing to decode the symbol candidate, adjusting at least one of the focal length of the first liquid lens or the focal length of the second liquid lens (sections 0007, 0022).
Regarding claim 15, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the image is a first image, and wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to adjusting only the focal length of the first liquid lens, acquire, using the image sensor, a second image including the symbol candidate; based on failing to decode the symbol candidate from the second image, adjusting the focal length of only the second liquid lens.
Helwegen discloses (Figs. 1-8c) the image is a first image, and wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to adjusting only the focal length of the first liquid lens, acquire, using the image sensor, a second image including the symbol candidate; based on failing to decode the symbol candidate from the second image, adjusting the focal length of only the second liquid lens (sections 0008, 0041-0042, 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Helwegen to obtain a predetermined focusing level for any given object distance for any given zoom level.
Regarding claim 16, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the image sensor (60; claim 13), the rear fixed focus lens group (20), the first liquid lens (22), the second liquid lens (40), and the front fixed focus lens group (54) are positioned in order along the optical axis.
Regarding claim 17, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the controller is further configured to: cause the first liquid lens to be at a first focal length that has an optical power of substantially 0 diopters; and with the first liquid lens at the first focal length, calibrate the imaging device (sections 0009-0014).
Regarding claim 18, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the controller is further configured to: cause the second liquid lens to be at a second focal length that has an optical power of substantially 0 diopters; and with the first liquid lens at the first focal length and the second liquid lens at the second focal length, calibrate the imaging device (sections 0009-0014).
Regarding claim 19, Hendriks discloses (Figs. 1-6b) the controller is programmed with settings for the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens for a series of predetermined discrete focal distances (section 0055).
Regarding claim 21, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the simultaneous adjustment of the zoom level and focus occurs in 25 milliseconds or less, inclusive.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular adjustments, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 2, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendriks and Helwegen in view of Fernandez-Dorado et al. (US 20190094424).
Regarding claim 2, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose an orientation sensor.
Fernandez-Dorado discloses (section 0089) an orientation sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fernandez-Dorado to obtain the orientation of the optical system and obtain a measuring technique.
Regarding claim 11, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose an orientation sensor, wherein a first lens orientation of the first liquid lens or a second lens orientation of the second liquid lens are determined by the orientation sensor.
Fernandez-Dorado discloses (section 0089) an orientation sensor, wherein a first lens orientation of the first liquid lens (16) or a second lens orientation of the second liquid lens (18) are determined by the orientation sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fernandez-Dorado to obtain the orientation of the optical system and obtain a measuring technique.
Regarding claim 20, Hendriks does not necessarily disclose the imaging device further comprising an optical filter positioned in front of the image sensor and at least one of between the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens, or between a first group of lenses and a second group of lenses that are each positioned in front of the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens.
Fernandez-Dorado discloses (section 0070) the imaging device further comprising an optical filter positioned in front of the image sensor and at least one of between the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens, or between a first group of lenses and a second group of lenses that are each positioned in front of the first liquid lens and the second liquid lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fernandez-Dorado to filter out certain wavelengths.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871