DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of Figure 5 in the reply filed on 2/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/26/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (US 2025/0293910).
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches an apparatus (terminal device) [Fig. 9, item 900] for wireless communication, comprising:
a transceiver [Fig. 9, item 902];
one or more memories [Fig. 9, item 903] configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions; and
one or more processors [Fig. 9, item 901] communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity (network device), a time division duplexing (TDD) format configuration (first-type slot format table) indicating at least a portion of multiple time divisions (slots) as being configured for downlink data communications (downlink sensing (DS)/downlink communication (DC)) from the network entity (see “Optionally, the network device sends first indication information to the terminal device…[par 126] and “Design 1: The first indication information includes a first index, the first index corresponds to a first-type slot format…” [par 128] and “For example, the first-type slot format table includes a plurality of indexes, the transmission direction of the signal transmitted on each time domain symbol in the slot corresponding to each index, and the type of the signal transmitted on each time domain symbol. The network device indicates, to the terminal device, one of the plurality of indexes. Downlink sensing (DS), downlink communication (DC), uplink sensing (US), uplink communication (UC), flexible sensing (FS), and flexible communication (FC) are predefined slot formats” [par 130] which suggests that terminal device receives first-type slot format table indicating slots configured for downlink sensing or downlink communication communications); and
transmit, in a subset of at least the portion of the multiple time divisions, a signal to enable sensing by the apparatus (see “After receiving the indication information, the terminal device may determine to send an uplink sensing signal, a downlink sensing signal…” [par 132] and “downlink
sensing data may be sent during the DS and the FS” [par 130] which suggests that terminal device may transmit a downlink sensing signal in slots with a DS and FS index).
Regarding claim 2, LI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit, in the subset of at least the portion of the multiple time divisions (DS slot(s)) or another subset of at least the portion of the multiple time divisions, a reference signal for interference measurement by one or more other user equipments (UEs) (see Table 8 and “After receiving the indication information, the terminal device may determine to send an uplink sensing signal, a downlink sensing signal…” [par 132] which suggests the terminal device may transmit a downlink sensing signal in the DS slots for measurement by other devices in the network which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize includes “one or more other user equipments (UEs)”).
Regarding claim 3, LI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the reference signal is quasi-colocated with the signal to enable sensing (see Table 8 the DS slots are quasi-colocated with the other slots).
Regarding claim 4, LI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit, in a subset of a second portion of the multiple time divisions (US slot(s)) configured for uplink data communications from the apparatus or flexible, a reference signal for interference measurement by one or more other user equipments (UEs) (see Table 8 and “After receiving the indication information, the terminal device may determine to send an uplink sensing signal, a downlink sensing signal…” [par 132] which suggests terminal device may transmit an uplink sensing signal for measurement by other devices in the network which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize includes “one or more other user equipments (UEs)”).
Regarding claim 6, LI teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the reference signal is a first stage sensing reference signal, the signal to enable sensing is a second stage signal, and the reference signal is quasi-colocated with the signal to enable sensing (see Table 8 terminal device may be configured with a DS in slot 1 which would read on a “first stage sensing reference signal” and a US in slot 2 which would read on a ”second stage signal” to enable sensing which would be quasi-colocated).
Regarding claim 7, LI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the network entity, a configuration for transmitting the signal in uniformly spaced time intervals (see “Optionally, the network device sends first indication information to the terminal device, where the first indication information indicates the transmission direction of the sensing signal and the first time domain symbol for transmitting the sensing signal” [par 126] and Table 8 wherein the slot format reads on “uniformly spaced time intervals”); and
receive, from the network entity, an indication to move transmissions of the signal from at least a portion of the uniformly spaced time intervals to at least the portion of the multiple time divisions (see Table 8 network device may move transmission of downlink/uplink sensing signal to other slots if a second indication information or slot format is indicated to terminal device).
Claim 30 recites subject matter similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US 2025/0293910) in view of Jeon et al. (US 2023/0324533).
Regarding claim 5, LI does not explicitly teach the apparatus transmits the reference signal in the second portion of the multiple time divisions based on a user equipment (UE) capability indicated by the one or more other UEs to receive reference signals in time divisions configured for uplink data communications or flexible. In an analogous prior art reference, Jeon teaches an apparatus (UE) indicates a user equipment (UE) capability to receive reference signals (sensing capability) (see “In one embodiment, the UE can send its sensing capability to NW” [par 286] wherein the sensing capability includes “full-duplex capability” [Table 1] which suggests that a UE indicates its capability to receive reference signals since full-duplex implies communications in the uplink and downlink direction). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LI to allow the apparatus to transmit the reference signal in the second portion of the multiple time divisions based on a user equipment (UE) capability indicated by the one or more other UEs to receive reference signals, as taught by Jeon, in time divisions configured for uplink data communications or flexible in order for the network to only configure UEs capable of receiving/transmitting reference signals which improves network efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, LI does not explicitly teach the apparatus transmits, to the network entity, a user equipment (UE) capability indicating support for moving transmission of the signal, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to receive the indication based on transmitting the UE capability. In an analogous prior art reference, Jeon teaches an apparatus (UE) transmits a user equipment (UE) capability for supporting moving transmission of the signal (coordination capability) (see “In one example, the UE can indicate the UE's baseband coordination capability between cellular and sensing modems. Possible indication of values could include {tight coordination, loose coordination, no coordination} as an example… With loose coordination, a UE's communication function can receive information related to time/frequency resources and other parameters related to sensing transmission and/or reception from sensing function” [par 287] which suggests a capability for “moving transmission of the signal” since the coordination capability determines if the UE can receive information related to time/frequency resources, or the capability to be configured with resources for transmitting/receiving sensing signals), wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to receive the indication (sensing configurations) based on transmitting the UE capability (see “At step 903, the NW sends sensing configurations from the NW, and then performs sensing as configured” [par 285] wherein the sensing configurations are based on the UE’s capability related to sensing operations). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LI to allow the apparatus to transmit, to the network entity, a user equipment (UE) capability indicating support for moving transmission of the signal, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to receive the indication based on transmitting the UE capability, as taught by Jeon, in order for the network to only configure UEs capable of receiving information relating to resources for transmitting/receiving sensing signals which improves network efficiency.
Conclusion
/NAM T HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647