This is the first office action in response to the above identified patent application filed on 01/26/2024. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of an electronic controller; means of impulsive voltage; means of a first impulse voltage signal; means of a second impulse voltage signal in Claims 2, 4 and 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Drawings
The drawings (particularly Figures 1 and 2) are objected to because the numerals 1-7 associated with the unlabeled boxes, circles or the like representations shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels, MPEP 608.02(b) II. Applicant is required to label in words the function of said boxes, circles or the like representations, such that a reader would be appraised of their function without having to read the entire specification in order to figure it out.
For example, if according to the specification, element 3 is a vacuum pump, it is suggested that applicant labels box 3 as – vacuum pump --. The added label can go inside the corresponding box is the space is available or next to the box, if the space within the box is too small. The same applies to all the other boxes/circles with reference numerals 1-7, refer to example below.
The drawings (particularly Figures 6 and 7) are objected to because the left suction bowl and right suction bowl are not labeled in these figures. It appears that the subject matter recited in claim 6 “said left suction bowl and said right suction bowl are set inside said left milk-collecting cup and said right milk-collecting cup, respectively” is shown in figures 6 and 7, however, reference numerals identifying the corresponding left and right bowls are missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the switching frequency" in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 depend from Claim 7 and is rejected accordingly.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the amplitude of the pulse voltage" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said first pulse voltage signal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said second pulse voltage signal" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the pulse width and/or pulse frequency" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mo et al. (CN 216877389).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 1-3, with marked-up Figure 3 shown immediately above, Mo discloses an independently-controlled two-sided breast pump 10 comprising:
a left suction bowl (as shown in marked-up figure 3),
a right suction bowl (as shown in marked-up figure 3) and
a vacuum pump (110, as shown in marked-up figure 3),
wherein said left suction bowl communicates with said vacuum pump through a connecting tube (121/180/160) and a left three-way valve 120, so as to enable said left suction bowl to communicate with said vacuum pump or with an atmosphere (via pipe 140) by way of controlling (valve 120 controls the fluid communication between the left suction bowl and the pump or the air vent 140) said left three-way valve 120;
said right suction bowl communicates with said vacuum pump through a connecting tube (131/180/160) and a right three-way valve 130, so as to enable said right suction bowl to communicate with said vacuum pump or with an atmosphere (via pipe 140) by way of controlling (valve 130 controls the fluid communication between the right suction bowl and the pump or the air vent 150) said right three-way valve 130.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Mo discloses wherein it further comprises a master unit 100, both said left three-way valve 120 and said right three-way valve 130 are an electric control valve (battery 500 provides the electric power needed for the valves to operate), and said left three-way valve 120 and said right three-way valve 130 are independently controlled by means of an electronic controller of said master unit, respectively (by independently controlling activation of the left or right valves 120 or 130, sucking/extracting milk of the left or right breast can be independently performed).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Mo discloses wherein it further comprises a left milk-collecting cup and a right milk-collecting cup (as shown in the marked-up figure above for rejecting claim 1), said left suction bowl and said right suction bowl are set inside said left milk-collecting cup and said right milk-collecting cup, respectively.
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lipsch et al. (US 2025/0065022).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 3-4, Lipsch discloses an independently-controlled two-sided breast pump (pumping assembly shown in figures 3-4) comprising:
a left suction bowl (EK1),
a right suction bowl (EK2) and
a vacuum pump (16),
wherein said left suction bowl communicates with said vacuum pump through a connecting tube (piping shown but not labeled, refer to figure 4A) and a left three-way valve 40, so as to enable said left suction bowl to communicate with said vacuum pump or with an atmosphere (labeled as ATM) by way of controlling (valve 40 controls the fluid communication between the left suction bowl EK1 and the pump 16 or atmosphere ATM; par. 108) said left three-way valve 40;
said right suction bowl EK2 communicates with said vacuum pump 16 through a connecting tube (piping shown but not labeled, refer to figure 4C) and a right three-way valve 42, so as to enable said right suction bowl to communicate with said vacuum pump or with an atmosphere (labeled as ATM) by way of controlling (valve 42 controls the fluid communication between the right suction bowl EK2 and the pump 16 or atmosphere ATM; par. 108) said right three-way valve 42.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Lipsch discloses wherein it further comprises a master unit 50, both said left three-way valve 40 and said right three-way valve 42 are an electric control valve (battery provides the electric power needed for the valves to operate), and said left three-way valve 40 and said right three-way valve 42 are independently controlled by means of an electronic controller of said master unit, respectively (by independently controlling activation of the left or right valves 40, 42, sucking/extracting milk of the left or right breast can be independently performed, refer to figures 3, 4A-4D).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Lipsch discloses wherein it further comprises a left milk-collecting cup (30 in figure 3) and a right milk-collecting cup (32 in figure 3), said left suction bowl EK1 and said right suction bowl EK2 are set inside said left milk-collecting cup and said right milk-collecting cup, respectively, refer to figures 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Hesen (EP 3735994).
Mo teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above except using pulse width modulation to control the value of the supply voltage. Particularly, Mo does not teach: wherein said electronic controller controls the operation of said left three-way valve and said right three-way valve by means of impulse voltage (claim 4); wherein said pulse voltage is PWM (pulse width modulation) voltage or PFM (pulse frequency modulation) voltage (claim 5).
Hesen teaches an electric breast pump similar to Mo, wherein pulse width modulation is used to control the value of the supply/impulse voltage in order for the controller to control the voltage in an easily controllable fashion (pars. 48 and 49)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the electric controller of Mo with pulse width modulation, as taught by Hesen, because it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, in this case using the well-known technique of pulse width modulation, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the supply/impulse voltage in an easily controllable fashion [pars. 48 and 49 in Hesen], was an obvious extension of the prior art teachings. See KSR; MPEP 2143 (I).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipsch in view of Hesen (EP 3735994).
Lipsch teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above except using pulse width modulation to control the value of the supply voltage. Particularly, Lipsch does not teach: wherein said electronic controller controls the operation of said left three-way valve and said right three-way valve by means of impulse voltage (claim 4); wherein said pulse voltage is PWM (pulse width modulation) voltage or PFM (pulse frequency modulation) voltage (claim 5).
Hesen teaches an electric breast pump similar to Lipsch, wherein pulse width modulation is used to control the value of the supply/impulse voltage in order for the controller to control the voltage in an easily controllable fashion (pars. 48 and 49)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the electric controller of Lipsch with pulse width modulation, as taught by Hesen, because it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, in this case using the well-known technique of pulse width modulation, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the supply/impulse voltage in an easily controllable fashion [pars. 48 and 49 in Hesen], was an obvious extension of the prior art teachings. See KSR; MPEP 2143 (I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo in view of Sutrina et al. (US 2009/0099511).
Mo teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above except using a pressure sensor to detect a pressure in the left and/or right side connections. Particularly, Mo does not teach: wherein it further comprises a left pressure sensor used to detect air pressure in said left suction bowl, and a right pressure sensor used to detect air pressure in said right suction bowl, said electronic controller controls the operation of said left three-way valve according to the information of said left pressure sensor, and said electronic controller controls the operation of said right three-way valve according to the information of said right pressure sensor.
Sutrina teaches a breast pump similar to Mo, wherein a pressure sensor 460 is used to determine precise measurements to send back to a controller to more accurately control operation of the breast pump (par. 94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the breast pump of Mo with a pressure sensor, as taught by Sutrina, because it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, in this case using pressure sensors to determine precise measurements of pressure, in this case, to provide a more accurate control, [par. 94 in Sutrina]], was an obvious extension of the prior art teachings. See KSR; MPEP 2143 (I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipsch in view of Sutrina et al. (US 2009/0099511).
Lipsch teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above except using a pressure sensor to detect a pressure in the left and/or right side connections. Particularly, Lipsch does not teach: wherein it further comprises a left pressure sensor used to detect air pressure in said left suction bowl, and a right pressure sensor used to detect air pressure in said right suction bowl, said electronic controller controls the operation of said left three-way valve according to the information of said left pressure sensor, and said electronic controller controls the operation of said right three-way valve according to the information of said right pressure sensor.
Sutrina teaches a breast pump similar to Lipsch, wherein a pressure sensor 460 is used to determine precise measurements to send back to a controller to more accurately control operation of the breast pump (par. 94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the breast pump of Lipsch with a pressure sensor, as taught by Sutrina, because it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, in this case using pressure sensors to determine precise measurements of pressure, in this case, to provide a more accurate control, [par. 94 in Sutrina]], was an obvious extension of the prior art teachings. See KSR; MPEP 2143 (I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/William H Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741