DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged. However, no arguments of traversal were presented. As such, the traversal is not found persuasive because no actual arguments were presented.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “M is either a one-way, two-way or three-way combination of the following species: Al3+…”, and the claim also recites “when M comprises Al3+, M is a two-way or three-way combination” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purposes of this office action, the broad recitation will be applied to claim 1. Further, claims 2, 6, 9-10, 13-14, and 18 are rejected since they depend from claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “or satisfy any combination that maintains charge neutrality of the compound”, and the claim also recites specific numeric limitations for x, y, z, and w with their respective defect site which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purposes of this office action, the broad recitation will be applied to claim 1. Further, claims 2, 6, 9-10, 13-14, and 18 are rejected since they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (CN 107425218A, see Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Shao et al. discloses a compound having Li/Al/Ti/B/O/Cl ([0012]-[0013]). The contents of each individual component results in a balanced, charge-neutral compound ([0012]-[0013]). The reference does not explicitly disclose the explicit amounts of respective elements in the lithium-composition (elements and individual contents). As the compound conductivity and thermal properties (see Shao et al., [0012]-[0017]) are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said relative amounts of chemical compounds, with said compound conductivity and thermal properties both varying as the relative amounts of chemical compounds are varied, the precise relative amounts of chemical compounds would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed relative amounts of chemical compounds cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the relative amounts of chemical compounds in the compound of Shao et al. to obtain the desired balance between the compound conductivity and thermal properties (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 6, modified Shao et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses M is Al and Y ([0012]-[0022]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Shao et al. discloses a glass ceramic composition ([0012]-[0017]) comprising the compound as set forth above.
Regarding claims 13, 14 and 18, Shao et al. discloses a lithium ion battery ([0012]-[0017]) comprising a solid state ionic conduction ([0012]-[0017]), wherein the solid state ionic conductor ([0012]-[0017]) comprises the compound ([0012]-[0017]) as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gaben discloses a compound including a lithium mixed metal oxide chloride ([0124]) utilized as a solid electrolyte in batteries (Abstract).
Barker et al. (US 6,136,472) discloses a battery (Abstract) comprising an electrode (Abstract) comprising a lithium mixed metal oxide chloride (C5/L38-67).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725