DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 12-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (US20250357995), in view of Martch et al (US20170195701).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Mao discloses a device for wireless communication, comprising at least one processor (Fig. 10 discloses processing component 802) that is configured to: operate in a geographic location where access to a network is provided via a satellite access network (¶0038 discloses that the UE accesses the network via the satellite in a certain area); receive information about a satellite network condition associated with the satellite access network (¶0039 discloses obtain the satellite coverage information of the UE from the network device), wherein the satellite network condition is based at least partially on a network usage pattern associated with the geographic location (¶0049 discloses that the satellite coverage information may be, but is not limited to, a satellite coverage duration and/or a satellite non-coverage duration. Here, the satellite coverage duration may be a duration that a certain area is covered by a satellite signal); adaptively enable or disable a service feature according to the satellite network condition (¶0058 discloses determining, based on the satellite coverage information of the UE, whether the UE conducts a service in a current coverage time range; and/or determining, based on the satellite coverage information of the UE, whether the UE conducts a service in a next coverage time range. ¶0063 further discloses that determines, based on the satellite coverage duration in the satellite coverage information of the UE, that there is satellite signal coverage in the current coverage time range…determines to conduct a service in the current coverage time range. Alternatively, if the AF determines, based on the satellite non-coverage duration in the satellite coverage information of the UE, that there is no satellite signal in the current coverage time range, the AF determines not to conduct a service in the current coverage time range). Mao further discloses in ¶0055 that the UE to determine, based on the satellite coverage information as obtained, whether the UE is provided with the satellite signal coverage. Thus, when service interaction is performed between the network device and the UE, it is advantageous for the network device and the UE to perform, based on whether the UE is provided with the satellite signal coverage, effective service interaction. However, Mao does not explicitly teach display a notification to a user of the device, via a user interface, to notify the user that the service feature is adaptively enabled or disabled.
In an analogous art Martch teaches display a notification to a user of the device, via a user interface, to notify the user that the service feature is adaptively enabled or disabled (¶0092 discloses that when a user navigates to a disrupted channel, or when a channel a user is watching or recording experiences a disruption, the notification engine 306 may be activated to transmit a notification that may be displayed to the user regarding the status and cause of the disruption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Martch to provide the user with alternative programming which improve the user's experience and avoid unwarranted frustration directed at the service provider.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 1. Mao further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: request the information about the satellite network condition from the satellite access network (¶0005 discloses that the request is used for requesting satellite coverage information of a UE).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 1. Mao further discloses wherein the service feature comprises at least one of: a text messaging service feature, a picture messaging service feature, a voice call service feature, or a data service feature (¶0062 discloses a service may be, but is not limited to, receiving and/or sending information).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 1. Martch further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: provide the information about the satellite network condition to an application installed on the device (¶0113 discloses the receiver may output a message for display (or otherwise output, such as via audio) to the user regarding the signal strength of the programming stream the user).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 1. Mao further discloses wherein the information of the satellite network condition comprises values indicating whether a configured Quality of Service level is achievable or not(¶0130 discloses the request is used for requesting the satellite coverage information of the UE for one of the following events: satellite coverage information of the UE, and reachability information of the UE).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is drawn to a method for wireless communication, performing substantially the same features performed by the wireless communication device of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is drawn to a method for wireless communication, performing substantially the same features performed by the wireless communication device of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 8. Mao further discloses wherein the information about the satellite network condition is further based on a time at which the service feature is invoked (¶0186 discloses determine, based on the satellite coverage information, whether to conduct a service in the current coverage time range; and/or …determine, based on the satellite coverage information, whether to conduct a service in the next coverage time range).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is drawn to a method for wireless communication, performing substantially the same features performed by the wireless communication device of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to a method for wireless communication, performing substantially the same features performed by the wireless communication device of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 13. Mao further discloses wherein the network usage pattern is further associated with a time at which a user requests the application feature (¶0038 discloses the UE accesses the network via the satellite in a certain area, there is a case of no satellite signal coverage in a certain time period. Therefore, the UE needs to consider the non-continuous coverage of the satellite access in the process of accessing the network and conducting a service).
Claims 3, 10-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (US20250357995), in view of Martch et al (US20170195701), in further view of Peng et al (US20220132358).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a subscription request to the satellite access network to subscribe to one or more change of the satellite network condition; and receive the information about a change of the satellite network condition in an update signaling from the satellite access network.
In an analogous art Peng teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a subscription request to the satellite access network to subscribe to one or more change of the satellite network condition; and receive the information about a change of the satellite network condition in an update signaling from the satellite access network (¶0064 discloses that a network service that provides dynamic load information for at least some of the plurality of network functions is subscribed to… the subscription to network function load status updates specifies when and under what conditions a notification of network function load status is provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Peng to avoid communication disruption.
Regarding claims 10-11, the claims are drawn to a method for wireless communication, performing substantially the same features performed by the wireless communication device of claim 3. Therefore, the claims are subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Regarding claims 15-16, the claims are drawn to a method for wireless communication, performing substantially the same features performed by the wireless communication device of claim 3. Therefore, the claims are subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (US20250357995), in view of Martch et al (US20170195701), in further view of Wen et al (CN120301476A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 5. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a subscription request from the application to subscribe to one or more changes of the satellite network condition.
In an analogous art Wen teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a subscription request from the application to subscribe to one or more changes of the satellite network condition (Abstract discloses receiving a subscription event request sent by a network function service consumer, the subscription event request is used to subscribe to satellite status information; when the satellite status information changes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Wen where the consistency of information interaction is improved, and the satellite communication efficiency is improved.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (US20250357995), in view of Martch et al (US20170195701), in further view of Vijay et al (US20200382987).
Regarding claims 17-19, the combination of Mao and Martch discloses all limitations of claim 13. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the application feature comprises at least one of: a feature that enables a user to upload data, or a feature that enables a user to download data, postponing a download or an upload request from a user based on the satellite network condition (claim 18) and resuming, upon being notified of the satellite network condition, the download or the upload request (claim 19).
In an analogous art Vijay teaches the application feature comprises at least one of: a feature that enables a user to upload data, or a feature that enables a user to download data(¶0014 discloses that the UE executing an application that downloads data from a remote endpoint via the network connection), postponing a download or an upload request from a user based on the satellite network condition (claim 18) and resuming, upon being notified of the satellite network condition, the download or the upload request (claim 19) (¶0053-¶0054 discloses that the UE 110 determines whether a second predetermined condition is satisfied. The second predetermined condition may indicate to the UE 110 that network congestion is present and thus, the download should be paused… the UE 110 may monitor for a particular condition that indicates that the particular connection issue or cause of limited/no service has been resolved…the UE 110 may implement a guard timer before resuming or reinitiating the download).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Vijay to avoid the duration of the
download increases along with the power and/or processing cost.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462